Clyde, NC 
Haywood Community College Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1
3 / 372ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Really fun, pretty course

1    10/14/2016   11/4/2016
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 72  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Course is definitely worth a side trip if you are heading up toward Cherokee, NC. Some of the scenery is excellent and when we played (late afternoon on a Friday) was very quiet. It's right off the highway and very fun to play.

Course has some really great holes. #1 is the longest by a mile, most are short and putter or soft flick shots. #2 is by far the coolest. Straight up a steep slope, lined all the way by pine trees. Very fun shot. #3 - #6 are really tight controlled shots. Mid range flicks and soft anhyzer shots are the way to go.

#7 is a nice, shot...once you find the tee pad! Need a course map from here on out. It gets tough to navigate. #8 & #9 follow easily.

The first 9 holes I thought were the best. The back 9 have some extremely tight tee shots. #10 & #11 are crazy tight. Ten could be a much better hole if they moved the tee 90 degrees. As it is, it's a tough anhyzer shot without much of a lane. Make it straight on and it's a tight, down hill turning shot that would be much better.

As for #11...hope you have a disc named 'rabbit' because that the only thing to penetrate the first 50' of the hole. I through a roller and prayed. My prayer wasn't answered!

#12-16 were pretty good holes, though #16 took FOREVER to find, even with a map. It's actually behind the green houses, and not beside them as shows on the map

#17 could be bad-arse if they added a 2nd tee by the road. A helluva shot toward a murky pond. Current tee is good, but by the road would be awesome.

#18 is okay, just a straight shot.
Cons: Navigation, navigation, navigation. Bring a map and your patience!! Biggest problem with the course. Also, never found the long tees, might not exist
Other Thoughts: This course is loaded with birdie holes. Would love to live nearby and play a lot. Would really sharpen your short game.

Found my wooded course

2-4    10/9/2016   10/9/2016
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 82  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The place is easy to find, it's right off exit 105. The first hole is super easy to get to. You'll see it as soon as you enter and the parking lot is right beside the first hole. There is a kiosk by hole 1.

-Definitely challenging for the short distances provided. It's not the course even can shoot like -12 on, most fairways are quite different and the rough can be pretty difficult to avoid. I actually shot a miserable 56 first round and then shot a 51, which was satisfying. It's harder than it seems.

-I think it starts off spectacular with a 470' par 3, being the longest hole on the course. This is a real pro par 3 because of its length and low ceiling. The OB road is also in play. Then you get to hole 2. It's a pretty tight steep uphill hole around 240-250'. It's not that difficult for me to birdie overall, but if I were to play this hole maybe ten times, I'm quite sure I would bogey it once or twice.

-Green baskets, I like them. Always cool to see something a little different. And they for the most part catch well enough.

-Course is very clean, not trashy, mostly because it's at a community college.

-Has decent elevation. Since it's in the mountains, you would expect at least some and there was enough for me to be satisfied. If you look on the media, it may not seem hilly but it's got a little bit more than it appears to on the site. The first two holes and a few others utilize a significant amount.

-I love the last two holes. #17 is probably the signature hole on the course. It's a 262' hyzer. The pond is about 25' to the left of the basket so it plays as a factor. I parked it first round and I hyzered too much second round and went straight into the water. #18 is simply a great finisher! It's a 300+ that plays slightly downhill and the creek is about 25' past the basket. This was a mid-range/putter bomber hole for me. It's a straightforward hole as long as you don't go too long.

-I personally really enjoyed the front nine. It had that unique "college campus course" asset to it.
Cons: -It's not that difficult to navigate, but it's not entirely easy to either. I played with a friend. Holes 10 and 12 were a little difficult to find because they are a little bit spaced from each other. Nothing too bad, you'll find them eventually. 10 is beside the small building in the woods just straight ahead of hole 9's basket. #12 is across the road.

-Aside from three holes, I'm not at all fond of the back nine. It's just somewhat gimmicky in my opinion. Holes 10 and 11 barely have fairways. The rough on hole 10, which you are bound to enter is really irritating and very thick in places. If you kick left, you better watch your disc drop to the side of the hill closely. #11 is just a weird upshot through a 4' gape. If you hit the gape cleanly, you'll probably birdie, if you don't hit it, you'll probably bogey. At 129', it feels like it should be really simple to birdie.

