Disc Golf Store
Whitehall, PA 
Jordan Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
4 / 538ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Tha'ts a big creek

1    6/9/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - Jordan Creek is kind of like the Augusta of disc golf. It's just this gorgeous stroll through a manicured park with some lush grass fairways and really defined cleaned up wooded holes. It's not overly difficult or beat you down long. It's just a collection of really fun shots that make you go wow this place is awesome.

There's a few multi-shot holes out here but it's mostly par 3's. It's not an easy course by any means the holes have a habit of being around or just over 300' so you really need to put power on the disc and work it in most cases. Birdies are earned here but it's a really fair course that allows solid shots to be rewarded.

In the bottom area of the course it plays near a rather large creek or river that makes you think twice about how you're shaping your shot. Then there's a pond you throw over on another hole, that is a really great left to right shot where you hit a gap across the water. The holes with water are all really well done.

Then on the back 9 you all of a sudden hit this elevation on a par 4 that is just awesome. You go up it play some holes in a more wooded area then go back down on a really nice downhill bomb that requires accuracy and straightness.

The course finishes really strong with 18 being one of the best finishing holes there is. Downhill technical dog shot over the creek. Then on your second shot you're throwing back over the creek through a tight gap to the basket. It combines and beauty and great design.

Overall I like this course because it gives you a really fun round with decent variety and balance in hole types.

Equipment - Nice concrete pads, baskets in solid condition. Good tee signs.

Atmosphere - I mentioned it earlier and I'll say it again, this place is just beautiful and even though it has this park style feel I felt secluded for most of the round once you got away from the holes right near the parking lot and community garden. I wish we had a course like this in my area.
Cons: Layout - There wasn't a ton of variety in hole lengths. It seemed like most of the par 3's were right at 300' or just over. I threw a lot of mids on straighter lines that moved a bit left or right. On some holes with a lower canopy I'd go driver but overall there wasn't a huge amount of shot shaping. A few of the more open par 4's weren't all that great, basically just two easier shots and a putt, tweener holes kinda.

Some of the more wooded holes were kind of boring and not as memorable, nothing all that bad I think the design is solid but it's there.

The shule can be very thick in parts and we spent a good while looking for discs in the higher elevation area. Watch your disc when you go off fairway.

Equipment - The distances on some of the teesigns just seemed off.

Atmosphere - We played it after a solid rain but I got the impression the low parts of the course doen't drain all that well being right near the water. It was definitely muddy and sloppy on a few holes. There are several holes that play near other park activities and though it never really caused any conflict it doesn't give that secluded feeling in those areas.

Other Thoughts: If you can't tell I am fond of Jordan Creek. It was a super nice change of pace after playing some super challenging technical courses. It really fits in with the other great courses in the area to give a nice balance. If I lived in the area I'd probably play here the most from what we saw. I kinda got the feeling not a lot of chuckers go here because of the water and I love courses like that because you get them all to yourself.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    12/1/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Very technical holes
*Well thought out hole layout
*Best finishing hole I have ever played (even though I lost a disc)
*Beautiful location
*Good placement of water hazards to make it tough
*Nice tee boxes
*Good signage
*Well maintained park
Cons: *This course can eat up your discs
Other Thoughts: For an average player like me (700 player rating), It will be a very tough course, but it is worth playing because you need to play hard courses to get better.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Real Classic

5+    3/28/2014   9/2/2013
Review By: lvdiscgolfloser
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *All concrete tee pads.
*Great mix of woods and open fairways. Trees are often in play but there are opportunities for good shooters. A real challenge for beginners and average players.
*The first few holes let you warm up before the challenge begins.
*The water really comes into play, especially when the creek is up. The pond on 7 is daunting, and 18 is just awesome - downhill and over water twice.
*The uphill 10th is both awesome and a real challenge, now with two pin placements.
*Some long holes to let the big arms show off.
Cons: *The rough is Rough in the Spring and Summer - waist high and full of spider webs. If your shot is off, you will lose discs.
*The park is heavily used and I've come across picnics on the 9th fairway, mountain bikers criss-crossing fairways and tees, and gangs of kids chilling on the 7th tee, and people being walked by there dogs.
Other Thoughts: Bring your own water.
Bathrooms aren't usually open.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Solid course with nice balance

2-4    4/4/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with great concrete tee pads and nice signs at each hole. Baskets are all good and have no issues. Park is very well maintained and so is the course. Navigation is also easy even without a map. Only exception would be hole 15-16. See cons for details.

Course starts out fairly basic with the first 6 holes simply playing through a mix of open fairways lined with trees or having a few trees mixed throughout. They are all decent holes, but nothing too exciting.

Hole 7 has about a 200' water carry over a pond with a basket perched 313' from the tee. Nice little pond hole.

Hole 9 is a fun 538' bomb with an open field turning to trees and then a green with the creek behind the basket. Pretty shot.

Hole 10 is a beast that looks simple from the tee, until you get to the base of the steep hill you must get up. There is major roll-away risk to the right and a steep, fast green. Great hole!

Holes 11-13 play along a open easement or old roadbed area and play pretty much open with woods along the fairway to add some risk. 14-17 all play through some fairly tight wooded fairways and throw in a small amount of elevation to add some challenge.

