Disc Golf Store
Brownsville, KY
Holler In The Hills Share
Uploaded By: tamahawk Hole #12
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Course is good...but not that good

1    7/6/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: Lead pipe
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: For being on private property the course is very well maintained. Pin placements on top of the rocks are wonderful!!! The guy who owns this course did a great job with the property that he had to work with. Hole 3 provides the most difficult challenge on the course and could easily eat your lunch. Some of the holes are beautiful for sure... Different from anything I've ever played.
Cons: Starts good and then has a weird flow. The walk is tough but you are in the hills.... Some tee boxes are a little crazy, but shouldn't be a hill for a stepper.
Other Thoughts: I think the course is over rated. My cousin and I were driving from the am world championships when we played the course. The day before we played Idlewild which is truly a five star course. We drove here to play because of the ratings people had given and would have to say that it is more than just a half star off of a five star rating sooooooo... 3.5..... Yeah, Peace

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding

2-4    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 71  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A wide variety of beautiful, memorable holes.
The first three holes run alongside a creek. Hole 5 plays over a pond. Hole 9 is an extreme uphill shot that has no mercy on either side. Hole 12 goes up a hill with a couple of well placed tree. When you get to the top, you have to putt onto a boulder. Hole 14 is another boulder hole. You tee off from a boulder onto another boulder. Hole 15 is a sharp left to right hole with the basket nestled against a large limestone bluff. This is an absolutely beautiful and challenging hole. Hole 16 is a huge down hill throw with the basket just a bit to the right.
-Extremely friendly property owners that go way out of their way to make sure things go right. Glen is extremely helpful and pulled quite a few discs out of the water for us. If he pulls one out for you, make sure you tip him. He deserves it!
Cons: Some of the teepads leave a bit to be desired, but this course is ran by an individual and not a parks department. The amount of work that has gone into this course is amazing.
Other Thoughts: We played two rounds. First round from the Ams and second from the Pros. If you haven't played this course, it is an absolute must.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Still Recovering

1    9/10/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course has some of the most memorable and unique holes I have ever played. Topo plays a major part in this course. It is beautiful and isolated. I was all alone the day I played and had a very enjoyable outing.
Cons: The topo plays a bit too much of a factor on quite a number of the holes. Almost too difficult to walk for these 59 year old legs.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Giddy

1    5/29/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Fred Salaz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I drove 7 hours to get here just so I could get a round in before the "Holler in the Hills" tournament. It was worth the drive. It has the fun factor that Idlewild doesn't for some people. Hole #14, 15, 17 are memorable holes. Teeing off on a huge rock to another huge rock was fun and unique. The tee pad was even concreted in. Howie has done a great job with this place and you can see that if you get a chance to play it. I've been around a long time and I really felt giddy when I drove up to the parking lot to play this course. IT did not disappoint. It was fun, even dave 243 would like it.
Cons: #3 could use a better landing area off the tee. It's not enough of a deterrent to change my rating. I'm just saying.
Other Thoughts: Howie, keep up the great work.
Sorry for the short review but I wrote a longer one and lost it because I took too long and didn't realize it and lost it.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Around BG

5+    3/27/2011   7/5/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 218  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to start? The general layout of the course uses seemingly every inch of Howie's land and it doesn't disappoint. Subtle to extreme elevation changes can be encountered on every hole. The baskets are strategically placed for high risk/reward putting situations. The fairways are well defined with several groves of trees that must be gone through or around making you concentrate on every shot. Out of bounds are well defined and listed on almost every tee sign. Each tee sign provides a description of the hole, which is very helpful, as quite a few of the baskets are hidden. There are several wooden stair cases throughout the course that help traversing the elevation. Also spread around are steps cut in the hillside and a few benches on which to rest. Playing this course required me personally to use almost every type of shot in my arsenal to shoot well.

