Whitehall, PA 
Jordan Creek Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #9 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 538ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Longer Course

5+    5/14/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Smf5125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course offers a great mixture of holes, lengths, obstacles, and difficulty.

Well Maintained majority of year.

A few holes to easily try new discs (9 is great to let a new disc rip)

Challenging for nearly all players but not too difficult that it isn't fun for new players

Some of the best designed holes in the Lehigh Valley, especially 18.
Cons: You can EASILY lose a disc on a good amount of holes here.

That's about all as far as cons for me.
Other Thoughts: I learned how to play on this course, probably not the best choice but I didn't know any better at the time. It does take a little longer to play as it is a pretty long course but it is a great course overall. One of my top three in the Lehigh valley easily.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really Nice Course

1    6/29/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course layout. Nice use of the terrain. Good mixture of some open holes and some with a little more woods.Concrete tee pads. Looks like they keep the course in good shape.
Cons: Only thing I can think of is some of the holes show 2 different baskets but I only ever saw one on those holes. Course can be tough for newbies like me.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course and glad it is no too far from my house so I can get there and play it. Hole 7 over the pond is tough for new players as you have to clear the water. Hole number 10 is really tough one up the hill.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Close to perfect!

1    6/28/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great Layout, It's got a good mixture of open holes, up hill holes, down hill holes, water holes and lots of Left & Right grassy fairways. White Castle not to far away.
Cons: Pond is a disc eater! Can get muddy here. The 1 extreme up hill hole is very hard!
Other Thoughts: Left Handers will do better here.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Variety

1    9/24/2012   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Lots of different looks off the tee.
- Rewards control and shot-shaping more than huge drives.
- A beautiful park.
- Fun finishing hole.
Cons: - None to mention.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've ever played. I'd go more often if I lived closer. It's a really beautiful-looking course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A dime

2-4    1/5/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Jordan Creek gets an A+ overall because of factors not limited to tee areas that are in good shape, great signage, easy navigation, a large and spread out course design that plays mostly through open woods and the occasional field, a good mix of par 3's and 4's both long and short, a wealth of drastic elevation changes, and good pin positions that are both fair and challenging.

Another sign of a great course to me is when I can call almost every single hole memorable, which is the case with Jordan. If I had to pick favorites, Hole 5 is really nice, playing through a tight initial column leading out of the woods opening up to a field that basically borders the yard of a house off to the left, with Jordan Creek flowing to the right. Sometimes they have an alternate basket across the creek, which ups the par by a stroke and IMO creates the best version of this hole. Hole 7 forces the tee shot to make it beyond a big pond (be careful!)--I love it when a hole forces you to play over water--to a small grove protected by trees where the two basket positions reside. Hole 8 follows this up with a nice snaking fairway through light woods to a hilltop basket, a great hole on the subtler end of the scale. Hole 10 welcomes you to the back 9 with a small mountain to climb, introducing big elevation to the course. This tee shot requires a big RHBH anny for most throwers, but it can be tough because the big wide path you'd like to take won't quite work because of the initial tree tunnel. Holes 11, 12, and 13 present a string of wide tunnel shots giving room for a long throw with one being uphill, one relatively level, and the last down a big hill. Hole 14 scratches the same itch as Hole 5 does for me, a beautifully designed hole that doesn't boast anything in particular, but it's a subtle gem playing through open wood with thin trees dotting the fairway that stretches slightly uphill and left to a hillside basket. Lastly, Hole 18 is a boss of a closer. The ideal tee shot is a RHBH anny that travels down a large hill over the creek and banks right to a landing area. The next shot (or 2 hehe) forces you to hit a gap of choice through trees and over a creek for a second time to the grove containing the basket--the most challenging hole on the course.

An added bonus is that Hole 1 and 2 form a small loop right at the parking lot, so you can play these again after 18, since you practically have to stumble over them to get to your car. Who wouldn't want to make it a 20 hole day?
Cons: Sometimes, this course requires you to coexist with dog walkers, hikers, and bikers since there is a large trail intertwined throughout the course. Usually it doesn't pose much of an issue. To my knowledge, there wasn't an available bathroom near the parking lot, but I am not 100% that I didn't simply miss it. The course is in a busy suburb, so it can get crowded on the weekend sometimes, but with most epic courses, there's no avoiding this reality.
Other Thoughts: Jordan Creek is a slice of heaven for disc golfers. In the hour radius around Philadelphia, I put this course right up there with Tyler, Nockamixon, Camp Sankanac, Iron Hill, and Carousel. There's really not a lot that could better the design here. It has a wealth of variety hole to hole, demanding a large tool kit of skills for most facets of the game. The course plays through a large park that traverses by houses, along rivers, up and down hills, through woods, across bridges, by a pond, along hiking/biking trails…overall a great representation of our sport to those unfamiliar with disc golf. For me, Jordan is over an hour away, but I'll be making the trip at least a dozen times a year.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lots to like