#12 is a very poorly designed hole. It's only 155' long but it's a forced dogleg left and has no fairway for the first 100'. Just like #11, should be easier because of the short distance. #11 can be birdied a good bit, but this one requires a LOT of luck. At 155', it's just gimmicky because you are playing a legit pinball game. Luckily, the next hole is relatively pleasing.

-Tee pads are composed of gravel, which I am not fond of. Most of it isn't an issue but it is on the more open holes. You could trip and shank a drive on an open hole.

-Lots of exposed roots by now and hanging branches. #16 could be another signature hole if there was no low ceiling. It's a 270' footer with a lot of potential that forces you to throw through a kinda small gap. The slightly sloping fairway makes this a cool hole but the branches make it hard to enjoy.
Other Thoughts: -Haywood is a decent course on a very pretty campus. It was slightly better than I expected. I wish there was a 2.75 rating. I think this course would be a 3 if holes 10-12 were a little more pleasing and if there weren't as many overhead branches. I'm definitely going to come back and take a few of my college buddies up here soon, my friend across the hall plays a lot in Charlotte and my roommate grew up in Ashe County so he got to play there quite a few times so I think they will really enjoy this course. It's very rewarding if you have a just a decent backhand and flick.

-This is a nice opposite to my new home course Catamount Links because I play Waynesville a good bit and it's pretty much the same. This course is somewhat wooded. It's definitely not lightly wooded. There are a few open holes here and there but most of them are tight.

-My favorite hole is #1. It's just a great LONG downhill that allows me to just crush a drive. It'll get you going for the rest of the round if you just rip it on this hole or in the field in play beside it. Close calls would be hole 2, 9, and 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, fun, worth it

1    9/24/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: Polecat-Meow
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging, kind of, but short with plenty of lines to chose from. The baskets are quality and the course is well maintained with lovely scenery. Lots of elevation change and clever pin locations that afford flick and backhand lines despite lots of trees. The tee boxes are natural but pretty good all things considered.
Cons: The endless trees got old and the course begins to feel repetitive. If you don't like natural tee boxes you won't like this course. I got lost after hole 9 and had to backtrack.
Other Thoughts: More signage for finding the next hole, especially after 9. I wouldn't add tee boxes to this course, I think it would become too easy and boring if footing was easier to come by in the box.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gorgeous

1    5/20/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: RadarChef
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Visually stunning, with lots of elevation and dramatic woodland shots. The mill house on 16,17, and 18 is picture perfect. Very technical, there are a few holes that may be too heavily wooded, but after playing Waynesville this was refreshing.
Cons: Directional signage between holes 9 and 10 would be great. It's a hike and I ended up finding 13 by accident and having to backtrack. It's across two parking lots and down some stairs. Good luck finding it unless you're playing with a local. Similar hike between 15 and 16, again had to backtrack but the scenery makes up for all the wandering around.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Scenic and Woodsy

5+    11/14/2014   11/15/2014
Review By: silentvictory0
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty walk through campus. The course offers lots of technical shots through trees and is great for tightening up your short game.
Cons: Natural tee boxes have tree roots and other obstructions. Some holes don't have paths carved out for specific shots. It just looks like pins were tossed in the middle of heavily wooded areas. As a result, even a seasoned player is throwing a crapshoot with fingers crossed on some holes.
Other Thoughts: There are only a couple holes where you are able to really let loose and bomb a drive. If you are looking for a course to work on your short game and technical shots, check it out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course...