For anyone contemplating skipping this course to only go play in Bowling Green, DON'T and be sure to make a stop at Holler. Five dollars isn't much considering its all going back into the course. Having grown up in Bowling Green, I know all those courses inside and out and Holler In The Hills provides a better test than any of them.
Cons: The teepads on several of the holes are narrow and do not provide the space for a huge run up. This can be circumvented by utilizing more technical drives off the tee. There are several spots where stairs, a hand rail, or a rope to hang onto could be helpful in going up or down the hills. These safety devices will be installed in the near future but beware, especially if it is wet out.
Other Thoughts: There's a little dog that lives on the property and will gladly accompany your group throughout the round. He won't attempt to run off with your disc but he likes to try to catch them when you throw off the tee. It helps to have an extra person there to distraction him for a moment. Like I said earlier, the cost of playing goes directly back into the course and it will only get better with time and more players going through it. If you are unlucky enough to lose your disc in the water, be sure to have your name and phone number on it. All found discs with name/number on them will be called to be returned and listed on the course website lost-and-found. Be sure to sign a waiver and follow the few rules out at Holler so this course can stay open to the public without restrictions.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    4/11/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: PA Frolfer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/21/2010
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course that really reminds me of a combination of a lot of different courses. The elevation is awesome, as is the views and hikes through the woods. While some people would complain that the course is private, I think that adds to the unique nature of the setup. Private courses are becoming more popular and this is a great addition to the community. This course is truly more of a fun course than a challenging course, however, but I wouldn't call the course easy. The course offers a unique layout and design and truly is a very memorable and fun experience.
Cons: Right up front, I will just say that this course is somewhat dangerous. It was also very wet when I played the course and it seems that holes 2 and 3 have fairways that are no more. Uniform baskets would be nice but I can't complain too much. While the course was fun, I didn't find the course that challenging. However, that shouldn't be the only reason people rate a course and that's why I rated the course "excellent."

EDIT: After speaking with the owner I stand corrected on the baskets. The baskets are now uniform at the course and holes 2 and 3 have grown back after the mud situation. With that in mind I have upped my rating to 4.5.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is a lot of fun and the owner is truly awesome for bringing this property to the public. While it's not as epic as some of the longer courses in the nation, it certainly offers a fun experience. The course offers a fun experience while still challenging the good disc golfer.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course Around

2-4    6/8/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: iverson1990
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is flat out awesome!!! Right when you step down the flight of staris onto 1 tee pad you instantly know this course is something special. Hole 1 is a straight foward hole with far right shots rolling down to the creek. Hole 2 has pro/am tee and is a tricky tee shot from the pro tees but not so much from the am tees unless u spray it right into the creek. Hole 3 is one of the tricky holes on the course, starts off with a pretty difficult drive from either pro or am tee, then only gets harder from there. apporach shots are key to this hole, be very accurate or u will hit trees on left or creek on right. Hole 4 is a easy par hole with a good drive is definately a hole for a birdie. Hole 5 (pro/am tee) is also a neat hole with a pond in play short of basket and is easy birdie hole, just watch out shooting back at the pond if u go long on your drive. Hole 6 (pro/am tee) is a very unique hole, with an old school bus on left and a shed on right, accuracy is key. Hole 7 is a straight medium distance hole, easy par hole and a 350+ drive can make a birdie unless u drive left into o.b. Hole 8 (pro/am tee) mando hole. Hole 9 is a diffult hole to drive with a steep up hill throw and once at the top of the hill the basket is sitting on a rock so dont go long bc you will end up with a steep putt. Hole 10 is a straight drive and a slight left at the end. Hole 11 is a straight elevated drive with basket to the left once at top of the hill. Hole 12 is as well straight up the hill with basket on top of bolder, Great Basket location! Hole 13 is a narrow fairway dog leg left. Hole 14 (optional tee on bolder) is awesome, I love throwing from the elevated tee to a basket on top of a bolder...friend actually aced this hole. Hole 15 is my personal favorite hole, dog leg right, with basket caddy cornered into 50 foot cliff walls, its awesome. Here comes probably the toughest finishing holes in disc golf personally 16 17 18. Hole 16 is straight down hill with a narrow path to the basket, stay away from going long/left of basket or you will be climbing down into a valley. Hole 17 is a very difficult hole with it going straight down hill then straight back up, accuracy and always a little bit of tree love with help you finish this hole. Hole 18 (pro/am tee) is straight down hill, dont throw short and left or you will go in pond, and easy to throw long as well.
I absolutely love taking a little 30 minute drive from bowling green to play this course. The most challenging and yet very fun course to play. You will get everything at Holler, to evevated tees, bakets, up hill down hiss shots, water hazards, wooded holes, open holes, mandos, and man made objects. Holler in the Hills is the best course in Kentucky!
Cons: I say that there really are no cons to this course, but there is always need for imporvemnt at any course in the nation. Course does get muddy when there has been rain previously. Unfortunately the flood has washed away most of holes 2 and 3 fairways grass but it will come back. And as any other wooded course there are bugs so good insect repellant is always handy for your disc golf bag. And this course is not very beginner friendly so dont bring your buddys who arent the best golfers, unless they just want to tag along for some great exercise!
Other Thoughts: Howie, great course! Keep up the Great work, and good luck to anyone who wants to play Holler In The Hills.
Green Fee - well worth it!

