Manitowoc, WI 
Silver Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 324ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Course Through a BEAUTIFUL Park

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful park located next to Lake Michigan...
Great layout, mixed variety of shots
Baskets in great shape (and apparently they move them around)
Excellent use of terrain, course is kept in AMAZING shape! fairways mowed, schule kept in check...
Nice concrete teepads for BOTH tees on every hole...
Cons: Despite my DGCR addiction, we missed hole 9b... DOH!
The walk from #9 to 10 (playing course as marked) is long and convoluted...
The course design is SLIGHTLY lacking behind the beauty of this park
Course as marked par is too generous
Other Thoughts: Simply beautiful course in a GORGEOUS park! The course can be played by any skill level, TOP pros may be bored... until the look at the lake!
Holes 1-5 play through the park, hole 6 is the B4ST4RD up-the-sled-hill hole! Hole 7 has a tricky L>R tee shot...
Hole 9 was probably my favorite on the course, extrememly well manicured L>R hole (well, straight drive with L>R upshot at my skill level) the basket placed precariously next to a sledhill...

After a walk to the 10th tee, the course tightens up through the woods... #11 is a great hole that plays along the lake (Michigan) have fun with the trees.... 12 is a great uphill shot, slightly L>R...
14 stands out to me because of the STUNNING view of the lake behind the back tees... Beautiful downhill midrange hole that you'll want to spend all day at...
17 seems simple but is very tricky, have fun with the ace run...
18 seemed anti-climactic, but I'm nitpicking, all and all, a VERY fun round of DG...

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One the BEST!!!

2-4    10/3/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -IMMACULATE
-Pro/Am cement flare tees
-some of the best signage I have seen
-"You are here" multiple map signs
-variety wazoo
-gorgeous trees
-rolling hills
-in a park the family can picnic, play in
-holes RIGHT NEXT TO Lake Michigan. -incredible scenery
-risk/reward pin placement on some
-long hoes, short holes, lefty holes, righty holes
-almost no trash due to lots of trash bins
-plenty of benches
-an extra two holes 9a,9b which are a joy!
-water in play on many holes whether you know it or not.

Cons: -one throw away hole, #2
-the two extra holes aren't apparent and aren't really in the correct flow.
-parking lot seemed like a local hangout place. Can park closer to tee #3 to avoid.
-tee #1 location not obvious
-more signs needed for finding back nine.
Other Thoughts: Currently as of 10/4/09 THIS is the BEST Wisconsin course I have played and ranks as my number three favorite course! JUST INCREDIBLE! I want to take this course and fold it up, put it in my pocket, and be able to unfold it anywhere when I want to smile and play disc golf. just wow.

What is so special about this course? It's location right on the side of Lake Michigan and the great great trees that you play in. Pines, oaks, cedar....you name it, but beauty can only take a course so far. Amazingly this course delivers on so much more.

Once you get into the park (I suggest you park by basket 2 to stay away from local kids dinking around in the main lot) you head to to tee one across the soccer field and in the trees. Your first hole sets the tone IMMEDIATELY for the beauty of this course. You play under a canopy of trees running right along side a small clean flowing river. LET'S PLAY!

Now comes the only lackluster hole on the course, #2. A short straight shot back across the edge of the soccer field but I imagine it is needed for transition to the rest. You then play some really nice holes in the pines and along creeks, over bridges, up a sledding hill, through rolling hills. Just a real nice front nine.

The back nine is across the bridge and by the swings to the right of where you just played. Here is where a few more sign markers are needed if you haven't been paying attention to the multiple GREAT "you are here" signs along the way! More courses need this.

Start off the back 9 with 9b to the left of tee 10. The tee is part of the road but offers one of the toughest shots on the whole course. A shot where you have to enter a small tree tunnel after 150' of open space. After this hole shoot to the right and play one of the best nines you will ever play. In those amazing trees, up and down rolling hills and RIGHT next to Lake Michigan. This is the closet holes I have ever seen on the entire Lake, both sides included. Hell, in the summer bring your shorts and go for a swim between the front and back nine. A couple bomber holes on the back and you finish up with some great manicured holes.

