Disc Golf Store
Whitehall, PA 
Jordan Creek Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #14 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of the Best

5+    12/5/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of variety. Long, grassy fairways to tight wooded holes, flat runs to significant elevation changes, and everything in between. Both new and experienced players will like the variety of holes. Lots of different water hazards keeps any player on their toes.

The signage on the course is good and (for the most part) so is the flow of the course from one hole to the next. Concrete tee pads and multiple pin positions are also a big plus.

The course itself is secluded and beautiful. the local players do a lot to try to keep the course and the park clean. You'd never know that the course happens to sit just off one of the busiest shopping corridoors in the Lehigh Valley.
Cons: These are more nitpicking than real criticisms.

Caution must be maintained during the drive on hole 17 as it crosses the fairway/walking path of other holes.

Like so many other courses, wet conditions lead to muddy play. That being said, when you consider that course was clearly designed to fit in with the natural surroundings and wasn't designed with storm water management in mind, this potentially negative aspect can be easily overlooked.

While not necessarily a con, thru-hikers and mountain bikers can appear seemingly out of nowhere so caution must be taken before you launch your disc.
Other Thoughts: The cons notwithstanding, this is an AMAZING course and is, by far, the favorite course at the start of my disc golfing obsession.

Waterproof footwear and a Golden Retriever or a telescopic rake might not be a bad idea here. With all the different water hazards, it's not too terribly difficult to lose a disc in the drink (I've done it twice in one round).

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 On river Jordan

1    10/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: lovely course that tests everything and doles out a few ace runs and birdies. Great setting, mix of wooded and more open holes. Hole 10, 13, and 18 are awesome. Great pin placements. sweet tee boxes and hole signage. So fun I had to play it twice...
Cons: People don't like one and two but in all fairness they test your hyzer and anny lines right away. Maybe holes 11 and 12 could be tweaked to test a hyzer and anny, instead of having two hyzers in a row. Next tee signs would be a bonus.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 is a signature disc golf hole anywhere. What other courses have an elevated tee pad, an initial creek to cross, a dogleg right, and then a ball testing second creek to cross before getting to the green?

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    10/11/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'm a bit biased, but this is a truly world-class disc golf course. I've played it since it first opened, and have seen all the changes- even the one where they moved the whole course across the street and then back.
Variety, scenery, amenities, length, grooming, great new concrete tees. A true test of your game. This course has come a very long way over the years, and it was pretty darn good to start with.
Play Jordan Creek if you happen to be in the Lehigh Valley- You will not be disappointed.
Cons: It can get muddy. Lost discs are a distinct possibility. Mountain bikers discovered the course soon after it was first installed and did their usual parasitic number of piggybacking on the work of disc golfers. Be aware.
Other Thoughts: I love Jordan Creek. Credit must go to Peter McLaughlin and Bob Buttery for pioneering the place.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Lehigh Valley's Very

1    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: riggsy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a excellent fun course with a lot of variety. The first few holes are not very challenging, but then in kicks up a notch.

The scenery is beautiful with short and long fairways, #10 is on top of a rocky hill, and water on #7 and #18. The concrete tee boxes are great to throw from.

Cons: No next tee signs - Print the map. Mt. bikers come out of no where and a lot of them. Have to back track from #15 to #16 and hole #17 is crossed by fellow golfers and bikers very often. Hole #7 is over a pond to a wooded tee location -not for amatures like myself as you will loose your disc in the pond.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 18 was my favorite due to throwing from an elevated tee box across water and then across more water.

I'll be back!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good going on great

5+    8/16/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2009
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The VARIETY of shots required here is incredible; it has it all...long, short, wooded, open, water, uphill and downhill.

The layout on this land makes it a very challenging course. Hole 10 plays up the side of a mountain after a 220 foot tee shot. Do not go right on this hole!

The new large cement tee pads are a drastic improvement. New tee signs are
helpful if you don't know the course.

