Germantown, MD 
Darnestown Swim & Racquet Club Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #8 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good course but could be better

1    8/23/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course with a variety of terrain. layout is decent and makes good use of the location.
Cons: Really needs some work. The tees are worn out and many are very short and full of roots. There are a few broken and missing tee signs which are just plastic pipes near the tee boxes. Some of the holes are basically a throw through randomly scattered trees and hoping for the best.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but it is a little frustrating when you nearly get a hole in one a few times and instead your disc rolls 100ft down a hill because it landed on a rock and you end up with a 7 or worse because it happens again when you putt. The maintenance could definitely be improved. The course is a nice walk through the woods around the club. The nearby Seneca creek course is much better but can be a little crowded sometimes so this is an alternative for a quiet course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could be great....

1    8/22/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: GreenFieldsDC
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2015
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Front 9 ok
-Pretty, quiet course. I was the only player on a Saturday afternoon
-Lots of trees, which could also be a con given the chance of disc loss and interrupted flight
Cons: -Back 9 almost unplayable due to lack of maintenance, missing tee markers, a missing basket
-Will come back in fall/winter when foliage is down
-I've been told that the work on this course is ongoing, which is great to hear because it is a nice layout and great location.
Other Thoughts: Cant wait to play in fall and winter!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Diamond In The Rough

5+    3/29/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never busy. Challenging course. Tight layout but forces you to work on your accuracy. Nice mix of holes for lefties and righties. Holes 1-3, 5, 10 (If played as a Par4), 12, 15 and 18 are birdie-able but require a perfect tee shot. Holes 12-15 are beautiful holes. It's a great place to play if Seneca is packed.
Cons: Signage and the tee boxes. You definitely need to play with someone who knows the course if it's your first or second time, but proper signage will definitely fix that problem. The tee boxes are wood chips. That part isn't so bad, it's the huge 4X4 that sits on the front of the tee boxes that makes it hard to throw a full shot and have proper follow through. The only other problem is some of the tee boxes are not level, due to lack of maintenance or poor design/construction of them, or missing, like the short tee on 14 is missing in action. Darnestown is in the woods and by a creek, so if bugs and ticks bother you, come prepared, but you're playing disc golf outside, in the woods, in Maryland, bugs, ticks and other wildlife is part of the game.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It will challenge you and it's a good work out being hilly and wooded. In the warmer months, it's great to play because of the tree cover and keeps you out of the sun.
If the course gets some signage, and the tee boxes fixed and is properly maintained could easily become my home course. When I say the tee boxes need to be fixed/maintained, I'm saying they are definitely playable, but to take the course to the next level, some work needs to be done. All and all, I really like this course and it's a diamond in the rough.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/3/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: Bd 37
Played: 66  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very, Very, Very tight and technical.
If you are looking for a course to really test your accuracy, this is a good one.
Cons: Very, very, very tight and technical. A few holes are so tight, i think even advanced players could find themselves walking off.
Layout was confusing even with a map,if you can make sure and play with someone who knows the course
Other Thoughts: I played this course and threw two discs on several holes. There were several times on a few of the longer holes where one disc was perfect and the other was very bad, and my second shot from both disc had almost no chance at reaching the basket. Think this course could use a few of the fairways to be opened up so as to make making birdies more likely than winning the powerball.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course near Seneca

1    10/19/2013   10/20/2013
Review By: Montanaman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded technical course about fifty minutes (in light traffic) from downtown DC. The course is roughly sixteen minutes from Seneca Creek and if you are making a day of folf this is a great chance to shoot another 18!

The course is definitely technical in nature. Heavily wooded areas and elevation change makes it interesting to find the basket. The dog legs in the course are roughly split 6 to the left and 5 to the right. As lefty I didn't feel like there was any huge preference.

It's beautiful little area and an excellent use of space. For a tight course it uses the elevation changes pretty well.

Wood chip tea boxes are decent, and generally easy to find. I highly recommend loading up the map for the course on your phone.

Lastly, going to a course on a nice fall Saturday, we ran into only 3 groups on the course. So definitely a less traveled course.
Cons: The signage is definitely lacking. Plastic PVC tubes sort of give directions and while I found it kinda fun to search for it's worth cautioning about.

Tee boxes are wood chips and that's ok but I could see it not being a benefit to some.

This course is tight! We had one group behind us and had a close encounter of the disc kind between holes 8 and 10. Some of the baskets are around 30 feet apart from each other, so knowing the numbers was critical. However, the numbers on some of the baskets had been rewritten a couple times with markers. It was a little confusing. Load up the map on!

