St. Paul (West Saint Paul), MN 
Garlough Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Fun In The Woods

2-4    9/8/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course in the woods. Technical & fast to play. Can get a round in in 30 min or less. Great for practicing finess shots. Great use of the location and change in elevation. There is only one or two flat holes on this coures. Great variety of shot requirements 3 left, three right & three stright. Fun Fun Fun! Good course to challenge a beginer or to warm up for Kaposia!
Cons: Short, drit tees.
Kinda easy for advanced players.
Still fun though.
Other Thoughts: Great course for my brake form work!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden 9 hole gem

1    12/19/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Ingenious idea: Ace list on a piece of paper at the front sign. Send in your ace stats in to an email (listed on piece of paper) and that list will get updated. How were there only 5 aces all year (perhaps noone else sees the list) . . . it is such a short course.

2) Hole sponsors are listed at front sign and also each basket has a semicircle plaque attached to the back of the number plate. This is a nice idea and relatively inexpensive, I just am unsure how many people will actually see them (only those shooting past the baskets). If I were a sponsor I would rather have it attached to the tee post, but it is more apt to receive vandalism there then securely attached to the number plate.

3) Posts are located by each tee which is helpful for navigation of the first time.

4) Awesome variety of terrain. The property is mostly rolling and there really isn't a single flat hole on the course (#6 has a tiny rise).

5) Shots required on this course are plentiful. You have an uphill slight anhyzer to start out. A longer throw fairly straight with the basket set on a downslope. Overshoooting #2 is an easy thing to do. Big uphill short hole #3. #4 is a long hole between two sections of woods and the basket is tucked around the corner. Its a tough hole to have a birdie putt. #5 is a simple hyzer or anhyzer, but there is a large hill that blocks the basket which causes the hole to play longer than it actually is (a direct shot at the basket is not an easy shot).
#6 is a short flat ace run, #7 is an ace run with the basket tucked into the woods and on a slight hill but it is at least 15-20' below the tee too. #8 is a rolling terrain hole with the basket tucked to the woods, and #9 is a tighter basket in the woods with a slight right to left turn at the green.

6) I feel that this course used some really outside the box thinking. They knew they had a relatively short property but they used it very well. The holes were all different and there were some holes designed like I have never played before.

7) Unique concept of putting in a disc golf course at an environmental school. I think it is a good place to encourage kids to get outside observe and respect their envrionment, while throwing some plastic around. Good motivational tool and it also can be educational.

8) Beginner friendly because of distance. It is helpful tha there are a couple ace runs, but it is also open enough that a beginner wouldn't struggle too badly and the chance of losing a disc is not very high.

9) There was an incredible squirrel population here. They were active in gathering nuts, and making a mess of the snow covered ground. I love squirrels.

10) Practice basket is located closer to the parking lot before entering the woods opening for #1.

11) Distance variety is nice. From 120-310 and some low to mid 200's too. I enjoy courses that have a wide variety in hole distances. It makes you use more discs and throw more different shots rather than just ripping your drvier everytime to the same distance away.
Cons: 1) Garbage in 2 locations, I suppose being on a school grounds they dont get a lot of trash on the course and it is relatively quick to play, but 1 basket by #1 and another on the east side of the property by #4, 5, 6.

2) Course is very short. It still provides some challenge figuring out the elevation changes and how it will affect your throws, but there are some really short holes.

3) The beginning of the course is a long way from where the final basket on #9 is. It isnt a huge deal because it is a relatively small property. They also routed the course properly for the best disc golf rather than simply trying to end #9 down in the same woods as #1 they took the hole and headed in the other direction for a better hole.

4) Tees leave a little to be desired. I played when there was 10" of snow, but even still I could see where people had played that dirt was being kicked around. I am sure this means the tees are compacted and proabably worn down to dirt (thus leading to erosion). I would think an environmental school would take care of these issues as an educational tool about soil/turf management. It doesnt have to be concrete, but aerate and reseed the tees and make a temp. tee while they heal.

5) Directional sign on #3 to direct you down path would be helpful for a first timer.

