Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park - Wolfe Woods Share
Uploaded By: toothyfish Hole #7 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 162ft.   3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Solid Wooded Course

1    5/13/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wolfe Woods is off the beaten path, but easy to find, giving this course a pleasant, secluded feel. Located at the same facility as Warwick Town Park, Wolfe Woods can be played as part of the Town Park or as a round unto itself.

The designers of Wolfe Woods did a good job using the land they had available when they installed this wooded beaut. The fairways do a great job factoring in the water that weaves throughout the course. Elevation changes come into play on many holes, including several unique elevated pin positions. To further expand the variety of throwing lines availble, nearly every hole has two tees. There was also a subtle variation with regard to left-turning, straight, and right-turning fairways. Rock walls were also incorporated into the design and provided a really nice asthetic.

The tee signs were very well detailed and very helpful. Benches and other seating was available on some of the holes. The baskets at Wolfe Woods were in good shape and were of a color that was different than the baskets at Warwick Town Park, making it easy to discern which baskets belonged to which course.
Cons: Although it's easy to find, the Warwick courses aren't exactly close to any major thoroughfares.

Most holes with multiple tees were longer versions of the same line. While this isn't necessarily a con in and of itself, it would have been nice to be able to have different shaped fairways to accompany the different tees. Additionally, it seemed like there were a lot of straight fairways. Those that weren't straight seemd to favor the lefty thrower.

Despite multiple tees, they were mostly natural or gravel. While not in bad shape, these types of tees don't provide the best footing.

Finding the next tee was difficult for a few holes. While not a real big detractor, additional signage would be helpful to point the players from the baskets to the subsequent tees.

The underbrush at Wolfe Woods was a bit much on many of the holes, increasing the time necessary to find an errant throw and increasing the possibility of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: The course had random garbage dumped throughout the course. While it wasn't on the fairways, the abandoned refrigerators, washers, dryers, and other scrap were an eyesore and detracted from the natural beauty of the course.

Given the location of the park, if Wolfe Woods wasn't on the same property as Warwick Town Park, I wouldn't say that it's a destination course but a "nice to play if you're in the area". In this case, however, given its proximity to the other gold-level course it's worth a rip. A lot of time and effort went into the creation of this course and, despite any cons listed, you won't have a bad time playing Wolfe Woods.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Warwick's Best Kept Secret

5+    11/6/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While this course may not have the glamour of the Warwick Animal Course, it's certainly worth a round. It offers shorter holes with plenty of demand on accuracy.
* Short and Long Tees on most holes
* Baskets are in excellent condition
* Great usage of meandering streams, creating "island" greens and OB
* Hilly layout, yet not too tiring
* An excellent fall/winter/early spring course as it is well-protected - one of my favorite cold weather courses
* a peaceful diversion from otherwise busy park areas
* a great short game course with a premium on accuracy: can play with mids and putters
* brand new tee signs on short and long tees - Beautifully done!
Cons: This course is a work-in-progress, so it does lack a few of the amenities that the main course has.
* Tees are mixed
* Navigation is a challenge, some trails criss-cross and there are some trails that are not part of the course
* Rough and brush can get very heavy in the summer
Other Thoughts: This course has seen vast improvement in the last year as the Skylands Club continues to improve the tees, build bridges, and improve signage and trails. Several tees have been redone with stone dust and cinders - nice and flat. The recent addition of permenat tee signs makes finding your way much easier. The combination of the main park's multiple layouts and Wolfe Wood's diversity make this park tops.

If you are traveling to play the main Warwick course, consider a round through here afterwards. Or break off the main course after the 15 basket, play the 18 back in the woods and jump back on the main course at 16. That's 36 holes of golf! It's different and a fun challenge and compliment.

Just print out the map!

I play here often and know it very well. If you have any questions about it or the Warwick/Brakewell Steel Main course, please feel free to PM me and I'll try to help you out.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Compliment.