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Anything You Want...You Got It!

1    4/3/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Howie...This place is awesome and he is an asset to the disc golf community. The things that he has been able to accomplish with this land are amazing.

2) Well designed layout, throughly challenging and fair...At least 9 of the holes on this course would be signature holes at a regular course. I could sit here and rattle them off but there have been so many reviews that this would be futile. Plus, you need to see them for yourself.

3) Views...On the back 9 ( Icannot remember which hole exactly) but the uphill drive takes you to a landing area. The pin is perched on the top of a boulder/bluff. When you get on top of the boulder, the trees open up and you have one of the most gorgeous views you could ever hope to see. There are other spots, but on this particular hole, I just wanted to stop and stay for a while.

4) Water hazards...holes 2 and 3 play along the creek at the bottom of the "Holler". The water is serene and makes you think carefully about your shots as it is about 8 feet below the ground level. There is also a pond to throw over on either hole 5 or 6. It is reachable by the average player, but it does make you think.

5) Elevation...Come prepared for a workout. The hike is really intense. The only true flat holes are the first few at the bottom of the valley. You proceed to make your way up to the top of the ridge. Hole 16 and 18 are wonderful down hill shots. 17, while it has little elevation change regarding your throw is intimidating as you throw over a deep, deep valley containing a small run-off which empties into the creek.

6) Varying distances....There is plenty of length here to challenge the best players. there are also holes that are reachable for novices like myself, but would also challenge the midrange prowess of pro-caliber players.

7) Pin Placements...As I alluded to before, there are a number of baskets that have the pin situated on an out-cropping of rock. Risk/reward putts abound and landing zones for approaches become very important. One pin is tucked into a small cove in the rocks.
Cons: 1) Safety...You have to sign a waiver for a reason. I am not writing this as a con to scare anyone away, but you need to be in solid physical condition to make this hike. A few more stairs in certain places would be helpful, but I am sure Howie will take care of that as money comes in.

2) Uniform baskets...I know Howie is in the process of this as we could see some of the old portable ones by the garage that he had recently replaced.

Other Thoughts: This is a pilgrimmage course in my opinion. People play the courses in Bowling Green a lot. If you decide you want to hit Bowling Green and you miss stopping by Holler in the Hills, you have made a grievous mistake. Sure, it requires a fee to play, but you can see the funds being used in the course. I can't thank Howie enough for letting us stop by and for sharing this treasure of disc golf with us. I didn't get to meet him as he was playing a tournament, but I hope to meet him one day.