1    4/20/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent course for the size of the campus. Very well signed, good tee boxes...thats about it.
Cons: The course navigates through the campus so there are the possibilities of students being in the way; mostly short putt and approach shots in heavily wooded areas.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice stroll through campus

1    5/18/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets, decent pads, decently easy to follow. This course was a nice little stroll through the campus with a variety of shots of elevation.
Cons: A couple of the tee pads were built and aimed in the wrong direction. If they were to change the angle on a bunch of them and throw down some concrete, this could be a really nice experience.
Other Thoughts: Will challenge you and take you on a nice tour of the campus. Take your time and enjoy yourself.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    7/1/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Underbrush in the wooded areas is very thin. Gives you practice with both hyzers and anhyzers on drives and approaches. Moderate creativity used in designing this course. Great practice course for Richmond Hills in Asheville.
Cons: Too wooded for beginners with maybe 3 or 4 holes having a field to drive into. Very awkward and uneven tee boxes that are a nightmare after a rain. On a tobacco free campus for you smokers out there that enjoy a cig every few holes. A lot of construction on the campus this past year, making for a lot of noisy dump trucks and tractors (excess noise and a pain on the holes that are near construction area or roads).
Other Thoughts: If you plan on playing Richmond Hills, go here first for a tune up. You can expel the same amount of energy in two rounds here as you would in one round there. It's fun to play a round here then a round 5 minutes away at the Waynesville rec park to give you 36 holes with no repeats in a short amount of time. If you are in the area on a hot day, play here, as there is ample shade in the woods.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, short but wooded course

2-4    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: McFer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is absolutely beautiful, like any course in the mountains of Western North Carolina is bound to be. We're lucky here! Although the course is short, the majority of the holes are still moderately challenging because of tight tunnels and ample trees.

The final two holes around the lake are open and while the holes themselves are unimaginative, the lake and the mill house are picturesque and make the holes fun. The course makes great use of the community college campus in most cases, and they did a great job of limiting opportunities for pedestrian interaction.

The middle portion of the course gives the player the impression that they're far further off the beaten path than they actually are, until one of the holes finishes in the vicinity of a school maintenance shed. While there's plenty of poison ivy and jaggers in the rough, the fairways are well-cleared. The course layout is mostly logical and easy to follow.

There are maps at the first tee that help with the few non-obvious tee locations, and the few people we encountered were friendly and helpful, advising us that we should move our van because the campus gates would be closing at 5pm, which occurs on weekends, though the gates were still open when we left well after 5pm due to an event being held on campus. Better safe than sorry, though.
Cons: The green chastity belts on the baskets make them far too hard to locate. The dirt/gravel tees aren't too bad for traction, but many are very short, though that isn't that big of a deal because distance is secondary to shot-making here. Two baskets were simply missing when we played it last, #10 and #11. It appeared that they were temporarily removed to accommodate campus maintenance work, but it would have been helpful if that was noted near the tee box instead of having to go basket searching in vain. As mentioned in other reviews, some limited culling of trees would open up more line options on the heavily wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, pretty course to play, and the lack of long-distance holes makes it a fun course to play for a disparate group while the heavily wooded format presents plenty of intriguing challenges for more advanced players. For a campus course, most of the course is secluded and quiet. The course rewards finesse and putting and that's a welcome contrast to my home course, Catamount Links.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cute

1    12/4/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun walk through the course. There were many scenic holes as you would expect in the mountains.I expected a short course since it was on a community college campus. It was short and I though appropriate for the target audience that the school would have in mind. Beginners would have a blast on this course and people who just want to get out and throw a little bit without having to throw hard will also love it. I was grateful that there were maps on the kiosk. The garden area by 17 and 18 is lovely and then the lake there with the water wheel is idyllic. Holes 1 and 18 are lengthy as opposed to the rest of the course and are both beautiful holes. I totally enjoyed my stop while on the road to play this course. It won't be my last stop there.
Cons: It would be nice to have concrete tees, but I sensed an environmental frugality on the course. There were a lot of smaller trees that could be culled to make some of the short holes more fair, but they were still fun to play. I think the pin on #4 could be moved downhill a bit, but the fence has a couple of sections removed now in case you go over the fence. I would have liked to have seen more green transition arrows on trees and perhaps some green arrows painted on the walks and pavement to help me navigate. I got pretty lost somewhere around 10 to 11 or 11 to 12 and it took me a while to figure it out even with my map. I do not know if there are restrooms open to the public but I didn't see one.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a fairly high rating for the fun factor. My wife and daughter will enjoy playing this on our next trip through the mountains. It is perfect for a pit stop during a road trip. I further think that locals have the opportunity to stretch it out by chosing to tee from alternate locations to further add challenge.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.