Manitowoc, WI 
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #14 (Taken 7/2012)
5 / 288ft.   3 / 288ft.   3 / 478ft.   3 / 478ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 B+ = Visually amazing!.But Basically Boring/Blah holes

1    6/25/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 380  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.2 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses (over 180 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(Other than a couple of holes which are very good (I love the concept of 12, although it is a little too short), this course forces no real decision making and metes out no real punishment for errant shots. There are some holes that would be good, but are simply too short. It is average in this area at BEST.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
(About half the holes are quite nice distance-wise to feel really good about parking them. Then there are 4-5 that are simply too short to be rewarding given the lack of obstacles. And then there are 3-4 that are too long for me and people of my length - tweener holes, downside holes, or whatever you want to call them. I find this to be about average for most courses - certainly nothing here that wows me and makes me want to come back to try to conquer the course.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Overall this is not a wooded course although there are plenty of trees. Most shots are quite open but most do require a little shot-shaping. There are some notable exceptions such as the crazy anny on 12 (if you choose that rather than the risky straight at it shot) and the uphill anny 295' tree-spangled #13. A very cool over-the-berm dropshot on 213' #14 ends a run of the 4 best holes on the course.....which are made even better since they are on the banks of Lake Michigan.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A
(The beauty of this course is striking.....not so much in full-on beauty but how the feeling flows as you traverse the course: from dark coniferous shadows, to tree-lined meadows with a beautiful brook, to a grassy sledding hill and park, then back into the dark stuff...only to pop out into deciduous and sandy beachfront, and then finally finishing off in a classic mature hardwood park feel. This alone pulls up the overall playing experience to me from something that would otherwise be average at best.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for All Ages

1    10/31/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 460  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park right next to Lake Michigan. There are some other buildings on-site, and a small park, but it seems that the disc golf is well separated.
- Good variety of holes throughout. A mix of pretty open holes, some with significant trees, and others in a forest littered with small trees. The open holes use slight elevation changes to keep things interesting, as well as baskets placed around or near tree lines.
- Most other holes have well-defined paths to the baskets, and also offer some riskier backdoor lanes. Both the holes inside the forest and near the forest have some pretty tight, but fair, windows to hit, and usually require active line shaping to stay clear of the trees. Many different types of shots to be found all throughout.
- Some very good to decent elevation changes to be found here, especially the downhill bomber on hole #9A. A good amount of holes in all parts of the park have some slope to either make things easier or harder. Overall, nothing too drastic, but still noticeable.
- Creek is in play on a couple holes, though it is pretty easy to avoid. Good scenery if nothing else. The road OB in a few spots is a much bigger danger.
- Lake Michigan is right off the teepad for #11, and easily seen behind #12's teepad. Awesome view.
- Great teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy the first time through, and some good crossings are there where needed.
Cons: - The road OB is great for some additional challenge, but it does detract from the overall experience. Too much pavement for my tastes.
- Course is on the shorter side, even with a few bomber holes. All the holes are pretty reachable, and all are definitely par 3.
- Some of the holes are fun, but not very interesting. A fair amount of holes with a couple of trees to avoid, and not much else.
Other Thoughts: - Pretty much the only cons I could come up with were too much pavement, and a little too easy. Both of these are completely subjective, and many people may completely disagree. But, I think everyone will agree that this course has an extremely high fun factor, and a ton of holes that are just straight out enjoyable. Some very interesting lines to hit, thanks to numerous trees and some elevation changes. I would think that everyone from a beginner to a seasoned vet would take some enjoyment out of this course, regardless of the final score.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/18/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 90  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 14.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First class amenities, with multiple cement tee pads-a feature found on very few courses.

Signs and benches on nearly every hole.

Has many nice holes with defined fairways that wind through small hills (6, 7, 8, 9). Hole 6 is a tough, very steep uphill drive. Hole 7 is a fun downhill tunnel hole.

Also has wooded holes on the back nine with some Lake Michigan views (11-13). Course finishes nicely with well kept meadow holes through rough areas in a more remote area of the park (15-18). Has a nice bridge over Silver Creek between Holes 12 and 13.

