Manitowoc, WI 
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 324ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Long Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Disc Golf Marathon

1    6/25/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 80  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 36 holes of varied disc gold with plenty of elevation and line shapes and distances.

- Multiple concrete tee pads on most holes.

- Baskets are in good repair and catch well, multiple pin positions on many holes.

- Located in a clean, well maintained park.
Cons: - The new holes have caused navigation to be even more of an issue than it may previously have been.

- 36 holes is overly long. A split into two separate courses, or an easy way play 9/18/27 holes at a time would be nice.

- Long grass and thick rough in many places pose a risk of lost plastic.
Other Thoughts: At 36 holes, Silver Creek Park is a monster of a disc golf course. Even from the short tees, you will be out here for a long time if you plan to putt out at every basket. Fortunately, it will be several hours well spent if you embark upon this endeavor, as the quality of golf here is some of the best in the Midwest. It is very hard to maintain a constant level of high quality golf over 36-holes. Silver Creek has a couple of holes that could be considered filler, or that simply do not stand up to the quality of many others, but I never felt bored during my round, and I don't think I ever went more than 2 holes without excited about a shot.

There is some spectacular elevation in play here (Holes 6, 8, 14, 17, 18 to name a few) and I'd say most fairways have at least some manner of rolling terrain if not an exceptional uphill or downhill shot. The eponymous creek comes into play on a handful of holes, but usually isn't much of a threat, probably could have been used a little better. There is a good mix of tighter fairways that force lines, and more open shots with mature trees providing obstacles. The signature lighthouse hole with Lake Michigan as a backdrop really is quite fantastic.

A number of the newest holes were among my favorites (including the incredibly uphill 17, with wooden steps courtesy of local boy scouts) but routing really needs to be improved to reflect the new layout. My 4-some had trouble on multiple locations, including going from 14 to (new) 15 and 18 to 19 (old 15). The holes after 14 have been re-numbered, and in many places the signage directing you to the next hole is incorrect. It did seem like all the tee-signs had the new numbers taped on, and number on baskets seemed correct. While my group eventually found where we were supposed to go without too much trouble, there was definitely a good deal of confusion. Updated signage would help a lot.

The rough can be really thick here, and with many of the holes featuring blind or semi-blind shots to the basket, the risk of lost plastic is very real. My group came up on a capable looking single player no fewer than 5 times during the round after he had spent long periods of time looking for a lost disc. Many of his shots weren't really bad at all, just hard to spot. We spent our fair share of time looking as well, and by the end of our 36-hole marathon, were playing many of the holes from the short position, just to reduce the chance of lost discs. A few more benches would also be helpful, especially on such a long course.

Silver Creek Park offers some truly great disc golf. Multiple pin positions and tee pads offer variety and good challenge for multiple skill levels, and there are a ton of really fun holes. I'm not sure it's feasible, but a split into two 18-hole loops with clear and helpful signage would, I think, certainly be an improvement. This is a truly great disc golf experience, and pairs very well with Rollin Ridge 30 min away for an absolutely stellar day. Just be prepared with plenty of water and snacks, you'll be out here for a while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A little bit of everything

1    5/1/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: Wetlawnmulch
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1 - Multiple concrete teepads
2 - great layout, uses the whole park, play along lake Michigan, and elevation
3 - Good mix of short, medium and long holes
Cons: 1- Distances seemed to be off from the signs at times.
2 - New holes are being installed to the layout is a little different then the map.
3 - Probably wouldn't play in wet conditions. Some of the tee pads were slick just from the morning dew.
Other Thoughts: After having played Rolling Ridge and Winter Park this course was great for our group. I could see were course traffic could get to be an issue on a nice day. This would be a great everyday course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun golf, looks to be a nice daily player.

1    7/5/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 97  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well thought out holes.
Great mix of control shots and bomber holes.
Very close to the car ferry.
Cons: We only played the front 9 because we were just stretching our dogs legs before the 4 hours on the car ferry, so we encountered no cons.
Other Thoughts: Seemed like a great little coarse, we played 8 the 14 back to the parking lot. Several fun holes in there. The local players we saw were pretty good.
I wish we had more time here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite WI courses

2-4    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Badger45
Played: 69  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city of Manitowoc takes very good care of this course. As public courses go, it's one of the cleanest and more well groomed that I've played.