HERE is where I suggest you finish up on 9a. After 18, go up the path to your left, it's an obvious transition. Now when you get to the top of the sledding hill there sits a perfect cement tee and the main bomber shot of the entire course. Down this hill, over the soccer field to a basket on a little peninsula guard by a row of small trees in the front and a river behind it. You will want to unload your bag at it!

SUMMARY and IDEAS: This IS a destination course! And with Winter Park twenty miles to the north, a perfect pairing for this side of the lake. My nod goes to Silver Creek as the more fun and better of the two. Winter Park has the extreme elevation, but Silver Creek offered up a more balanced disc golfing experience. Another suggestion is come summer when taking that ultimate disc golfing trip is to play both sides of Lake Michigan! Manitowoc is where the carferry that goes to and from Ludington, Mi is located. Play the two great courses here in Wisconsin and take the ferry across and play the Mason County courses (Beast, Beauty, Goliath, Leviathan) and Flip City just twenty some odd miles to the south! What a perfect midwest disc golfing trip!

To the people that maintain and clean and designed Silver Creek...BRAVO! This is currently our go to course to play (even though it's 70 miles away)! A super solid 4 is where Silver Creek stands in my book.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best course to date!

1    2/20/2011   10/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 714  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Cedar trees are still one of my favorite trees for disc golf. They provide a dense canopy that makes you feel closed in but they also have no lateral branches like Pines and Spruces, they grow more upright. SO they can provide a challenge and also shelter the hole when planted close together. Just a great tree for disc golf. It starts out on the first hole with a tough little gap to shoot between and around some Cedars. Great starting hole especially with the stream trickling by you on the teepad.

2) #3 may be in the open but it has a tough gap through some cedars/arbs. It isn't a full power throw so it is tough to get the right cut on your disc. Great challenging short little hole!

3) Course has some pretty good elevation changes. #9a is an awesome hole throwing off the top of a big sledding hill. Do not skip this hole it will make you feel like a pro throwing for a lot of distance. I wanted to sit here and throw a bunch of discs but I was hitting more courses and I didnt want to throw out my arm before hitting WInter Park. Some of the other holes go up the sled hill, a few others go across the hill. There is even some elevation changes on some of the wooded holes which is an absoulte plus.

4) Creek comes into play or into view many time throughout the course. Although it isn't always in close range of play it is visible and gets you thinking. I also like how the creek gives a sort of aura to this park. It just adds to the fun of the course.

5) Nice big dual concrete teepads with flares. This is almost simply a necessity and not really a pro, but this course would not be as highly ranked if they only had dirt/grass tees.

6) Gravel and mulch was used appropriaely around tees and baskets to prevent erosion and muddy areas. Some areas could still use more mulch like off the end and sides of some of the teepads but because they are large it isnt as much of an issue.

7) Very nice teesigns and directionals to next tees in many spots.

8) Underbrush seems to be pretty well maintained, but there is enough there that an errant throw could get punished.

9) Variety on this course is not comparable by many courses. WInter Park is one that compares and I played them both the same day. This course has water in play, lots of use of elevation change, lots of tight wooded holes and some more open holes with well placed mature trees, it also has a couple big ripper holes and a few holes set out in the prairie!

10) Be sure to walk out to the beach when you are playing holes #11 and 12. It is an awesome view and very scenic. It only adds to the overall feeling of this course. On #14 tee also be sure to take a minute to look out over the lake again from a slightly elevated position. You can almost see Flip City 120 miles away!!!
Cons: 1) #2 is a throway hole. It seems like it is only there to get you from #1 to #3. I would have rather seen the 9a hole come down the hill and end up over on that side of the field. Then where #1 was you could have turned the hole around and played it backwards and then add another hole that finishes where 9a basket is. It would give some better flow and take away the only poor hole on the course.

