Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park - Wolfe Woods Share
Uploaded By: toothyfish Hole #3 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 258ft.   4 / 417ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Short Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wolfe Woods - Where's the next hole?

1    7/17/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wolfe Woods is a unique course set in a heavily wooded area within Warwick Town Park. It is conveniently located right next to the Brakewell Steel course and provides a quicker, par 3 round as a nice alternative to its big brother. There is a big wooden sign on the left side of Brakewell Steel hole 15's fairway, this is where you enter the course.

The course has quality tee signs and offers multiple tees that do a nice job of changing the hole. It also has Mach 3 baskets in great condition that are easy to spot in the thick woods because they are painted red.

I say that Wolfe Woods is unique because it is set in a strikingly beautiful section of the woods that really has a middle-of-nowhere feel to it. It starts in a moderately wooded section playing over many little streams, and then takes you through a densely wooded area with quality elevation changes in play. The course then finishes with more holes where streams come into play and it loops back to the course entrance.

While being a shorter, par 3 course, Wolfe Woods actually presents a lot of challenges with streams in play on 10 holes and the thick rough that is constantly present. No holes here let you comfortably air it out, each hole requires a more technical approach.

My favorite stretch of holes here were 11-14, which was probably the most densely wooded part of the course. I felt that these holes did the best job of offering multiple fair lines and they had more elevation changes than the other parts of the course.
Cons: Honestly, this is the worst course that I have played in terms of navigation. To be fair, I didn't have a map, which I would certainly recommend. There are many, many occasions where paths lead to every which way, leaving you guessing to find the next tee. Sometimes, paths even break off from those paths, making it more confusing to re-track your steps once you have gotten lost. The course also plays close to the Brakewell Steel course at times, adding to the confusion even more. I often felt like I was lost in a corn maze.

Tees come in a variety of forms. I'm usually not too concerned about the tees, but this course had some definite problems. Natural tees were sometimes uneven and it sometimes wasn't clear that they were tees.

The rough was also some of the worst that I've seen on a course. It was very thick and nasty throughout the course. I feel that I would like this course A LOT better if I played it when the rough was died down.

I should also mention that navigation can be tough in a literal sense at a few points. Not for the faint of heart, the course is definitely a hike in the woods, crossing on a sketchy bridge or two, as well as through some very tight paths.
Other Thoughts: Technically, Wolfe Woods is a fun course that I thought was well designed and had a nice balance of shots. While not being very long, the course could be a challenge for even more serious players, with the constant battling of the stream and a few precarious pin positions. With improved navigation and reduction of the rough, I could see myself bumping its rating up .5-1 disc.

The fact that this is located right next to Brakewell Steel is awesome, but I still would recommend playing this course if you have some extra time. It is a good compliment to the beast that is Brakewell Steel with its tight technical holes

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Winston Wolfe's Pulp Fiction

1    7/5/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes over moderate elevation changes with multiple tees and pin placements on most holes. Some great basket placements and use of the creek. Mostly tight and wooded and short although there are a couple more open holes that still have great challenge from elevation changes or shaped by wood line/shrubs. Tee signs are ok. Trash cans and benches. Bathrooms up by the playground.
Cons: Tee types are mixed from rubber to gravel to dirt. Navigation for first timers is pretty bad even with the map, there are paths leading every which direction in places. The whole course is tucked into the woods behind the Animal course around hole 14/15, you will see the big wooded sign for Wolfe Woods. The rough is fairly rough in the summer and there is a fair amount of poison ivy on this course. Disc loss is more possible on this course than it's big brother.
Other Thoughts: If I'm curt with you in this review it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you want get the most out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Play this course with map in hand to warm up for the Animal course, or to introduce beginners to the game, or to have a little fun and work on your short game in the woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 If Only I was a Local