No cheap holes, broken baskets, or busted up tee pads. Hilltop tee pad '9A' (a sledding hill) offers a chance for uninhibited crusher drives.

Other than rough around Hole 15/16 (which enhances play) and creek near Holes 3 and 4, there are few disc-loss hazards. Quite a few players on a nice Sunday afternoon, but I didn't have to wait around very much.

Free admission, polite locals.
Cons: Holes 1 through 4 are short, mundane city park holes, though 4 incorporates a creek hazard. Not a lot of longer holes (6, 15 and 18 play the longest).

Hole 10 is difficult to find after 9/9A/9B, with a long walk necessary between the front and back nine. Some 'next tee' signs would help after Holes 2, 5, and 9. I looked hard for Hole 9B, but was unable to find it. Basket for Hole 9A was right next to a picnic table.

Bugs were pretty bad on Holes near Silver Creek and Lake Michigan (10-14).

Missed the black tee on Hole 8.

Other Thoughts: A nice city park course with good diversity, and a pleasant playing experience.

A gas station a short distance north on County Road LS has beer and a good disc selection.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety

1    7/3/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large hilly park with a large sled hill in play on a couple holes for a tough uphill shot and a great downhill bomb with a risky green. There is some elevation on the rest of the course to add some more variety and challenge. There are several greens that use water or elevation to add some challenge at the end of the hole.

The course has great variety of terrain and foliage, with some more open holes with scattered trees, some park style holes with mature trees and limited brush, and lots of good wooded holes that call for tight lines and will punish errant shots. There is a nice mix of left and right turning shots of various shapes that will really make you being all parts of your game to score well. There's also a good variety of lengths with some easier ace run holes and some that call for a long but controlled drive.

There are dual concrete tees, and many of the longs add an extra bend or pinch point to change more than just distance which is great for playing both sets of tees. There are basic tee signs at one set of tees with the hole layout and distances. There are course maps posted at a couple points along the course to help with navigation.
Cons: There are some safety issues here, mostly all in one area. Hole 9a plays down the sled hill, and you have to walk right through the landing area to get to the first hole. There were also people warming up or playing other games in the big field, so it felt a little dangerous to throw down the hill, a shame since it's such a fun hole.

There are a couple throw away holes, 2 is the worst offender, and they take away from the challenge and fun factor a little. I prefer to have signs at both tees so you don't have to do extra walking to see the tee signs if you're playing from the other set of tees, but that's expensive so I don't lower my rating for that. With the two added holes in between 9 and 10 not very well marked and some weird walks, navigation is a little tricky, though the rest of the course is easy to follow. There were lots of large groups of players that didn't want to let faster groups play through, and lots of people starting on the back 9 causing a huge back up in the middle of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you're up in this part of Wisconsin, for me it's just a little bit below Winter Park in terms of challenge and fun factor, and with a short drive between them it's a great pair of courses to take a trip to. Beginners will find the short tees tough but not ridiculously so, the rough is punishing but doesn't really eat discs. More experienced players will find great variety and challenge from the longs, and will need to bring their A game to score well. Make sure you check out the beach and views out over the lake on the back 9, it's a great spot to take a break.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 one of top ten/15 in state

