St. Paul (West Saint Paul), MN 
Garlough Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #4 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A Surprising Little Course

2-4    8/18/2015   8/18/2015
Review By: LeftyHukin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As I have been looking to open my eyes this year and try several new courses rather than continue to just play one, this was a course that was on my radar. I have heard many great things about it from players in my area, so when I was headed into St. Paul this weekend I felt it was time to get over there. Unfortunately it was not the best conditions, as it was hot and damp, but I will try not to let things out of my control create a bias on my review.

As the title says this course is little. I was expecting an open 9 hole course with some trees in the way or the basket just tucked in the tree lines. I was very wrong and glad to be! This course is very technical, it makes you hit your lines right off the tee or you could be in trouble and scrambling for par. I rarely have played a course where you knew you had a good/bad shot the moment you released the disc, but this is one. If you hit your line you will be rewarded, but if you do not then... have fun in the surrounding woods.

Leave the drivers at home and come to work on your placement shots with putter/mids. I enjoy technical courses since I feel they improve your game very rapidly by forcing you to be accurate,

The holes themselves are not very long, but have great elevation changes. Hole 1, 3 go straight uphill with 7 and 9 playing downhill. Even the in between holes have you throwing over hills or on the side of one.

The design of the course was great, maybe this is a LHBH bias shining through, but the basket placements were perfect for me to try to hit a lot of ace runs since they are mostly tucked to the right. However they are all slightly guarded and with the trees right off the tee pad adding to the challenge of hitting the perfect line.

Hole 4 was an amazing shot. The longest hole I believe, being just over 300ft, but you throw into an open field with trees surrounding the tee pad, but you have to hit a 20ft gap between 2 wooded areas roughly 240ft away and have the disc fade or turn over to the right through it just to have a look.

The tee pads themselves where in great shape, felt a bit awkward since they didn't seem as wide as other places, but these pads work just fine.

The course design also makes it flow every well. It is very easy to find the next tee, as long as you go down the hill to the right after 3's basket and not follow the patch to the left which takes you right to #7.
Cons: Either study the map at the beginning or take a picture. Not to find the tee pads, but so you know where you are aiming for. There are several blind shots including holes 4,5,8 and I guess 9. You can easily make an educated guess, but it really helps your shot selection if you know exactly where the baskets are.

There was a sign asking for people not to litter, but there was a lot of cans and bottle in the surrounding wooded areas. Some trash cans would do away with a lot of the litter and make the course look a lot more appealing.

I would have to bring some of my RHBH friends here to see what kind of lines they can come up with, but as a lefty it really did feel like all I had to do was put the disc on the right hyzer angle and line, then watch for the ace run.

You will not need a driver on this course as the course is perfect for placement shots and working on mid range/putter driving
Other Thoughts: This was a surprisingly fun course. I came thinking it would be a stereotypical 9 hole course, but was pleasantly surprised with the challenges that the course design gives you.

I hope for some man made trash cans, not tree stumps, to help clean up the course a little, but overall it is still an inviting course right next to a middle school I believe.

If you want to improve your accuracy then you have to hit up this course. It was very technical in places and will punish you if you miss the line. But enjoy the ace runs! There are several, even for a RHBH and even more for a lefty. Don't go out expecting a champ level course because this is not designed to be one. This course is great for beginners and intermediate players looking to improve, while experienced players will still get joy running shots to pad their ace totals.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nicely done

1    8/9/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 185  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: This course is set up in an area that is disc golf exclusive. It's free to play and in ground all year. The baskets are chainstars that were all in great shape and caught well. They did a great job designing this course. They mix up the shot selection nicely. There's up and down, left and right. Even a scummy pond behind #9's basket which I almost skipped into after just missing an ace. The course is free too and located near many other very solid courses. The course was clean and seemed to be well taken care of. The course starts by the southeast side of the parking lot by the small kiosk across the walking path. From there you'll have no problem following the flow of the course.
Cons: Distances. The course plays on the short end of the spectrum. This isn't necessarily a con to everyone. I personally don't mind short courses as long as they challenge your accuracy which this place does. Just don't expect to air it out here. The bugs, but like anywhere else there's nothing they can do about this. Just be aware of it.
Other Thoughts: This was just another course that really surprised me in MN. I can here not expecting too much and left wanting to play it again. Sure there are better courses in the area. But if you're in the area and like disc golf I bet you'll have fun here. Again, play the higher rated courses but if you need a warm up or cool down or just get your confidence back round, this is a good place to do it. Well designed, quick, very fun round.

Better than expected!

2-4    6/27/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: Gr8HornedRat
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent tees, pins aren't bad, repeated elevation change, and a solid layout using the land very well.
Cons: The rough if REALLY rough in some areas,there's a long walk between 2 of the holes, there are more than a couple totally blind shots, and some holes run close to each other.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting this course to be just another little 9 holer. Boy was I wrong. I would easily rate this in the top 5 9 holers in the TC. If it wasn't such a drive for me, I'd play it much more often.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Garlough is good

5+    1/4/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Elevation changes come into play on over half of the holes, both uphill and down.
•Woods are present and a factor on most of the holes.
•Teepads are concrete, and some folks even clear them in winter.
•The variety of shots you get to use is pretty amazing considering how short the course is.
•Ideal for working on one's short game.
Cons: •None really, unless knowing you will finish under par is considered a negative.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun little course to spend a spare half hour here and there when I visit relatives. I usually do putter-only, or putter mid rounds here, and have even gone back to back rounds because I enjoy it so much. Folks might skip over this because of its proximity to Kaposia, the Valley, and other nearby courses, but seek it out and it will be worth your while.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up and to the right.