1    10/12/2012   11/30/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great Little Technical Course. Wolfe Woods is a great little Roc/Putter/occasional driver course. I really enjoy these kinds of courses where all you need to do is throw shots you should make (if you're an advanced player). It's great practice, and it's fun to get birdies. Plus, this course would be a great course for beginning level players to cut their teeth on and get their game up before playing Brakewell Steel, although the opportunity to lose discs would be more prevalent.
- The Creek. There is a fantastic winding creek that flows throughout the course, creating some wonderful shots and dangerous greens. It was definitely the highlight of the course. It also added to the aesthetic value of the holes and course in general.
- 2 Ways to Play. There were long and short tees on the Wolfe Woods course (if I remember correctly the silver and the blues). Having played 2 other courses that day, I opted to play the shorter of the two.
- Brakewell Steel. I cannot imagine what it would be like to have Warwick Park's courses as my home courses… not only would I have the tighter, technical, mid-range game Wolfe Woods offers, but I would have the long, championship game that Brakewell offers too… allowing me to completely develop my skills.
Cons:
- Navigation. I have played tons of courses, in tons of places, usually by myself, and usually without a map… and I rarely get lost or turned around. However, somehow I skipped a few holes, in a few different locations, along the way… and since I had already golfed a lot that day, I wasn't entirely concerned with going back to find the holes.
Other Thoughts:
- It's Not Brakewell. Probably the biggest issue with Wolfe Woods is that you'd rather be playing the other course on the other side of the park. It's hard to take Wolfe Woods seriously when you just got done playing its MUCH bigger brother (and Joralemon earlier that day). It's kind of like when I played Pyramids after leaving Maple Hill… I kept thinking about how I'd rather be playing Maple Hill. However, if I was a local, I would be all over Wolfe Woods, as I'm sure beating your arm to death playing Brakewell would get old.
- Overall… How great it would be to have Warwick be your home park? You'd have a great tuner course in Wolfe Woods and an amazing championship level course in Brakewell Steel. In reality, for me, Wolfe Woods was just an opportunity to bag an extra course in NY. I had already played Joralemon and Brakewell that day and was fairly worn out. I took a putter, roc and leopard with me and just tried to trudge through. I actually enjoyed the course, mostly due to the creek running through it, but also because it was fairly demanding in its shot requirements (considering). Somehow, I got lost and skipped a few holes, getting mixed up between the longs and shorts and some of the crossover that happens between the blue and silver layouts. I was too tired to go back, and was happy enough to have played enough of the course to check it off the list - my mind was elsewhere anyway: Brakewell Steel.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated Course

1    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole wooded, technical course located adjacent to the world class Warwick Animal Course. Like its counterpart, it has a blue (long) and a silver (short) layout and has something for all skill levels. A well-crafted "Wolfe Woods" sign overhangs the entrance to the course at hole 1. Each hole has new, professional grade signs at each tee pad and benches are present at most holes. A creek and roped out of bounds areas throughout the course fairly challenge you. Good use of elevation and variety.
Cons: Tee pad uniformity is a big issue here. Some are rubber (slick), some have stone dust surface (OK but sometimes rutted) while others are dirt (many poorly surfaced with roots and rocks sticking out). Despite the relatively short layout, there are many areas for disc loss. The potential for poison ivy and ticks exist here. Some areas get very soggy after heavy rains. More "next tee" arrows would assist with navigation.
Other Thoughts: The only thing keeping me from giving this course a "4" are the tee pads. Wolfe Woods is a good, solid course. The short layout is challenging yet opportunities exist for birdies and aces. The longer layout really increases the level of difficulty and will test even seasoned pros. There are no real signature holes here, but all 18 of them are of good quality.

The problem I see with Wolfe Woods is that it lies in the shadow of one of the East Coast's finest courses and those who travel a great distance to come to Warwick will sometimes overlook the Wolfe. TREMENDOUS work has been done here to upgrade signs and clear fairways- I'm told at one time this course was almost unplayable in the summer- and much credit is due the Parks dept. and the local club. If you make a trip here, make it a point to play a round at Wolfe Woods- you won't be disappointed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Double Round Day

1    3/17/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent course! We played this course as a second round to the Warwick course. The shorter, on average, fairways were a welcome cool down from the longer bombs from the first course. Nice tight course where there is a stream in play for 1/2 or more of the holes. An amature (like me) may spend some time fishing for a disc or 2 here but the reach is not too bad in any spot. Good turns and obstacles make for a more technical game here and the hole on the top of the cliff was a treat for me!
Cons: There could be an issue with "flooding" in the later spring as the rains pick up, but there are bridges in place in the more wet spots on this course. The Tics are already on the move!
Other Thoughts: Leave early and play both courses this is a beautiful place to wile away a whole day in Disc Golf and Picinic!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good course deserves more reviews!

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: agibson
Played: 56  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun course, part of a fantastic disc golf park.

Mostly fairly tight, technical, holes with great use of two streams, terrain (lots of ups and downs), and some tough tee placements.

Two, in one case probably three, tee placements throwing to common baskets.

Very reasonable map available on this website - print it before you come!

Planking available in a number of places to help when terrain gets wet.

A very nice course.
Cons: The tee areas were unimproved. Dirt or mud, with mostly (but not always) clear tee lines. Some of the amateur tees (silver), which I played, had very short boxes, and some had roots, etc. running through them.

The walk from 16 to 17 would be basically impossible without a map. It's long, and completely non-intuitive.

Not many garbage cans on the course, perhaps contributing to more litter than on the town course. Nothing too outrageous.
Other Thoughts: I'm not in the habit of writing reviews, as a fairly new player. But, this course deserves more reviews!

I bumped it up probably one notch (3.5 to 4) for being co-located with the main Town Park course, with the in-development Oasis across the street.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 tough and technical

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: variety of elevation, water interwoven on many holes. easy to navigate, course signs were spot on. great for practicing a wide variety of mid range shots, and very challenging for mostly all skill levels
Cons: no trash cans, 17 was a hunt to find
Other Thoughts: great course overall to spend time with my gf. since it is not as intimidating as the animal course, she enjoyed playing the occasional hole, as well as the scenic walk through the dense woods.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wolfe "Creek"

1    9/25/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays off the edge of Warwick (there is a beautiful sign and wood benches off Warwick's #16) that will let you know where it starts). Most of the holes have two tee pads that will give you a two levels of play (Am and pro). The signs and the direction arrows are really helpful to let you know where you are throwing and where the tees are located (I would have been really confused otherwise).

