St. Paul (West Saint Paul), MN 
Garlough Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Garlough is fun to play

2-4    12/26/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: Jumpinjoe
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for newbies and intermediates. Also it's a very good winter course because it's short. It has a lot of elevation changes and ace run possibilities. We need more of these kinds of courses. Kudos to the designer. (Bill Tompkins had a beautiful S-curve ace on #2.)
Cons: There is erosion on trails and tee areas that needs to be addressed. These trails and tees could be slippery when wet but we played in cold dry conditions.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good "neighborhood" course that appears to be very popular. On December 26 we saw about 30 other people playing including an extended family of about 12 people really having fun together. This what DG is all about IMHO.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Variety...but it comes with problems

5+    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The baskets have nice large numbers on them so you can see which basket you should be going for.
-The tee off areas have a sign with the hole number but no distance (except #4 is missing).
-There is a box at the start that is supposed to have maps/scorecards in it.
-There is a practice basket at the start of the course.
Cons: -The aforementioned box at the start didn't have anything in it which tells me they don't provide the course with consistent upkeep.
-No on-site facilities of any sort.
-Tee boxes are dirt (and full of tree roots to trip over). When it hasn't rained in a while the tee boxes are dry as can be and it's easy to slip. When it has rained the tee boxes (and most of the course for that matter) is a mud pit...and it's easy to slip.
-Some extremely short holes, with three holes checking in under 160' in length.
Other Thoughts: The course itself has a nice variety of shots and you can literally utilize any type of shot while playing a round here (with the exception of a big-armed drive). Pay attention to which way the well-worn path goes and you'll find your next tee box. There's a couple of blind shots that can be confusing because of the close layout of some of the holes. Hole #4 goes through the opening of trees and the basket is off to the right. The basket for #8 is the one on the right that is the closer of the two baskets that you'll see (the other one is the basket for hole #1). Some of the baskets are a little bent up, probably from some disrespectful kids. I'll come back to this course because of it's close proximity to me, but I've definitely been on numerous courses that are much better. The course is well-worn and the dirt tee boxes complete with tree roots is a real big turn-off for me.

UPDATE 12/28/2012: I was at the course today and there was a sign at the beginning stating there permanent tee pads are coming in the spring of 2012. Once these new permanent tee pads are in it will greatly enhance the course and I will adjust my rating accordingly. I am really looking forward to these pads, as the natural pads were one of the biggest detractors on the course, in my opinion.

UPDATE 7/11/2012: The concrete tee pads are in the ground now, they are nice and long. I have a feeling they are going to get rough with some age based on the type of concrete that was used; but for now they are in great shape and is an excellent addition to the course. This addition ups my rating from 2.5 to 3.0; ideally I'd give it a 3.25 now.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun In The Woods

2-4    9/8/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course in the woods. Technical & fast to play. Can get a round in in 30 min or less. Great for practicing finess shots. Great use of the location and change in elevation. There is only one or two flat holes on this coures. Great variety of shot requirements 3 left, three right & three stright. Fun Fun Fun! Good course to challenge a beginer or to warm up for Kaposia!
Cons: Short, drit tees.
Kinda easy for advanced players.
Still fun though.
Other Thoughts: Great course for my brake form work!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good for newbies

2-4    8/29/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: stgermaniac
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix - useful for getting the basics down. You can learn to temper your throws here.
Cons: If you are new, expect to not get too far too fast - there are a lot of things to hit.
Other Thoughts: This is the first and only course I have been on so far. After 3 times I think I am ready for something more challenging.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.