6) Doesn't challenge enough, its ok it is at a school, but for the average or better player you won't struggle too badly on this course.Underpar is virtually a given
Other Thoughts: All in all I had a lot of fun here. Keep in mind I am a course whore so it doesnt take much for me to enjoy a course mostly because new holes are new holes and they present a challenge everytime you play a new course, BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER PLAYED THEM BEFORE. It was a nice park with nice variety, in terrain, woods/open, distance, and shot required. This course for some reason really stands out to me as a unique design and I think they found ways to make good holes that I have yet to encounter. Specific examples are the basket location on #2 being really difficult to stop your disc near the basket, making a really short nearly straight uphill hole creates an interesting shot, #4 the way the hole cuts through an opening between two wooded areas but the basket is still tucked further around the corner, #5 using the hill between the tee and basket as a way to force a shot high above it, or an anny around it, #7 the short ace run with just enough trees to make you think about it. I guess what I am saying is they did things right here and in ways I hadnt seen hole sdesigned before.They used the property effectively and encorporated as many of the cool things on he property as they could. Bottom line: give this course a shot if you are in the area. It is way more fun than it is challenging, just because of some of the shots you get to throw.

WARNING: I did play this course with 10" of snow on the ground so take the review with a grain fo salt. Some things I was unable to see, but even still I could tell the tee areas were beat up pretty good because there was dirt visible on top of the snow from the people who had played prior to me being there. But if anythng I have said is inaccurate then please feel free to let me know so I can edit my review.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Up and down and all around

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 324  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moderately hilly with trees as obstacles providing for multiple lines to baskets. 6 x 6 posts with hole #'s. Chainstar baskets. Each hole is unique due to elevation differences and trees abounding in strategic positions.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. No distances marked on tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Interesting 9 holer with character without the need for extra long holes. All levels of players will enjoy this course with short holes for ace runs and finesse shots requiring accuracy on the remaining holes. Can always add 3 or 6 holes to your round by playing 4,5 and 6 as extras when no traffic on the course. Favorite hole for me was # 9 a downhill gem where you can throw BH, FH flick or tomahawk (I threw all 3 shots, of course) about 200 to 220 feet.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Garlough Park

5+    10/24/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 146  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very easy to navigate. The first tee is just south of the parking lot. There is a short walk from #3's basket to #4's tee pad. Follow path down the hill to the right of #3's basket. You will have to follow the same path from #6's basket to get back to #7's tee pad.

The baskets are in nice condition and have hole numbers on top of them. All baskets are visible from the tee pad which makes it easy to see where you need to throw.

This is a great course for beginners to play. The layout is not too tough but still offers some challenge to more advanced players. Hole 4 is the most challenging hole on the course. It is a sharp dogleg hole that plays well with a RHFH or a LHBH throw. There are also elevations changes on most holes. Some of the holes play up hill while some play down hill. Holes 4 and 6 are the only flat holes.

There is a practice basket in the field between the parking lot and the first tee.

There is a mail box with scorecards in it by the first tee.
Cons: The tee pads are dirt and can be very muddy after it rains or snows.

Overall this course is pretty short. Not many opportunities to use my driver at this course. I use a mid range disc on most tee shots.

The 'Rough' off the fairways on holes 2 and 6 is very thick. Try to keep your disc left and not in the rough. You might be looking for it for a while.
Other Thoughts: The course is located in the park next to the Garlough Environmental Magnet School. I have played here numerous times during school and have never had a problem. The course is kept up very nicely. I have seen city workers in the park doing maintenance on numerous occasions.

With the school next to the course, there is playground for the kids to play at while you play a quick round.

I really enjoy playing this course. This is one of 4 courses that I can drive to, play 9, and get back to work during my lunch hour. I am usually the only one on the course when I play at that time. There seems to be a lot of foot traffic on the course, but I have not encountered many people when I play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good for newbies

2-4    8/29/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: stgermaniac
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix - useful for getting the basics down. You can learn to temper your throws here.
Cons: If you are new, expect to not get too far too fast - there are a lot of things to hit.
Other Thoughts: This is the first and only course I have been on so far. After 3 times I think I am ready for something more challenging.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/14/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: johnwwcarl
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A shot course that is fast to play. A great course for beginner's. For the more advanced players this is a good practice course. This course has a nice balance of holes 3 to the left, 3 to the right, and 3 straight. All have elevation changes.
Cons: The tee's are wood. This is a short course, put your driver's away. Not much of a challenge for anyone over beginner level.
Other Thoughts: Go for the Ace on holes 3,7,9. All holes are well marked. Look for score cards at the first hole. GOOD LUCK, it's a fun little course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/18/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some challenging shots with risk and reward but most are wide open mid-range shots. For the most part, it is a course for beginners who want a challenge but may not have the arm strength.
Cons: Some very very short holes. The first one is the shortest at 85 feet and number 3 is 115 feet. The longest hole is 260 feet which makes most people feel like they're missing out on bombing it.
Other Thoughts: The course is located next to a middle school, so one must keep this in mind when playing this course. It is clear that the course has been designed for them, so we should applaud their efforts in getting disc golf on the radar for these youngsters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.