This course is challenging in many ways. A creek winds through the first half of the course and lends to skillful placement of shots. Just as you are tiring of the water, it disappears. It's a technical and woody affair for the most part with a decent amount of elevation mixed in.

It was also less crowded than the Warwick course on a Sunday afternoon.
Cons: Tee pads are gravel or rubber. It was wet when I played and they became slippery, and even the rubber ones had enough mud and dirt on them to add to slippage.

Lots of extra walking to get to many of the pro tee pads, and its not always clear where to go (even with the signs to help). Finding the 17th tee was very unclear with no arrows and a very long trail to get there (just go left from 16 pin and go past #15 blue tee and keep going).
Other Thoughts: I am anxious to try the short tees next time as they would be a way to work with the midranges and be a lot less walking.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course away from th crowds.

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded course with dual tee pads and excellent signage.

Great place to hide from crowds on the main course.

Red baskets are easy to see.

Plays around the creek on many holes.

Benches on many holes.

The first third of the course is the best part. Hole 4's downhill shot over the creek is probably the best of the first 6 holes, but hole 6 gives it some competition with a scenic shot around the winding creek. There are a few interesting holes with great potential in the back half, but they are in rough shape.
Lots of shade and decent scenery.
Cons: It is worth the trek back up the hill to play 7 blue. 7 silver is horrible. The tee is directly behind a tree with the no clear shot in front of you, but a perfect fairway just to the left of the tee. The tee itself is full of sharp rocks and roots sticking up. I would always opt for blue over silver, especially when 7 blue is a nice over the valley shot.

Tee pads are inconsistent, some are wrinkled warped rubber, some are gravel, some are dirt, but most are uneven and difficult to use.

In the back 9 the rough was getting out of control, the vegetation was overgrown and I went from wanting to throw multiple discs on the first few holes to wanting to skip holes entirely due to the waist high foliage. Holes 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, and 17 were all in need of maintenance.

Flow was not nearly as nice as Warwick Brakewell Steel's Animal course. After hole 5 you pop out at hole 7 blue. After you play 6 you have to climb a steep hill to get back to 7 blue. There were a few long walks, but the walk to 17 seemed to cut back through half the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice addition to the Animal course, but it is overgrown and the tee pads are very rough and nearly unusable.
It is a no brainer that this is worth a play if you are coming to play the Animal course, but it is not worth a trip by itself.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Wooded Course

1    5/13/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wolfe Woods is off the beaten path, but easy to find, giving this course a pleasant, secluded feel. Located at the same facility as Warwick Town Park, Wolfe Woods can be played as part of the Town Park or as a round unto itself.

The designers of Wolfe Woods did a good job using the land they had available when they installed this wooded beaut. The fairways do a great job factoring in the water that weaves throughout the course. Elevation changes come into play on many holes, including several unique elevated pin positions. To further expand the variety of throwing lines availble, nearly every hole has two tees. There was also a subtle variation with regard to left-turning, straight, and right-turning fairways. Rock walls were also incorporated into the design and provided a really nice asthetic.

The tee signs were very well detailed and very helpful. Benches and other seating was available on some of the holes. The baskets at Wolfe Woods were in good shape and were of a color that was different than the baskets at Warwick Town Park, making it easy to discern which baskets belonged to which course.
Cons: Although it's easy to find, the Warwick courses aren't exactly close to any major thoroughfares.

Most holes with multiple tees were longer versions of the same line. While this isn't necessarily a con in and of itself, it would have been nice to be able to have different shaped fairways to accompany the different tees. Additionally, it seemed like there were a lot of straight fairways. Those that weren't straight seemd to favor the lefty thrower.

Despite multiple tees, they were mostly natural or gravel. While not in bad shape, these types of tees don't provide the best footing.

Finding the next tee was difficult for a few holes. While not a real big detractor, additional signage would be helpful to point the players from the baskets to the subsequent tees.

The underbrush at Wolfe Woods was a bit much on many of the holes, increasing the time necessary to find an errant throw and increasing the possibility of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: The course had random garbage dumped throughout the course. While it wasn't on the fairways, the abandoned refrigerators, washers, dryers, and other scrap were an eyesore and detracted from the natural beauty of the course.

Given the location of the park, if Wolfe Woods wasn't on the same property as Warwick Town Park, I wouldn't say that it's a destination course but a "nice to play if you're in the area". In this case, however, given its proximity to the other gold-level course it's worth a rip. A lot of time and effort went into the creation of this course and, despite any cons listed, you won't have a bad time playing Wolfe Woods.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.