Manitowoc, WI 
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 324ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Disc Golf Marathon

1    6/25/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 36 holes of varied disc gold with plenty of elevation and line shapes and distances.

- Multiple concrete tee pads on most holes.

- Baskets are in good repair and catch well, multiple pin positions on many holes.

- Located in a clean, well maintained park.
Cons: - The new holes have caused navigation to be even more of an issue than it may previously have been.

- 36 holes is overly long. A split into two separate courses, or an easy way play 9/18/27 holes at a time would be nice.

- Long grass and thick rough in many places pose a risk of lost plastic.
Other Thoughts: At 36 holes, Silver Creek Park is a monster of a disc golf course. Even from the short tees, you will be out here for a long time if you plan to putt out at every basket. Fortunately, it will be several hours well spent if you embark upon this endeavor, as the quality of golf here is some of the best in the Midwest. It is very hard to maintain a constant level of high quality golf over 36-holes. Silver Creek has a couple of holes that could be considered filler, or that simply do not stand up to the quality of many others, but I never felt bored during my round, and I don't think I ever went more than 2 holes without excited about a shot.

There is some spectacular elevation in play here (Holes 6, 8, 14, 17, 18 to name a few) and I'd say most fairways have at least some manner of rolling terrain if not an exceptional uphill or downhill shot. The eponymous creek comes into play on a handful of holes, but usually isn't much of a threat, probably could have been used a little better. There is a good mix of tighter fairways that force lines, and more open shots with mature trees providing obstacles. The signature lighthouse hole with Lake Michigan as a backdrop really is quite fantastic.

A number of the newest holes were among my favorites (including the incredibly uphill 17, with wooden steps courtesy of local boy scouts) but routing really needs to be improved to reflect the new layout. My 4-some had trouble on multiple locations, including going from 14 to (new) 15 and 18 to 19 (old 15). The holes after 14 have been re-numbered, and in many places the signage directing you to the next hole is incorrect. It did seem like all the tee-signs had the new numbers taped on, and number on baskets seemed correct. While my group eventually found where we were supposed to go without too much trouble, there was definitely a good deal of confusion. Updated signage would help a lot.

The rough can be really thick here, and with many of the holes featuring blind or semi-blind shots to the basket, the risk of lost plastic is very real. My group came up on a capable looking single player no fewer than 5 times during the round after he had spent long periods of time looking for a lost disc. Many of his shots weren't really bad at all, just hard to spot. We spent our fair share of time looking as well, and by the end of our 36-hole marathon, were playing many of the holes from the short position, just to reduce the chance of lost discs. A few more benches would also be helpful, especially on such a long course.

Silver Creek Park offers some truly great disc golf. Multiple pin positions and tee pads offer variety and good challenge for multiple skill levels, and there are a ton of really fun holes. I'm not sure it's feasible, but a split into two 18-hole loops with clear and helpful signage would, I think, certainly be an improvement. This is a truly great disc golf experience, and pairs very well with Rollin Ridge 30 min away for an absolutely stellar day. Just be prepared with plenty of water and snacks, you'll be out here for a while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A little bit of everything

1    5/1/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: Wetlawnmulch
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1 - Multiple concrete teepads
2 - great layout, uses the whole park, play along lake Michigan, and elevation
3 - Good mix of short, medium and long holes
Cons: 1- Distances seemed to be off from the signs at times.
2 - New holes are being installed to the layout is a little different then the map.
3 - Probably wouldn't play in wet conditions. Some of the tee pads were slick just from the morning dew.
Other Thoughts: After having played Rolling Ridge and Winter Park this course was great for our group. I could see were course traffic could get to be an issue on a nice day. This would be a great everyday course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Silver Medal Course

2-4    6/25/2015   1/18/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 85  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The signage is good and the scorecard made me think I'd be bombing for aces, but the first hole alone is such a righty hole that I nearly bogied. It wasn't until #4 that I found a comfortable lefty shot and made an easy deuce. The mix of right and left and straight is fair, but few courses have as many blind shots to extremely protected greens as this one. The 15th and 16th are particularly great, especially the mounting of the 16th pin and view of a bridge above. The pin for the 22nd is one of the best in the state.
Cons: There really are no cons to this course other than a lack of really big elevation. It has a mix of long and short, is very technical and makes great use of the beautiful land along lake Michigan. Only the lack of huge elevation keeps it from getting a perfect rating.
Other Thoughts: Go. It's gorgeous near the lake.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Signage Update Desperately Needed

