Manitowoc, WI 
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #25 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 238ft.   3 / 238ft.   3 / 298ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Champ Tee

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 one of top ten/15 in state

5+    9/17/2009   1/29/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 765  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.4 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice dual cement tees. A longer set of tourney tees on some holes; natural. From hole info. these appear to be considered permanent now.
Well thought out and long term evaluated; mixture of right/left; with a wide variety of shot shapes needed.
Uphill/downhill; both in terms of fairway; and green finishes.
Quite a number of water feature holes. Some in play; more in the nature of views.
#1 is needed deuce. Short. However, beautiful grove hole; with Silver Creek running the length of the hole to the right.
#3 Nice spike heizer hole (rhbh) or very narrow tunnel shot; large pines as obstacles. This can also be one of the more wind affected holes here. Hillside draining to water to left of pin. Shouldn't really be an issue; but, it's there.
Bar across the road from #3. I can tell you they enjoy disc golfer patronage. lol In addition to a plethora of good things to say about Silver Creek; I really must add: How many disc courses have a bar within a thirty second walk across a road?
#4 is across a creek; not really in play....a precise yardage shot to score deuce. Putt alterating vegetation; including pine grove; near pin if you don't place just right.
#5 Large creek runs to left of hole, entire length. 308 ft. straight shot required. Around 280 mark; is blocker tree. So, four separate water features on the first five holes. You loving it so far? (As a high level blue player or gold; water will not really be in play; but, waterways are very scenic and add a certain degree of possible o.b.)
#6 is the uphill 347 chucker. Short tee is off to right; halfway up hill and a fun extra throw, if course not crowded. This hole is crazy when snow/ice covered. Hill is steep. (Quite reachable for gold level; but rip it drive and good upshot needed by everyone else.)
#7 Wide sweeping anny (rhbh) or sweeping heiser for the lefties. blind...somewhat rollaway green.
I really could go into nearly every hole; giving you play by play and placing it all in the pros section. Instead, I will hit highlights through the remainder:
#9a has been played since day 1, as an alternate hole; to the point that it was officially included in the layout. Tee is to left of precarious pin for #9. It's possible to have a 100+ foot rollaway on #9. #9a is an empty your bag throw from atop the highest hill on the course, to the practice pin; located @420 ft.; to peninsula green; surrounded by Silver Creek. Blue level players will do all they can do to make green area. Gold level players will bring Silver Creek o.b. into play. A good "top of the world" type shot; with a water finish.
To left of #11 is nice view and possible swimming area; in Lake Michigan. Take a shot from both tees on this one. A fun ace run hole; especially from short tee. I mean, you gotta walk past it anyway....
#13 uphill anny (rhbh), in the woods.
#14 downhill, blind ace run, through the woods.
#15 uphill bomber, wide open, to wooded grove near pin.
#17 one of my favorites. Elevation and steerage; with o.b. road possible to right.
Lots of picnic tables around the course to take a rest and enjoy the setting.
Cons: #2 is a deuce or die hole, with little positive to say about it. Nit picking; but it is a weak hole.
There are some slight navigation issues.
Walk from #9a to #9b a little tricky. Print a map ahead of time. Or, ask a local.
Perhaps a bit short by gold player level standards; thus; the four rating.
A slight con is the amount of play Silver Creek gets. But, only a con for those wishing they had this gem to themselves.
Other Thoughts: Silver Creek spent quite a number of years with natural tees only. Design was refined and set of long tees eventually added as well. Now, there is a third set of tees that seem to be on the way.
This is a fine course for a blue level player. Length getting towards gold level with the longest tee versions. Course is not quite in the "brutual" range of toughness. But, due to nice tourney payout history and strength of course/beauty, pro tourney field is always large; and traditionally; five to ten top 50 players in the world attend. In other words; top level players don't mind stopping for a visit. This one is respected and loved by players from blue through gold levels. Red level players will have fun and enjoy the scenery, and will challenge them greatly from mid tees (longest tees with cement).
Others have traveled to get to this one; so have I. Silver Creek was in the regular rotation; a few times a year; for many years; though it's one and one half hours away. Now that Winter Park is fully up and running; trips to this area will increase again.
This is not a brag; but rather a good point for Silver Creek: I've played over 140 courses in Wisconsin; and put this one in the top 15; close to 10 probably.
I may have to say I like Winter Park a little more; due to, it having more than 18 holes; and more green risk/reward; but, it's very close. The two together; makes for one of the top three duos in the state.
I would say that Peterson Park (12 holes), is the third best in the area.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course by the Lake

