Disc Golf Center
Manitowoc, WI
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very good course on the lakeshore.

2-4    8/6/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-good signage
-next hole signage
Cons: -a little confusion going from #9 to #10
-some questionable conduct in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: 18 holes in a nice, manicured park on the Lake Michigan lakeshore. Course is on the short and technical side with plenty of trees to get in the way. Some open, longer holes sprinkled throughout.

The main parking lot seems to be a favorite hangout of local kids. I didn't see anything untoward going on, but the burnouts in the parking lot were a distraction.

The location of the 1st tee isn't obvious, so I had to follow another group to a small opening in the trees, about 300 feet northwest of the parking lot.

Once finding the 1st tee, the course follows a fairly logical path with nicely varied holes featuring left and right turns and up and downhill throws.

A nice feature is the use of the "next hole" directional signage that shows you where to go for the next tee. There is a long and winding hike from #9 to #10 that could use a little more guidance for newcomers to the course, though, as the sign after #9 only shows a general area where to go next and there are several trails to follow once you get to that area. Again, I had to refer to the locals to find that tee.

A spectacular view of the lake is offered from #14's tee, which is a nice extra.

Overall, it's a very fun and challenging course with a few things that could be improved to make it excellent.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Silver Creek = AMAZING!

5+    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: championBoss9121990
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is the first course that I started to play on and it spoiled me. I find it to be fun and challenging every time I play it. I live nearby and go to this course very often. In my mind, Silver Creek Park is everything a disc golf course can and should be. I love it!
Cons: The park is typically packed with a lot of people. Also, the main parking lot seems to be a hang out for low-life idiots/druggies at night. You may want to consider parking by hole #3 where there is a smaller lot to park. Sometimes I don't feel safe in the main lot due to the low-lifes doing burn-outs with their vehicles. I'm surprised the authorities haven't taken this problem more seriously.
Other Thoughts: I'm happy that I get to live close to such an amazing course and will be attending UW Manitowoc which is just a block or two away from the course.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Player's Choice Award

5+    6/20/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Sensai Scuba
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Let's put it like this... The practice tee is this little spot of land at the bottom of a hill and surrounded by a creek. After that you walk towards the first tee and enter a forest path where the trees welcome you and embrace you and the mario party music starts playing and it makes you wonder why they haven't had a mario disc golf game yet.... It's that good. After that you start going through some easy shots and it just literally becomes a walk in the park. This course is pretty sizable and is just a blast. Got lost first time there trying to find hole ten but... I got it down by now lol. Extremely well taken care of course and the signs are very good, pointing out where the next hole is on most of the holes. This course has all four of the basic disc golf food groups (field/water/wood/trick) and just has a huge raw fun factor
Cons: Bit confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: This is my current personal favorite course

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Walk in the park

5+    6/3/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: thefranchise3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has great scenery along the lake.Pro tees.Cement tees.They change pin location from time to time.Variety of holes is what makes the couse so good.
Cons: There arent many cons but is does get to busy sometimes.Bugs can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I played this couse a lot and its still real challenging, and thats a plus for me!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Next Best after Winter Park

5+    6/1/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the next best course in NE WI - after Winter Park in Kewaunee of course! The balance and variety here is excellent and the terrain and scenery are also. You play a solid course on a wonderful piece of property. There are uphill, downhill, open, long, short, tightly wooded, water hazards, OB, etc, etc. This is very worth the stop. Many of the holes will make you stop and gaze because the peaceful and well groomed park setting is perfect for disc golf.
Don't forget to play downhill acorss the soccer fields after hole #9 to the basket on the edge of Silver Creek!
Cons: Personally I look at cons regarding a course as "what could have been". In my mind, I know the area well, the course could have utilized more of the awesome woods (I am a wooded course lover!). Parts of these woods come in areas with extreme elevation changes that would have made for EXCELLENT risk opportunity. I'd have to say that the greens do not offer too much risk versus reward (but nothing compares to the risky greens at Winter so I'll take it).

The course is very well played in, this there are eroded drop-offs in front of the concrete tees. In my mind, I hate this and it messes with my drives thinking I might roll an ankle. The concrete pads are sufficient size though.

The course has many other people always playing in the park. These people are often oblivious and get in the way of play. Unfortunately kids also hide in blind spots and will STEAL YOUR DISC (ask anyone who plays regularly).
Other Thoughts: Make a Lakeshore loop trip and play here and Winter Park. Pretty soon I here Silver Creek may be 27 holes as well and these two courses combined will make your day! The extra holes at Silver Creek will introduce huge distance and those tight woods.

Skip Indian Creek - I personnally dislike that the disc club down there crams Indian Creek down your throat! It sucks that Manitowalk in the Park tournament (a fantastic event!) has been downgraded and forces you to play one round on each course instead of enjoying the beauty of Silver Creek twice. During the tourny, more of the variety and balance of Silver Creek is showcased - the alternate pin positions are used, and the third tee on some holes, Gold level tees, are used.