A few pro par 4's makes it not beginner friendly which is a plus in my book.

It plays mostly in the shade which is a plus since this course can be taxing to walk/play.

In early June 2009 the park grass was cut very nicely. The park is very clean,
I saw no litter at all.

Cons: Still a few muddy spots around and footing in places can be difficult once you
get off the tee.

A few more next tee signs or arrows would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: yes, we had a biker appear behind us out of nowhere but he was returning a disc that I had threw in the middle of Jordan Creek earlier in the day. Amazing!

Walk past and left of tee 16 to get to 15,
this is not a con but a quirk.


Hole 18 is very tricky playing over the creek twice. I suggest three approach shots, forget using a driver on this one.

I've seen plenty of changes here at Jordan over the years and it simply gets better and better.


11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Conditions hold it back.

5+    5/16/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: Rouge135
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The course layout is phenomenal, it is really fun to play, along with challenging,
has some OB so it isn't really overused, and a good cut between the lines of trees and bushes to the grass and playing area. M<ost holes are pretty well cut out and easy to see where the net is.
Cons: The course is great but will go awhile with-out the grass being cut, if you throw it into the thick grass it is really hard to find your disc. There is also a-ton of water, number 7 has a huge lake with trees overhinging on the right side, so if you hit the trees it will fall into the middle of the creek. number 10 is borderline impossible, an easy 6-7.
Some of the holes can be hard to see and get to like, 5, 10, 11.
And 14,15,16 are kinda messed up, so look out the the arrows on the benches.
Other Thoughts: But over most the cons are avoidable by asking locals, playing well, and having fun. so the pros totally beat out the cons.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in Allentown/Bethlehem

1    3/18/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Jordan Creek is beautiful! Located on a beautiful property it is almost entirely devoted to Disc Golf. The variety of shots required on this course is great, and the variety of the terrain is awesome. There are so many holes that will stand out after playing this course. The Jordan Creek meanders through the park along several of the holes offering a lot of fun shots utilizing the creek. The later holes utilize elevation and woods for some very memorable shots. The few holes that especially stand out in my mind are hole 7, a memorable shot over a manmade lake to a wooded pin location. Hole 9 was a neat hole with a long right bending fairway to a wooded pin placement next to the creek. Hole 10 is an incredible hole. There is an open fairway that suddenly goes almost straight up a rocky hill to a pin placement with no green just steep rock. The hill looks steep from the ground, but you don't realize it until you are at the basket looking back towards the tee. Wow! Most of the back nine plays on the mountain with slight elevation changes, open fairways and some wooded holes. Hole 18 was my favorite hole. You tee off the mountain and throw downhill across a branch of the creek to a strip of dry ground, then across another branch of the creek to the pin placement. Just a truly memorable hole.
This course has newly installed concrete tee pads which are really nice. The tees are marked by posts, most of which have the hole number on them. The course flows pretty well and is not hard to follow at all (especially with a map). There also small amenities at this course that do so much to add to it. There are benches/picnic tables at all the holes along with other small amenities.
Jordan Creek is one of those courses that just leaves you loving it and wanting more the type of course you cant forget and don't want too. Its easy to see why this course was home to the 2005 World's.
Cons: The layout of holes 14-16 was a bit odd. You walk past 16 from 14 to play 15; then you backtrack towards 14 to play 16 after which you walk back across 15 to get to 17. It wasn't terrible just a bit odd.
If you are playing this course for the first time print a map so you don't have to throw the longer holes blind, especially in the summer when the trees have leaves. I just like to know where I am throwing and the tee signs didn't have any indication of where to throw - on most holes you could see the pin, but that was because the trees were bare.
Neither of these cons affected my time at the course, but they were the only things that I think could be improved.
Other Thoughts: This course really is awesome. I would rate this course as one of the best in eastern PA, if not the best. The variety, challenge and beauty of this course really make it stand out. The recent improvements by the local DG association continue to improve this course and make it more amazing.
Jordan Creek is also in close proximity to the other Bethlehem/Allentown courses so worth playing. A day trip to play the big courses in the area (Jordan Creek, Little Lehigh, and South Mountain) is an excellent opportunity to get a flavor of all that disc golf has to offer. This is one course I can't wait to get back and play again.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Jordan Rules!

