Brownsville, KY 
Holler In The Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Pro Tee



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Love this course

2-4    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun -- I know everybody says this, but this course has unique holes that keep you loving it the whole way through, Challenging but fair. Good flow, well maintained, benches and brooms at a bunch of holes, plenty of shade.
Cons: Lots of elevation so not for the fat. Some of the tee boxes have this black rubber stuff thats scary slippery when wet. No signage on A-E (I know, its picky)
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course. I live in Nashville, and I have now made 3 trips up there in the last 3 months. I love the variety, challenge, and relaxing escape from the crowds.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun, fun, frustrating, and fun!

2-4    6/30/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: RollingStone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All basics are covered here. Parking, good tees, etc. Bonus items include significant elevation and water coming into play occasionally.

Every hole will challenge you to bring your "A" game. There are easier holes, but no truly easy holes on this course. Teebird
Cons: Non-matching teepads. While all pads are in good condition due to the phenomenal maintenance done at this course, some picky people may be thrown off by throwing from different surfaces.

This course could be off-putting to newer players. It seems like a set of short tees would be do-able in order to cater to a wider audience.
Other Thoughts: As you can see from my cons, I really had to get nitpicky to find anything to pick on about Holler. This is a course that will challenge you, and therefore it's not a course to bring anything but the discs you have complete and utter confidence in. This seems self-explanatory to older players, but might not be to everyone.

Regardless, the natural beauty of the land Holler is on, and the designer's vision in using that land are among the best I've ever played on. Even though my first round was absolutely brutal, I enjoyed my time as the scenery was worth playing slow and taking in. I will be back in Bowling Green the week after the 4th, and can't wait to get back out to the Holler.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Like 5 rounds with Mike Tyson

1    8/29/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenery by far. You are in the Green River Basin and the feeder creek runs through the property and makes for a tough out of bounds on a few of the holes. Well marked fairways and enough open shots to keep you interested in what is around the corner.
What looks easy is really tough. You don't need a big arm here but you have to have accuracy. If you can throw straight for 300 feet then you will love this place. #3 using the long pro tee is a true par 5 with lots of OB and a dangerous green with that creek within spittin' distance.
#14 and #15 are up around those cool rock formations.
#16 is a great downhill with a slight right turn. #17 is my favorite hole here. Straight across a very deep revine. If the disc fades, you are going to end up way way left. And getting back up that hill on the other side is tough.
Cons: Uneven tees. They really need some concrete teepads. The mowing wasn't done when we were there and that made it tough on a couple of holes. The road can be hard to find but if you use the directions posted here on DGCR you shouldn't have any trouble finding it.
Other Thoughts: Brand new Disccatchers and throwing up and over boulders at them is really fun.
This is a fun course but it will beat you up. We played two rounds and all three of us were dog tired. Be prepared for some sore muscles.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Still Recovering

1    9/10/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.7 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course has some of the most memorable and unique holes I have ever played. Topo plays a major part in this course. It is beautiful and isolated. I was all alone the day I played and had a very enjoyable outing.
Cons: The topo plays a bit too much of a factor on quite a number of the holes. Almost too difficult to walk for these 59 year old legs.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

2-4    11/2/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This pro caliber course awaiting refinement is unlike any you'll find in western KY, and perhaps elsewhere. Every aspect of your game will be challenged with water, obstacle, elevation and some distance. Technically, mentally and physically challenging it demands stamina, course management and most types of throws. Seemingly short the elevations (some extreme) and pin placements are well considered but will duly punish errant throws or wayward putts; excellent risk/reward. The first 3-5 holes down in the "holler" along the big creek with sheer banks and around the pond are a great start before heading up the hill to the big rocks and more unique shots; picturesque throughout.
Cons: Refinements are needed: concrete pads and better baskets would be a vast improvement. While I appreciate at-the-tee hole descriptions / shot suggestion and the signs were clear, smaller, constistent and more professional signage would be a plus. The few adjacent fairways demarcated with rope and serving as OB detract from it, I think. Throws into these areas likely result in a stroke anyhow and serve only to define fairways which are apparent.
Other Thoughts: Whether pro or con this course is not beginner friendly. One's drives, seconds (thirds too) and putts are most important on every hole; one should be practiced. Fitness is important as well since errant throws will find you hillclimbing and expending more energy.
Howie did a great job with the layout and I had the pleasure of losing a round of doubles (1 stroke) to him and buddy of mine; good to see a designer fly his own course. Likewise Flynn and Cooper were a delight.
Play this course, you won't regret it.
Pay to play it'll only get better.
If you pay to play, play all day.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.