If you get to this area of the state, it's well worth the stop to play Silver Creek. You start the first few holes with some nice warm-up type holes, but if you play from the long tees, they still force you to pick a good line if you want a chance at a birdie. You work your way to slightly longer holes and then head to a great uphill hole that will test your abilities if it's not something you do often.

The mix of long and short technical holes with a few long and short open holes really makes this a fun place to play.

Hole 14 offers a great shot off the top of a sledding hill. No matter your skill level, this is going to be a memorable hole!

Hole 22 takes you out to the lake on a long narrow fairway shot with a hard left-hand downhill turn to the bsaket. The basket sits on top of a small lighthouse and the putt / approach area is surrounded by the beach with a good view of Lake Michigan.

Cons: Holes 4 and 5 tend to remain wet. Not terribly, but watch your step and choose your path carefully after your tee shot on 5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice city park course

1    5/17/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 226  Reviewed: 157  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a large public park right along the shores of lake Michigan. The strong winds coming off the lake can wreak havoc on shots, especially along the lake. That along with a bunch of elevation change and wooded fairways throughout make for a challenging round. There are at least 2 sets of tees on all holes with some having 3 sets. The tee pads are all level and grip nicely. The baskets are nice Mach 3's with number plates on top and facing the right direction. These all caught well. Hole 14 is a fun downhill bomb that lets you air it out. Hole 22 has the basket set atop a replica lighthouse about 6 feet off the ground. There is a fantastic mix of left, right and straight shots on this course. The course doesn't have any super long holes except 14. There's a solid mix of lengths for the terrain here. Every hole has a fair lane to the pin, but with some challenging trees to make things interesting. The tee signs at each hole show all the necessary info on them. There are also a number of next tee and directional signs where needed. There is also a beautiful, clear creek running through the park that can become a factor on a number of holes. The course is permanent and free to play. They do have a donation tube at hole 1 which I threw some money in. It's worth it for a course of this caliber. They are also building a few walls as wind blocks by a couple tees near the lake and the behind 22's tee is going to look like a lighthouse I was told. This will be really cool when completed. The also are adding a bunch of benches behind the tees, another bonus.
Cons: It's a little confusing to find hole 1 at first and then there's a long walk to hole 15. Some of the park roads can come into play with an errant shot. Also 10 and 11's fairways are right next to each other. Just something to pay attention to. There were large swarms of gnats in spots and I would bet the mosquitos can get bad in summer, but it is Wisconsin so that applies pretty much everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice park course. It's extremely well maintained and visually appealing. This is definitely a course to go out of your way to play. We played 2 rounds here and had a blast. It was better than I expected. I'd actually rate it somewhere between a 4 and a 4.5. Either way it's worth playing a round or 3 here. There are a number of other excellent courses in the area. This is a really good area to take a disc golf road trip too.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Silver Creek Park

