Brownsville, KY
Holler In The Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  As good as it gets.

5+    4/21/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: weraider30
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: every shot in the book, awesome scenery. played 30+ times, and it will never get old. even if you don't like disc golf, its hard not to like this place. Lovely elevated pin positions on 1 and 18. all positions require strategic positioned shots. best 3 finishing holes around 200 miles. thank goodness for Glenn being willing to climb in the water at anytime to retrieve discs. creek is awesome, pond is stocked with fish, camping available...the list goes on and on...championship level caliber.
Cons: none, keep doing what you're doing
Other Thoughts: completely perfect, disc golf paradise

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme, challenging, fun!

1    4/3/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holler is fantastic course, especially when you consider it is private and maintained by one man. This is the most inviting private course I have played. There is a parking area and kiosk loaded with information- the full color hole by hole course guides that are free to borrow for your round were a luxury that I have never seen on any type of golf course (disc, ball, mini, etc.) and were especially handy for my first time. And if that is not enough, check his website- you can see Howie loves disc golf and loves his course and loves to have people come and play it. Now on to the course…

From the very first hole you know this course is going to special and unique. When you finish your jaw will be tired of dropping, your legs will be tired from hiking, your brain will be tired from being challenged, and yet you will have loved every second and want to play it again!!! Every hole on this course is different from the other 17. You start out at the bottom, fairly flat, along the creek with beautiful grass fairways. Then you play around some of the unique man-made things like the barn, pond, and school bus. Then the back 9 starts to get real serious as you slowly ascend up the mountain. There are some spectacular views once you reach the top. After hole 15 you look back towards the bottom where you started and you have 2 insane holes to get you down!

Every hole is well-designed and fair. Because of the extreme setting of this course a little luck will come into play, but over the course of 18 holes, the better player on that day will be rewarded, will rise to the top, and will win.
Cons: Just the standards of 1) lack of concrete tees and 2) lack of 100% top of the line model baskets. The tees he has are just fine and the baskets are currently in the process of being upgraded.

Because of the difficulty of the course along with the terrain, this is not a very beginner or family friendly course. If you are not in great shape that has the potential to be a factor in you game and in your enjoyment. I could also see that during soggy conditions some of the walks could be treacherous, so use caution and good judgment.

There is a good chance you will lose a disc on this course. I played in early Spring just before everything bloomed, but I can tell by the pictures that the rough on this course in the summer will get thick and tough.

Hole 18 is one of the weaker holes on the course. It is one of those perfect for emptying your bag on the tee trying for an ace, but after playing holes 16 and 17, it just doesn't compare. Rounds will be won or lost on 17, not 18. It is always a bonus for a course to have a great finishing hole, but now I am just being picky!!!
Other Thoughts: It would get expensive to play here everyday if I lived closer, but the $5/person fee is well worth it. It is evident as you read the progression of reviews on this site, since the course opened the money has been put to good use to maintain/improve the course. About half of the baskets have been upgraded now.

If you are a serious disc golfer then you need to play Holler in the Hills. Bring good shoes or even hiking boots. Allow more time than normal to play this 18 hole course as well.

This is a top-notch, pro-caliber course with the potential for a 5.0 rating in the future as more work is done to it, as it matures, and as more people come and play it.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!!!

5+    12/8/2009   4/8/2010
Review By: jcm566
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course! Holler in the Hills has some of the most memerable holes I've ever played. From the first tee you can tell you are in for an experience. Most of the holes are reachable with the exception of the tough #3, but don't expect a bunch of gimmie 2s. You have to work for every shot. All holes have well defined fairways with brutal rough if you stray from them. The finishing holes are epic. Nice new Disccatchers are on 2/3 of the holes. It is obvious that a lot of time, dedication, and hard work has been put into this gem. You're the man Howie!
Cons: Not very friendly to leftys
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking boots!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Like Heaven...words can't even begin...

1    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes near water, holes across ravines, holes into the huge faces of outcropped rocks (#15), heck, even holes/tee on TOP of rocks! And as crazy as the endless supply of tree's is, my group didn't lose a single disc until we were throwing a bunch off the tee of 18 for kicks and giggles; and managed to overly hyzer one into the properties pond. };'( If you like 'technical' shots; and playing with strategy, this is absolutely the course for you. If you prefer perfectly manicured courses with very little, or zero rough for a walk-in-the-park round of DG, this is NOT for you. Unlike most so-called 5 star courses, this one actually has many staircases to assist with some of the more inclined area's (although not all; & you'll see why when you play here); and although the pad's are generally rubber, they are almost all enclosed with a wooden frame; and spiked into the groud; so there is very little 'play' underneath them. To those who go out of their way to play here, I salute you; and be assured that you will not have your expectations unmet!
Cons: There were a couple of places (around the pond for example) where the banks were rather mushy. On holes 16 & 17, it would be mighty nice to have a knotted rope with which to hold on to while going down, down, down after your tee shot (although that would take one heck of a long section of rope!). A sign at the driveway's entrance would help immensely for 1st timer's as it's just a gravel driveway off of asphalted roads.
Other Thoughts: I'm doing the 'other thoughts' section first; simply to explain the 'why' I am listing this course as a five instead of a 4.5. I have played everywhere from The 'Turkeynator' near Orlando Florida to Beaver Island State Park a few miles from Niagara Falls, to tiny towns in Iowa, to the renowned Idlewild near Cincinnati; and none of these course have a run of holes like the back 9 at this course...for that fact, not even close. This course was established in 2009...by one man...and for that amount of lone effort, this course is comensurately immaculate! Idlewild, et all have armies of people taking care of them; so any 'cons' listed about the shape of the pads, or the occasionally tied off piece of garden hose as a boundary, need to be taken in this context. Furthermore, it has been verified that the owner/creater of this course is taking every dime donated by those playing the course ($5 a day) to making the course even better. Now, on to the pro's & con's...

