Whitehall, PA
Jordan Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: Tight fairway with basket on top of a hill and trees on its left.



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My Favorite Course of All!

1    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: teamgeopuff@gmail.co
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A chance to throw just about every shot in your arsenal. This course has challenging holes that require finess and wide open let er rip holes that are fun! Well maintained, perfect equipment and the concrete tee's are all in tip top shape. Hole ten starts off the back 9 with a fantastic uphill basket that takes a little care.
Cons: Hole 7 is an expert level water challenge hole with a stagnant pond to throw over, many holes offer medium to dense brush along the edges of the course and it is easy to lose discs, hole 18 is another expert hole with a significant water obstacle.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best in the Lehigh Valley that I have seen and is mhy personal favorite. It has the full range of challenges that a disc golfer wants in a full 18 hole round of DG. Uphills, downhills, open fields, advanced water in play, even some wooded technical terrain. All around great course!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing. Just, absolutely amazing.

5+    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: Theli420
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Its stunning beauty. There are some holes that are just amazing. #18, standing on top of a hill throwing over the creek once... Then you get walk down the steps built (though watch your last step now..), over the bridge to find your disc to learn that you have to throw over the creek, AGAIN! That is the best finisher I have ever played, and will be tough to beat. My favorite definently has to be #3, a nice LHBH for me that doglegs right. I just let my Katana rip and it takes care of the rest.

- Variety. You have your lengthy holes, like #5 in the B position, where you drive through a fairway thats initially narrow with trees on both sides, creek off to far right through trees, then the fairway opens up after getting past a private residence. Don't worry though, residence does not come into play. You also have some short ace runs like #2, with multiple lanes for either righty or lefty. I can throw LHBH or LHFH and, if executed, an ace run is definently possible, and also on the pond hole #7 in "A" position.There is uphill blind drives as well, like on #12, with open fairway, and basket tucked just into the woods on the left. Of course, there's the world's famous "Mountain Hole" on #10, an absolute beast with a huge drop off to the creek on the right once you climb the mountain, and all kinds of shrapnel on the left. I am also a fan of #13, straight downhill with a pictureesque (sp?) view of the hole at the bottom, with Jordan Creek bordering the back if you juice up on the HGH beforehand.

- Several picnic benches, great signage, and tons of trash cans help keep the course's natural beauty in tact (despite some of it being built on a former garbage dump or landfill).

- 5 minutes from my house. I am proud to call this my home course. This is where I have been learning for the last 3 months how to play this game.
Cons: - Gnarly rough present on a lot of holes. I would recommend wearing high socks, or pants, so your legs don't get destroyed like mine did looking for some wayward drives.

- Non DG'ers. You'll see people back there partying, some mountain bikers, people walking their dogs. Be vigilant. Sometimes you'll get kids that wander from the nearby baseball fields, as well. One time on #5 some guy was taking water for some reason and parked his van directly in front of #5 "B" pin. He spoke no English and he didn't understand my hand gestures with my frisbee (i was pointing at the basket and making a throwing motion).
Other Thoughts: This is the most amazing course I've ever played. You can let it rip on some holes, need some finesse on some holes (like #14 and #15, back to back technical wooded holes), and plain ol' courage on others. This course has it all. The course is very well-maintained and has amazing concrete tee boxes for launch. I can not say enough good things about this place, other than PLAY IT AND PLAY IT OFTEN!!!! Again, if anyone from out of town needs a course guide or anyone ever wants to play, send me a message. This is an absolute 5!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Eastern PA's Best

5+    5/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: CorMan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course has every shot in the book, Ups, Downs, Lefts, and Rights. Beautiful fairways in the woods, I have played 10+ Eastern PA courses and this one is by far the best. A great Par 3 course with some real nice holes that make it worth playing as often as you can make it out.
Cons: If you are not accurate with your throws you might spend a good amount of time looking for your disc and may lose it for good.
Other Thoughts: Pond hole #7, Mountian hole #10, #13, and two rivers #18 are the signature holes. The rest of the course is just as awesome. I really enjoy the cut out fairways. And the obstacles in the fairways make this course comparable to ball golf. I would recommend that every Discgolfer play this course

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Jordan Creek

5+    1/14/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is ablsolutely the best course that we have played thus far. The terrain diversity is great. There is everything from open field throws to distance pond throws. Not enough can be said about this course. The best part is that no matter how many times you play it you will walk away from some holes smiling and others cursing.
Cons: The worst hole is the up hill throw. We can not figure this one out. This is also a LONG distance walking course. You will be tired but it is well worth it.
Other Thoughts: Our Lab/Collie loves this course because she can simply run. Watch out for the random bikers every so often.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Final Hole in Disc Golf!

