Disc Golf Store
St. Paul (West Saint Paul), MN 
Garlough Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 260ft.   4 / --   3 / 260ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Elevated Ace Runs

1    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +List of people that get aces on the board by tee 1. It would be even more cool if everybody sent in there aces. I almost was able to add my name to the list a few times. There are many ace runs here. The front board also had tourney and league info.
+Every hole has at least a little elevation and many holes have a lot of elevation. This makes short holes harder with potential rollaways on the fast greens. This greatly enhanced this course for me.
+Nice baskets
+Nice concrete pads, they were appropriate size for this course.
+The course was clean and well maintained.
+Good hole variety. No two holes felt very similar to me. The holes were on the shorter side but there was a distance variety in there.
+The woods were nice. It could be a nice peaceful round if you have quiet and respectful groups on the course at the same time as you.
+Hole sponsors for every hole are listed on the back of the number plate, it was nice to see that they got a sponsor for every hole.
+Might be maps/scorecards at the first tee.
Cons: -There were some losers hanging out on the course and that lowered my experience there a little bit. There was one group that was hammered and was playing very slowly and loudly and another that was composed of obnoxious high schoolers.
-The course is very short.
-Erosion and mud could be an issue with heavy use and all of the ups and downs. Hole 6 was quite muddy yesterday but there was an alternate path to avoid it.
-The rough could be rough and there was a lot of water behind hole 9. You could lose a disc here if your shot goes out of control.
-No signage at all and the maps were gone from the box. Navigation wasn't too hard but finding hole 4 could be a little hard, go down the hill, and we skipped hole 8 before going back to play it. For the most part just follow the worn paths but that can be confusing a little.
Other Thoughts: +You can enjoy this course unless you only enjoy super long championship level courses. Bring your mid and putter and go for as many birdies and aces as possible!
+This course had a high fun factor for me. I will stop here again if I am in the area.
+I would recommend a stop here for anyone. It would be a great place to introduce someone new to the game. I wouldn't go too far out of my way to get here but if you are in the area, play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner

1    7/24/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Course is set in some woods behind a small school, which seems to be completely devoted to the disc golf. Not sure if it's ever 'closed', that might be the only interference.
- Some interesting shots with some woods. #1 is an uphill flick shot/RHBH anny, #6 is a short but exaggerated RHFH flex shot (trees blocking the thumber line), and #7 is a downhill ace run that has to hyzer around trees. Also some guardian trees near the basket. #2 is a little more open, with a few different lines between tall trees. #9 is another downhill hyzer with trees to get around, with water way past the pin.
- Most of the other holes use denser forest and large patches of rough to force some lines. #4 is a RHFH flick shot around a piece of forest, around a single tree, with a sharp right to the pin. #5 has a hill in the fairway; it is either a tall hyzer over the hill, or perhaps a anny/flick shot around the base of the hill. Interesting pin placement gives you the option. #8 is an uphill shot with a row of trees to get around, to get into a grove where the pin is located.
- Nice cement tees, posts with hole numbers are sufficient. Practice basket also here.
Cons: - Some very short hole lengths, with six of the nine holes at or under 205'. Definitely a course for beginners, though they are still interesting.
- Course is kind of crammed in here, with holes kind of close to each other. Also some walks to get between the front and back portion of the park, and to the parking lot after hole #9.
Other Thoughts: - Well, for a little nine hole course, it is pretty fun. Some fun uphill and downhill shots, and one around over a hill. Enough trees/bushes/rough to keep things interesting in some spots as well. Very well suited for beginners, and not too shabby for more experienced players to mess around.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice little course

1    6/4/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: kelin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good use of the space available
-Cool shots (in/around the trees and topography)
-If you're looking to get your first ace, hole 7 is waiting for you
-Nice place for a beginner, or to warm up on before going to a more difficult course nearby
-Well kept up, no problems with the holes
Cons: -If you're looking for a challenge this probably isn't your place
-kind of hard to find where to start
Other Thoughts: Great place to stop by a play through a quick round with good variation of holes, but not a whole lot of challenge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Garlough is fun to play

2-4    12/26/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: Jumpinjoe
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for newbies and intermediates. Also it's a very good winter course because it's short. It has a lot of elevation changes and ace run possibilities. We need more of these kinds of courses. Kudos to the designer. (Bill Tompkins had a beautiful S-curve ace on #2.)
Cons: There is erosion on trails and tee areas that needs to be addressed. These trails and tees could be slippery when wet but we played in cold dry conditions.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good "neighborhood" course that appears to be very popular. On December 26 we saw about 30 other people playing including an extended family of about 12 people really having fun together. This what DG is all about IMHO.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Variety...but it comes with problems