1    11/14/2015   11/18/2015
Review By: holmslice
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Well maintained and manicured fairways
Multiple Concrete Pads
View of Lake Michigan from a couple holes
Some interesting hole layouts, good variation of terrain
Decent amenities including bathrooms
Cons: Very poor, inaccurate directional signage
Limited tee signage, one per pad with basic layout and distance information plus a couple photos
Outdated course map
Not much variation in distance, most holes are short-medium in length
Other Thoughts: I assume that this course was recently expanded from 27 to 36 holes, however neither the course website, course map (online or at the park), nor the on course directional signage has been updated to reflect these changes. We spent around 20 minutes looking for hole 15. We followed signage to the spot where it was also shown on the map, but we ended up at hole 19. After this happened several more times, we ended up playing 24 of the 36 holes. Navigation impossibilities aside, the course was in great shape. There are a decent amount of benches and trash cans, most holes had one bench and every three or so had a trash bin. The course does not play very long, even from the longs, but the holes offer some technical challenge and are interesting enough to be inspiring. The parking lot is centrally located to the course which I always consider a plus. Certainly a worthwhile stop, but a local guide is a must.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Another Gem in WIsconsin

5+    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 116  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - An absolutely beautiful park and course layout. Even if you are not playing disc golf this course is still a lot of fun just to walk through and look at.
- Mulitple Concrete teepads on every hole making the course harder or easier to your liking.
- Nice Catching DGA baskets.
- Nice large Parking lot
- On Site Bathrooms
- A very good mix of short technicle holes and long holes.
- Id call this a course with a decent ammount of trees to play through. Not a crap load and no where near wide open. This course really exemplifies what Wisconsin Disc Golf is all about.
- Almost every hole out here can be birdied and they can also all be bogied. This makes for a fun style of play where you play your game and see just how good you are.
- The course uses the elevation and water pretty perfectly. A lot of risk reward in these shots where playing hard can get you a great shot and also an absolutely horrible one.
- The light house hole is one of the most picturesque holes in Disc Golf and one to not let you guard down on.
- Perfectly placed fairways and pins. There is never really an issue where a bad shot will lead to another tee or fairway. A very good designing the course here.
Cons: - There is a lot of walking here but what else can you expect from a 27 hole course that is not short.
- The bugs do get pretty bad here during the summer but where dont they get bad in the summer in WI
- I can see navigation being a bit tricky on a hole or two. There are a few longer walks where if you dont know the course then you might not be able to find where to go next.
Other Thoughts: The ammount of work that has been put into this course in the past couple of years is just amazing. They keep adding more to it, harder pin locations and harder tees. This course is a lot of fun to play and one of the top course in WI

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Silver Creek Park DGC Review

1    6/14/2015   6/14/2015
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The park is very well kept. I don't think I saw one area that had garbage in it. The grass is maintained and the trees/bushes are trimmed as well. The tee-pads are very good. They are poured concrete and have brush marks in it for added grip. It is very scenic and makes great use of the area they had. The view of Lake Michigan is awesome. The added holes are great, and make for a way longer game.
Cons: If it is your first time, finding hole one is kinda confusing. There wasn't much for signage in the parking area to direct you to hole one. After you find it, its fairly easy to find your way after that. It was kind of confusing to find some holes later down the course, but after some searching it is easy to find. We did notice the signs are sometimes way too far away from the tee's. When someone had a question on hole par, you'd have to go walk back to find the sign for the current hole you were on.
Other Thoughts: The whole place itself was great. There was plenty of other disc golfers playing the course, and other people just walking the trails. If I lived closer to the area, I would probably play here more often. Definitely a place to check off on your list. I'm glad I did.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I got sunshi-i-ine...

1    6/10/2015   6/10/2015
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a very very large multi-use park on the shores of Lake Michigan. There are many areas that are certainly NOT dg-exclusive so throw wisely. We started our round at 5:45am so the park was essentially empty save for a few metal detector guys. I can see this park being very busy at times.

Teepads-- Very nice pads. Gnurled in the center for extra grip. Concrete pads in ALL tee positions including "champ" tees make for an extra enjoyable round for anyone.

Teesignage-- Good. IIRC only teesigns at one tee per hole which is a bit distracting but the map provided here is more than adequate for figuring out distances and what teepad, etc.

Routing and nav- a couple tricky spots but overall easy. 14 to 15 is probably the worst routing out here but overall, the map is the shining star here.

Baskets--DGA baskets with orange neck bands. Nicely visible for the most part. Flags could/would be useful on some holes where it's not evident which pin position the basket is in.

Upkeep-- this park is immaculate. Honestly, for a city park, there was very little trash and the grass was freshly mowed. Couldn't ask for a "cleaner" round.