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A private Beauty

2-4    10/25/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 78  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a beauty and when you consider that this is the work of one man on his farm it's even more amazing. Very scenic area and the course has a bit of everything : Trees (plenty of them), Elevation changes, Water hazards, placement shots and some unique pin placements.

This place offers a few of the more memorable holes I have ever played.
#3 - Longest (700+) hole on the course but the distance isn't the killer. Tee off in a chute with trees on the right and trying to power over a treeline 350' in front of you or place the shot in the 25' wide gap. From the gap you have 350+' back into some scatter trees to a basket near a 20' drop off to a creek that runs the length of the hole on the right. A 4 on this hole and you are happy - A 5 isn't terrible.
#12 - Uphill tee shot with trees on both sides of a narrow fairway with a low ceiling. Basket perched on the left side atop a boulder. Gorgeous view looking back from the basket.
#15 - hard right turn through the trees to a basket tucked in front of a rock face. One of my favorite holes.
#16 - Tough 350' downhill hole that plays much shorter. Tough fairway with mature trees lining both sides and a basket just short of a drop off that will lead to a nasty roll(could by 150+' over the hill) if you go long. Better play this one safe!
#17 - The beauty of the course - 300' Tee to Basket with a ravine that drops 100' between them. Huge mature trees line both sides and you don't want to go off path prior to getting to the bottom of the ravine.
There are other nice holes but these stand out (in my opinion).

Tremendous challenge that demands a variety of shots be used. This place will teach you when to play safe or how to add large numbers - Your choice.
Cons: These are not really cons but just points to remember:

Parking can be an issue for tournaments so CarPool.

Be aware of safety! There are lots of rocks,boulders, hills,... and it can get slick. Go slow and pay attention.
Other Thoughts: People have mentioned the fly pads but I never had trouble with them. I have slipped more and felt more uneasy on some concrete pads I have played.

This place is not a "walk in the park", It's a workout so take something to drink and watch your footing. A couple rounds here in a day and you will get your exercise - especially if you add a couple errant throws on the mountain.

Great course and a great guy put it together - always a pleasure to get down there - Wish it was closer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Overlooked Jewel

2-4    9/19/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: aceputt
Played: 100  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2011
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first thing I noticed was the amount of effort that went in to create this course.It is obvious that a lot of planning and sweat was invested to make this course a fun and challenging round of DG. A good combination of shots that require control and good mental attitude to maintain your score. Well worth the trip.
Cons: Some of the teepads were a little less than perfect, but no real distraction. I have hit it when the grass needed cutting, but it is a private course and for a guy that also has a job, it is sometimes hard to get everything done,however it doesn't stay that way long. Howie does a great job keeping it playable.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a unique Disc Golf course that is truly a labor of love, you need to visit Hollow in the Hills. You won't regret it.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

2-4    11/2/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 88  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 24.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This pro caliber course awaiting refinement is unlike any you'll find in western KY, and perhaps elsewhere. Every aspect of your game will be challenged with water, obstacle, elevation and some distance. Technically, mentally and physically challenging it demands stamina, course management and most types of throws. Seemingly short the elevations (some extreme) and pin placements are well considered but will duly punish errant throws or wayward putts; excellent risk/reward. The first 3-5 holes down in the "holler" along the big creek with sheer banks and around the pond are a great start before heading up the hill to the big rocks and more unique shots; picturesque throughout.
Cons: Refinements are needed: concrete pads and better baskets would be a vast improvement. While I appreciate at-the-tee hole descriptions / shot suggestion and the signs were clear, smaller, constistent and more professional signage would be a plus. The few adjacent fairways demarcated with rope and serving as OB detract from it, I think. Throws into these areas likely result in a stroke anyhow and serve only to define fairways which are apparent.
Other Thoughts: Whether pro or con this course is not beginner friendly. One's drives, seconds (thirds too) and putts are most important on every hole; one should be practiced. Fitness is important as well since errant throws will find you hillclimbing and expending more energy.
Howie did a great job with the layout and I had the pleasure of losing a round of doubles (1 stroke) to him and buddy of mine; good to see a designer fly his own course. Likewise Flynn and Cooper were a delight.
Play this course, you won't regret it.
Pay to play it'll only get better.
If you pay to play, play all day.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  The Hidden Gem of Kentucky!

