Manitowoc, WI 
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 192ft.   3 / 248ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun golf, looks to be a nice daily player.

1    7/5/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Well thought out holes.
Great mix of control shots and bomber holes.
Very close to the car ferry.
Cons: We only played the front 9 because we were just stretching our dogs legs before the 4 hours on the car ferry, so we encountered no cons.
Other Thoughts: Seemed like a great little coarse, we played 8 the 14 back to the parking lot. Several fun holes in there. The local players we saw were pretty good.
I wish we had more time here.

One of my favorite WI courses

2-4    6/28/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Badger45
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: The city of Manitowoc takes very good care of this course. As public courses go, it's one of the cleanest and more well groomed that I've played.

If you get to this area of the state, it's well worth the stop to play Silver Creek. You start the first few holes with some nice warm-up type holes, but if you play from the long tees, they still force you to pick a good line if you want a chance at a birdie. You work your way to slightly longer holes and then head to a great uphill hole that will test your abilities if it's not something you do often.

The mix of long and short technical holes with a few long and short open holes really makes this a fun place to play.

Hole 14 offers a great shot off the top of a sledding hill. No matter your skill level, this is going to be a memorable hole!

Hole 22 takes you out to the lake on a long narrow fairway shot with a hard left-hand downhill turn to the bsaket. The basket sits on top of a small lighthouse and the putt / approach area is surrounded by the beach with a good view of Lake Michigan.

Cons: Holes 4 and 5 tend to remain wet. Not terribly, but watch your step and choose your path carefully after your tee shot on 5.

One of Wisconsin's best

5+    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 81  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful 27 hole course that runs through a large, wooded park along the Lake Michigan shoreline.

DGA baskets on all holes, and they all are in good repair and catch well. No issues here.

Two (and sometimes three) rectangular concrete tee pads on almost every hole (with 15 being the exception...natural pads there). The different tees offer somewhat different lines, although in a lot of cases, it's mostly a distance difference.

Great offering of different lines here. You'll get straight, left to right, and right to left all over this course. Lots of different discs will be used over the course of 27 holes!

Elevation is used very well. Hole 14 is a classic top o' the world shot from the sledding hill. Many of the holes here offer some sort of elevation drop/rise and will play into your shot decisions quite a bit.

The river that runs through the park comes into play on several holes, although it's not usually an immediate danger, but more of a punishment for severely errant shots.

Good mix of distances, especially from the longs. There's some short technical, long technical, and bomber holes from the longs. Still a fun course for a beginner/int player from the shorts. A bit of something for everybody.

Multiple pin positions exist on most of the holes, and the long positions turn some ho-hum holes into quite memorable ones (17 comes to mind).

Plenty of parking here. I've never seen the lot even half full.
Cons: It can get a bit busy here on weekend afternoons. Show up early (before noon), and you'll have the course mostly to yourself.

Navigation is a bit wonky in spots. Hole 1 is across the field and to the right of the parking lot. The walk from hole 14 to 15 really needs to be marked out better...without a map, a first timer is going to have trouble finding it. Most of the other navigation issues from 18-27 are fixed with good signage and beat down paths.

Being right next to Lake Michigan, the bugs are plentiful here. Wind can also become a big factor.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that has a bit of something for everybody. The replay factor is ridiculously high, with several memorable holes, including the famous "Lighthouse Hole".

Much work has been done in the last few weeks, including large wooden benches at many of the long tees, and structures to guard against wayward shots on several as well. A great course getting even better.