2-4    5/11/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 40  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Two or three tee pads on every hole.
2) Said tee pads are large and grippy.
3) Multiple pin locations on some of the holes.
4) Nice baskets that catch well, didn't have any crazy spit outs when I played.
5) Good mix of shots off of the tee. 8 left to right, 11 right to left, and 8 stright.
6) Most holes offer rewarding birdies and realistic pars.
7) Decent distance variation. 180ft to 478ft from the longs pads (to short pins), and most holes falling between 250ft and 300ft.
8) Course makes very good use of the hills and woods in the park.
9) Navigation is almost a non issue, good signage pointing you to the next hole and hole maps that, though are not great, get the job done just fine.
10) For the most part keeps away from other activities in the park.
11) Benches and trash cans are to be found on most of the holes. And it seems that most people use the trash cans as well, not to much trash on the course.
Cons: 1) A few holes play close together and could have some errant drives interfere with others' game. Holes 10/11 and holes 24/25 are the ones with this issue.
2) A few of the holes play quite close to roads or other park activities. Hole 15 could put some children in danger as it plays relatively close to a playground, but it was empty both times I played through. Also holes 3, 4, 9, 11, 12, 25, and 26 play near the roads in the park. Although if you have decent control over your discs you shouldn't be heading into them, but it is definitely not out of the question to end up on them.
3) No par legitimate par 4s. Almost everything is reachable from the tee and all of the holes will give you a relatively good look at 3 if you can hit your line.
4) Hole 1 is difficult to find as a first timer (about 400 feet from the parking lot and across 14's fairway). Along with the walking from 14 to 15 being very long and not intuitive, without a map or prior knowledge you would spend quite a long time looking for it.
5) No practice basket, people just use the basket for hole 14 to practice at.
Other Thoughts: Silver Creek is a well designed course, one of the better I've played, especially for a free course.

Also, the view looking back from the pad on hole 20 is just amazing, along with the peninsula green on 22 (also with the basket on top of a lighthouse.)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In my top 5 favorites

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 88  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park with lots of large, mature trees and rolling elevation.
-Excellent mix of shots and distances.
-Alternate tee pads, all of which are concrete. Some holes even have 3 tee pad options.
-Good flow to this course,
-Navigation is easy, there are quite a few "next tee" signs and the signs at each hole illustrate well. Only two spots where things are a little confusing. We did have a hard time finding hole 15 as we did not realize it was across the lot and bridge.
-Very scenic course, It's very visually pleasing. I knew I was in for a treat when I walked up to the first pad, also there is a nice clean creek that runs through the course that really adds to this element.
-There are only a few wide open holes, this course is as good as it is because of that, instead of "filler holes" they utilized the available property very well and made each hole challenging for players of all skills.
-The sound of the crashing waves on the lake on the later holes provides for a great background noise that added to my pleasant experience at this course.
-Off target throws will cost you, The roughs are not overly punishing but if your disc deflects off a tree it can sometimes cost you multiple shots. I really like a course that rewards good shots and makes you pay for your bad ones.
-Hole 22 basket is very unique and unlike anything I have ever seen.
-The park itself is very clean, I saw almost NO litter.
-As mentioned earlier, this course is great for players of all skill levels. This course should be a poster child for future courses in this area. Beginners will find the short pads challenging, yet fun and experienced players will find it challenging, yet fun. All the holes are reachable by average to above average players like myself.
-27 hole layout extends play time and makes this course worth the trip.
Cons: I really don't have many cons for this course other than the fact that there are a few holes with potential to interfere with other players.

Big arms and above average players will find this course a little on the short side, there are not a lot of huge holes and there are a lot of "deuce or die" holes, This is a con to some.
Other Thoughts: This was a must play course on my weekend trip up to WI from IL, This course along with winter park made for an excellent weekend of disc golf.

I rated this course a 4, but 4.25 would be more deserving, Unfortunately that is not an option though. With a few more longer holes for the more experienced players this course has a 4.5 written all over it. I threw long pads and it was challenging but all said and done I threw a good amount of deuces here so someone more skilled than me would have an easier time for sure.

This is a course that I am very glad I've had the chance to play, it was much better than most of the courses in my area. I would definitely consider this a destination course and when in the area should definitely be on your itinerary. There are enough good courses like this one in the area to make a good trip out of. Can't wait to get back here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 had a blast