5+    7/20/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: shoe59
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of holes; short, long, huge uphill (hole 6), huge downhill (hole 9a), flat, gradual ups and downs as well. Good mix between open and wooded holes.
-The view of lake Michigan is stunning, there is nice bench and picnic table at the top of a cliff on hole #14 overlooking the lake (guard rail is a plus). Hole 11 brings you right alongside a fairly secluded beach - take a dip in the cool water on a scorching day.
-Running water between holes 9 and 10 (although it tastes rusty) along with bathrooms, also a vending machine in this area.
-Cement teepads on every hole, benches and picnic tables on many other holes.
-Multiple teepads on every hole, with alternate pin placements. Nice tee signs.
-Mach 3 baskets in good condition.
-The only holes that come close to overlapping are 15 and 16, with a "median" long grass area between fairways... not a big issue. The other holes are well spread out through this huge park.
-The maintenance here is great, litter is sparse around the course. Fairways are mowed nicely - especially around tournament time.
Cons: -Hole #1 is tricky to find if you haven't played here before - it's in the woods, across the soccer field from the big hill.
-Hole #10 is even more of a trick to find, there should be a sign indicating where to go
(directions below).
-Overall fairly difficult to navigate with some walks between baskets and the next tees. #12 is easy to miss if you take the wrong path through the woods, turn right.
-A few of the holes are very short and easy (namely #'s 2 and 10). I wouldn't call them design flaws, however, because there aren't really better locations available for these two holes
-Not a beginner/family friendly course only because of the big elevation changes and a few pretty long holes - it's quite a long course to walk.
Other Thoughts: There are some unforgettable holes on the course, especially the huge uphill #6. I'll never forget the first time I witnessed a pro tournament - we watched the pros bomb drives right up under the pin on #6, something I never thought to be possible until I saw it with my own eyes - 318ft. up a monster hill, plays like its 500 ft. Overall, just some beautiful holes that are a pleasure to play.

Hole 9 is a fun hole, risk/reward chance. Off to the right there is a very thick clump of woods - keep it to the left! The basket is placed about 15-20 feet from the edge of a large hill, you overshoot and you'll be rolling down it. *Note, after this hole you walk down the hill and turn to your right, going back through the parking lot towards the back nine - you'll see a pavilion and picnic tables, #10 tee is to the left going into the woods*

This is my favorite of the 26 courses I've played so far in Wisconsin, although I have yet to play the epic Highbridge Hills and Winter Park. Silver Creek isn't very central in location, but it's worth the trip no matter where you're coming from.

Play the course, you'll love it, feel free to make a donation in the dropbox at hole #1 next time you play it

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the 30 mile trip

1    12/1/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: rohloffj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes, love the multiple pin locations and the multiple tees. Both RHBH and forehand shots are needed. Some tight holes in the woods and some more open longer holes as well. #2 is the weakest hole, but offers a good shot at an ace. #6 is up a monster hill. 9A and 9B offer nice extra holes. The one that starts at the top of the hill after 6 is a great fun hole offering a chance for some monster distance.
Cons: #10 is difficult to find, even with the map. Luckily we were following some course regulars. Follow down through the woods to the right after #9 past the playground. 9B tee is difficult to find. It is marked with small paint marks on the asphalt before you reach the playground. A great hole before you play 10.
Other Thoughts: First hole is about 100 yards due west from the parking lot.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Everyone in WI should play here

1    11/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 751  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Almost all the holes are fairly challenging.. 2 different tee pad on every hole. alt. pin placements on most.... i love 9 b bombing down that hill with the pin tucked in by creek..... hole 6 is 337 straight up hill,hard to get to the basket in two...LOVE the view of lake michigan, BEAUTIFUL
Cons: a few of the back 9 holes could use some more length... and its a little hard to find the back nine if u haven't ever played there......
Other Thoughts: 5th time tossing here... its an awesome course.. i come and play it at least once a year