Bugs! The course being in the woods it should be expected but with the dense foliage the spider webs, gnats, and ticks (see below) definitely made my wife want to stop.
Other Thoughts: I'm having a hard time reviewing this course because the first thing that comes to mind is the tick discovered on me later in the evening. That left a sour taste in my mouth about the course.

However, definitely going to try the course again, and really appreciate the tennis club allowing free public access. It looks like they are trying to get some hole sponsors on their website and plan on maintaining the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a walk in the woods

5+    3/30/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: harpsm
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Peace and quiet - this course is usually almost empty, which is a pleasant change of pace from the often-overcrowded Seneca Creek course.
Free play - even though the course is on private property, you are free to use the parking lot and course. Just be respectful and clean up after yourself
Diversity - Even though all but two holes are in the woods, there is enough variety of layout, length, elevation, and distance to give each hole a unique feel. Overall, elevation is used to better effect here than at Seneca.
Challenge - There are only two or three holes on the course that will forgive bad tee shots. Planning your flight path and focusing on accuracy are essential here.
Cons: Bugs - plenty of gnats, as well as mosquitoes in the vicinty of holes 1-4 and 10.
Heavy leaf litter in the fall and winter can make it hard to find discs, even on the fairway.
The course is too challenging to recommend for beginners, and there is no practice basket.
Other Thoughts: "Tough but fair" is the best way to describe this course. There are very few opportunities to grip-n-rip, but neither are there ridiculously narrow fairways or silly features designed to cause frustration. Hole for hole, this course offers among the best disc golf experiences in Maryland, though overall I still prefer Seneca Creek for its mix of open and wooded holes.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If only.....

2-4    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: PanamaJacks
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really cool course with a lot of potential. It is secluded in an area that no one but DGers would want to go. This is what I imagine Seneca Creek to have been like 10 years ago. The course rambles up and down hills. It's mostly in the woods and offers lots of challenging lines to draw off of the tee. 18 tees and discatcher baskets make this a complete course. Bring your own water and don't be shy about playing on private property. There's hardly anyone outside of the fenced in facilities every time I've been there. The first tee starts at the front of the tennis courts and goes into the woods. This is a great course to play when you want to beat the summer heat as it's almost completely in the trees.
Cons: The tee boxes are the biggest shortcoming with this course. The are in disrepair and need to be completely redone. At least half of them are crooked, meaning not perpendicular to the ground. They make for uncertain footing. Also, a good number of them are only about 5-6 ft. long with no room behind for a run up. The wood mulch needs to be raked and packed down more and the walls of the boxes are falling apart.
Other Thoughts: I've been to this course two times and played four rounds. I have yet to see anyone else playing out there during the week or on the weekend. There is a lot of trash and there are broken bottles are to be found. It's a shame that more people don't play this course. It really has a lot of potential and is still very fun and challenging. I'm happy to have this as an alternative to Seneca Creek.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem

1    4/5/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 32.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated almost entirely in the woods surrounding the Swim and Racquet club in an upscale DC suburban neighborhood, this course is what a par 3 woods course should be. Course offers a big variety of looks, hard hyzers and and anhyzers, uphill, downhill and side hill fairways, and some blazing fast greens (especially on the early holes so make sure your approach game is ready at the gitgo). Precision first is the rule, but if you don't make it far enough up the fairway on some of these you'll still have a tough look for your par.

Eighteen Discatchers in perfect shape, only one pin setting each hole that I could find. One boxed and mulched tee per hole. The signage issues noted in earlier reviews have been addressed by large clear Next Tee signs pointing in the appropriate direction. There are PVC pipes at the from of each tee with the distance and a crude drawing of the fairway. Most walks from green to tee are pretty short but far enough away to be clear of approaches to the green.

The middle holes down by the creek (Amen Corner?) are a whole lot of fun and what makes this course excellent over just very good.

Several of the pin settings are on significant downhill grades, with a steep drop off not far behind (which may include a bath in the creek), but I view this as a positive as it adds a requirement for precise distance control on your approaches.

An absolutely beautiful setting for a walk in the park.

Cons: Even though it was early spring, the gnats were out in full force, so bring bug spray and a hat. Lots of walking up, down and along some fairly significant grades, so wear appropriate footwear (particularly if it's recently rained).