5+    11/16/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety. Course has open, wooded, elevation, flat, up, down, pond hole,river holes, primarily disc golf territory, Fun for beginners and experts. This course was the favorite of many pros during the World's Championships 2005. You can play where Climo, Doss, Schultz, Moser etc. battled it out. Big New Concrete Tees in place addresses prior low ratings. Course has perfect fairways cut through woods and fun open shots to amazing pin positions. River comes into play on a third of the holes. The pond hole is one of the most memorable holes you will ever play. This course has a bunch of unique holes you won't get anywhere else. Low tunnel finish to river after long drive on #9, then heart attack hill #10 the pictures do not do it justice, trust me, The double river and throw off cliff of #18. The most beautiful drive down a lush green wooded fairway to the river on #13. All of these would be signature holes anywhere else. The course is challenging but not obnoxious. What elevates this course is the fun factor of practically every hole. Great community of disc golfers in area. There are always people on course. Picnic table at each hole. Bathrooms, practice basket, and plenty of parking.
Cons: A few glitches. Fairway of hole 17 is crossed by fellow golfers and bikers very often. Some holes could be lengthened or perhaps tweaked to offer a milder challenge. Specifically #11, #12, #15, #16. Mountain Bikers can come blindly out of nowhere sometimes....disc golf course was here first guys. Sometimes I miss the huge downhill open drive across the street that was the old #18.
Other Thoughts: Really cannot complain much. This is what disc golf should be. If you play here, you will remember many of these holes for the rest of your life. I have played a few top rated courses and I think this one deserves to be mentioned with them. I think the course has lost ratings due to the old tee pads which were impossible to maintain due to the course's Popularity. IT NOW HAS HUGE CONCRETE TEES. I think for this reason you can rate the course a bit higher than it appears here. There are other World's Championship Courses nearby in Little Lehigh, Nockamixon, and Tinicum.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: Fritz
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: River shots, OB's, very wooded and beautiful.
This course is amazing. I can see why it was used for the 2005 World Championships.
I loved playing this course.
Cons: Poor Signage.
Other Thoughts: Broke my middle finger when I slipped on a rock trying to retrieve a disc. Even still, I loved this course and can't wait to play it again.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed bag but a real challenge

2-4    6/28/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few unique holes to really challenge you: Heart attack hill, the gorgeous double-creek finishing hole, the pond. Immaculately groomed fairways with unforgiving rough...this is how it should be! Mix of open and woods, with some crazy elevation changes. Gorgeous scenery. Perfect concrete teepads. Big fields nearby for practice, a putting practice basket by a hill and trees to test all your putts, and a great BBQ dive bar a few miles down the road ("Grumpys"). And for fans of par 4s, there is some decent length on a few of these holes.
Cons: Repetition: 1 and 2 are the same hole, except that 2 has trees. 11 and 12 are the same hole, with only about 40 feet different. 15 and 16 are also remarkably similar, even going up the same hill (requiring backtracking). There's plenty of space out here, couldn't they find room for variety on these? Pond hole 7 has no alternate tee or bail-out area, making the hole unplayable for beginners. No alternate tees or pin positions anywhere, for that matter, further stifling variety. Hole 10 really needs stairs or something to help us walk up the hill. Next Tee directions would be very helpful.
Other Thoughts: Despite the objections above, the pros far outweigh the cons, and I find myself looking forward to coming back here soon. Bring plenty of bug spray in the summer... the gnats are horrible! And as always bring plenty of water. You'll be very far from your car on holes 9-16 and very tired, with no drinking water around. **Upgraded to 4 stars after playing it again. This course is exactly my speed right about now.**

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.