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course Through a BEAUTIFUL Park

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park located next to Lake Michigan...
Great layout, mixed variety of shots
Baskets in great shape (and apparently they move them around)
Excellent use of terrain, course is kept in AMAZING shape! fairways mowed, schule kept in check...
Nice concrete teepads for BOTH tees on every hole...
Cons: Despite my DGCR addiction, we missed hole 9b... DOH!
The walk from #9 to 10 (playing course as marked) is long and convoluted...
The course design is SLIGHTLY lacking behind the beauty of this park
Course as marked par is too generous
Other Thoughts: Simply beautiful course in a GORGEOUS park! The course can be played by any skill level, TOP pros may be bored... until the look at the lake!
Holes 1-5 play through the park, hole 6 is the B4ST4RD up-the-sled-hill hole! Hole 7 has a tricky L>R tee shot...
Hole 9 was probably my favorite on the course, extrememly well manicured L>R hole (well, straight drive with L>R upshot at my skill level) the basket placed precariously next to a sledhill...

After a walk to the 10th tee, the course tightens up through the woods... #11 is a great hole that plays along the lake (Michigan) have fun with the trees.... 12 is a great uphill shot, slightly L>R...
14 stands out to me because of the STUNNING view of the lake behind the back tees... Beautiful downhill midrange hole that you'll want to spend all day at...
17 seems simple but is very tricky, have fun with the ace run...
18 seemed anti-climactic, but I'm nitpicking, all and all, a VERY fun round of DG...

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One the BEST!!!

2-4    10/3/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
-Pro/Am cement flare tees
-some of the best signage I have seen
-"You are here" multiple map signs
-variety wazoo
-gorgeous trees
-rolling hills
-in a park the family can picnic, play in
-holes RIGHT NEXT TO Lake Michigan. -incredible scenery
-risk/reward pin placement on some
-long hoes, short holes, lefty holes, righty holes
-almost no trash due to lots of trash bins
-plenty of benches
-an extra two holes 9a,9b which are a joy!
-water in play on many holes whether you know it or not.

Cons: -one throw away hole, #2
-the two extra holes aren't apparent and aren't really in the correct flow.
-parking lot seemed like a local hangout place. Can park closer to tee #3 to avoid.
-tee #1 location not obvious
-more signs needed for finding back nine.
Other Thoughts: Currently as of 10/4/09 THIS is the BEST Wisconsin course I have played and ranks as my number three favorite course! JUST INCREDIBLE! I want to take this course and fold it up, put it in my pocket, and be able to unfold it anywhere when I want to smile and play disc golf. just wow.

What is so special about this course? It's location right on the side of Lake Michigan and the great great trees that you play in. Pines, oaks, name it, but beauty can only take a course so far. Amazingly this course delivers on so much more.

Once you get into the park (I suggest you park by basket 2 to stay away from local kids dinking around in the main lot) you head to to tee one across the soccer field and in the trees. Your first hole sets the tone IMMEDIATELY for the beauty of this course. You play under a canopy of trees running right along side a small clean flowing river. LET'S PLAY!

Now comes the only lackluster hole on the course, #2. A short straight shot back across the edge of the soccer field but I imagine it is needed for transition to the rest. You then play some really nice holes in the pines and along creeks, over bridges, up a sledding hill, through rolling hills. Just a real nice front nine.

The back nine is across the bridge and by the swings to the right of where you just played. Here is where a few more sign markers are needed if you haven't been paying attention to the multiple GREAT "you are here" signs along the way! More courses need this.

Start off the back 9 with 9b to the left of tee 10. The tee is part of the road but offers one of the toughest shots on the whole course. A shot where you have to enter a small tree tunnel after 150' of open space. After this hole shoot to the right and play one of the best nines you will ever play. In those amazing trees, up and down rolling hills and RIGHT next to Lake Michigan. This is the closet holes I have ever seen on the entire Lake, both sides included. Hell, in the summer bring your shorts and go for a swim between the front and back nine. A couple bomber holes on the back and you finish up with some great manicured holes.