2-4    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2012
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fantastic 18 hole course. At the current time, holes 1 and 2 are back in business. Overall, the tee pads and signage are great. There are some truly signature holes here: 7 with the throw over the flooded mine shaft, 10 with the huge elevation change, and 18 with a throw over two water obstacles. The scenery is beautiful, fairways well maintained, and obvious constant care. The presence of a practice basket is also a nice amenity. I look forward to coming back to try all of the different pin placements. I have only played twice at this time, but already have experienced the variety that is offered here. Although there are walking and bike trails, it appears that disc golf is the most prevalent activity here, and it feels like the disc golfers own the land and it's more a case of bikers should watch out for disc golfers than disc golfers should watch out for bikers. Nice use of elevation, woods, and open areas to create some variety. Picnic benches at tees are also nice (minus the obscene graffiti).
Cons: All the pin positions are marked on the tee signs, however, it isn't always obvious which pin is currently in play. There are a few holes that are similar (11/12, 15/16).
Other Thoughts: All in all, a great course that adds to the Lehigh Valley experience. In my mind, Nockamixon ranks higher simply due to the greater variety of holes present there. Jordan Creek is a little easier of a trek, and does have better signage. One nod to Jordan Creek is the absence of monster par 5's, which as a beginner, I appreciate. The rough here can be really rough in spots with respect to thorns, so be careful. I consider myself a beginner and find this course enjoyable, though difficult at times. The pars are all very fair in my opinion. The care that is taken on this course is evident. Making temporary holes to grow grass on existing fairways, that's crazy! (in a good way)

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 newest update

5+    4/10/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: Discgolfer7383
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout with the addition of the temp holes, which may become permament to make 20 holes after original 1 & 2 are put back in. The course is easy to navigate. The first 9 tee pads have either been mulched or stoned to take away all the muddy spots. Tee signs are great with updates coming with the addition of a longer pin position on 5 which plays 647ft.
Cons: Pond hole: potential to lose discs in the stagnet pond
Other Thoughts: More changes to come in the future with hopefully multiple pin positions. The LVDC has been working hard at making this course one of the top in the state to play. Hole 5 in C-pin plays 647ft, hole 14 now plays about 370ft, and hole 16 now plays close to 400ft

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    4/10/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of landscape. Each hole is much different from the next. The hole across the pond, the hole across the basin, the hole up the hill and the last hole are top notch. Everything is extremely well maintained and the park is beautiful. The concrete tees are a huge plus and the sign and easy navigation are great as well.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2 were temporary due to some issues but the temporary holes were better than most other courses anyway. Hole 3 sign showed an alternate basket but it must have been taken out due to trout season.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. It is of the highest calibur but a bit more forgiving than nockamixon. I will be returning very soon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Valley Gem

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads, Beautiful Tee Signage, Extremely well manicured course. This course is very challenging and will require a wide variety of throws plus the right choice in disc. This is not a beginner course at all! Course is absolutely beautiful hands down! This course uses everything from water hazards to massive elevation changes to nice open fairway shots and tight wooded shots. Picnic tables throughout course along with trash cans and other benches. Par 58 which is not an easy task. The locals definitely take pride in this course and it shows! Hands down the Lehigh Valley Gem!
Cons: Course can get crowded at times with large groups playing. The park overall can become crowded but that is because it is a beautiful park. You have everything from walkers, joggers, bikers, fisherman, and of course disc golfers. As far as I'm concerned with this course there is not one "Con" i can think of.
Other Thoughts: I am lucky enough to live in the Valley and play this course a few times a month. I would highly recommend this course to anyone willing to travel or passing through the area. You will not be disappointed!! Easily one of the top rated courses on the east coast in my opinion.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pro course

1    8/5/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long distances. You'll get your practice in on this one. Some par about half and half par 3's and 4's. This is a very hard course and not for the faint of heart. Some VERY cool holes thought. One that forces you to throw over a pond. One that goes up a very steep incline.
Cons: Some of the fairways are narrow and if you send a disc too far either way, you might lose it. It's the in the middle of a very heavily wooded area so when you do send a disc off course, it's difficult to find. But, that comes with the territory.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner, I found myself not keeping score after the first 9, but still fully enjoyed the course. The sun was starting to go down and in the forest the sun goes down even quicker, so I was not able to finish, unfortunately.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.