1    9/11/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: Ark_
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun for a short course
More challenging than most 9 hole par 3's
Good mix of uphill, flat, and downhill shots
Cons: Most pins are on the right side of the tee, can be frustrating for newer RHBH players
Can be muddy in places
Hole layout can be confusing
Pin 4 and 9 are too close for my liking
Other Thoughts: A fun course all around, trees are well placed to make for interesting lines. Will definitely be playing again soon.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good short course

5+    8/15/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Clean, spaced out holes, variety of holes, can play a short run of 6 if you're in a rush before work (front and back 3)
Cons: Not overly difficult, but that may be a result of the number of times I've played it, sometimes some standing water when it's been raining or early spring
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played at when I started to regularly play disc golf, it's still my go to if I'm going to play with friends after work on a weekday and usually where I bring people when introducing them to the sport

Fun pitch and putt

5+    8/12/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are tons of pitch and putt courses out there that I could go without ever playing because they are so boring. This is not one of those. It's short. That much is obvious, but there is just enough finesse in lines that it makes it fun to run aces. Also, this course differentiates itself from other rec courses with it's bucolic setting in Garlough Park. It's right next to an elementary school, but after the first hole, you feel mostly encapsulated in side the course. It's a wonderful mid-day escape from work. It's a place you can bring your kids. I really do love this course.
Cons: It's really easy. I'm sure anyone with a decent about of talent could play this course -9 under. If you're looking to stretch out your distance and play for a challenge, go to The Valley.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Elevated Ace Runs

1    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +List of people that get aces on the board by tee 1. It would be even more cool if everybody sent in there aces. I almost was able to add my name to the list a few times. There are many ace runs here. The front board also had tourney and league info.
+Every hole has at least a little elevation and many holes have a lot of elevation. This makes short holes harder with potential rollaways on the fast greens. This greatly enhanced this course for me.
+Nice baskets
+Nice concrete pads, they were appropriate size for this course.
+The course was clean and well maintained.
+Good hole variety. No two holes felt very similar to me. The holes were on the shorter side but there was a distance variety in there.
+The woods were nice. It could be a nice peaceful round if you have quiet and respectful groups on the course at the same time as you.
+Hole sponsors for every hole are listed on the back of the number plate, it was nice to see that they got a sponsor for every hole.
+Might be maps/scorecards at the first tee.
Cons: -There were some losers hanging out on the course and that lowered my experience there a little bit. There was one group that was hammered and was playing very slowly and loudly and another that was composed of obnoxious high schoolers.
-The course is very short.
-Erosion and mud could be an issue with heavy use and all of the ups and downs. Hole 6 was quite muddy yesterday but there was an alternate path to avoid it.
-The rough could be rough and there was a lot of water behind hole 9. You could lose a disc here if your shot goes out of control.
-No signage at all and the maps were gone from the box. Navigation wasn't too hard but finding hole 4 could be a little hard, go down the hill, and we skipped hole 8 before going back to play it. For the most part just follow the worn paths but that can be confusing a little.
Other Thoughts: +You can enjoy this course unless you only enjoy super long championship level courses. Bring your mid and putter and go for as many birdies and aces as possible!
+This course had a high fun factor for me. I will stop here again if I am in the area.
+I would recommend a stop here for anyone. It would be a great place to introduce someone new to the game. I wouldn't go too far out of my way to get here but if you are in the area, play it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    7/24/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Course is set in some woods behind a small school, which seems to be completely devoted to the disc golf. Not sure if it's ever 'closed', that might be the only interference.
- Some interesting shots with some woods. #1 is an uphill flick shot/RHBH anny, #6 is a short but exaggerated RHFH flex shot (trees blocking the thumber line), and #7 is a downhill ace run that has to hyzer around trees. Also some guardian trees near the basket. #2 is a little more open, with a few different lines between tall trees. #9 is another downhill hyzer with trees to get around, with water way past the pin.
- Most of the other holes use denser forest and large patches of rough to force some lines. #4 is a RHFH flick shot around a piece of forest, around a single tree, with a sharp right to the pin. #5 has a hill in the fairway; it is either a tall hyzer over the hill, or perhaps a anny/flick shot around the base of the hill. Interesting pin placement gives you the option. #8 is an uphill shot with a row of trees to get around, to get into a grove where the pin is located.
- Nice cement tees, posts with hole numbers are sufficient. Practice basket also here.
Cons: - Some very short hole lengths, with six of the nine holes at or under 205'. Definitely a course for beginners, though they are still interesting.
- Course is kind of crammed in here, with holes kind of close to each other. Also some walks to get between the front and back portion of the park, and to the parking lot after hole #9.
Other Thoughts: - Well, for a little nine hole course, it is pretty fun. Some fun uphill and downhill shots, and one around over a hill. Enough trees/bushes/rough to keep things interesting in some spots as well. Very well suited for beginners, and not too shabby for more experienced players to mess around.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice little course

1    6/4/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: kelin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good use of the space available
-Cool shots (in/around the trees and topography)
-If you're looking to get your first ace, hole 7 is waiting for you
-Nice place for a beginner, or to warm up on before going to a more difficult course nearby
-Well kept up, no problems with the holes
Cons: -If you're looking for a challenge this probably isn't your place
-kind of hard to find where to start
Other Thoughts: Great place to stop by a play through a quick round with good variation of holes, but not a whole lot of challenge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center