Do yourself a favor...get out and play here! If you can make a day of it, swinging Winter Park, Silver Creek, and Rollin' Ridge is about as wonderful a day of discing as you'll ever have.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very nice city park course

1    5/17/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a large public park right along the shores of lake Michigan. The strong winds coming off the lake can wreak havoc on shots, especially along the lake. That along with a bunch of elevation change and wooded fairways throughout make for a challenging round. There are at least 2 sets of tees on all holes with some having 3 sets. The tee pads are all level and grip nicely. The baskets are nice Mach 3's with number plates on top and facing the right direction. These all caught well. Hole 14 is a fun downhill bomb that lets you air it out. Hole 22 has the basket set atop a replica lighthouse about 6 feet off the ground. There is a fantastic mix of left, right and straight shots on this course. The course doesn't have any super long holes except 14. There's a solid mix of lengths for the terrain here. Every hole has a fair lane to the pin, but with some challenging trees to make things interesting. The tee signs at each hole show all the necessary info on them. There are also a number of next tee and directional signs where needed. There is also a beautiful, clear creek running through the park that can become a factor on a number of holes. The course is permanent and free to play. They do have a donation tube at hole 1 which I threw some money in. It's worth it for a course of this caliber. They are also building a few walls as wind blocks by a couple tees near the lake and the behind 22's tee is going to look like a lighthouse I was told. This will be really cool when completed. The also are adding a bunch of benches behind the tees, another bonus.
Cons: It's a little confusing to find hole 1 at first and then there's a long walk to hole 15. Some of the park roads can come into play with an errant shot. Also 10 and 11's fairways are right next to each other. Just something to pay attention to. There were large swarms of gnats in spots and I would bet the mosquitos can get bad in summer, but it is Wisconsin so that applies pretty much everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice park course. It's extremely well maintained and visually appealing. This is definitely a course to go out of your way to play. We played 2 rounds here and had a blast. It was better than I expected. I'd actually rate it somewhere between a 4 and a 4.5. Either way it's worth playing a round or 3 here. There are a number of other excellent courses in the area. This is a really good area to take a disc golf road trip too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Silver Creek Park

2-4    5/11/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Two or three tee pads on every hole.
2) Said tee pads are large and grippy.
3) Multiple pin locations on some of the holes.
4) Nice baskets that catch well, didn't have any crazy spit outs when I played.
5) Good mix of shots off of the tee. 8 left to right, 11 right to left, and 8 stright.
6) Most holes offer rewarding birdies and realistic pars.
7) Decent distance variation. 180ft to 478ft from the longs pads (to short pins), and most holes falling between 250ft and 300ft.
8) Course makes very good use of the hills and woods in the park.
9) Navigation is almost a non issue, good signage pointing you to the next hole and hole maps that, though are not great, get the job done just fine.
10) For the most part keeps away from other activities in the park.
11) Benches and trash cans are to be found on most of the holes. And it seems that most people use the trash cans as well, not to much trash on the course.
Cons: 1) A few holes play close together and could have some errant drives interfere with others' game. Holes 10/11 and holes 24/25 are the ones with this issue.
2) A few of the holes play quite close to roads or other park activities. Hole 15 could put some children in danger as it plays relatively close to a playground, but it was empty both times I played through. Also holes 3, 4, 9, 11, 12, 25, and 26 play near the roads in the park. Although if you have decent control over your discs you shouldn't be heading into them, but it is definitely not out of the question to end up on them.
3) No par legitimate par 4s. Almost everything is reachable from the tee and all of the holes will give you a relatively good look at 3 if you can hit your line.
4) Hole 1 is difficult to find as a first timer (about 400 feet from the parking lot and across 14's fairway). Along with the walking from 14 to 15 being very long and not intuitive, without a map or prior knowledge you would spend quite a long time looking for it.
5) No practice basket, people just use the basket for hole 14 to practice at.
Other Thoughts: Silver Creek is a well designed course, one of the better I've played, especially for a free course.

Also, the view looking back from the pad on hole 20 is just amazing, along with the peninsula green on 22 (also with the basket on top of a lighthouse.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top notch DG experience

1    7/20/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 145  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall Score (4.4)

Tee pads (5/5): Full size, smooth, level, concrete tee pads. Swept clean for the tournament, so no qualms there. Two tee pads for every hole, and even a third, "Champion" tee for a handful of holes.

Baskets (4/5): Standard Mach 3's. Numbered and catch well, but lack color. The lighthouse basket is sick!