5+    9/17/2009   1/29/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 810  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 28.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice dual cement tees. A longer set of tourney tees on some holes; natural. From hole info. these appear to be considered permanent now.
Well thought out and long term evaluated; mixture of right/left; with a wide variety of shot shapes needed.
Uphill/downhill; both in terms of fairway; and green finishes.
Quite a number of water feature holes. Some in play; more in the nature of views.
#1 is needed deuce. Short. However, beautiful grove hole; with Silver Creek running the length of the hole to the right.
#3 Nice spike heizer hole (rhbh) or very narrow tunnel shot; large pines as obstacles. This can also be one of the more wind affected holes here. Hillside draining to water to left of pin. Shouldn't really be an issue; but, it's there.
Bar across the road from #3. I can tell you they enjoy disc golfer patronage. lol In addition to a plethora of good things to say about Silver Creek; I really must add: How many disc courses have a bar within a thirty second walk across a road?
#4 is across a creek; not really in play....a precise yardage shot to score deuce. Putt alterating vegetation; including pine grove; near pin if you don't place just right.
#5 Large creek runs to left of hole, entire length. 308 ft. straight shot required. Around 280 mark; is blocker tree. So, four separate water features on the first five holes. You loving it so far? (As a high level blue player or gold; water will not really be in play; but, waterways are very scenic and add a certain degree of possible o.b.)
#6 is the uphill 347 chucker. Short tee is off to right; halfway up hill and a fun extra throw, if course not crowded. This hole is crazy when snow/ice covered. Hill is steep. (Quite reachable for gold level; but rip it drive and good upshot needed by everyone else.)
#7 Wide sweeping anny (rhbh) or sweeping heiser for the lefties. blind...somewhat rollaway green.
I really could go into nearly every hole; giving you play by play and placing it all in the pros section. Instead, I will hit highlights through the remainder:
#9a has been played since day 1, as an alternate hole; to the point that it was officially included in the layout. Tee is to left of precarious pin for #9. It's possible to have a 100+ foot rollaway on #9. #9a is an empty your bag throw from atop the highest hill on the course, to the practice pin; located @420 ft.; to peninsula green; surrounded by Silver Creek. Blue level players will do all they can do to make green area. Gold level players will bring Silver Creek o.b. into play. A good "top of the world" type shot; with a water finish.
To left of #11 is nice view and possible swimming area; in Lake Michigan. Take a shot from both tees on this one. A fun ace run hole; especially from short tee. I mean, you gotta walk past it anyway....
#13 uphill anny (rhbh), in the woods.
#14 downhill, blind ace run, through the woods.
#15 uphill bomber, wide open, to wooded grove near pin.
#17 one of my favorites. Elevation and steerage; with o.b. road possible to right.
Lots of picnic tables around the course to take a rest and enjoy the setting.
Cons: #2 is a deuce or die hole, with little positive to say about it. Nit picking; but it is a weak hole.
There are some slight navigation issues.
Walk from #9a to #9b a little tricky. Print a map ahead of time. Or, ask a local.
Perhaps a bit short by gold player level standards; thus; the four rating.
A slight con is the amount of play Silver Creek gets. But, only a con for those wishing they had this gem to themselves.
Other Thoughts: Silver Creek spent quite a number of years with natural tees only. Design was refined and set of long tees eventually added as well. Now, there is a third set of tees that seem to be on the way.
This is a fine course for a blue level player. Length getting towards gold level with the longest tee versions. Course is not quite in the "brutual" range of toughness. But, due to nice tourney payout history and strength of course/beauty, pro tourney field is always large; and traditionally; five to ten top 50 players in the world attend. In other words; top level players don't mind stopping for a visit. This one is respected and loved by players from blue through gold levels. Red level players will have fun and enjoy the scenery, and will challenge them greatly from mid tees (longest tees with cement).
Others have traveled to get to this one; so have I. Silver Creek was in the regular rotation; a few times a year; for many years; though it's one and one half hours away. Now that Winter Park is fully up and running; trips to this area will increase again.
This is not a brag; but rather a good point for Silver Creek: I've played over 140 courses in Wisconsin; and put this one in the top 15; close to 10 probably.
I may have to say I like Winter Park a little more; due to, it having more than 18 holes; and more green risk/reward; but, it's very close. The two together; makes for one of the top three duos in the state.
I would say that Peterson Park (12 holes), is the third best in the area.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course by the Lake