Variety/ Challenge-- there is so much variety here it's rediculous. You play in so many different areas of the park. With open fairways, tight fairways, creek, lake, sand, trees, bomber, technical there is a bit of everything here. With the multiple teepads in play on every hole, it's a create your own adventure at this course. For those who say it's too short, well, it may be but then you could play the four champion tees and add to the length. When I was there, the baskets that had long placements were all in the long placements so that adds distance as well.

Signature hole-- #22 is amazing. The graceful left sweep to a platform green overlooking the lake were amazing in the morning. Your first throw here had better be a good one or you are not going to have a good day.

Man-made-- barriers around holes 20-22 to prevent cross-contamination between holes are much appreciated and a great touch for this course.
Cons: a couple minor cons here:

Length-- I know, I just said it was a make your own adventure but there are an abundance of short holes. The challenge factor could be higher with longer holes.

Out-of-towner disadvantage-- It would be nice to have a way to tell everyone which position the basket was in. We had a hard time knowing which position it was in (it was consistently inconsistent if it was in the mid-long or long-long position) this was especially difficult on hole 18.
Other Thoughts: Truly a great way to start our road trip. Couldn't have asked for a better "starter" course for the morning. Truly a gem here.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun golf, looks to be a nice daily player.

1    7/5/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 109  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well thought out holes.
Great mix of control shots and bomber holes.
Very close to the car ferry.
Cons: We only played the front 9 because we were just stretching our dogs legs before the 4 hours on the car ferry, so we encountered no cons.
Other Thoughts: Seemed like a great little coarse, we played 8 the 14 back to the parking lot. Several fun holes in there. The local players we saw were pretty good.
I wish we had more time here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite WI courses

2-4    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Badger45
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city of Manitowoc takes very good care of this course. As public courses go, it's one of the cleanest and more well groomed that I've played.

If you get to this area of the state, it's well worth the stop to play Silver Creek. You start the first few holes with some nice warm-up type holes, but if you play from the long tees, they still force you to pick a good line if you want a chance at a birdie. You work your way to slightly longer holes and then head to a great uphill hole that will test your abilities if it's not something you do often.

The mix of long and short technical holes with a few long and short open holes really makes this a fun place to play.

Hole 14 offers a great shot off the top of a sledding hill. No matter your skill level, this is going to be a memorable hole!

Hole 22 takes you out to the lake on a long narrow fairway shot with a hard left-hand downhill turn to the bsaket. The basket sits on top of a small lighthouse and the putt / approach area is surrounded by the beach with a good view of Lake Michigan.

Cons: Holes 4 and 5 tend to remain wet. Not terribly, but watch your step and choose your path carefully after your tee shot on 5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of Wisconsin's best

5+    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2016
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful 27 hole course that runs through a large, wooded park along the Lake Michigan shoreline.

DGA baskets on all holes, and they all are in good repair and catch well. No issues here.

Two (and sometimes three) rectangular concrete tee pads on almost every hole (with 15 being the exception...natural pads there). The different tees offer somewhat different lines, although in a lot of cases, it's mostly a distance difference.

Great offering of different lines here. You'll get straight, left to right, and right to left all over this course. Lots of different discs will be used over the course of 27 holes!

Elevation is used very well. Hole 14 is a classic top o' the world shot from the sledding hill. Many of the holes here offer some sort of elevation drop/rise and will play into your shot decisions quite a bit.

The river that runs through the park comes into play on several holes, although it's not usually an immediate danger, but more of a punishment for severely errant shots.

Good mix of distances, especially from the longs. There's some short technical, long technical, and bomber holes from the longs. Still a fun course for a beginner/int player from the shorts. A bit of something for everybody.

Multiple pin positions exist on most of the holes, and the long positions turn some ho-hum holes into quite memorable ones (17 comes to mind).

Plenty of parking here. I've never seen the lot even half full.
Cons: It can get a bit busy here on weekend afternoons. Show up early (before noon), and you'll have the course mostly to yourself.

Navigation is a bit wonky in spots. Hole 1 is across the field and to the right of the parking lot. The walk from hole 14 to 15 really needs to be marked out better...without a map, a first timer is going to have trouble finding it. Most of the other navigation issues from 18-27 are fixed with good signage and beat down paths.

Being right next to Lake Michigan, the bugs are plentiful here. Wind can also become a big factor.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that has a bit of something for everybody. The replay factor is ridiculously high, with several memorable holes, including the famous "Lighthouse Hole".

Much work has been done in the last few weeks, including large wooden benches at many of the long tees, and structures to guard against wayward shots on several as well. A great course getting even better.

Do yourself a favor...get out and play here! If you can make a day of it, swinging Winter Park, Silver Creek, and Rollin' Ridge is about as wonderful a day of discing as you'll ever have.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.