Layout/Design (4/5): A lot of everything! We're talking downhill bombs, uphill heaves, doglegs, open, tight... everything you can imagine in a disc golf course. This course utilizes the land it was created on, perfectly. The signature hole is perched on top of a figurine lighthouse that is probably 6+' tall. The pictures on here do not do this hole justice. From pad to basket it is crazy! You have to play it to really feel me.
That being said, tee signs could use an update. More signage could aid navigation (I didn't have any problems, but I was playing in a tournament here for my first time, so I was able to follow everyone else.)

Scenery/Surroundings (4/5): This course is beautiful in the summertime. The winding creek, Lake Michigan, and variety of large trees make for great scenery. Everyone was extremely friendly and the surrounding area is comfortable. Course was well taken care of. The thick wasn't too heavy and errant throws weren't too punishable.

Likeliness to Return (5/5): Even though I live 6 hours away, I'm going to have to return to this course. Its safe to say that if I lived anywhere near it, I'd play it... a lot!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

In my top 5 favorites

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 79  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park with lots of large, mature trees and rolling elevation.
-Excellent mix of shots and distances.
-Alternate tee pads, all of which are concrete. Some holes even have 3 tee pad options.
-Good flow to this course,
-Navigation is easy, there are quite a few "next tee" signs and the signs at each hole illustrate well. Only two spots where things are a little confusing. We did have a hard time finding hole 15 as we did not realize it was across the lot and bridge.
-Very scenic course, It's very visually pleasing. I knew I was in for a treat when I walked up to the first pad, also there is a nice clean creek that runs through the course that really adds to this element.
-There are only a few wide open holes, this course is as good as it is because of that, instead of "filler holes" they utilized the available property very well and made each hole challenging for players of all skills.
-The sound of the crashing waves on the lake on the later holes provides for a great background noise that added to my pleasant experience at this course.
-Off target throws will cost you, The roughs are not overly punishing but if your disc deflects off a tree it can sometimes cost you multiple shots. I really like a course that rewards good shots and makes you pay for your bad ones.
-Hole 22 basket is very unique and unlike anything I have ever seen.
-The park itself is very clean, I saw almost NO litter.
-As mentioned earlier, this course is great for players of all skill levels. This course should be a poster child for future courses in this area. Beginners will find the short pads challenging, yet fun and experienced players will find it challenging, yet fun. All the holes are reachable by average to above average players like myself.
-27 hole layout extends play time and makes this course worth the trip.
Cons: I really don't have many cons for this course other than the fact that there are a few holes with potential to interfere with other players.

Big arms and above average players will find this course a little on the short side, there are not a lot of huge holes and there are a lot of "deuce or die" holes, This is a con to some.
Other Thoughts: This was a must play course on my weekend trip up to WI from IL, This course along with winter park made for an excellent weekend of disc golf.

I rated this course a 4, but 4.25 would be more deserving, Unfortunately that is not an option though. With a few more longer holes for the more experienced players this course has a 4.5 written all over it. I threw long pads and it was challenging but all said and done I threw a good amount of deuces here so someone more skilled than me would have an easier time for sure.

This is a course that I am very glad I've had the chance to play, it was much better than most of the courses in my area. I would definitely consider this a destination course and when in the area should definitely be on your itinerary. There are enough good courses like this one in the area to make a good trip out of. Can't wait to get back here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

