Clyde, NC 
Haywood Community College Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 165ft.   3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice stroll through campus

1    5/18/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great baskets, decent pads, decently easy to follow. This course was a nice little stroll through the campus with a variety of shots of elevation.
Cons: A couple of the tee pads were built and aimed in the wrong direction. If they were to change the angle on a bunch of them and throw down some concrete, this could be a really nice experience.
Other Thoughts: Will challenge you and take you on a nice tour of the campus. Take your time and enjoy yourself.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging

5+    7/1/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Underbrush in the wooded areas is very thin. Gives you practice with both hyzers and anhyzers on drives and approaches. Moderate creativity used in designing this course. Great practice course for Richmond Hills in Asheville.
Cons: Too wooded for beginners with maybe 3 or 4 holes having a field to drive into. Very awkward and uneven tee boxes that are a nightmare after a rain. On a tobacco free campus for you smokers out there that enjoy a cig every few holes. A lot of construction on the campus this past year, making for a lot of noisy dump trucks and tractors (excess noise and a pain on the holes that are near construction area or roads).
Other Thoughts: If you plan on playing Richmond Hills, go here first for a tune up. You can expel the same amount of energy in two rounds here as you would in one round there. It's fun to play a round here then a round 5 minutes away at the Waynesville rec park to give you 36 holes with no repeats in a short amount of time. If you are in the area on a hot day, play here, as there is ample shade in the woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, short but wooded course

2-4    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: McFer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is absolutely beautiful, like any course in the mountains of Western North Carolina is bound to be. We're lucky here! Although the course is short, the majority of the holes are still moderately challenging because of tight tunnels and ample trees.

The final two holes around the lake are open and while the holes themselves are unimaginative, the lake and the mill house are picturesque and make the holes fun. The course makes great use of the community college campus in most cases, and they did a great job of limiting opportunities for pedestrian interaction.

The middle portion of the course gives the player the impression that they're far further off the beaten path than they actually are, until one of the holes finishes in the vicinity of a school maintenance shed. While there's plenty of poison ivy and jaggers in the rough, the fairways are well-cleared. The course layout is mostly logical and easy to follow.

There are maps at the first tee that help with the few non-obvious tee locations, and the few people we encountered were friendly and helpful, advising us that we should move our van because the campus gates would be closing at 5pm, which occurs on weekends, though the gates were still open when we left well after 5pm due to an event being held on campus. Better safe than sorry, though.
Cons: The green chastity belts on the baskets make them far too hard to locate. The dirt/gravel tees aren't too bad for traction, but many are very short, though that isn't that big of a deal because distance is secondary to shot-making here. Two baskets were simply missing when we played it last, #10 and #11. It appeared that they were temporarily removed to accommodate campus maintenance work, but it would have been helpful if that was noted near the tee box instead of having to go basket searching in vain. As mentioned in other reviews, some limited culling of trees would open up more line options on the heavily wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, pretty course to play, and the lack of long-distance holes makes it a fun course to play for a disparate group while the heavily wooded format presents plenty of intriguing challenges for more advanced players. For a campus course, most of the course is secluded and quiet. The course rewards finesse and putting and that's a welcome contrast to my home course, Catamount Links.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cute

1    12/4/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun walk through the course. There were many scenic holes as you would expect in the mountains.I expected a short course since it was on a community college campus. It was short and I though appropriate for the target audience that the school would have in mind. Beginners would have a blast on this course and people who just want to get out and throw a little bit without having to throw hard will also love it. I was grateful that there were maps on the kiosk. The garden area by 17 and 18 is lovely and then the lake there with the water wheel is idyllic. Holes 1 and 18 are lengthy as opposed to the rest of the course and are both beautiful holes. I totally enjoyed my stop while on the road to play this course. It won't be my last stop there.
Cons: It would be nice to have concrete tees, but I sensed an environmental frugality on the course. There were a lot of smaller trees that could be culled to make some of the short holes more fair, but they were still fun to play. I think the pin on #4 could be moved downhill a bit, but the fence has a couple of sections removed now in case you go over the fence. I would have liked to have seen more green transition arrows on trees and perhaps some green arrows painted on the walks and pavement to help me navigate. I got pretty lost somewhere around 10 to 11 or 11 to 12 and it took me a while to figure it out even with my map. I do not know if there are restrooms open to the public but I didn't see one.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a fairly high rating for the fun factor. My wife and daughter will enjoy playing this on our next trip through the mountains. It is perfect for a pit stop during a road trip. I further think that locals have the opportunity to stretch it out by chosing to tee from alternate locations to further add challenge.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Woods by the pond

2-4    6/7/2009   9/22/2011
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful pond-side setting with grassy fairways & mountain views. Course plays mostly in the woods. Hole #1 is open & #17 & #18 offer some open shots around the pond. Elevation is in play on most holes but no big hike. Nice color tee signs on every hole show basic info. Very clean (no litter/trash). Mostly short holes make the round quick.
Cons: No benches. Natural tee pads (I prefer concrete) mean some slippery dirt, roots, pine needels, etc. Could use a couple longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I was struck by the beauty of the place as soon as we pulled into the parking lot. The pond is stunning! #4 is my favorite hole. It is a short open shot to a basket set behind a wall of trees. Really makes you think about your shot. Great course & layout. I would def go back & would highly recommend it to others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    2/18/2012   2/18/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 2/18/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice mix of open vs. wooded holes. Also a decent variety of uphill, downhill, flat and left/right shots.