2) Seems to be a lot of garbage on the first few holes around the parking lot. A garbage basket in the lot might be helpful.

3) Parking lot is not marked and confusingly small. Not sure where they want you to park for good traffic flow through the small lot.

4) Walk from 9a to 9b can be confusing because you cannot see where the tee is on 9b. I walked right past it since th ebasket is tucked so far back into the woods you canot see it. Use the overhead map provided on here and walk across the parking lot from the basket towards the bridge. Cross the bridge and walk to the picnic table and the tee is right there on the asphalt. Basket is tough to see but it is in the woods. I am unsure of the path that you would take from 9 to 10 if you skip 9a and 9b but I would guess it is marked.
Other Thoughts: This course is simply the most varied course I have played and very well maintained too so it gets my highest vote to date! It is scenic, well designed, very well maintained, nice teepads, signage, and variety. What more can you ask for . . . well the biggest issue is garbage and maybe a few more areas that are wore down to nothing and could use some mulch to keep from being really muddy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A very scenic course

1    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Let it fly! Many open holes for long drives. Hole 9A although it isn't marked on the map is like throwing your disc off a cliff. Throw it as hard, and level, as you can and watch it go. Holes near lake Michigan provide excellent views. If your in no rush, stop and take a look at the lake. On a good day, you can see pretty far. The woods provide a challenge at the start of the back 9. The pin may seem farther than it actually is on these holes. Don't overthrow them or you'll have lots of trouble finding your disc.
Cons: The field is crowded. The first tee makes you cross the field which is full of others. Kids messing around or people trying to throw on hole 9A. You are almost guaranteed to way "FORE" on this course. The tee shots are blind on holes 8 and 9. On hole 9, keep your tee shot low. The pin is right at the edge of the top of a hill. You do not want your disc to go down that hill.
Other Thoughts: This course is lots of fun. You'll enjoy this course. It is very scenic and very large. The holes do seem to be a little shorter than I expected, but they challenge you with trees, the creek, elevation changes, and thick grasses. Hole 15 allows you to chuck your disc as far as you want. This feels good after being stuck in the woods for 5 holes. Hole 9A is considered a practice hole, but play it anyway. You can try to land in the shed, hit the soccer goal post, or make it past the trees to the hole. The best shot if your disc naturally goes left is to aim for the parking lot. If it goes right, aim for the first tee. Enjoy this course!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course on the lakeshore.

2-4    8/6/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -concrete tees
-good signage
-next hole signage
Cons: -a little confusion going from #9 to #10
-some questionable conduct in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: 18 holes in a nice, manicured park on the Lake Michigan lakeshore. Course is on the short and technical side with plenty of trees to get in the way. Some open, longer holes sprinkled throughout.

The main parking lot seems to be a favorite hangout of local kids. I didn't see anything untoward going on, but the burnouts in the parking lot were a distraction.

The location of the 1st tee isn't obvious, so I had to follow another group to a small opening in the trees, about 300 feet northwest of the parking lot.

Once finding the 1st tee, the course follows a fairly logical path with nicely varied holes featuring left and right turns and up and downhill throws.

A nice feature is the use of the "next hole" directional signage that shows you where to go for the next tee. There is a long and winding hike from #9 to #10 that could use a little more guidance for newcomers to the course, though, as the sign after #9 only shows a general area where to go next and there are several trails to follow once you get to that area. Again, I had to refer to the locals to find that tee.

A spectacular view of the lake is offered from #14's tee, which is a nice extra.

Overall, it's a very fun and challenging course with a few things that could be improved to make it excellent.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Silver Creek = AMAZING!