HERE is where I suggest you finish up on 9a. After 18, go up the path to your left, it's an obvious transition. Now when you get to the top of the sledding hill there sits a perfect cement tee and the main bomber shot of the entire course. Down this hill, over the soccer field to a basket on a little peninsula guard by a row of small trees in the front and a river behind it. You will want to unload your bag at it!

SUMMARY and IDEAS: This IS a destination course! And with Winter Park twenty miles to the north, a perfect pairing for this side of the lake. My nod goes to Silver Creek as the more fun and better of the two. Winter Park has the extreme elevation, but Silver Creek offered up a more balanced disc golfing experience. Another suggestion is come summer when taking that ultimate disc golfing trip is to play both sides of Lake Michigan! Manitowoc is where the carferry that goes to and from Ludington, Mi is located. Play the two great courses here in Wisconsin and take the ferry across and play the Mason County courses (Beast, Beauty, Goliath, Leviathan) and Flip City just twenty some odd miles to the south! What a perfect midwest disc golfing trip!

To the people that maintain and clean and designed Silver Creek...BRAVO! This is currently our go to course to play (even though it's 70 miles away)! A super solid 4 is where Silver Creek stands in my book.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best course to date!

1    2/20/2011   10/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Cedar trees are still one of my favorite trees for disc golf. They provide a dense canopy that makes you feel closed in but they also have no lateral branches like Pines and Spruces, they grow more upright. SO they can provide a challenge and also shelter the hole when planted close together. Just a great tree for disc golf. It starts out on the first hole with a tough little gap to shoot between and around some Cedars. Great starting hole especially with the stream trickling by you on the teepad.

2) #3 may be in the open but it has a tough gap through some cedars/arbs. It isn't a full power throw so it is tough to get the right cut on your disc. Great challenging short little hole!

3) Course has some pretty good elevation changes. #9a is an awesome hole throwing off the top of a big sledding hill. Do not skip this hole it will make you feel like a pro throwing for a lot of distance. I wanted to sit here and throw a bunch of discs but I was hitting more courses and I didnt want to throw out my arm before hitting WInter Park. Some of the other holes go up the sled hill, a few others go across the hill. There is even some elevation changes on some of the wooded holes which is an absoulte plus.

4) Creek comes into play or into view many time throughout the course. Although it isn't always in close range of play it is visible and gets you thinking. I also like how the creek gives a sort of aura to this park. It just adds to the fun of the course.

5) Nice big dual concrete teepads with flares. This is almost simply a necessity and not really a pro, but this course would not be as highly ranked if they only had dirt/grass tees.

6) Gravel and mulch was used appropriaely around tees and baskets to prevent erosion and muddy areas. Some areas could still use more mulch like off the end and sides of some of the teepads but because they are large it isnt as much of an issue.

7) Very nice teesigns and directionals to next tees in many spots.

8) Underbrush seems to be pretty well maintained, but there is enough there that an errant throw could get punished.

9) Variety on this course is not comparable by many courses. WInter Park is one that compares and I played them both the same day. This course has water in play, lots of use of elevation change, lots of tight wooded holes and some more open holes with well placed mature trees, it also has a couple big ripper holes and a few holes set out in the prairie!

10) Be sure to walk out to the beach when you are playing holes #11 and 12. It is an awesome view and very scenic. It only adds to the overall feeling of this course. On #14 tee also be sure to take a minute to look out over the lake again from a slightly elevated position. You can almost see Flip City 120 miles away!!!
Cons: 1) #2 is a throway hole. It seems like it is only there to get you from #1 to #3. I would have rather seen the 9a hole come down the hill and end up over on that side of the field. Then where #1 was you could have turned the hole around and played it backwards and then add another hole that finishes where 9a basket is. It would give some better flow and take away the only poor hole on the course.

2) Seems to be a lot of garbage on the first few holes around the parking lot. A garbage basket in the lot might be helpful.

3) Parking lot is not marked and confusingly small. Not sure where they want you to park for good traffic flow through the small lot.