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Vepr
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is quite challenging filled with a lot of variety for a wooded course.
-The stream is utilized extremely well with the overall course design to make it very interesting. Streams sometimes protect the greens, run along side a fairway, or you must tee off over one.
-Hole 12 is an awesome hole.Its sort of on a little cliff where you can go either right or left. Going right is a tight little uphill shot that suddenly drops off to the basket. Going left is a downhill drive that eventually gently curves up to the basket. Two different extremes on one hole!
-Hole 15 has an interesting tee off from high up on one hill, then proceeds into a valley and then up another hill to the basket.
-It is well-thought out and does not grow mundane. Each hole is always different.
Cons: -Definitely needs signs to help pinpoint blind baskets because the fairways can be misleading.
-The course isn't quite broken in so it is a bit of a haul. After a while tall grass and weeds get in the way and become annoying and take away some joy from the course. Although you have to consider it is a difficult piece of land to mow/maintain considering how its in a wetlandish, secluded area.
-Discs are very easy to lose. I had 3 other friends with me helping spot for throws and we lost discs 3 times (lucky we found 2 of them after 20 minutes of searching, desperately may i add).
-It is very hard to navigate. My friends and I forgot to print a map and we definitely regret it. The walk from hole 16 to hole 17 is on a pathway that splits into 5 different options! And the next tee sign does not help because it doesn't have an arrow.
-Watch out for fallen down barb wire in places.
Other Thoughts: Definitely expect to possibly lose a disc here. There was a group a head of mine and behind mine so we were finding each other's discs sometimes! Actually enough discs got lost that afterwards we all had to meet up in the parking lot and exchange discs! Something i never had to do before.

Once you see hole 15 you may just breathe a sigh of relief like I did because it it the first truly open hole on the course. If you like wooded courses you should definitely check this out because only two holes are really open (15+16).

It is a good course to play with lots of variety in the woods, but surprisingly exhausting for its length because it has yet to be broken in. This is definitely a nice little course that compliments the more well-known Warwick course and could be rated higher once more traffic flows through.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Woods are Good

2-4    4/12/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Multiple Tee spots creating numerous different shots
*Lots of variety in throws
*Awesome elevation and gullies to throw down and over, especially 7 and 14
*More rugged and secluded than Brakewell/Steele
*Alot of water hazards to play over
Cons: *Can be a little muddy
*You may have to scout for the pin bfore throwing if its your first time there
Other Thoughts: After playing the Brakewell/Steele course which got a little confusing towards the last few holes, we stumbled upon a beat up rubber mat tee spot and hucked our discs from there, we wound up back in Wolfe Woods and decided to skip 18 of Brakewell an play the woods 18. Besides being practically alone compared to the field holes, the shots were all fun and made you wana throw more than just one disc sick chunnels and alot of water hazads are always a good time too, it suprised me that more people weren in the woods than on the field. Great set of 18and look forward to going back soon. Also avoid disc golf players with purple MC Hammer pants and pony tails cuz they'll cut you off while your playing the long tees and theyre sucking it up on the shorts.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/13/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: StymieDidIt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded but a lot of fun to play. Stream comes into play a number of times. Short and long tees. Good elevation changes and lots of technical holes. Big arms won't have much of an advantage here.
Cons: I found the rubber pads to be slippery when wet and hard to throw from. some tees are dirt, which was fine for the hole. Definately a 2/3 season course. By the end of April or earky May the course is barely navigable. The lost disc factor would be too great. Better markings and signs would be great. Without the map that I printed off the website, I don't think I would have been able to find my way from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: I really like the course despite the cons that I wrote. The group I play with, can't wait till the Fall so we can get in there and play it again

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Secret Joyride in the Woods

1    3/28/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the most wonderful surprise I have ever experienced playing disc golf. Not many people realize that there is a technical full 18 woods course just a few feet away from World Famous Brakewell Steele/Warwick Park. The course is not advertised and is quite hidden. If you pay attention somewhere around the tee pad for hole 15 if you wander a bit you will see a mystery tee facing the other direction. Be adventurous you will be rewarded. This course is just a real throwback thrill to play. A stream intersects the course several times and comes into play on many of the holes. There are tight technical shots that roll up and down little hills. This course is a real joyride. Playing over the stream, the wonderful undulations, tight but fair lanes, and the overall feeling of exploring this secret 18 makes this course a real treat. Every technical shot imagineable is needed back here. Don't think this is just a dumb tight little woods course...This course is fun and challenging. Perfect complement to the Famous Course it hides in the shadows from. You will be avoiding creeks, driving down and up and over little valleys and in the end you will be left wanting more. This course could stand alone and be worth a trip but being next to one of the most famous courses in the world makes this place a true destination. If you ever want to experience the roots of the game it can be found here!
Cons: A little rough in places. Lots of junk in the woods. Refrigerators etc. Tee pads are just dirt. Not well marked. I never found the basket for 17 though I played the fairway and it was fun. I can't complain much I was just so impressed and had so much fun back there.
Other Thoughts: Long live Wolfie Woods. I hope the locals can keep this little dream alive. Some of the holes here do offer some decent distance as well as technique to play.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center