Whitehall, PA
Jordan Creek Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #2
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Great Course

1    12/1/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Very technical holes
*Well thought out hole layout
*Best finishing hole I have ever played (even though I lost a disc)
*Beautiful location
*Good placement of water hazards to make it tough
*Nice tee boxes
*Good signage
*Well maintained park
Cons: *This course can eat up your discs
Other Thoughts: For an average player like me (700 player rating), It will be a very tough course, but it is worth playing because you need to play hard courses to get better.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great condition. Good design.

2-4    10/20/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Condition of the course is perfect. Tee pads are very nice. Navigation is exceptional nearly everywhere. Very nice park. Less crowded than expected. A number of well designed holes.
Cons: Repetitive, especially off the tee. Needs more variety from the box. Still, a super place 2 play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Real Classic

5+    3/28/2014   9/2/2013
Review By: lvdiscgolfloser
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *All concrete tee pads.
*Great mix of woods and open fairways. Trees are often in play but there are opportunities for good shooters. A real challenge for beginners and average players.
*The first few holes let you warm up before the challenge begins.
*The water really comes into play, especially when the creek is up. The pond on 7 is daunting, and 18 is just awesome - downhill and over water twice.
*The uphill 10th is both awesome and a real challenge, now with two pin placements.
*Some long holes to let the big arms show off.
Cons: *The rough is Rough in the Spring and Summer - waist high and full of spider webs. If your shot is off, you will lose discs.
*The park is heavily used and I've come across picnics on the 9th fairway, mountain bikers criss-crossing fairways and tees, and gangs of kids chilling on the 7th tee, and people being walked by there dogs.
Other Thoughts: Bring your own water.
Bathrooms aren't usually open.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Justly popular

1    8/24/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good tee signs. Good signs for navigation. Very well maintained. Perfect tees. A very nice park, that seems remarkably secluded. Challenging, but fair. Even the long holes give you a good size landing area to balance things out.

18 is a truly great hole. The two water hazards can be avoided (usually )if you are happy with a par or flirted with if you want to go for a three. This is how a water hole should be designed. It is a fantastic finishing hole.
Cons: Very few, and even those are mostly minor. The pond hole is both good and bad. Its a fairly typical hole, but if you play a bad shot...there is no chance at all to get your disc back. I consider this a fairly substantial design flaw. In two places, the signage could be improved, but this is a very small issue.

I thought there was alot of similarity, early on, in the kind of tee shot needed. The later holes get more wooded, but like the rest of the course, there is not much in your way right out of the box. IMO, Jordan could use a few short, truly technical holes for balance.
Other Thoughts: An earlier reviewer said it was lefty friendly. I disagree, at least for backhand players. If anything it favors RHBH or LHFH, but not enough to annoy rh flickers.

Although I did not fall in love with Jordan to the degree that others have, I still consider this course, in this delightful park, to be must play

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Really Nice Course

1    6/29/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: jbetz45453
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course layout. Nice use of the terrain. Good mixture of some open holes and some with a little more woods.Concrete tee pads. Looks like they keep the course in good shape.
Cons: Only thing I can think of is some of the holes show 2 different baskets but I only ever saw one on those holes. Course can be tough for newbies like me.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course and glad it is no too far from my house so I can get there and play it. Hole 7 over the pond is tough for new players as you have to clear the water. Hole number 10 is really tough one up the hill.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Close to perfect!

1    6/28/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great Layout, It's got a good mixture of open holes, up hill holes, down hill holes, water holes and lots of Left & Right grassy fairways. White Castle not to far away.
Cons: Pond is a disc eater! Can get muddy here. The 1 extreme up hill hole is very hard!
Other Thoughts: Left Handers will do better here.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Variety

1    9/24/2012   6/24/2013
Review By: Sketto
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Lots of different looks off the tee.
- Rewards control and shot-shaping more than huge drives.
- A beautiful park.
- Fun finishing hole.
Cons: - None to mention.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've ever played. I'd go more often if I lived closer. It's a really beautiful-looking course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Solid course with nice balance

2-4    4/4/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with great concrete tee pads and nice signs at each hole. Baskets are all good and have no issues. Park is very well maintained and so is the course. Navigation is also easy even without a map. Only exception would be hole 15-16. See cons for details.

Course starts out fairly basic with the first 6 holes simply playing through a mix of open fairways lined with trees or having a few trees mixed throughout. They are all decent holes, but nothing too exciting.

Hole 7 has about a 200' water carry over a pond with a basket perched 313' from the tee. Nice little pond hole.

Hole 9 is a fun 538' bomb with an open field turning to trees and then a green with the creek behind the basket. Pretty shot.

Hole 10 is a beast that looks simple from the tee, until you get to the base of the steep hill you must get up. There is major roll-away risk to the right and a steep, fast green. Great hole!

Holes 11-13 play along a open easement or old roadbed area and play pretty much open with woods along the fairway to add some risk. 14-17 all play through some fairly tight wooded fairways and throw in a small amount of elevation to add some challenge.