5+    7/20/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: shoe59
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of holes; short, long, huge uphill (hole 6), huge downhill (hole 9a), flat, gradual ups and downs as well. Good mix between open and wooded holes.
-The view of lake Michigan is stunning, there is nice bench and picnic table at the top of a cliff on hole #14 overlooking the lake (guard rail is a plus). Hole 11 brings you right alongside a fairly secluded beach - take a dip in the cool water on a scorching day.
-Running water between holes 9 and 10 (although it tastes rusty) along with bathrooms, also a vending machine in this area.
-Cement teepads on every hole, benches and picnic tables on many other holes.
-Multiple teepads on every hole, with alternate pin placements. Nice tee signs.
-Mach 3 baskets in good condition.
-The only holes that come close to overlapping are 15 and 16, with a "median" long grass area between fairways... not a big issue. The other holes are well spread out through this huge park.
-The maintenance here is great, litter is sparse around the course. Fairways are mowed nicely - especially around tournament time.
Cons: -Hole #1 is tricky to find if you haven't played here before - it's in the woods, across the soccer field from the big hill.
-Hole #10 is even more of a trick to find, there should be a sign indicating where to go
(directions below).
-Overall fairly difficult to navigate with some walks between baskets and the next tees. #12 is easy to miss if you take the wrong path through the woods, turn right.
-A few of the holes are very short and easy (namely #'s 2 and 10). I wouldn't call them design flaws, however, because there aren't really better locations available for these two holes
-Not a beginner/family friendly course only because of the big elevation changes and a few pretty long holes - it's quite a long course to walk.
Other Thoughts: There are some unforgettable holes on the course, especially the huge uphill #6. I'll never forget the first time I witnessed a pro tournament - we watched the pros bomb drives right up under the pin on #6, something I never thought to be possible until I saw it with my own eyes - 318ft. up a monster hill, plays like its 500 ft. Overall, just some beautiful holes that are a pleasure to play.

Hole 9 is a fun hole, risk/reward chance. Off to the right there is a very thick clump of woods - keep it to the left! The basket is placed about 15-20 feet from the edge of a large hill, you overshoot and you'll be rolling down it. *Note, after this hole you walk down the hill and turn to your right, going back through the parking lot towards the back nine - you'll see a pavilion and picnic tables, #10 tee is to the left going into the woods*

This is my favorite of the 26 courses I've played so far in Wisconsin, although I have yet to play the epic Highbridge Hills and Winter Park. Silver Creek isn't very central in location, but it's worth the trip no matter where you're coming from.

Play the course, you'll love it, feel free to make a donation in the dropbox at hole #1 next time you play it

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the 30 mile trip

1    12/1/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: rohloffj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes, love the multiple pin locations and the multiple tees. Both RHBH and forehand shots are needed. Some tight holes in the woods and some more open longer holes as well. #2 is the weakest hole, but offers a good shot at an ace. #6 is up a monster hill. 9A and 9B offer nice extra holes. The one that starts at the top of the hill after 6 is a great fun hole offering a chance for some monster distance.
Cons: #10 is difficult to find, even with the map. Luckily we were following some course regulars. Follow down through the woods to the right after #9 past the playground. 9B tee is difficult to find. It is marked with small paint marks on the asphalt before you reach the playground. A great hole before you play 10.
Other Thoughts: First hole is about 100 yards due west from the parking lot.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Everyone in WI should play here

1    11/7/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 751  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Almost all the holes are fairly challenging.. 2 different tee pad on every hole. alt. pin placements on most.... i love 9 b bombing down that hill with the pin tucked in by creek..... hole 6 is 337 straight up hill,hard to get to the basket in two...LOVE the view of lake michigan, BEAUTIFUL
Cons: a few of the back 9 holes could use some more length... and its a little hard to find the back nine if u haven't ever played there......
Other Thoughts: 5th time tossing here... its an awesome course.. i come and play it at least once a year

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course Through a BEAUTIFUL Park

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park located next to Lake Michigan...
Great layout, mixed variety of shots
Baskets in great shape (and apparently they move them around)
Excellent use of terrain, course is kept in AMAZING shape! fairways mowed, schule kept in check...
Nice concrete teepads for BOTH tees on every hole...
Cons: Despite my DGCR addiction, we missed hole 9b... DOH!
The walk from #9 to 10 (playing course as marked) is long and convoluted...
The course design is SLIGHTLY lacking behind the beauty of this park
Course as marked par is too generous
Other Thoughts: Simply beautiful course in a GORGEOUS park! The course can be played by any skill level, TOP pros may be bored... until the look at the lake!
Holes 1-5 play through the park, hole 6 is the B4ST4RD up-the-sled-hill hole! Hole 7 has a tricky L>R tee shot...
Hole 9 was probably my favorite on the course, extrememly well manicured L>R hole (well, straight drive with L>R upshot at my skill level) the basket placed precariously next to a sledhill...