2-4    10/25/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: JDinBG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holler in the Hills is simply phenomenal. At first glance upon entering the course you will probably say to yourself, "There's no way you could put a course here," but oh are you wrong. HitH's offers an amazing variety of shots ranging from short and technical, to flat out drives, all on some amazing terrain that will really give you a workout. Howie Baird, owner/designer of the course has spent quite some time making this an absolutely terrific course. His use of the hills, woods, creeks, ponds, elevation, and even boulders make this course a challenge for any player, even the 1000+ rated pros. You will definitely receive a workout on this course.
Cons: The baskets are the cheap little In Step's you get on eBay for like $60, and I dont necessarily care for the rubber fly pads, but the course is still new and with proper funding Howie will probably upgrade the baskets and possibly the teepads.
Other Thoughts: Holler in the Hills is the hidden gem of Kentucky. It can be slightly difficult to find, but once you do you are rewarded with one of the most amazing courses you will ever play. You will work hard just to get a par. I hope to continue playing this course for many many years! Thanks Howie!!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place

1    10/3/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: tacoma38
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.1 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Great Course! Lots high risk high reward shots here.Lots of different kinda holes!! One of the best courses in the state!!!
Cons: Kinda hard to find!But really worth the trouble getting here!! Needs better baskets!!
Other Thoughts: Will play again..And you gotta love the dog.copper..he works for treats .the course is worth playin just to see the dog guide you around the course.hes never wrong!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Heaven

2-4    9/3/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: kirvin2
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2010
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is off the beaten path in a very scenic part of Kentucky. Located just outside of Mammoth Cave National Park and situated where a ravine opens up on the side of a deep valley of a creek, it is literally in a hollow or 'holler' and way up one side of the valley. The grounds are well maintained and the owner and his staff are very helpful and friendly. This course is on private land so you don't get the kind of foot traffic you get in a public park. For the most part you can play a round with little distractions at all.

The course has a very creative layout. The holes are generally not very long, but very technical with plenty of Risk/Reward and proper to stiff punishment for making bad throws. Even the longest hole #3 requires more finesse than power. There is a great deal of elevation changes, fairways that border a creek. A good shot across a pond, that isn't so dangerous that it intimidates you to play it safe. Most fairways are tight. A few fairways are surrounded by O.B. zones. There is a good mix of open and wooded fairways. There are baskets on top of boulders and on the edge of drop offs. There is even a hole where the tee is on a boulder and the basket is on another boulder. There's an alternate tee, but you've just got to throw from the boulder. Although this course is very technical, there are amateur tees in-place making some of the riskier holes more beginner friendly. Most of the tees are rubber which I found to be very natural feeling and comfortable under my feet. There are plenty of signs with course info and directions to the next tee and even score cards for your use.
Update: Baskets have been upgraded and placements have been tweaked. Some baskets are now elevated as well.
Cons: I can't think of many cons about this course. What some may consider cons, I consider to be unique attributes. The terrain is very rugged and some people with back or knee problems may find it to be difficult. Some of the hillsides could get treacherous when wet. There are steps in place on some of the steeper climbs. If your shot goes off course, you can easily loose your disc. The baskets are the lighter duty portable type. Most of the baskets have single chains, which have a greater tendency for bounce-outs or blow-throughs, but every body plays with the same baskets. The owner says he will be upgrading the course equipment as funds become available. Update: Baskets have been upgraded to Discatcher Pros and some many pin placements have been tweeked a bit and some baskets are now elevated.
Other Thoughts: I mentioned that the owner and his "staff " were very helpful and friendly. I need to explain this. We were preparing to tee off on a hole near the top of the hill and along comes a younger guy carrying a single disc. I never expected to see a lone golfer with one disc on a private course like this, but I asked him if he wanted to play through. He then held up the disc and asked us which one of us lost it in the creek. This young man waded up to his shoulders in a creek to retrieve my friends disc on a day with highs in the mid 60s and hiked up that steep hillside to return it. He explained that it was part of his job. I couldn't believe it. That is just flat out awesome!

The other member of the "staff" that we met is named Cooper. Cooper is the course guide dog. He is the coolest dog on the planet. He looks to be a cross between a Jack Russell Terrier and a Benji dog. He caught up with us on hole three of our first round and hung with us all day. He caught us a mole to show us he was working for us. He knows the flow of the course and will lead you to the next tee. He will sometimes find your disc for you. Once I had to back-track the previous hole, looking for my pencil and Cooper came to get me, because the other guys were waiting on me. This little guy works for treats, he prefers meat, but will eat chips or peanuts if that's all you've got.

This course should be on every disc golfer's wish list. I gave this course a 4.5 out of 5 because the baskets could be nicer, but it's not really a problem. Other than that, I thought I had died and gone to "Disc Golf Heaven". I wish I lived closer.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.