Manitowoc, WI 
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 231ft.   3 / 231ft.   3 / 403ft.   3 / 403ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket (B Position)

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 had a blast

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 81  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice park
-good cement pads
-good signs
-some nice change in elevation
-hole 1,2,make for good warm up holes 1 is a short shot in some trees but nothing that is hard and 2 shoots out of the woods that 1 is located in into the field next to it
-holes 3,4,5 are a little harder then the first two 3 makes you throw around a bunch of trees but you get to pick from a lot of shots that can put you under the basket 4 and 5 are simple shots mostly open with a few trees but start to be a little longer to finish your warm up
-holes 6,7,8 have you throw up to the top of a hill i (liked these mainly because there are not many hills at my local courses so it was a nice change of pace)8 being the best of these with brutal pin placement on top of the hill putting up to it is hard mainly because if you miss there is a good chance you can roll back down the hill
-9,10,11,12 start to get more distance 9 makes for a hard hole that forces you to throw distance but lots of bushes and trees make it hard
-14 is a lot of fun throwing from the top of the hill across a field with the pin almost 500 feet away behind a line of trees and a creek behind it(i love watching my discs fly on holes like this one)
-hole fifteen(on the other side of the parking lot)starts the back side of the course. i thought that it was going to be kind of a lame hole when i teed off but once i got back into the trees by the pin there are tons of trees with a tunnel shot that is unforgiving if you get out of the tunnel
-17 brings you out near the lake(awesome views to be seen on this upcoming section of the course)and is a solid hole not to long but you need to keep a good line to get near the basket
-18,19,20,21 are good solid holes kind of like 17 but with more elevation in play(19,20 have nice views of the lake)
-hole 22 is a massive hook to the left that comes right up to the lake and has a very unique basket
-23,24,25,26,27 are solid holes that are all kinda the same mostly open fairways with a few bushes and trees to make it a little more of a challenge i liked 26 the most out of these because there is a tighter fairway with a good amount of trees and you throw down a hill
Cons: -10,11,12 are kinda easy as long as you can throw 300+ feet they are not hard and would be nicer if there was some more cover to force a line
-16 is an alright hole but if it was longer it would be much better/ maybe move the pin under the bridge that you walk under to get to 17? or beyond it?
23,24,25,27, are kinda repetitive but ok
Other Thoughts: i drove over 700 miles this weekend to play courses in this area and it was well worth the trip if you take the time to play this and winter park a little further north its more the worth a trip and there is another course near rolling ridge that i wanted to hit up but apparently it is closed for hunting season but i hope to play these three courses on a weekend trip some time soon. if you live by Chicago and want to play some awesome courses i would suggest this trip the elevation that comes in to play in some of these courses is very refreshing

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course along Lake Michagan

2-4    8/9/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 187  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent variety of holes with multiple concrete pads and ok signage. There is a fun mix of wooded and open shots. There a few really fun holes. 7, although open, is a 400 foot left to right line which I don't see too often. It was fun for me to lay out a huge anhyzer around all the trees. There is 22 holes here now which is pretty cool, 4 bonus holes. The Ob yellow line on 7A and 7B was a nice touch on some really open holes. 9A is a fun downhill hole of decent length to a protected green with ob river lurking close by. Watch that you don't skip into the water! 11 is a nice tight tunnel shot right next to the noises of the water coming in on Lake Michigan.

The two sets of tees are great as they offer a super easy version of the course for beginners and a moderate challenge to those with more experience.

The elevation here is fun, lots of throwing up and down holes.
Cons: Overall, this course is on the short side. You will not be throwing your driver much here. I feel like there are too many mid range straightish holes. Too many short putter drives as well for my taste. There are a lot of underwhelming holes.
Other Thoughts: This park gets super busy and some holes may not be playable when people are partying here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Silver Creek Fun

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 322  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really fun course that has a variety of terrain. It's a really pretty park too. There are woods, open, rolling hils, and water. Several holes play near Lake Michigan. Bring a map. Hole #1 isn't obvious where to start.

The tee signs are pretty good. Nice hole description, distances, and par.

Nice concrete tee pads. There are 2 sets on each hole.

There are multiple pin positions. The baskets are DGA Mach 3's and are in good shape.

There are 22 permanent holes. With 2 sets of tees and pins changed often there is a great variety of holes.

Hole #9A is a great hole. Elevated tee playing across the field. Water comes into play on the left and deep.

This is a really fun course for all skill levels. There are fun wooded holes but they are nice and clean. You'll rarely have to look for discs.

There is a really good balance of shots on this course. You'll need them all to score well.
Cons: There is only 1 set of tee signs and they are located on the short tee. On many you have to walk forward to see the distance.

This course is relatively short and lacks some longer par 4 holes.

Hole #1 is hard to find. Bring a map. There is a long walk to get from 9A to 9B & 10. With all the park users 9B was not playable.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course. They've added some extra holes so take a map. It looks like they are expanding the course with several more too. Awesome!