5+    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: championBoss9121990
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is the first course that I started to play on and it spoiled me. I find it to be fun and challenging every time I play it. I live nearby and go to this course very often. In my mind, Silver Creek Park is everything a disc golf course can and should be. I love it!
Cons: The park is typically packed with a lot of people. Also, the main parking lot seems to be a hang out for low-life idiots/druggies at night. You may want to consider parking by hole #3 where there is a smaller lot to park. Sometimes I don't feel safe in the main lot due to the low-lifes doing burn-outs with their vehicles. I'm surprised the authorities haven't taken this problem more seriously.
Other Thoughts: I'm happy that I get to live close to such an amazing course and will be attending UW Manitowoc which is just a block or two away from the course.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Player's Choice Award

5+    6/20/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Sensai Scuba
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Let's put it like this... The practice tee is this little spot of land at the bottom of a hill and surrounded by a creek. After that you walk towards the first tee and enter a forest path where the trees welcome you and embrace you and the mario party music starts playing and it makes you wonder why they haven't had a mario disc golf game yet.... It's that good. After that you start going through some easy shots and it just literally becomes a walk in the park. This course is pretty sizable and is just a blast. Got lost first time there trying to find hole ten but... I got it down by now lol. Extremely well taken care of course and the signs are very good, pointing out where the next hole is on most of the holes. This course has all four of the basic disc golf food groups (field/water/wood/trick) and just has a huge raw fun factor
Cons: Bit confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: This is my current personal favorite course

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Walk in the park

5+    6/3/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: thefranchise3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has great scenery along the lake.Pro tees.Cement tees.They change pin location from time to time.Variety of holes is what makes the couse so good.
Cons: There arent many cons but is does get to busy sometimes.Bugs can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I played this couse a lot and its still real challenging, and thats a plus for me!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Next Best after Winter Park

5+    6/1/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the next best course in NE WI - after Winter Park in Kewaunee of course! The balance and variety here is excellent and the terrain and scenery are also. You play a solid course on a wonderful piece of property. There are uphill, downhill, open, long, short, tightly wooded, water hazards, OB, etc, etc. This is very worth the stop. Many of the holes will make you stop and gaze because the peaceful and well groomed park setting is perfect for disc golf.
Don't forget to play downhill acorss the soccer fields after hole #9 to the basket on the edge of Silver Creek!
Cons: Personally I look at cons regarding a course as "what could have been". In my mind, I know the area well, the course could have utilized more of the awesome woods (I am a wooded course lover!). Parts of these woods come in areas with extreme elevation changes that would have made for EXCELLENT risk opportunity. I'd have to say that the greens do not offer too much risk versus reward (but nothing compares to the risky greens at Winter so I'll take it).

The course is very well played in, this there are eroded drop-offs in front of the concrete tees. In my mind, I hate this and it messes with my drives thinking I might roll an ankle. The concrete pads are sufficient size though.

The course has many other people always playing in the park. These people are often oblivious and get in the way of play. Unfortunately kids also hide in blind spots and will STEAL YOUR DISC (ask anyone who plays regularly).
Other Thoughts: Make a Lakeshore loop trip and play here and Winter Park. Pretty soon I here Silver Creek may be 27 holes as well and these two courses combined will make your day! The extra holes at Silver Creek will introduce huge distance and those tight woods.

Skip Indian Creek - I personnally dislike that the disc club down there crams Indian Creek down your throat! It sucks that Manitowalk in the Park tournament (a fantastic event!) has been downgraded and forces you to play one round on each course instead of enjoying the beauty of Silver Creek twice. During the tourny, more of the variety and balance of Silver Creek is showcased - the alternate pin positions are used, and the third tee on some holes, Gold level tees, are used.