had a blast

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice park
-good cement pads
-good signs
-some nice change in elevation
-hole 1,2,make for good warm up holes 1 is a short shot in some trees but nothing that is hard and 2 shoots out of the woods that 1 is located in into the field next to it
-holes 3,4,5 are a little harder then the first two 3 makes you throw around a bunch of trees but you get to pick from a lot of shots that can put you under the basket 4 and 5 are simple shots mostly open with a few trees but start to be a little longer to finish your warm up
-holes 6,7,8 have you throw up to the top of a hill i (liked these mainly because there are not many hills at my local courses so it was a nice change of pace)8 being the best of these with brutal pin placement on top of the hill putting up to it is hard mainly because if you miss there is a good chance you can roll back down the hill
-9,10,11,12 start to get more distance 9 makes for a hard hole that forces you to throw distance but lots of bushes and trees make it hard
-14 is a lot of fun throwing from the top of the hill across a field with the pin almost 500 feet away behind a line of trees and a creek behind it(i love watching my discs fly on holes like this one)
-hole fifteen(on the other side of the parking lot)starts the back side of the course. i thought that it was going to be kind of a lame hole when i teed off but once i got back into the trees by the pin there are tons of trees with a tunnel shot that is unforgiving if you get out of the tunnel
-17 brings you out near the lake(awesome views to be seen on this upcoming section of the course)and is a solid hole not to long but you need to keep a good line to get near the basket
-18,19,20,21 are good solid holes kind of like 17 but with more elevation in play(19,20 have nice views of the lake)
-hole 22 is a massive hook to the left that comes right up to the lake and has a very unique basket
-23,24,25,26,27 are solid holes that are all kinda the same mostly open fairways with a few bushes and trees to make it a little more of a challenge i liked 26 the most out of these because there is a tighter fairway with a good amount of trees and you throw down a hill
Cons: -10,11,12 are kinda easy as long as you can throw 300+ feet they are not hard and would be nicer if there was some more cover to force a line
-16 is an alright hole but if it was longer it would be much better/ maybe move the pin under the bridge that you walk under to get to 17? or beyond it?
23,24,25,27, are kinda repetitive but ok
Other Thoughts: i drove over 700 miles this weekend to play courses in this area and it was well worth the trip if you take the time to play this and winter park a little further north its more the worth a trip and there is another course near rolling ridge that i wanted to hit up but apparently it is closed for hunting season but i hope to play these three courses on a weekend trip some time soon. if you live by Chicago and want to play some awesome courses i would suggest this trip the elevation that comes in to play in some of these courses is very refreshing

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun course along Lake Michagan

2-4    8/9/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent variety of holes with multiple concrete pads and ok signage. There is a fun mix of wooded and open shots. There a few really fun holes. 7, although open, is a 400 foot left to right line which I don't see too often. It was fun for me to lay out a huge anhyzer around all the trees. There is 22 holes here now which is pretty cool, 4 bonus holes. The Ob yellow line on 7A and 7B was a nice touch on some really open holes. 9A is a fun downhill hole of decent length to a protected green with ob river lurking close by. Watch that you don't skip into the water! 11 is a nice tight tunnel shot right next to the noises of the water coming in on Lake Michigan.

The two sets of tees are great as they offer a super easy version of the course for beginners and a moderate challenge to those with more experience.

The elevation here is fun, lots of throwing up and down holes.
Cons: Overall, this course is on the short side. You will not be throwing your driver much here. I feel like there are too many mid range straightish holes. Too many short putter drives as well for my taste. There are a lot of underwhelming holes.
Other Thoughts: This park gets super busy and some holes may not be playable when people are partying here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Silver Creek Fun

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course that has a variety of terrain. It's a really pretty park too. There are woods, open, rolling hils, and water. Several holes play near Lake Michigan. Bring a map. Hole #1 isn't obvious where to start.

The tee signs are pretty good. Nice hole description, distances, and par.

Nice concrete tee pads. There are 2 sets on each hole.

There are multiple pin positions. The baskets are DGA Mach 3's and are in good shape.

There are 22 permanent holes. With 2 sets of tees and pins changed often there is a great variety of holes.

Hole #9A is a great hole. Elevated tee playing across the field. Water comes into play on the left and deep.

This is a really fun course for all skill levels. There are fun wooded holes but they are nice and clean. You'll rarely have to look for discs.

There is a really good balance of shots on this course. You'll need them all to score well.
Cons: There is only 1 set of tee signs and they are located on the short tee. On many you have to walk forward to see the distance.

This course is relatively short and lacks some longer par 4 holes.

Hole #1 is hard to find. Bring a map. There is a long walk to get from 9A to 9B & 10. With all the park users 9B was not playable.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course. They've added some extra holes so take a map. It looks like they are expanding the course with several more too. Awesome!

This course can get very busy. Be prepared to wait if you play during prime hours.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.