This course can get very busy. Be prepared to wait if you play during prime hours.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mature Course, Great Scenery

5+    6/6/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads for good footing. Good variety of backhand and forehand shots from the tee. Course can be enjoyed as 20 holes. Mature scenery all around the course with a creek running through much of it. Some flat holes, downhill and uphill elevation is here too. The course has a long uphill, downhill, and hump hole to satisfy big throwers. The course seems to have some of everything without repeating itself.
Cons: Losing discs in the water can be a threat on a couple of holes. Long walk to get to the back nine, whether or not you play the two extra holes (downhill bomber and tight wooded shot from concrete). Weekends can sometimes see the unruly types turn out. Really very few complaints about the course.
Other Thoughts: A scenic, mature course that is mostly wooded, with the exception 3-4 open holes. Large variety of shots needed off the tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/22/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, this course is one of the most beautiful courses I've had the pleasure of playing! There's a gorgeous creek that winds through the course and is visible on many holes. You can see Lake Michigan and hear the waves crashing on hole 11, then you climb a hill to hole 12 for an even better view. There are some areas with large pine trees and some big elevation changes that the course takes advantage of.

The course has two pads per hole which helps to cater to a wider variety of skill levels. Some holes have multiple pin placements to help keep the course fresh. There are course maps occasionally throughout the course which I've never seen before and helped with navigation. There are nice tee signs at the short pad on each hole which list the distance from both pads.

There's an excellent variety of hole distance ranging from 175 to over 500ft. There are holes of all difficulty here which helps to make the course good for players of all skill level. A few holes are fairly easy and don't punish bad shots, but the vast majority of them require a skilled shot to get your birdie. There's also a decent shot variety here with some good turnover shots for RHBH players. There are plenty of memorable holes and this course will leave you coming back for more!

Hole 4 is an excellent turnover shot with the stream just off the tee pad. I really love hole 6, a big uphill par 4 and the basket was in the long position when I was here; awesome! Hole 9a is another great hole with extreme downhill. The view from 12's pad is fantastic!
Cons: It's a bit difficult to find hole 1 since it's not very close to the parking lot. It's across the field by the yellow donation tube. It's a bit difficult to get from holes 9/9a to 9b/10. A navigational sign would certainly be useful here.

The tee signs are by the short pads which I find a bit annoying. On nearly all the holes, if you're playing the short pad you have to walk by the long pads. But if you're playing the longs you have to walk up to the shorts to see the sign then walk back to the long.

The two extra holes, 9a and 9b, aren't listed on the course map and don't have tee signs. They're both excellent holes and thankfully some local players were around to show me where they are otherwise I wouldn't have found them.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun, excellent course and is one of the most scenic I've played. I highly recommend stopping to play here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Fun

1    5/30/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: hebsonc9121
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Short and Long Tees
-Large variety of shots and lanes
-Alternates between woods and fields often
-Makes good use of the park
-The large old trees make for great scenery as well as the view of lake michigan a couple hundred feet from a tee-pad
-Good amount of elevation
-Some distance, shots up hill and downhill

Cons: -Was pretty crowded (golfers and park users)
-Tee Signs were only on short Tee Box
-Got lost somewhere after the lake hole
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course and I hope to play it again soon.Could use more signage for navigation as well as tee boxes.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Visually amazing!.But Basically Boring/Blah holes

1    6/25/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.4 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses (over 180 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(Other than a couple of holes which are very good (I love the concept of 12, although it is a little too short), this course forces no real decision making and metes out no real punishment for errant shots. There are some holes that would be good, but are simply too short. It is average in this area at BEST.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
(About half the holes are quite nice distance-wise to feel really good about parking them. Then there are 4-5 that are simply too short to be rewarding given the lack of obstacles. And then there are 3-4 that are too long for me and people of my length - tweener holes, downside holes, or whatever you want to call them. I find this to be about average for most courses - certainly nothing here that wows me and makes me want to come back to try to conquer the course.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Overall this is not a wooded course although there are plenty of trees. Most shots are quite open but most do require a little shot-shaping. There are some notable exceptions such as the crazy anny on 12 (if you choose that rather than the risky straight at it shot) and the uphill anny 295' tree-spangled #13. A very cool over-the-berm dropshot on 213' #14 ends a run of the 4 best holes on the course.....which are made even better since they are on the banks of Lake Michigan.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(The beauty of this course is striking.....not so much in full-on beauty but how the feeling flows as you traverse the course: from dark coniferous shadows, to tree-lined meadows with a beautiful brook, to a grassy sledding hill and park, then back into the dark stuff...only to pop out into deciduous and sandy beachfront, and then finally finishing off in a classic mature hardwood park feel. This alone pulls up the overall playing experience to me from something that would otherwise be average at best.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for All Ages

