St. Paul (West Saint Paul), MN 
Garlough Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #7 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Up and to the right.

1    9/11/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: Ark_
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun for a short course
More challenging than most 9 hole par 3's
Good mix of uphill, flat, and downhill shots
Cons: Most pins are on the right side of the tee, can be frustrating for newer RHBH players
Can be muddy in places
Hole layout can be confusing
Pin 4 and 9 are too close for my liking
Other Thoughts: A fun course all around, trees are well placed to make for interesting lines. Will definitely be playing again soon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good short course

5+    8/15/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Clean, spaced out holes, variety of holes, can play a short run of 6 if you're in a rush before work (front and back 3)
Cons: Not overly difficult, but that may be a result of the number of times I've played it, sometimes some standing water when it's been raining or early spring
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played at when I started to regularly play disc golf, it's still my go to if I'm going to play with friends after work on a weekday and usually where I bring people when introducing them to the sport

Fun pitch and putt

5+    8/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are tons of pitch and putt courses out there that I could go without ever playing because they are so boring. This is not one of those. It's short. That much is obvious, but there is just enough finesse in lines that it makes it fun to run aces. Also, this course differentiates itself from other rec courses with it's bucolic setting in Garlough Park. It's right next to an elementary school, but after the first hole, you feel mostly encapsulated in side the course. It's a wonderful mid-day escape from work. It's a place you can bring your kids. I really do love this course.
Cons: It's really easy. I'm sure anyone with a decent about of talent could play this course -9 under. If you're looking to stretch out your distance and play for a challenge, go to The Valley.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Elevated Ace Runs

1    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +List of people that get aces on the board by tee 1. It would be even more cool if everybody sent in there aces. I almost was able to add my name to the list a few times. There are many ace runs here. The front board also had tourney and league info.
+Every hole has at least a little elevation and many holes have a lot of elevation. This makes short holes harder with potential rollaways on the fast greens. This greatly enhanced this course for me.
+Nice baskets
+Nice concrete pads, they were appropriate size for this course.
+The course was clean and well maintained.
+Good hole variety. No two holes felt very similar to me. The holes were on the shorter side but there was a distance variety in there.
+The woods were nice. It could be a nice peaceful round if you have quiet and respectful groups on the course at the same time as you.
+Hole sponsors for every hole are listed on the back of the number plate, it was nice to see that they got a sponsor for every hole.
+Might be maps/scorecards at the first tee.
Cons: -There were some losers hanging out on the course and that lowered my experience there a little bit. There was one group that was hammered and was playing very slowly and loudly and another that was composed of obnoxious high schoolers.
-The course is very short.
-Erosion and mud could be an issue with heavy use and all of the ups and downs. Hole 6 was quite muddy yesterday but there was an alternate path to avoid it.
-The rough could be rough and there was a lot of water behind hole 9. You could lose a disc here if your shot goes out of control.
-No signage at all and the maps were gone from the box. Navigation wasn't too hard but finding hole 4 could be a little hard, go down the hill, and we skipped hole 8 before going back to play it. For the most part just follow the worn paths but that can be confusing a little.
Other Thoughts: +You can enjoy this course unless you only enjoy super long championship level courses. Bring your mid and putter and go for as many birdies and aces as possible!
+This course had a high fun factor for me. I will stop here again if I am in the area.
+I would recommend a stop here for anyone. It would be a great place to introduce someone new to the game. I wouldn't go too far out of my way to get here but if you are in the area, play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    7/24/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Course is set in some woods behind a small school, which seems to be completely devoted to the disc golf. Not sure if it's ever 'closed', that might be the only interference.
- Some interesting shots with some woods. #1 is an uphill flick shot/RHBH anny, #6 is a short but exaggerated RHFH flex shot (trees blocking the thumber line), and #7 is a downhill ace run that has to hyzer around trees. Also some guardian trees near the basket. #2 is a little more open, with a few different lines between tall trees. #9 is another downhill hyzer with trees to get around, with water way past the pin.
- Most of the other holes use denser forest and large patches of rough to force some lines. #4 is a RHFH flick shot around a piece of forest, around a single tree, with a sharp right to the pin. #5 has a hill in the fairway; it is either a tall hyzer over the hill, or perhaps a anny/flick shot around the base of the hill. Interesting pin placement gives you the option. #8 is an uphill shot with a row of trees to get around, to get into a grove where the pin is located.
- Nice cement tees, posts with hole numbers are sufficient. Practice basket also here.
Cons: - Some very short hole lengths, with six of the nine holes at or under 205'. Definitely a course for beginners, though they are still interesting.
- Course is kind of crammed in here, with holes kind of close to each other. Also some walks to get between the front and back portion of the park, and to the parking lot after hole #9.
Other Thoughts: - Well, for a little nine hole course, it is pretty fun. Some fun uphill and downhill shots, and one around over a hill. Enough trees/bushes/rough to keep things interesting in some spots as well. Very well suited for beginners, and not too shabby for more experienced players to mess around.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice little course