Stop to enjoy the setting a while. Help upkeep the beauty by picking up some of the trash left behind on a veru heavily played course, by some of those worthless and useless idiots who choose to litter and destroy the good things people love!
UPDATE: I decided to not weigh the cons so much and have updated my rating from a 3.5 to a 4. This is because Of the things I look for in a course - huge elevation, water hazard, tight woods, left/right balance are all here. There could be a nicer pond type water hazard, but this course is very well balanced. It is worth yorur trip, just hope you hit it when it is not congested (the course and the park itself). This courses is also on par with others I have rated as 4 and probably the most solid 4 disc course in my reviews. Much better than the ones I have rated as 3.5.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/3/2012   6/4/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Great variation in shot type required off the tee, but recreational-friendly enough that you usually can get up and down for par if you screw up. Multiple pin locations on many holes (#6 has three locations, with the deepest making it a legitimate par 4 at 403' uphill to a plateau green surrounded by guardian pines), 2-3 tees per hole (#2, #13, #17, and #25 have champ tees). Water in play on many holes, mostly in the form of the creek, but Lake Michigan looms on #22 (though admittedly you'd REALLY have to overshoot to wind up in the lake here!) and serves as a picturesque backdrop on several other holes. Hole #10 in the alternate position is a pretty open 525' RHBH anhyzer gently sloping down into a protected green, #13 has a pin precariously placed near the same sharp drop-off you throw down for #14 (old #9a), plenty of ace runs abound, and in the new 27-hole layout this has moved a great deal away from being a "deuce-or-die" course. Hole #22, one of the new additions, will quickly become a famous hole in the area (if not the country), with a premium on the landing zone off the tee before reaching a sharp dogleg down to the aforementioned green sitting on Lake Michigan, with an elevated basket perched atop a lighthouse...just awesome, and a great way to showcase the region's history not only in disc golf, but also in the Great Lakes Maritime industry!
2. Scenery. As mentioned, great views of Lake Michigan and a nice overlook from #14's tee. The creek is impressive after a torrential rain (not so much if your disc happens to find it on one of these days). Lots of wildlife and a good variety of trees and foliage.
3. Manitowalk in the Park. This is by far one of the best-organized and most fun tournaments I have ever played, with a field that fills up every year, great player's packs, and a lot of awesome people involved (including the sponsors). I realize that an event at a course doesn't necessarily contribute to how it plays during a recreational round, but if you just stop out during the days of the tournament and check it out, you'll see how much people love this course.
4. Maintenance. There is a fair amount of trash out here on any given day, but with how popular it is and with how much the locals love this course (and thus don't want to see it scrapped because of litter/vandalism), the upkeep out here is far better than one might expect from a park that gets so much use (including all the non-disc-golf activities at Silver Creek).
5. Location. They probably couldn't have picked a better city park to put this course. Very easy to find if you're traveling up County LS (which leads straight into Cleveland if you're planning on hitting LTC and other area courses), though it will definitely take you a little longer to find, especially on your first time out, if you're coming off of I-43. Just follow the signs for UW-Manitowoc; it's next door to their campus.
5. Dual tees. Your round becomes exponentially more difficult when you transition from short to long tees. On many holes it seems like a completely different hole rather than just a straight extension back from the shorts. There are 4 champion tees out here, too, as mentioned above, if you like some extra challenge (especially spices up the rather bland #2, and #25 is given a total facelift when you step from the short/long tee area over to the champ).
6. Baskets. The Mach III baskets are in good shape.
7. Navigation. Good signage, and with all the new holes that have been added, "next tee" signs and other aids have been put into place to assist in getting around.
Cons: 1. Erosion. This course at just over 10 years old is starting to show signs of its popularity, as well as just natural elements taking their toll. Several fairways on the Front 9 have changed in the past season or two due to large trees or branches coming down, and there are plenty more mature trees that seem to be in their death throes. Inevitable, and hopefully the design will change in strategic ways to keep this a great course while preserving the flora.
2. Vandalism is apparently a staple of this park's diet (not surprising with the high amount of chucker traffic). It's a multi-use park that is popular with a variety of crowds, and on busy days (especially when soccer games and picnics are going on) you may have to skip a few holes like #2, #14, and #15.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites. Definitely check out Manitowalk in the Park during July; if not to play, at least to watch and witness the supreme organization and positive feedback pretty much everyone will give. I'd love to see a few additional permanent holes added out here, as there is still plenty of land and even another 6 or 9 doesn't seem completely out of the question. However, it seems that erosion control will be a driving factor in any immediate redesign, so tweaking existing holes may take priority over any rumored course expansion.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 one of my favorites

5+    11/4/2008   5/27/2009
Review By: Snowdog
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful, challenging with balanced holes stretching along lake Michigan with Silver Creek winding through the course. dont pass up the lookouts over the lake. this course has everything,very well groomed and clean, great for power drives . very well designed park
Cons: it can be a bit buggy... so bring bug spray
Other Thoughts: what an amazing park , beautiful scearny, lookout points, hole 14 plays along side of lake michigan, bridges,and wild flowers everywhere... a disc golfers playground .

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 255  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course well designed.... Nice mix of holes on one course. Almost every hole a possible deuce. Nice Park with good views....
Cons: A lot of people were around the park and constantly felt rushed. The split between hole 9 and 10 is a pain to find if your not from the area but plenty of people to ask...
Other Thoughts: Its a MUST PLAY. I will be back.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very challenging all the way through, especially from the pro tees. The entire length of the course is a long walk, so it's good for exercise. Hole 14 gives you a great view of Lake Michigan.
Cons: Sometimes a little too challenging... After it rains, bugs can be an issue

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Faviorate

6/1/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: andymeunier
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: My favorite course around. Lots of elevation changes, and many challenging holes. A good mix of all things, with great scenery. This course makes you throw left, right, short, and long. A Definite to play!!
Cons: Bugs.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.