1    10/31/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park right next to Lake Michigan. There are some other buildings on-site, and a small park, but it seems that the disc golf is well separated.
- Good variety of holes throughout. A mix of pretty open holes, some with significant trees, and others in a forest littered with small trees. The open holes use slight elevation changes to keep things interesting, as well as baskets placed around or near tree lines.
- Most other holes have well-defined paths to the baskets, and also offer some riskier backdoor lanes. Both the holes inside the forest and near the forest have some pretty tight, but fair, windows to hit, and usually require active line shaping to stay clear of the trees. Many different types of shots to be found all throughout.
- Some very good to decent elevation changes to be found here, especially the downhill bomber on hole #9A. A good amount of holes in all parts of the park have some slope to either make things easier or harder. Overall, nothing too drastic, but still noticeable.
- Creek is in play on a couple holes, though it is pretty easy to avoid. Good scenery if nothing else. The road OB in a few spots is a much bigger danger.
- Lake Michigan is right off the teepad for #11, and easily seen behind #12's teepad. Awesome view.
- Great teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy the first time through, and some good crossings are there where needed.
Cons: - The road OB is great for some additional challenge, but it does detract from the overall experience. Too much pavement for my tastes.
- Course is on the shorter side, even with a few bomber holes. All the holes are pretty reachable, and all are definitely par 3.
- Some of the holes are fun, but not very interesting. A fair amount of holes with a couple of trees to avoid, and not much else.
Other Thoughts: - Pretty much the only cons I could come up with were too much pavement, and a little too easy. Both of these are completely subjective, and many people may completely disagree. But, I think everyone will agree that this course has an extremely high fun factor, and a ton of holes that are just straight out enjoyable. Some very interesting lines to hit, thanks to numerous trees and some elevation changes. I would think that everyone from a beginner to a seasoned vet would take some enjoyment out of this course, regardless of the final score.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    7/18/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First class amenities, with multiple cement tee pads-a feature found on very few courses.

Signs and benches on nearly every hole.

Has many nice holes with defined fairways that wind through small hills (6, 7, 8, 9). Hole 6 is a tough, very steep uphill drive. Hole 7 is a fun downhill tunnel hole.

Also has wooded holes on the back nine with some Lake Michigan views (11-13). Course finishes nicely with well kept meadow holes through rough areas in a more remote area of the park (15-18). Has a nice bridge over Silver Creek between Holes 12 and 13.

No cheap holes, broken baskets, or busted up tee pads. Hilltop tee pad '9A' (a sledding hill) offers a chance for uninhibited crusher drives.

Other than rough around Hole 15/16 (which enhances play) and creek near Holes 3 and 4, there are few disc-loss hazards. Quite a few players on a nice Sunday afternoon, but I didn't have to wait around very much.

Free admission, polite locals.
Cons: Holes 1 through 4 are short, mundane city park holes, though 4 incorporates a creek hazard. Not a lot of longer holes (6, 15 and 18 play the longest).

Hole 10 is difficult to find after 9/9A/9B, with a long walk necessary between the front and back nine. Some 'next tee' signs would help after Holes 2, 5, and 9. I looked hard for Hole 9B, but was unable to find it. Basket for Hole 9A was right next to a picnic table.

Bugs were pretty bad on Holes near Silver Creek and Lake Michigan (10-14).

Missed the black tee on Hole 8.

Other Thoughts: A nice city park course with good diversity, and a pleasant playing experience.

A gas station a short distance north on County Road LS has beer and a good disc selection.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    7/3/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large hilly park with a large sled hill in play on a couple holes for a tough uphill shot and a great downhill bomb with a risky green. There is some elevation on the rest of the course to add some more variety and challenge. There are several greens that use water or elevation to add some challenge at the end of the hole.

The course has great variety of terrain and foliage, with some more open holes with scattered trees, some park style holes with mature trees and limited brush, and lots of good wooded holes that call for tight lines and will punish errant shots. There is a nice mix of left and right turning shots of various shapes that will really make you being all parts of your game to score well. There's also a good variety of lengths with some easier ace run holes and some that call for a long but controlled drive.

There are dual concrete tees, and many of the longs add an extra bend or pinch point to change more than just distance which is great for playing both sets of tees. There are basic tee signs at one set of tees with the hole layout and distances. There are course maps posted at a couple points along the course to help with navigation.
Cons: There are some safety issues here, mostly all in one area. Hole 9a plays down the sled hill, and you have to walk right through the landing area to get to the first hole. There were also people warming up or playing other games in the big field, so it felt a little dangerous to throw down the hill, a shame since it's such a fun hole.

There are a couple throw away holes, 2 is the worst offender, and they take away from the challenge and fun factor a little. I prefer to have signs at both tees so you don't have to do extra walking to see the tee signs if you're playing from the other set of tees, but that's expensive so I don't lower my rating for that. With the two added holes in between 9 and 10 not very well marked and some weird walks, navigation is a little tricky, though the rest of the course is easy to follow. There were lots of large groups of players that didn't want to let faster groups play through, and lots of people starting on the back 9 causing a huge back up in the middle of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you're up in this part of Wisconsin, for me it's just a little bit below Winter Park in terms of challenge and fun factor, and with a short drive between them it's a great pair of courses to take a trip to. Beginners will find the short tees tough but not ridiculously so, the rough is punishing but doesn't really eat discs. More experienced players will find great variety and challenge from the longs, and will need to bring their A game to score well. Make sure you check out the beach and views out over the lake on the back 9, it's a great spot to take a break.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.