Some more basic information about the course: There is a dog onsite and he is friendly. He likes to chase discs, but he never picked any of ours up, so it didn't matter to me. Hole #1 is a nice little hole, but nothing special. Don't get discouraged because Hole 2 is my favorite teepad view of a hole that I have ever seen. I will take it over ANY top-of-the-world hole. You are throwing from under a slight canopy with the run-off directly in front of you and the creek directly on your right. Just across the run-off is a beautiful tree with a low hanging limb about 8 or 9 feet off the ground which you must throw under and out into the fairway that runs entirely along the creek. The pin is set back to the right about 6 feet from the creek. Awesome hole. Hole 18 is a short, deceptive downhill shot to an elevated pin. It is easy to over shoot this hole.

Bottom line is that this course is a must play...at any time. I struggled with giving this course a 4.5 because I loved it so much. Once the baskets are uniform, which should be soon, this is definitely a 5.0. This is not an "if you are in the area" course...make plans to get here if you can. It is worth the time and effort to get a round in here.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 A must for any traveling disc golfer....

2-4    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.9 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What a course! This course just shot all the rest down a notch or two. Before Playing here Idlewild would have been the top course....this is 2 times better. This is the complete package. It has Elevation changes, severe, to slight, long holes, short holes, wooded holes, open holes, elevated pin placements, elevated tees, OB's, mandos, and water shots. It is hands down the most complete course I have ever seen and it accomplishes all of this while still keeping the natural beauty of the land. It is one of the most well manicured courses out there. This has the potential to hold an NT sometime in the future. A must play course for any disc golfer!
Cons: One heck of a walk but worth every minute of it.
Other Thoughts: I'll make sure to come back to this course over and over! Most defiantly the funnest and most challenging course I have ever played!

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Still picking my chin off the ground

2-4    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 85  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -The basket and teepads and in great conditition. While the tees are not concrete they provide great footing and are easier on the joints.
-The hollow the course starts off with a couple of duece runs, then hole three is legit par four hole with a tricky watery pin. Holes four and seven are long annys into procteded greens. Hole five is the pond shot, this is a great ace run from either pad I hole you would want to empty the bag on. Hole 6 is a Hyzer hole bewteen a school bus and a barn. Hole Eight has a mando to keep you out of seven's fariway.
-The hills Right away on hole nine you get the great elevation, while this shot is not of great distance the angle and hill make it very scary. The way Howie brings you up the hill is great with a variety of shots you gradually work yourself up. Holes 10 and 13 have awesome hyzer fairways through mature trees. Holes 12,14 and 15 have awesome pin placements around rock boulders. Hole 17 is a instant favorite hole up and down a huge ravine, this hole could make or break you round.
-The greens are what sets this course apart from the rest of the pack. Holes 1 and 18 have man made elevated pins, these are the good kind of man made were the pin is elevated by a skinny stack of rocks and not a small mound of dirt that force unfair rollaways. The water greens on two three and five will make am players opt for laying up when shooting the wrong direction at the pin. Laying up when on the wrong side of 9 and 11 make the drive not about getting there but getting to the sweet part of the green so the duece shot want float off a ten foot drop. The two boulder holes are insane the elevation change on 12 is the best up hill I have played. The boulders and rock wall protect 15 green but seems like a drive could bounce right off said wall into the basket.
-Private the owner and his son were very friendly and helpfull, his son got three of the four disc we threw in the water back. I could really get into the private course thing no causals getting in the way and not waiting on a single tee pad always makes for a relaxing round. You can see the money the get from the greens fee is going right back into the course.
-The signs are the best I written descriptions set them above any map the time and effort put into making sure you understand where huge dropoffs are is so nice.
Cons: -Hole's 7 and 8 are kinda close but the mando is well placed I just want people to know that these two fairways run parrell and the mando is there for safety.
- There are some things all courses have like bugs it was muddy cause we played the day after a huge storm the night before. Little things that every course is gonna have. That being said for the amount of rain they got the night before the hollow was soggy but the hills were fine had grass thoughout the fairways to keep good traction.
Other Thoughts: Holes 12 and 17 are worth the trip by themselves, Howie couldnt of done a better job putting in the course. The flow and variety of shots is very apleasing to the players who like variety. The detail that has been put in the course is insane and I only see it getting better. Can't wait to get back! Hole 17 is gonna haunt my dreams.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.