1    6/4/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: kelin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good use of the space available
-Cool shots (in/around the trees and topography)
-If you're looking to get your first ace, hole 7 is waiting for you
-Nice place for a beginner, or to warm up on before going to a more difficult course nearby
-Well kept up, no problems with the holes
Cons: -If you're looking for a challenge this probably isn't your place
-kind of hard to find where to start
Other Thoughts: Great place to stop by a play through a quick round with good variation of holes, but not a whole lot of challenge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Garlough is fun to play

2-4    12/26/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: Jumpinjoe
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for newbies and intermediates. Also it's a very good winter course because it's short. It has a lot of elevation changes and ace run possibilities. We need more of these kinds of courses. Kudos to the designer. (Bill Tompkins had a beautiful S-curve ace on #2.)
Cons: There is erosion on trails and tee areas that needs to be addressed. These trails and tees could be slippery when wet but we played in cold dry conditions.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good "neighborhood" course that appears to be very popular. On December 26 we saw about 30 other people playing including an extended family of about 12 people really having fun together. This what DG is all about IMHO.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Variety...but it comes with problems

5+    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The baskets have nice large numbers on them so you can see which basket you should be going for.
-The tee off areas have a sign with the hole number but no distance (except #4 is missing).
-There is a box at the start that is supposed to have maps/scorecards in it.
-There is a practice basket at the start of the course.
Cons: -The aforementioned box at the start didn't have anything in it which tells me they don't provide the course with consistent upkeep.
-No on-site facilities of any sort.
-Tee boxes are dirt (and full of tree roots to trip over). When it hasn't rained in a while the tee boxes are dry as can be and it's easy to slip. When it has rained the tee boxes (and most of the course for that matter) is a mud pit...and it's easy to slip.
-Some extremely short holes, with three holes checking in under 160' in length.
Other Thoughts: The course itself has a nice variety of shots and you can literally utilize any type of shot while playing a round here (with the exception of a big-armed drive). Pay attention to which way the well-worn path goes and you'll find your next tee box. There's a couple of blind shots that can be confusing because of the close layout of some of the holes. Hole #4 goes through the opening of trees and the basket is off to the right. The basket for #8 is the one on the right that is the closer of the two baskets that you'll see (the other one is the basket for hole #1). Some of the baskets are a little bent up, probably from some disrespectful kids. I'll come back to this course because of it's close proximity to me, but I've definitely been on numerous courses that are much better. The course is well-worn and the dirt tee boxes complete with tree roots is a real big turn-off for me.

UPDATE 12/28/2012: I was at the course today and there was a sign at the beginning stating there permanent tee pads are coming in the spring of 2012. Once these new permanent tee pads are in it will greatly enhance the course and I will adjust my rating accordingly. I am really looking forward to these pads, as the natural pads were one of the biggest detractors on the course, in my opinion.

UPDATE 7/11/2012: The concrete tee pads are in the ground now, they are nice and long. I have a feeling they are going to get rough with some age based on the type of concrete that was used; but for now they are in great shape and is an excellent addition to the course. This addition ups my rating from 2.5 to 3.0; ideally I'd give it a 3.25 now.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nifty Little 9 Hole Rec Course!

1    7/13/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little 9 hole rec course. As stated by others, it's a little too hilly and technical to be considered a "Pitch & Putt" but way too short to be considered an intermediate course. Hence to me, that makes it a Rec course. The hilly terrain with scattered trees is really ideal for a disc golf design and I believe the designer did a wonderful job with his course design here. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers. The pads are natural which certainly could be a problem here in Minnesota's winters. The mailbox with scorecards and maps is a neat idea. Hole sponsership is always great and will help with upkeep on this course. I agree with others that there is a very nice variety of holes here making you throw hysers, anhysers, up and downhills, blind baskets, ACE runs, everything really but monster drives. Just a well thought out design. Very beginner friendly course
Cons: It has three extremely short holes; #3 is 130', # 6 is 130' and # 7 is 120' but they're fun little throws. The afore-mentioned natural teepads would get muddy during rain or snowy times.
Other Thoughts: This is just a well designed little recreational course. If you're looking for more of a challenge, there's lots of other more challenging courses around the metro area. But if you just want a quick, fun round or you're introducing someone new to the game, this is one of those great beginner/Rec courses. Enjoy it! I did!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Little Course That Could

5+    10/28/2010   1/28/2011
Review By: Bubbajoe
Played: 143  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees
Great shot variety
Elevation comes into play on almost every hole
Multiple ace runs
Multiple blind pins
Practice basket
Well maintained fairways
No crowds
Cons: Very short
Wish it were 18 holes
Other Thoughts: Situated next to a magnet school Garlough stands as a great leaning/rec course. Too technical to be a pitch & putt but too short to be considered an intermediate this is a great "second round ever" course. With the exception of #4 all the holes are short and well within reach of a mid range or putter while forcing either line shaping, dealing with an elevation change, or both. Garlough flows well for the most part. The only major navigation issue is the transition from #3 to #4. There's a foot path out the back of #3 that leads through the gully to the tee for #4. You then take the path back again after holing out on #6 to the tee for #7. Very fast to play this is great course to warm up on (or cool down from) before hitting one of the larger South east metro courses. Garlough is a positive charmer in the fall and I can't recall a round when I didn't enjoy myself here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.