Whitehall, PA 
Jordan Creek Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #16 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Stopped by from Maine for a round or 5

1    10/23/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: seano2222
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Gets a 5.0 from me because I have yet to play any better. I purposely stayed in Allentown for a weekend to explore the cluster of highly rated courses in the area. Jordan Creek was the one that drew me back for a total of 5 rounds before I left - I just couldn't get enough of this course.

The course is immaculately maintained by park grounds crew. There are many grass fairways surrounded by or including trees. On this late fall day, even the most remote of them had been vacuumed free of leaves. Didn't see any garbage anywhere. Most roads would envy bridges as nice as this park had for river crossings.

Signage, tee pads and baskets all in great shape. There are some pictures here that look like natural tee boxes, but to the best of my recollection all of the tee boxes we of the improved variety, mostly grip textured concrete.

No real navigation issues for a first timer. The course traverses the park in a figure 8 loop and herd paths from one hole to the next are obvious (possible exception of 15 to 16 in the fall). The loop aspect is a great feature, adding a pleasant seclusion. You rarely can see golfers unless in front or behind you - No errant disc seekers on your fairway ever, no discs flying in unexpectedly. Even with a crowded parking lot, it feels like you have the course to yourself.

The level of play is exceptional. Lots of open but bordered fairways, that can take a full swing drive with your choice of disc - Followed by more technical approach work. Elevation and structure are constantly in play, while not being overbearing. Lots of water to keep you honest, the 18th hole crosses rivers twice! A decent share of holes have treed fairways, but never obnoxiously tight. Ground cover surrounding the fairways is not difficult to contend with if you ricochet off track (some pucker-brush though)
Cons: Hole 7 and 8 had been overtaken by water from what the locals tell me was a summer full of consecutive storms. 8 was messy but playable. I didn't risk losing a disc on 7. Extrapolating from the signage it was about 275 across the water (a flooded mine shaft). The short pin placement was under water. Too risky a distance and too tight a space like this for me to consistently land a disc. You could see where many of the fairways showed signs of receded flooding. If what the locals say is true, this isn't normally a knock on this course.

There is a good amount of mountain bike and cross country runner traffic that a few times was sudden and unexpected.

Other Thoughts: First time through, make sure to get the lay of the land, some fairways run along the river without being obvious from the tee. A few of the baskets are placed right up to the river's edge, but you can't necessarily see this from even from approach distance.

I liked that Lehigh County Parks had standardized the signage on at least this course and Lehigh Parkway ,that I had also played - Whether you like the information on the signs or not, knowing what to expect from signs when moving from one course to another is good for the game.

Most Memorable Hole: 18 with it's steep drop off the tee and daunting water crossings.

Favorite Holes: 9, 10, 13, 14 & 18

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Jordan Creek

1    8/12/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful course and grounds. Tees are very close to the pervious baskets or well marked directions. Over a pond and near the creek holes make for a great challenge in shooting. Woods are heavy in places, lost my first disc here. Only had time for the front 9, but will make time soon for the back 9.
Cons: Heavily wooded in some spots. I lost my first "Ace" Viking on Hole 9 in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This will be a regular course when I am in the area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Valley Gem

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads, Beautiful Tee Signage, Extremely well manicured course. This course is very challenging and will require a wide variety of throws plus the right choice in disc. This is not a beginner course at all! Course is absolutely beautiful hands down! This course uses everything from water hazards to massive elevation changes to nice open fairway shots and tight wooded shots. Picnic tables throughout course along with trash cans and other benches. Par 58 which is not an easy task. The locals definitely take pride in this course and it shows! Hands down the Lehigh Valley Gem!
Cons: Course can get crowded at times with large groups playing. The park overall can become crowded but that is because it is a beautiful park. You have everything from walkers, joggers, bikers, fisherman, and of course disc golfers. As far as I'm concerned with this course there is not one "Con" i can think of.
Other Thoughts: I am lucky enough to live in the Valley and play this course a few times a month. I would highly recommend this course to anyone willing to travel or passing through the area. You will not be disappointed!! Easily one of the top rated courses on the east coast in my opinion.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 great allentowwn course

1    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: discgolfcrazy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: very good course. very long. well laidout. very good vaca. one day of dorney park, then disc golf in allentown(whitehall.) also loved dodos disc golf shop!
Cons: tight fairways. an lose a disc very fast.
Other Thoughts: a must visit for the pa area!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Pro course