Stop to enjoy the setting a while. Help upkeep the beauty by picking up some of the trash left behind on a veru heavily played course, by some of those worthless and useless idiots who choose to litter and destroy the good things people love!
UPDATE: I decided to not weigh the cons so much and have updated my rating from a 3.5 to a 4. This is because Of the things I look for in a course - huge elevation, water hazard, tight woods, left/right balance are all here. There could be a nicer pond type water hazard, but this course is very well balanced. It is worth yorur trip, just hope you hit it when it is not congested (the course and the park itself). This courses is also on par with others I have rated as 4 and probably the most solid 4 disc course in my reviews. Much better than the ones I have rated as 3.5.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/3/2012   6/4/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Great variation in shot type required off the tee, but recreational-friendly enough that you usually can get up and down for par if you screw up. Multiple pin locations on many holes (#6 has three locations, with the deepest making it a legitimate par 4 at 403' uphill to a plateau green surrounded by guardian pines), 2-3 tees per hole (#2, #13, #17, and #25 have champ tees). Water in play on many holes, mostly in the form of the creek, but Lake Michigan looms on #22 (though admittedly you'd REALLY have to overshoot to wind up in the lake here!) and serves as a picturesque backdrop on several other holes. Hole #10 in the alternate position is a pretty open 525' RHBH anhyzer gently sloping down into a protected green, #13 has a pin precariously placed near the same sharp drop-off you throw down for #14 (old #9a), plenty of ace runs abound, and in the new 27-hole layout this has moved a great deal away from being a "deuce-or-die" course. Hole #22, one of the new additions, will quickly become a famous hole in the area (if not the country), with a premium on the landing zone off the tee before reaching a sharp dogleg down to the aforementioned green sitting on Lake Michigan, with an elevated basket perched atop a lighthouse...just awesome, and a great way to showcase the region's history not only in disc golf, but also in the Great Lakes Maritime industry!
2. Scenery. As mentioned, great views of Lake Michigan and a nice overlook from #14's tee. The creek is impressive after a torrential rain (not so much if your disc happens to find it on one of these days). Lots of wildlife and a good variety of trees and foliage.
3. Manitowalk in the Park. This is by far one of the best-organized and most fun tournaments I have ever played, with a field that fills up every year, great player's packs, and a lot of awesome people involved (including the sponsors). I realize that an event at a course doesn't necessarily contribute to how it plays during a recreational round, but if you just stop out during the days of the tournament and check it out, you'll see how much people love this course.
4. Maintenance. There is a fair amount of trash out here on any given day, but with how popular it is and with how much the locals love this course (and thus don't want to see it scrapped because of litter/vandalism), the upkeep out here is far better than one might expect from a park that gets so much use (including all the non-disc-golf activities at Silver Creek).
5. Location. They probably couldn't have picked a better city park to put this course. Very easy to find if you're traveling up County LS (which leads straight into Cleveland if you're planning on hitting LTC and other area courses), though it will definitely take you a little longer to find, especially on your first time out, if you're coming off of I-43. Just follow the signs for UW-Manitowoc; it's next door to their campus.
5. Dual tees. Your round becomes exponentially more difficult when you transition from short to long tees. On many holes it seems like a completely different hole rather than just a straight extension back from the shorts. There are 4 champion tees out here, too, as mentioned above, if you like some extra challenge (especially spices up the rather bland #2, and #25 is given a total facelift when you step from the short/long tee area over to the champ).
6. Baskets. The Mach III baskets are in good shape.
7. Navigation. Good signage, and with all the new holes that have been added, "next tee" signs and other aids have been put into place to assist in getting around.
Cons: 1. Erosion. This course at just over 10 years old is starting to show signs of its popularity, as well as just natural elements taking their toll. Several fairways on the Front 9 have changed in the past season or two due to large trees or branches coming down, and there are plenty more mature trees that seem to be in their death throes. Inevitable, and hopefully the design will change in strategic ways to keep this a great course while preserving the flora.
2. Vandalism is apparently a staple of this park's diet (not surprising with the high amount of chucker traffic). It's a multi-use park that is popular with a variety of crowds, and on busy days (especially when soccer games and picnics are going on) you may have to skip a few holes like #2, #14, and #15.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites. Definitely check out Manitowalk in the Park during July; if not to play, at least to watch and witness the supreme organization and positive feedback pretty much everyone will give. I'd love to see a few additional permanent holes added out here, as there is still plenty of land and even another 6 or 9 doesn't seem completely out of the question. However, it seems that erosion control will be a driving factor in any immediate redesign, so tweaking existing holes may take priority over any rumored course expansion.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.