5+    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The baskets have nice large numbers on them so you can see which basket you should be going for.
-The tee off areas have a sign with the hole number but no distance (except #4 is missing).
-There is a box at the start that is supposed to have maps/scorecards in it.
-There is a practice basket at the start of the course.
Cons: -The aforementioned box at the start didn't have anything in it which tells me they don't provide the course with consistent upkeep.
-No on-site facilities of any sort.
-Tee boxes are dirt (and full of tree roots to trip over). When it hasn't rained in a while the tee boxes are dry as can be and it's easy to slip. When it has rained the tee boxes (and most of the course for that matter) is a mud pit...and it's easy to slip.
-Some extremely short holes, with three holes checking in under 160' in length.
Other Thoughts: The course itself has a nice variety of shots and you can literally utilize any type of shot while playing a round here (with the exception of a big-armed drive). Pay attention to which way the well-worn path goes and you'll find your next tee box. There's a couple of blind shots that can be confusing because of the close layout of some of the holes. Hole #4 goes through the opening of trees and the basket is off to the right. The basket for #8 is the one on the right that is the closer of the two baskets that you'll see (the other one is the basket for hole #1). Some of the baskets are a little bent up, probably from some disrespectful kids. I'll come back to this course because of it's close proximity to me, but I've definitely been on numerous courses that are much better. The course is well-worn and the dirt tee boxes complete with tree roots is a real big turn-off for me.

UPDATE 12/28/2012: I was at the course today and there was a sign at the beginning stating there permanent tee pads are coming in the spring of 2012. Once these new permanent tee pads are in it will greatly enhance the course and I will adjust my rating accordingly. I am really looking forward to these pads, as the natural pads were one of the biggest detractors on the course, in my opinion.

UPDATE 7/11/2012: The concrete tee pads are in the ground now, they are nice and long. I have a feeling they are going to get rough with some age based on the type of concrete that was used; but for now they are in great shape and is an excellent addition to the course. This addition ups my rating from 2.5 to 3.0; ideally I'd give it a 3.25 now.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nifty Little 9 Hole Rec Course!

1    7/13/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little 9 hole rec course. As stated by others, it's a little too hilly and technical to be considered a "Pitch & Putt" but way too short to be considered an intermediate course. Hence to me, that makes it a Rec course. The hilly terrain with scattered trees is really ideal for a disc golf design and I believe the designer did a wonderful job with his course design here. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers. The pads are natural which certainly could be a problem here in Minnesota's winters. The mailbox with scorecards and maps is a neat idea. Hole sponsership is always great and will help with upkeep on this course. I agree with others that there is a very nice variety of holes here making you throw hysers, anhysers, up and downhills, blind baskets, ACE runs, everything really but monster drives. Just a well thought out design. Very beginner friendly course
Cons: It has three extremely short holes; #3 is 130', # 6 is 130' and # 7 is 120' but they're fun little throws. The afore-mentioned natural teepads would get muddy during rain or snowy times.
Other Thoughts: This is just a well designed little recreational course. If you're looking for more of a challenge, there's lots of other more challenging courses around the metro area. But if you just want a quick, fun round or you're introducing someone new to the game, this is one of those great beginner/Rec courses. Enjoy it! I did!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Little Course That Could

5+    10/28/2010   1/28/2011
Review By: Bubbajoe
Played: 143  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees
Great shot variety
Elevation comes into play on almost every hole
Multiple ace runs
Multiple blind pins
Practice basket
Well maintained fairways
No crowds
Cons: Very short
Wish it were 18 holes
Other Thoughts: Situated next to a magnet school Garlough stands as a great leaning/rec course. Too technical to be a pitch & putt but too short to be considered an intermediate this is a great "second round ever" course. With the exception of #4 all the holes are short and well within reach of a mid range or putter while forcing either line shaping, dealing with an elevation change, or both. Garlough flows well for the most part. The only major navigation issue is the transition from #3 to #4. There's a foot path out the back of #3 that leads through the gully to the tee for #4. You then take the path back again after holing out on #6 to the tee for #7. Very fast to play this is great course to warm up on (or cool down from) before hitting one of the larger South east metro courses. Garlough is a positive charmer in the fall and I can't recall a round when I didn't enjoy myself here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun In The Woods

2-4    9/8/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 69  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course in the woods. Technical & fast to play. Can get a round in in 30 min or less. Great for practicing finess shots. Great use of the location and change in elevation. There is only one or two flat holes on this coures. Great variety of shot requirements 3 left, three right & three stright. Fun Fun Fun! Good course to challenge a beginer or to warm up for Kaposia!
Cons: Short, drit tees.
Kinda easy for advanced players.
Still fun though.
Other Thoughts: Great course for my brake form work!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden 9 hole gem

1    12/19/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 714  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Ingenious idea: Ace list on a piece of paper at the front sign. Send in your ace stats in to an email (listed on piece of paper) and that list will get updated. How were there only 5 aces all year (perhaps noone else sees the list) . . . it is such a short course.

2) Hole sponsors are listed at front sign and also each basket has a semicircle plaque attached to the back of the number plate. This is a nice idea and relatively inexpensive, I just am unsure how many people will actually see them (only those shooting past the baskets). If I were a sponsor I would rather have it attached to the tee post, but it is more apt to receive vandalism there then securely attached to the number plate.

3) Posts are located by each tee which is helpful for navigation of the first time.