1    3/27/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - One of the most beautiful courses I have ever played. The rolling green hills, the sparkling Jordan Creek, and the overall beauty along the trail is paralleled by few other courses I've played. It's kind of hard to believe the commonwealth's 3rd most populous city is right nearby!

- Elevation changes set this course above the rest of the competition. Like flat expanses to launch your discs? Check. How about bombing your disc up the side of a giant hillside? Check. Want some "top of the world" drives where you can see your disc fly like an eagle? Jordan Creek definitely has all three.

- Nice locals and a very supportive and involved disc golf community

- There's also a fantastic element of risk-reward, augmented by the placement of discs near water hazards. The man-made pond on #7 and numerous other holes have the basket placed very close to the water. Hole #13 is a great example: do you go for an ace run on the straight away drive, or do you ease off to avoid sending the disc into the drink? As such, this course makes you think about your shots very carefully.

- Contains both open bomb throws and technical shots, although the balance is somewhat skewed (see cons). As I've already mentioned, this is a water hazard lover's dream.

- Nice signage and concrete tees. The signage and layout of the course makes it difficult to get lost and the concrete tees are amazing for footing and x-steps.

- Nice par 4s that are challenging but not impossible.

Notable holes:

#7 - A 200+ drive over a man-made pond.
#10 - A 489 uphill par 4 bomb to a basket atop a giant hillside. Placement is key, or you'll find your disc rolling back down! Great views from the top.
#14 - A very lush landscape with tiny trees that are just large enough to stop your disc!

But the best hole is the final and 18th one. I'm a strong believer that last impressions are more important than first ones on a disc golf course and Jordan Creek definitely has a memorable 18th hole. You have to drive your disc off a steep hillside and cross a creek to a drop zone. Then, you have to clear another creek before you can get to the basket! Spectacular! I have never played a hole so thrilling! This hole encapsulates the fun and essence of disc golf and easily bumps this course from a 4 to a 4.5. Neither words nor photos can do this hole justice.
Cons: - Course can get very crowded with both disc golfers and people seeking other recreation. I now see what the other reviewers meant when they said that the mountain bikers materialize out of nowhere!

- I wish there were a few more technical shots on the front nine, as the back nine has the majority of the tight wooded holes.

- I can also see this course getting very thick in the spring/summer months; playing in march or october/november might be the best time.


Other Thoughts: Aside from Paw Paw and maybe Deer Lakes or Moraine, there are few courses that leave me speechless after playing. Jordan Creek is definitely one of those.

This is by far the finest disc golf course in the Lehigh Valley, and that's saying something considering both the quantity and quality of the courses in the area. Playing with Little Lehigh Parkway is a must, as the two complement one another well.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Jordan Creek

5+    7/9/2009   3/9/2010
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Jordan Creek Parkway has a great layout. It has its variety of wooded areas as well as open fairways. There is just enough water to keep things interesting. Despite being so close to the city, the views are great. Some holes have few obstacles and others require pecision shooting. Great for all levels of play. I find that Jordan gets a lot of players out on the course, great for meeting new local players. It's also big enough to keep over crowding at a minimum.
The tees are in excellent condition and allow sufficient room for your initial drive. All baskets are well maintained. Simple to navigate without a map.
Cons: As we know this course hosts the flow of the jordan creek. Naturally the surrounding areas tend to maintain a lot of moisture, especially following a heavy rain. After it rains, its good to wait couple days before setting out on this course.
Jordan Parkway is not only a DG course, but also a great area to mountain bike, walk your dog, fish, and hike. Because of this, there are quite a few non disc golfers throughout the early season and summer. Rarely however do these patrons cause a delay in the game.
Since dogs are permitted on the course, I often find my self dodging doggy logs.
Not only does the Jordan Creek run through the course, there is a medium sized pond that is directly in the middle of one of the holes. The tee is on one side of the pond, which is elevated on that side. You then drive your disc across to the opposite shore. Very easy to lose a good disc. It can be exciting, but it forces beginner players to play from a drop zone.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I thoroughly enjoy this course. At the present time there isn't much to do to improve it. Much has been done over the past few years to make it what it is today.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 World Class

5+    1/18/2010   1/27/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety - this course takes you in and out of the woods, up and down hills, and has birdies/possible ace runs mixed with a few Pro par 4's (holes 5(long),9,10 and 18 )

2005 Worlds course (which shows that it is an excellent course) - I find it cool to think I'm playing the same course as Climo and other greats

Several baskets are rotated
Well shaded course

Water- I love holes that water comes into play and this has several, including throwing over a man made lake (which has a shorter tee if you chose) and a signature 18th that has you throw over water twice.