No bridges across the creek (which you need to traverse several times), not too difficult during low flow but i imagine this could be a challenge after some rain.

I prefer hardtop tees so mulched tees are not my favorites, but these were pretty well maintained (few divots) and while a few seemed a little cramped, were long enough for the most part.

This is nitpicking, but some of the holes on the front have a deja vu element as they play back and forth along side one another (much like a ball golf layout). There's what looks like an un-needed mando at first glance on 17 but it's there to protect the 16th green. When you get closer you see that you wouldn't want to approach from the wrong side of the mando anyway. I didn't really care for #18 as it had a wall of cypress about 15-20' before the pin. You have to either skip or slide one through low between the trunks or roll it through I guess.

Other Thoughts: I love woods courses and this is just the perfect piece of land for one. The designers did an outstanding job with it, I don't think I'd change a thing. I'm not sure how well the course would handle a crowd but I don't think that will be an issue, we were the only group there on a beautiful afternoon.

I'll echo what others have mentioned, keep in mind that this is basically private property and that we are guests. The course was very clean, I only saw one bottle (removed) during the whole hike. Please bring a trash bag along with you and help keep this place pristine and available to the DG community.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you like the woods then you're gonna love this course!

5+    5/7/2015   11/13/2011
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **Updated Review 2015**
Private course with 18 Boxed Mulch Tees with 18 Discatcher baskets. Secluded and scenic 16 acre disc golf only area around the Swim and Raquet club that is un-useable for anything else. Almost entirely heavy wooded and very hilly elevation terrain along a creek gives you all kind of variety. Lots of tight fairways that seem to favor backhand or forehand on some holes. Very little underbrush, well groomed, and navigation is fairly easy with big next tee signs and the tees are pretty close to baskets.
Cons: Mulch tees are probably my least favorite and they are short to boot. Holes play fairly close to together, so beware if others are playing(seems rare). The terrain is a little rough and rolled ankles a few times, also slipped down some steep areas. Can be muddy around the creek and had to pass over the creek some places. Tee signs are just pvc pipe with distance, but it's not hard to figure out the hole. Gnats and other flying insects can be bad in summer.
Other Thoughts: Wow...this is an interesting course and glad I made the trip. Accuracy is definitely rewarded over distance here as there are no holes to let a driver loose. It will test your skillz on elevated and heavily wooded fairways, and has lots of shots I've never seen before making it both fun and challenging. The creek and landscape give this course its beauty, but the elevation can be extreme and trees can be brutal. Aside from a few people playing on the tennis courts, the tennis balls and some deer, I had the course to myself making it very peaceful.

There is potential for this course with better tees. I use a fairly compact x-step, but felt cramped on a number of tees. Hole 13 was probably my fav, and the whole middle section was great. I definitely recommend this course(except to rank beginners), and hope to play again soon!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/15/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The woodland setting and the integration of the natural environment into the course is the best element here. All the baskets are in place now. I found the wood chip tees to fit well with
the nature of the course. There are not a drawback as driving distance is not much of an issue on any of the holes here. Instead there is a premium on creativity and accuracy in shot making. The many trees, hilly terrain, and the creek make for challenging but fair obstacles. The relatively short length and general openness of the woods keep it friendly for advanced beginners.
Cons: LOTS of gnats. Even copious amounts of bug spray didn't keep them at bay. I disagree with the reviewer who thought the basket positions were "unfair". A testing layout doesn't mean
it is an unfair layout. Yes your disc can roll away down a hill with a not-good-enough approach shot but given the short distance of the holes this course's defenses are the trees and the terrain. The course can be tricky to navigate as many holes are adjacent and baskets and tees can be in close proximity and there are lots of blind shots. I have never had a problem with traffic from other folfers on this course though.
Other Thoughts: There are no grip-it-and-rip-it holes on this course. There are woodland courses that have relatively open if narrow fairways and impenetrable rough, think Whispering Falls, and those that have open woods with many trees dotting the fairways and rough that is not so difficult to penetrate, like Boulder Woods. This course is among the latter. A spotter would be helpful here to guard against disc loss but is not near mandatory such as at Whispering Falls or Seneca Creek. The holes near the creek with the dense low vegetation are the greatest risk. This is a nice course to play in the heat of summer as your first drive takes you into the woods and you stay completely in tree cover till your last tee shot brings you out. How some people have managed to lose tennis balls so far out into the woods is beyond me. Rotting tennis balls
seem to sprout as if they were woodland fungi.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.