1    8/5/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long distances. You'll get your practice in on this one. Some par about half and half par 3's and 4's. This is a very hard course and not for the faint of heart. Some VERY cool holes thought. One that forces you to throw over a pond. One that goes up a very steep incline.
Cons: Some of the fairways are narrow and if you send a disc too far either way, you might lose it. It's the in the middle of a very heavily wooded area so when you do send a disc off course, it's difficult to find. But, that comes with the territory.
Other Thoughts: As a beginner, I found myself not keeping score after the first 9, but still fully enjoyed the course. The sun was starting to go down and in the forest the sun goes down even quicker, so I was not able to finish, unfortunately.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A must for the Allentown area

1    7/23/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course makes you use every type of shot you have
-The signage is beautiful
-The course is well groomed and it's obvious that the local disc club takes pride in their courses
-Great use of elevation and water
-Course is relatively easy to navigate. Just follow the paths.
-Nice tee pads
-Great mix of short holes and long holes
Cons: -While pulling discs out of the river is easy, once a disc goes into the pond on #7 it's pretty much lost, unless you have a floating disc.
Other Thoughts: My group of 4 had a great time playing this course for the first time. If we are in the area again we will be sure to play again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best

1    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: rickerbocker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The tee signs are some of the best I have seen. The tee pads are in great condition, and the variety of play in this course is great. This is one course that throws all kinds of terrain at you, from drives over water to steep elevation changes.
Cons: Although the course is easy enough to navigate, some markings or signs to indicate where the next tee is would go a long way to provide assurance for where exactly you are going.

With the extreme elevation on hole 10 this can really take a lot out of some people if you were looking for a more leisurely game.

The course can become crowded on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: This shot up my list of favorite courses in the area. It provides a great variety of shots that allow you to use pretty much every facet of your game.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/19/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: gauma369
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Tons of different shot opportunity
-Nice tee signs
-Nice tee pads
-Water in play
-Good use of elevation
Cons: -'Next tee' signs would help new players
-Hole 11 and 12 of repetitive
-Going from hole 11 to 12 you must pass in front of hole 17 tee(can be dangerous if its crowded which it can be and you aren't paying attention)
Other Thoughts: Been playing this course for years and saw some of the changes they have made and I must say they are for the absolute best. The course has come a long way and it now is up at the top for must play disc golf course in eastern PA. Nice stretch of open holes and wooded holes with some nice water holes thrown in. Pretty much everything you want in a disc golf course. Props to Lehigh Valley Disc Golf organization for keeping this course in great shape.
If your traveling a distance to play this course make a day of it and play Little Lehigh Parkway and/or Nockamixon State park.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just play it, you will thank me later

5+    6/5/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -A gem of a course that insists that the player execute a wide variety of shots
-Beautiful natural setting with a creek, a mountain and woodlands
-Good tee pads and signage
-Lots of benches, tables and trashcans throughout
-Excellent fishing on Jordan Creek
Cons: -Can get very busy, especially on weekends
-Multi-use park, lots of bikers, dog walkers and fisherman
-low lying holes can be muddy
-An arrow would be useful on one or two holes for first timers
Other Thoughts: Jordan Creek is a definite must play. It is a challenging course that isn't too long or obscenely difficult. Its tough but not overbearing, as an above average rec level player I enjoy playing it.
If it rained recently be aware that there will probably be mud present.
There are lots of unique holes present throughout this course, with #7. #10. and #18 being my favorites.
Just play it, you will thank me later

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

5+    5/15/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Hyzer_Soze
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - This course requires every shot in your in your bag.
- Most holes can be played several different ways, making it a thinking players course.
- One of the host courses of 2005 world championship. A well deserved honor.
- Long drives are a plus if you want to go low, but shorter accurate players can still score near par if they're on their game.
- All holes have clear, sometimes demanding but always fair paths to the basket.
- Great tee signs, logical navigation, many benches and garbage cans.
Cons: - The course has been crowded as of late, but I guess that's a testament to its greatness.
- There's some mountain bike traffic, but their paths seldom get in the way of disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate enough to have played this as my home course since the early 1990's. I've seen it change many times and while I miss some of the old holes that have been retired, I really think they've made the best of the land with their current layout.

I gave this course a 5.0. I don't take that lightly. Jordan is the course by which I measure all others. I'm blessed to live in an area with multiple world class courses nearby and I consider Jordan the best.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.