After a walk to the 10th tee, the course tightens up through the woods... #11 is a great hole that plays along the lake (Michigan) have fun with the trees.... 12 is a great uphill shot, slightly L>R...
14 stands out to me because of the STUNNING view of the lake behind the back tees... Beautiful downhill midrange hole that you'll want to spend all day at...
17 seems simple but is very tricky, have fun with the ace run...
18 seemed anti-climactic, but I'm nitpicking, all and all, a VERY fun round of DG...

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One the BEST!!!

2-4    10/3/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -IMMACULATE
-Pro/Am cement flare tees
-some of the best signage I have seen
-"You are here" multiple map signs
-variety wazoo
-gorgeous trees
-rolling hills
-in a park the family can picnic, play in
-holes RIGHT NEXT TO Lake Michigan. -incredible scenery
-risk/reward pin placement on some
-long hoes, short holes, lefty holes, righty holes
-almost no trash due to lots of trash bins
-plenty of benches
-an extra two holes 9a,9b which are a joy!
-water in play on many holes whether you know it or not.

Cons: -one throw away hole, #2
-the two extra holes aren't apparent and aren't really in the correct flow.
-parking lot seemed like a local hangout place. Can park closer to tee #3 to avoid.
-tee #1 location not obvious
-more signs needed for finding back nine.
Other Thoughts: Currently as of 10/4/09 THIS is the BEST Wisconsin course I have played and ranks as my number three favorite course! JUST INCREDIBLE! I want to take this course and fold it up, put it in my pocket, and be able to unfold it anywhere when I want to smile and play disc golf. just wow.

What is so special about this course? It's location right on the side of Lake Michigan and the great great trees that you play in. Pines, oaks, cedar....you name it, but beauty can only take a course so far. Amazingly this course delivers on so much more.

Once you get into the park (I suggest you park by basket 2 to stay away from local kids dinking around in the main lot) you head to to tee one across the soccer field and in the trees. Your first hole sets the tone IMMEDIATELY for the beauty of this course. You play under a canopy of trees running right along side a small clean flowing river. LET'S PLAY!

Now comes the only lackluster hole on the course, #2. A short straight shot back across the edge of the soccer field but I imagine it is needed for transition to the rest. You then play some really nice holes in the pines and along creeks, over bridges, up a sledding hill, through rolling hills. Just a real nice front nine.

The back nine is across the bridge and by the swings to the right of where you just played. Here is where a few more sign markers are needed if you haven't been paying attention to the multiple GREAT "you are here" signs along the way! More courses need this.

Start off the back 9 with 9b to the left of tee 10. The tee is part of the road but offers one of the toughest shots on the whole course. A shot where you have to enter a small tree tunnel after 150' of open space. After this hole shoot to the right and play one of the best nines you will ever play. In those amazing trees, up and down rolling hills and RIGHT next to Lake Michigan. This is the closet holes I have ever seen on the entire Lake, both sides included. Hell, in the summer bring your shorts and go for a swim between the front and back nine. A couple bomber holes on the back and you finish up with some great manicured holes.

HERE is where I suggest you finish up on 9a. After 18, go up the path to your left, it's an obvious transition. Now when you get to the top of the sledding hill there sits a perfect cement tee and the main bomber shot of the entire course. Down this hill, over the soccer field to a basket on a little peninsula guard by a row of small trees in the front and a river behind it. You will want to unload your bag at it!

SUMMARY and IDEAS: This IS a destination course! And with Winter Park twenty miles to the north, a perfect pairing for this side of the lake. My nod goes to Silver Creek as the more fun and better of the two. Winter Park has the extreme elevation, but Silver Creek offered up a more balanced disc golfing experience. Another suggestion is come summer when taking that ultimate disc golfing trip is to play both sides of Lake Michigan! Manitowoc is where the carferry that goes to and from Ludington, Mi is located. Play the two great courses here in Wisconsin and take the ferry across and play the Mason County courses (Beast, Beauty, Goliath, Leviathan) and Flip City just twenty some odd miles to the south! What a perfect midwest disc golfing trip!

To the people that maintain and clean and designed Silver Creek...BRAVO! This is currently our go to course to play (even though it's 70 miles away)! A super solid 4 is where Silver Creek stands in my book.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.