4) Walk from 9a to 9b can be confusing because you cannot see where the tee is on 9b. I walked right past it since th ebasket is tucked so far back into the woods you canot see it. Use the overhead map provided on here and walk across the parking lot from the basket towards the bridge. Cross the bridge and walk to the picnic table and the tee is right there on the asphalt. Basket is tough to see but it is in the woods. I am unsure of the path that you would take from 9 to 10 if you skip 9a and 9b but I would guess it is marked.
Other Thoughts: This course is simply the most varied course I have played and very well maintained too so it gets my highest vote to date! It is scenic, well designed, very well maintained, nice teepads, signage, and variety. What more can you ask for . . . well the biggest issue is garbage and maybe a few more areas that are wore down to nothing and could use some mulch to keep from being really muddy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A very scenic course

1    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Let it fly! Many open holes for long drives. Hole 9A although it isn't marked on the map is like throwing your disc off a cliff. Throw it as hard, and level, as you can and watch it go. Holes near lake Michigan provide excellent views. If your in no rush, stop and take a look at the lake. On a good day, you can see pretty far. The woods provide a challenge at the start of the back 9. The pin may seem farther than it actually is on these holes. Don't overthrow them or you'll have lots of trouble finding your disc.
Cons: The field is crowded. The first tee makes you cross the field which is full of others. Kids messing around or people trying to throw on hole 9A. You are almost guaranteed to way "FORE" on this course. The tee shots are blind on holes 8 and 9. On hole 9, keep your tee shot low. The pin is right at the edge of the top of a hill. You do not want your disc to go down that hill.
Other Thoughts: This course is lots of fun. You'll enjoy this course. It is very scenic and very large. The holes do seem to be a little shorter than I expected, but they challenge you with trees, the creek, elevation changes, and thick grasses. Hole 15 allows you to chuck your disc as far as you want. This feels good after being stuck in the woods for 5 holes. Hole 9A is considered a practice hole, but play it anyway. You can try to land in the shed, hit the soccer goal post, or make it past the trees to the hole. The best shot if your disc naturally goes left is to aim for the parking lot. If it goes right, aim for the first tee. Enjoy this course!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course on the lakeshore.

2-4    8/6/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 172  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 19.4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-good signage
-next hole signage
Cons: -a little confusion going from #9 to #10
-some questionable conduct in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: 18 holes in a nice, manicured park on the Lake Michigan lakeshore. Course is on the short and technical side with plenty of trees to get in the way. Some open, longer holes sprinkled throughout.

The main parking lot seems to be a favorite hangout of local kids. I didn't see anything untoward going on, but the burnouts in the parking lot were a distraction.

The location of the 1st tee isn't obvious, so I had to follow another group to a small opening in the trees, about 300 feet northwest of the parking lot.

Once finding the 1st tee, the course follows a fairly logical path with nicely varied holes featuring left and right turns and up and downhill throws.

A nice feature is the use of the "next hole" directional signage that shows you where to go for the next tee. There is a long and winding hike from #9 to #10 that could use a little more guidance for newcomers to the course, though, as the sign after #9 only shows a general area where to go next and there are several trails to follow once you get to that area. Again, I had to refer to the locals to find that tee.

A spectacular view of the lake is offered from #14's tee, which is a nice extra.

Overall, it's a very fun and challenging course with a few things that could be improved to make it excellent.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Silver Creek = AMAZING!

5+    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: championBoss9121990
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is the first course that I started to play on and it spoiled me. I find it to be fun and challenging every time I play it. I live nearby and go to this course very often. In my mind, Silver Creek Park is everything a disc golf course can and should be. I love it!
Cons: The park is typically packed with a lot of people. Also, the main parking lot seems to be a hang out for low-life idiots/druggies at night. You may want to consider parking by hole #3 where there is a smaller lot to park. Sometimes I don't feel safe in the main lot due to the low-lifes doing burn-outs with their vehicles. I'm surprised the authorities haven't taken this problem more seriously.
Other Thoughts: I'm happy that I get to live close to such an amazing course and will be attending UW Manitowoc which is just a block or two away from the course.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.