18 is simply a great finishing hole. A nice down hill look from the tee pad crossing the creek on the way to a relatively open fairway. Then a nice straight look at the basket on the other side of the creek again. Two water carries in one hole, and lots of ways to play depending on where you reach off the tee. A fun and beautiful hole all in one. Well done!
Cons: Not much to complain about here. Everything is pretty straightforward and well done. You do have to walk past the tee for 16 to get to the 15 pad. That's a little odd, but doesn't really hurt anything.
Other Thoughts: There were really only 2 or 3 holes here I'd call above average or exceptional, but nonetheless this is a very nice course. Its strengths are the variety of ups, downs, open and tight. And of course there are multiple water carries and chances to over shoot basket and hit the creek. There is also not really a bad hole on this course. There is nothing I'd consider a filler hole or something you look at and wonder what the heck is going on. It's all just very nice, orderly, scenic and challenging. Jordan Creek is definitely a must play if you are in this part of PA. It might not be as challenging as Nockamixon or offer up as much variety as Tyler St Park, but it is very good in its own right.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Does Much Well

1    7/28/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
For those who fancy epic finishing holes, it's hard to top #18. From an elevated position at the edge of the woods, the broad creek flows beneath you. A shot straight out then turning right, neither too early (creek) nor too late (trees) places you in the middle of the fairway. From here, your challenge is to determine if you can throw, in addition to a straight shot, one long enough to clear a small branch of the creek that crosses several feet in front of the lightly tree-guarded basket.

Friendly locals: We unwittingly arrived ~75 minutes before the start of a doubles tournament, and the course was a-buzz with players warming-up. Despite the crowds, we managed to play through/with several groups, and were just finishing #17 when the start-call began to echo throughout the course. With nobody starting on #18, we finished w/o interfering with the tournament.
Cons:
Not much - maybe a second set of tees/more alternate pin positions to add variety?
Other Thoughts:
This very well-maintained course, with its excellent teepads and good signage, plays in the various-sized clearings and through modestly-dense woods, of a public park, named for the broad creek which wends its way through the midst of it.

From a shot-shaping perspective, the course requires an even blend of lefts/rights/straights off the teepad. While the fairways for a few of the short holes are fairly tight, and for a few of the long quite broad, most fall into the middling category. Several baskets are guarded by a few trees, but nothing ridiculous.

Distance-wise, 2/3rds of the holes fall into the 260'-340' range, with the remaining 1/3rd average ~485', creating a course primarily built around typical-length par-3s, but also including some legitimate par-4s. Elevation-wise, you're wondering if there is any as you play the front nine, but then you spend the near entirety of the back nine playing up or down an access path, or the woods to the left of it.

Excellent course. Looking forward to again visiting the disc-golf hotbed which is the greater Allentown area, and having a chance to savor this course during a less-rushed round.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 vs Back 9

1    5/14/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice concrete tees, baskets, multiple pin placements, and good tee signs. Excellent variety of shots and use of elevation and terrain. Really enjoyed holes 7-18 and has a high fun factor with some high risk. Course is really well maintained and was manicured like a ball golf course. Well defined fairways with some punishing rough and ob to keep the risk vs reward factor high.
Cons: Could use some next tee signs as there are some extra paths that may lend one to believe that is the way to the next tee. The creek may take your disc away, it's not your average little creek. The flow is little funky and cross over the fairway of hole 17 to get to hole 12. There are bikers, hikers, and fishing about the course so beware. Hole 3 and 5 play close to the parking lot, house and tennis courts. A couple of the wooden stairs going down hole 18 were broken.
Other Thoughts: There were a lot of disc golfers and others on the course in the middle of the weekday which kind of surprised me, so the park is fairly active. The whole course is mostly wooded and well defined fairways, and ob. The course is not too intimidating for a beginner and will still challenge a seasoned pro. It's almost like two completely different courses from the front and back 9's. The front 9 is fairly flat, short and technical with the creek and water and coming into play often. The back 9 plays over some extreme elevation and is where the course really got interesting for me. Holes 7-18, I thoroughly enjoyed!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Better every time...

5+    3/1/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course maintains a 5 rating in my book because of the consistent, if not improved, play of the course with each visit. Wooded and open play, variety of shots and pin positions, scenic appeal, mulch laden pathways, rubber tee pads, water hazards, and an abundance of signature holes are all pluses. Relatively no artificial OB. The Lehigh Valley Disc Golf Club signs are some of the better ones I've seen while navigating
Cons: A few similar holes (11-12 mainly). 7 can be challenge to play due to flooding after heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: The club has done a fantastic job preparing the course for the season with new pin positions and beautifully manicured mulch surrounding formerly wet tee pads and walk ways. The quality of the course continues to improve from year to year, and that can't be said for all courses in the region

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/8/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: buzyheat50
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: beginners n intermediates have fair chance to stay on fairways., sick over water shot, most hole locations easy to find, good teepads n baskets only 5mins from turnpike.
Cons: one heart attack hole at top of steep incline.. sick water shot eats disk.next tee signs would complete course.
Other Thoughts: great beginner intermediate course

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Jordan Creek

1    8/12/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful course and grounds. Tees are very close to the pervious baskets or well marked directions. Over a pond and near the creek holes make for a great challenge in shooting. Woods are heavy in places, lost my first disc here. Only had time for the front 9, but will make time soon for the back 9.
Cons: Heavily wooded in some spots. I lost my first "Ace" Viking on Hole 9 in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This will be a regular course when I am in the area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great allentowwn course

1    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: discgolfcrazy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: very good course. very long. well laidout. very good vaca. one day of dorney park, then disc golf in allentown(whitehall.) also loved dodos disc golf shop!
Cons: tight fairways. an lose a disc very fast.
Other Thoughts: a must visit for the pa area!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.