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 84  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice park
-good cement pads
-good signs
-some nice change in elevation
-hole 1,2,make for good warm up holes 1 is a short shot in some trees but nothing that is hard and 2 shoots out of the woods that 1 is located in into the field next to it
-holes 3,4,5 are a little harder then the first two 3 makes you throw around a bunch of trees but you get to pick from a lot of shots that can put you under the basket 4 and 5 are simple shots mostly open with a few trees but start to be a little longer to finish your warm up
-holes 6,7,8 have you throw up to the top of a hill i (liked these mainly because there are not many hills at my local courses so it was a nice change of pace)8 being the best of these with brutal pin placement on top of the hill putting up to it is hard mainly because if you miss there is a good chance you can roll back down the hill
-9,10,11,12 start to get more distance 9 makes for a hard hole that forces you to throw distance but lots of bushes and trees make it hard
-14 is a lot of fun throwing from the top of the hill across a field with the pin almost 500 feet away behind a line of trees and a creek behind it(i love watching my discs fly on holes like this one)
-hole fifteen(on the other side of the parking lot)starts the back side of the course. i thought that it was going to be kind of a lame hole when i teed off but once i got back into the trees by the pin there are tons of trees with a tunnel shot that is unforgiving if you get out of the tunnel
-17 brings you out near the lake(awesome views to be seen on this upcoming section of the course)and is a solid hole not to long but you need to keep a good line to get near the basket
-18,19,20,21 are good solid holes kind of like 17 but with more elevation in play(19,20 have nice views of the lake)
-hole 22 is a massive hook to the left that comes right up to the lake and has a very unique basket
-23,24,25,26,27 are solid holes that are all kinda the same mostly open fairways with a few bushes and trees to make it a little more of a challenge i liked 26 the most out of these because there is a tighter fairway with a good amount of trees and you throw down a hill
Cons: -10,11,12 are kinda easy as long as you can throw 300+ feet they are not hard and would be nicer if there was some more cover to force a line
-16 is an alright hole but if it was longer it would be much better/ maybe move the pin under the bridge that you walk under to get to 17? or beyond it?
23,24,25,27, are kinda repetitive but ok
Other Thoughts: i drove over 700 miles this weekend to play courses in this area and it was well worth the trip if you take the time to play this and winter park a little further north its more the worth a trip and there is another course near rolling ridge that i wanted to hit up but apparently it is closed for hunting season but i hope to play these three courses on a weekend trip some time soon. if you live by Chicago and want to play some awesome courses i would suggest this trip the elevation that comes in to play in some of these courses is very refreshing

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Silver Creek Fun

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 337  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course that has a variety of terrain. It's a really pretty park too. There are woods, open, rolling hils, and water. Several holes play near Lake Michigan. Bring a map. Hole #1 isn't obvious where to start.

The tee signs are pretty good. Nice hole description, distances, and par.

Nice concrete tee pads. There are 2 sets on each hole.

There are multiple pin positions. The baskets are DGA Mach 3's and are in good shape.

There are 22 permanent holes. With 2 sets of tees and pins changed often there is a great variety of holes.

Hole #9A is a great hole. Elevated tee playing across the field. Water comes into play on the left and deep.

This is a really fun course for all skill levels. There are fun wooded holes but they are nice and clean. You'll rarely have to look for discs.

There is a really good balance of shots on this course. You'll need them all to score well.
Cons: There is only 1 set of tee signs and they are located on the short tee. On many you have to walk forward to see the distance.

This course is relatively short and lacks some longer par 4 holes.

Hole #1 is hard to find. Bring a map. There is a long walk to get from 9A to 9B & 10. With all the park users 9B was not playable.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course. They've added some extra holes so take a map. It looks like they are expanding the course with several more too. Awesome!

This course can get very busy. Be prepared to wait if you play during prime hours.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mature Course, Great Scenery

5+    6/6/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads for good footing. Good variety of backhand and forehand shots from the tee. Course can be enjoyed as 20 holes. Mature scenery all around the course with a creek running through much of it. Some flat holes, downhill and uphill elevation is here too. The course has a long uphill, downhill, and hump hole to satisfy big throwers. The course seems to have some of everything without repeating itself.
Cons: Losing discs in the water can be a threat on a couple of holes. Long walk to get to the back nine, whether or not you play the two extra holes (downhill bomber and tight wooded shot from concrete). Weekends can sometimes see the unruly types turn out. Really very few complaints about the course.
Other Thoughts: A scenic, mature course that is mostly wooded, with the exception 3-4 open holes. Large variety of shots needed off the tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center