Manitowoc, WI
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun course along Lake Michagan

2-4    8/9/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent variety of holes with multiple concrete pads and ok signage. There is a fun mix of wooded and open shots. There a few really fun holes. 7, although open, is a 400 foot left to right line which I don't see too often. It was fun for me to lay out a huge anhyzer around all the trees. There is 22 holes here now which is pretty cool, 4 bonus holes. The Ob yellow line on 7A and 7B was a nice touch on some really open holes. 9A is a fun downhill hole of decent length to a protected green with ob river lurking close by. Watch that you don't skip into the water! 11 is a nice tight tunnel shot right next to the noises of the water coming in on Lake Michigan.

The two sets of tees are great as they offer a super easy version of the course for beginners and a moderate challenge to those with more experience.

The elevation here is fun, lots of throwing up and down holes.
Cons: Overall, this course is on the short side. You will not be throwing your driver much here. I feel like there are too many mid range straightish holes. Too many short putter drives as well for my taste. There are a lot of underwhelming holes.
Other Thoughts: This park gets super busy and some holes may not be playable when people are partying here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Visually amazing!….But Basically Boring/Blah holes

1    6/25/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses (over 180 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(Other than a couple of holes which are very good (I love the concept of 12, although it is a little too short), this course forces no real decision making and metes out no real punishment for errant shots. There are some holes that would be good, but are simply too short. It is average in this area at BEST.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
(About half the holes are quite nice distance-wise to feel really good about parking them. Then there are 4-5 that are simply too short to be rewarding given the lack of obstacles. And then there are 3-4 that are too long for me and people of my length - tweener holes, downside holes, or whatever you want to call them. I find this to be about average for most courses - certainly nothing here that wows me and makes me want to come back to try to conquer the course.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Overall this is not a wooded course although there are plenty of trees. Most shots are quite open but most do require a little shot-shaping. There are some notable exceptions such as the crazy anny on 12 (if you choose that rather than the risky straight at it shot) and the uphill anny 295' tree-spangled #13. A very cool over-the-berm dropshot on 213' #14 ends a run of the 4 best holes on the course.....which are made even better since they are on the banks of Lake Michigan.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(The beauty of this course is striking…..not so much in full-on beauty but how the feeling flows as you traverse the course: from dark coniferous shadows, to tree-lined meadows with a beautiful brook, to a grassy sledding hill and park, then back into the dark stuff…only to pop out into deciduous and sandy beachfront, and then finally finishing off in a classic mature hardwood park feel. This alone pulls up the overall playing experience to me from something that would otherwise be average at best.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course on the lakeshore.

2-4    8/6/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-good signage
-next hole signage
Cons: -a little confusion going from #9 to #10
-some questionable conduct in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: 18 holes in a nice, manicured park on the Lake Michigan lakeshore. Course is on the short and technical side with plenty of trees to get in the way. Some open, longer holes sprinkled throughout.

The main parking lot seems to be a favorite hangout of local kids. I didn't see anything untoward going on, but the burnouts in the parking lot were a distraction.

The location of the 1st tee isn't obvious, so I had to follow another group to a small opening in the trees, about 300 feet northwest of the parking lot.

Once finding the 1st tee, the course follows a fairly logical path with nicely varied holes featuring left and right turns and up and downhill throws.

A nice feature is the use of the "next hole" directional signage that shows you where to go for the next tee. There is a long and winding hike from #9 to #10 that could use a little more guidance for newcomers to the course, though, as the sign after #9 only shows a general area where to go next and there are several trails to follow once you get to that area. Again, I had to refer to the locals to find that tee.

A spectacular view of the lake is offered from #14's tee, which is a nice extra.

Overall, it's a very fun and challenging course with a few things that could be improved to make it excellent.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very challenging all the way through, especially from the pro tees. The entire length of the course is a long walk, so it's good for exercise. Hole 14 gives you a great view of Lake Michigan.
Cons: Sometimes a little too challenging... After it rains, bugs can be an issue

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.