Many memorable holes (pond, 18, "heart attack hill")

Excellent concrete tee pads
Practice Basket
Very close to other courses if you want even more variety

Holes with multiple basket locations (1 month into the fishing season the baskets get moved to the long positions and go back to the short in the colder months)
Cons: No next tee signs - the coures does flow very well, but print a map your first time out.

Course doesn't drain that well -if it rains perhaps try another course (Little Lehigh gets flooded even worse)

Tough on beginners (can be pro or con, but with plenty of water in play, as well as Pro par 4's, this isn't the place to teach your friend the game)

A few early holes as well as the pond hole, 13, and 17 can have Mountain Bikers coming through

Other Thoughts: This is a top notch course that is a must play if in the area. Close to many major roads it is very easy to get to.
Hole 1 plays along a creek to make sure you don't shank your first drive. Hole 7 has a man made pond that most players should have no trouble clearing.
Hole 8 has a basket that is on a sort of ledge that a duece putt can turn into a bogey. Hole 9 is a beautiful hole that starts open, but finishes in the woods with a basket placed back near the creek. Hole 10 "Heart Attack Hill" is a very challenging and satisfying par 4. You drive out to the base of the hill (hopefully) and than begin to ascend hill with a tough basket placement (check under the photos tab, theres a great shot of the basket looking down). Slightly odd layout after 14. you walk on the path past 16 (arrow on bench pointing the way) and find 15 to your left. play that hole and walk back towards 16. 18 is a amazing hole that throws from an elevated tee over a creek to a wooded fairway that will leave you with a decision - glory shot over second creek or play it safe? The top finishing hole I've played. This course doesn't have one hole that stands out, it has several (pond, heart attack hill and 18 for example) . This course should be part of any Disc Golf trip in the region (very close to Little Lehigh, South Mountain, nockamixon) and a little bit further from Tinicum or newly installed Blue Mountain.
If you do have a disc retreiving device be sure to bring it as its possible someone in your group can end up wet

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best

5+    12/5/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of variety. Long, grassy fairways to tight wooded holes, flat runs to significant elevation changes, and everything in between. Both new and experienced players will like the variety of holes. Lots of different water hazards keeps any player on their toes.

The signage on the course is good and (for the most part) so is the flow of the course from one hole to the next. Concrete tee pads and multiple pin positions are also a big plus.

The course itself is secluded and beautiful. the local players do a lot to try to keep the course and the park clean. You'd never know that the course happens to sit just off one of the busiest shopping corridoors in the Lehigh Valley.
Cons: These are more nitpicking than real criticisms.

Caution must be maintained during the drive on hole 17 as it crosses the fairway/walking path of other holes.

Like so many other courses, wet conditions lead to muddy play. That being said, when you consider that course was clearly designed to fit in with the natural surroundings and wasn't designed with storm water management in mind, this potentially negative aspect can be easily overlooked.

While not necessarily a con, thru-hikers and mountain bikers can appear seemingly out of nowhere so caution must be taken before you launch your disc.
Other Thoughts: The cons notwithstanding, this is an AMAZING course and is, by far, the favorite course at the start of my disc golfing obsession.

Waterproof footwear and a Golden Retriever or a telescopic rake might not be a bad idea here. With all the different water hazards, it's not too terribly difficult to lose a disc in the drink (I've done it twice in one round).

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 On river Jordan

1    10/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 68  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: lovely course that tests everything and doles out a few ace runs and birdies. Great setting, mix of wooded and more open holes. Hole 10, 13, and 18 are awesome. Great pin placements. sweet tee boxes and hole signage. So fun I had to play it twice...
Cons: People don't like one and two but in all fairness they test your hyzer and anny lines right away. Maybe holes 11 and 12 could be tweaked to test a hyzer and anny, instead of having two hyzers in a row. Next tee signs would be a bonus.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is a signature disc golf hole anywhere. What other courses have an elevated tee pad, an initial creek to cross, a dogleg right, and then a ball testing second creek to cross before getting to the green?

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    10/11/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 35.9 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'm a bit biased, but this is a truly world-class disc golf course. I've played it since it first opened, and have seen all the changes- even the one where they moved the whole course across the street and then back.
Variety, scenery, amenities, length, grooming, great new concrete tees. A true test of your game. This course has come a very long way over the years, and it was pretty darn good to start with.
Play Jordan Creek if you happen to be in the Lehigh Valley- You will not be disappointed.
Cons: It can get muddy. Lost discs are a distinct possibility. Mountain bikers discovered the course soon after it was first installed and did their usual parasitic number of piggybacking on the work of disc golfers. Be aware.
Other Thoughts: I love Jordan Creek. Credit must go to Peter McLaughlin and Bob Buttery for pioneering the place.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.