- Beautiful campus.
Cons: - Green baskets. It's hard to see some of them. Most of them at least have a small orange flag to increase visibility somewhat.

- Natural tees (which in and of itself isn't a bad thing). Many of the holes play on elevation with tees that aren't level. Many of them turn to mud at the thought of water. Some of them a little slick with pine needles. I guess I consider this a con since I'm used to playing courses where all the tee boxes are identical. This course I guess I just need to factor that in as part of the challenge.

- I just played a couple rounds today and notices they put gravel in some of the tees. They almost looked like they had been dug down and filled with gravel. It seemed about 4" thick. I hate gravel in tee boxes. It's really hard to maintain consistent footwork with this type of tee. Fortunately they didn't gravel all of them and most of them that are you can throw from behind or off to the side of the gravel.

- The course could be better marked as there are some decent walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: *It should be noted that the Course Info page says there are not multiple tee/pin locations. While this is mostly true there are a few holes with 2 pin locations.

I'd play this course more often if it was closer to Asheville!


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better for beginners to intermediate

5+    11/13/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: had alot of fun here first time i played i shot -2. alot of mixed shots overhand and flick. alot of the holes were short just abut the length max. so i come close to the basket. very pretty.
Cons: kinda hard to figure out where you are on the course if you never played there. its my advice to go with some one that has played there before so you dont have to chase your tail trying to figure out where the next hole is. also no real signs telling you where to shoot.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  in full swing

5+    9/19/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigarm420
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 12 of the 18 holes have alternate pin positions which are being moved around making for different shots. All of the fairways are clear of poision ivy and getting worn in well.
Cons: There are a few tee pads that need some work.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 haywood p.i.

1    8/31/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: elreyfowler
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful college campus. The course begins and ends with pretty scenery and nice shots.
Cons: 11 of the 18 holes are COVERED in poison ivy! No matter where you throw, there's a good chance you're in it on the wooded holes.
Also, all of these poison ivy holes are about the same length (150-175) with slight variations in direction.
Other Thoughts: If you are not allergic to p.i., you could get some great putter practice on this course due to the extremely tight wooded shots.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/6/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, mostly short, mostly wooded course layed throughout HCC.
- Course is mostly wooded. #1, 16 - 18 are the only true open holes; #9 is a tweener. Accuracy is at a premium here.
- Great course for shorter throwers or to practice mid-range shots. Average hole length is 220 ft from long tees, less than 200 ft from shorts. The 4 longest holes, including only 2 more than 300 ft, are the open holes.
- With so many shorter holes (9 under 200 ft from longs), plenty of birdie opportunities. Plenty of risk/reward holes on the course with birdie/ace chances, but bogeys also real options if you hit trees/bounce into woods.
- Beautiful scenery throughout course. Great views of mountains all around. Great looking college throughout course (or vice versa), including the cool waterwheel on #17.
- Very good use of terrain throughout the course. Very few flat holes. Almost every hole is an uphill or downhill shot, meaning they either play longer (uphill) or you have risk of discs flying long (downhill). Even though its so short, you'll get a good workout just walking the course.
Cons: Course is very spread out. Lots of long walks between holes.
- Course could use better signage. I had to walk down the fairway to find the basket on too many holes, to the point it was frustrating. Also, course could use better signage between holes that require long walks. Transition from #9 to 10, and again from #15 to 16 stand out as most in need of signage.
- Course could use some a little TLC. On some of the wooded holes, the rough was extremely thick, or branches were dragged, only several feet behind the basket, or just right off the fairway.
- Dirt tee pads. Not a huge issue on shorter holes, but somewhat problematic on 2 longer holes.
- Building all appeared closed during off hours, so no water fountains or restrooms available at those times.
Other Thoughts: At times, the course seemed a paradox. On one hand, it seems it was given plenty of attention at times, resulting in some very good holes. At other times, it seems it was an afterthought, and built with limited to no space. Hole #4, with rusty, wire fence along the entire left side is a tetanus shot waiting to happen. That is, unless you know there's an opening in it, just past the basket.
- I don't know how much other space was available for this course, but at times, it felt too many holes were crammed in an area too small.
- I felt like the course left me wanting more, that it was lacking something. Maybe a true, standout signature wooded hole, maybe a few more longer (300 or 400 ft+ holes). To me, it says something that every wooded hole, after #2, felt all the same to me - all in the 150 - 200 ft range, with some dogleg.
- This is such a nice, spread out campus. Seems like you could learn almost any specialty or trade here.
- #17 stood out to me as the course's signature hole. The layout playing around the water, instead of over, wasn't overly difficult, but you add in the scenery, and it's solid. The layout over the water has to be a nerve-wracking throw.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.