18 is simply a great finishing hole. A nice down hill look from the tee pad crossing the creek on the way to a relatively open fairway. Then a nice straight look at the basket on the other side of the creek again. Two water carries in one hole, and lots of ways to play depending on where you reach off the tee. A fun and beautiful hole all in one. Well done!
Cons: Not much to complain about here. Everything is pretty straightforward and well done. You do have to walk past the tee for 16 to get to the 15 pad. That's a little odd, but doesn't really hurt anything.
Other Thoughts: There were really only 2 or 3 holes here I'd call above average or exceptional, but nonetheless this is a very nice course. Its strengths are the variety of ups, downs, open and tight. And of course there are multiple water carries and chances to over shoot basket and hit the creek. There is also not really a bad hole on this course. There is nothing I'd consider a filler hole or something you look at and wonder what the heck is going on. It's all just very nice, orderly, scenic and challenging. Jordan Creek is definitely a must play if you are in this part of PA. It might not be as challenging as Nockamixon or offer up as much variety as Tyler St Park, but it is very good in its own right.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A dime

2-4    1/5/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Jordan Creek gets an A+ overall because of factors not limited to tee areas that are in good shape, great signage, easy navigation, a large and spread out course design that plays mostly through open woods and the occasional field, a good mix of par 3's and 4's both long and short, a wealth of drastic elevation changes, and good pin positions that are both fair and challenging.

Another sign of a great course to me is when I can call almost every single hole memorable, which is the case with Jordan. If I had to pick favorites, Hole 5 is really nice, playing through a tight initial column leading out of the woods opening up to a field that basically borders the yard of a house off to the left, with Jordan Creek flowing to the right. Sometimes they have an alternate basket across the creek, which ups the par by a stroke and IMO creates the best version of this hole. Hole 7 forces the tee shot to make it beyond a big pond (be careful!)--I love it when a hole forces you to play over water--to a small grove protected by trees where the two basket positions reside. Hole 8 follows this up with a nice snaking fairway through light woods to a hilltop basket, a great hole on the subtler end of the scale. Hole 10 welcomes you to the back 9 with a small mountain to climb, introducing big elevation to the course. This tee shot requires a big RHBH anny for most throwers, but it can be tough because the big wide path you'd like to take won't quite work because of the initial tree tunnel. Holes 11, 12, and 13 present a string of wide tunnel shots giving room for a long throw with one being uphill, one relatively level, and the last down a big hill. Hole 14 scratches the same itch as Hole 5 does for me, a beautifully designed hole that doesn't boast anything in particular, but it's a subtle gem playing through open wood with thin trees dotting the fairway that stretches slightly uphill and left to a hillside basket. Lastly, Hole 18 is a boss of a closer. The ideal tee shot is a RHBH anny that travels down a large hill over the creek and banks right to a landing area. The next shot (or 2 hehe) forces you to hit a gap of choice through trees and over a creek for a second time to the grove containing the basket--the most challenging hole on the course.

An added bonus is that Hole 1 and 2 form a small loop right at the parking lot, so you can play these again after 18, since you practically have to stumble over them to get to your car. Who wouldn't want to make it a 20 hole day?
Cons: Sometimes, this course requires you to coexist with dog walkers, hikers, and bikers since there is a large trail intertwined throughout the course. Usually it doesn't pose much of an issue. To my knowledge, there wasn't an available bathroom near the parking lot, but I am not 100% that I didn't simply miss it. The course is in a busy suburb, so it can get crowded on the weekend sometimes, but with most epic courses, there's no avoiding this reality.
Other Thoughts: Jordan Creek is a slice of heaven for disc golfers. In the hour radius around Philadelphia, I put this course right up there with Tyler, Nockamixon, Camp Sankanac, Iron Hill, and Carousel. There's really not a lot that could better the design here. It has a wealth of variety hole to hole, demanding a large tool kit of skills for most facets of the game. The course plays through a large park that traverses by houses, along rivers, up and down hills, through woods, across bridges, by a pond, along hiking/biking trails…overall a great representation of our sport to those unfamiliar with disc golf. For me, Jordan is over an hour away, but I'll be making the trip at least a dozen times a year.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Does Much Well

1    7/28/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
For those who fancy epic finishing holes, it's hard to top #18. From an elevated position at the edge of the woods, the broad creek flows beneath you. A shot straight out then turning right, neither too early (creek) nor too late (trees) places you in the middle of the fairway. From here, your challenge is to determine if you can throw, in addition to a straight shot, one long enough to clear a small branch of the creek that crosses several feet in front of the lightly tree-guarded basket.

Friendly locals: We unwittingly arrived ~75 minutes before the start of a doubles tournament, and the course was a-buzz with players warming-up. Despite the crowds, we managed to play through/with several groups, and were just finishing #17 when the start-call began to echo throughout the course. With nobody starting on #18, we finished w/o interfering with the tournament.
Cons:
Not much - maybe a second set of tees/more alternate pin positions to add variety?
Other Thoughts:
This very well-maintained course, with its excellent teepads and good signage, plays in the various-sized clearings and through modestly-dense woods, of a public park, named for the broad creek which wends its way through the midst of it.

From a shot-shaping perspective, the course requires an even blend of lefts/rights/straights off the teepad. While the fairways for a few of the short holes are fairly tight, and for a few of the long quite broad, most fall into the middling category. Several baskets are guarded by a few trees, but nothing ridiculous.

Distance-wise, 2/3rds of the holes fall into the 260'-340' range, with the remaining 1/3rd average ~485', creating a course primarily built around typical-length par-3s, but also including some legitimate par-4s. Elevation-wise, you're wondering if there is any as you play the front nine, but then you spend the near entirety of the back nine playing up or down an access path, or the woods to the left of it.

Excellent course. Looking forward to again visiting the disc-golf hotbed which is the greater Allentown area, and having a chance to savor this course during a less-rushed round.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.