4) Awesome variety of terrain. The property is mostly rolling and there really isn't a single flat hole on the course (#6 has a tiny rise).

5) Shots required on this course are plentiful. You have an uphill slight anhyzer to start out. A longer throw fairly straight with the basket set on a downslope. Overshoooting #2 is an easy thing to do. Big uphill short hole #3. #4 is a long hole between two sections of woods and the basket is tucked around the corner. Its a tough hole to have a birdie putt. #5 is a simple hyzer or anhyzer, but there is a large hill that blocks the basket which causes the hole to play longer than it actually is (a direct shot at the basket is not an easy shot).
#6 is a short flat ace run, #7 is an ace run with the basket tucked into the woods and on a slight hill but it is at least 15-20' below the tee too. #8 is a rolling terrain hole with the basket tucked to the woods, and #9 is a tighter basket in the woods with a slight right to left turn at the green.

6) I feel that this course used some really outside the box thinking. They knew they had a relatively short property but they used it very well. The holes were all different and there were some holes designed like I have never played before.

7) Unique concept of putting in a disc golf course at an environmental school. I think it is a good place to encourage kids to get outside observe and respect their envrionment, while throwing some plastic around. Good motivational tool and it also can be educational.

8) Beginner friendly because of distance. It is helpful tha there are a couple ace runs, but it is also open enough that a beginner wouldn't struggle too badly and the chance of losing a disc is not very high.

9) There was an incredible squirrel population here. They were active in gathering nuts, and making a mess of the snow covered ground. I love squirrels.

10) Practice basket is located closer to the parking lot before entering the woods opening for #1.

11) Distance variety is nice. From 120-310 and some low to mid 200's too. I enjoy courses that have a wide variety in hole distances. It makes you use more discs and throw more different shots rather than just ripping your drvier everytime to the same distance away.
Cons: 1) Garbage in 2 locations, I suppose being on a school grounds they dont get a lot of trash on the course and it is relatively quick to play, but 1 basket by #1 and another on the east side of the property by #4, 5, 6.

2) Course is very short. It still provides some challenge figuring out the elevation changes and how it will affect your throws, but there are some really short holes.

3) The beginning of the course is a long way from where the final basket on #9 is. It isnt a huge deal because it is a relatively small property. They also routed the course properly for the best disc golf rather than simply trying to end #9 down in the same woods as #1 they took the hole and headed in the other direction for a better hole.

4) Tees leave a little to be desired. I played when there was 10" of snow, but even still I could see where people had played that dirt was being kicked around. I am sure this means the tees are compacted and proabably worn down to dirt (thus leading to erosion). I would think an environmental school would take care of these issues as an educational tool about soil/turf management. It doesnt have to be concrete, but aerate and reseed the tees and make a temp. tee while they heal.

5) Directional sign on #3 to direct you down path would be helpful for a first timer.

6) Doesn't challenge enough, its ok it is at a school, but for the average or better player you won't struggle too badly on this course.Underpar is virtually a given
Other Thoughts: All in all I had a lot of fun here. Keep in mind I am a course whore so it doesnt take much for me to enjoy a course mostly because new holes are new holes and they present a challenge everytime you play a new course, BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER PLAYED THEM BEFORE. It was a nice park with nice variety, in terrain, woods/open, distance, and shot required. This course for some reason really stands out to me as a unique design and I think they found ways to make good holes that I have yet to encounter. Specific examples are the basket location on #2 being really difficult to stop your disc near the basket, making a really short nearly straight uphill hole creates an interesting shot, #4 the way the hole cuts through an opening between two wooded areas but the basket is still tucked further around the corner, #5 using the hill between the tee and basket as a way to force a shot high above it, or an anny around it, #7 the short ace run with just enough trees to make you think about it. I guess what I am saying is they did things right here and in ways I hadnt seen hole sdesigned before.They used the property effectively and encorporated as many of the cool things on he property as they could. Bottom line: give this course a shot if you are in the area. It is way more fun than it is challenging, just because of some of the shots you get to throw.

WARNING: I did play this course with 10" of snow on the ground so take the review with a grain fo salt. Some things I was unable to see, but even still I could tell the tee areas were beat up pretty good because there was dirt visible on top of the snow from the people who had played prior to me being there. But if anythng I have said is inaccurate then please feel free to let me know so I can edit my review.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Up and down and all around

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 314  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moderately hilly with trees as obstacles providing for multiple lines to baskets. 6 x 6 posts with hole #'s. Chainstar baskets. Each hole is unique due to elevation differences and trees abounding in strategic positions.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. No distances marked on tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Interesting 9 holer with character without the need for extra long holes. All levels of players will enjoy this course with short holes for ace runs and finesse shots requiring accuracy on the remaining holes. Can always add 3 or 6 holes to your round by playing 4,5 and 6 as extras when no traffic on the course. Favorite hole for me was # 9 a downhill gem where you can throw BH, FH flick or tomahawk (I threw all 3 shots, of course) about 200 to 220 feet.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.