Rock Springs, WY
Rock Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 285ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rocks, Winds, and Mandos

1    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great playground, shelter, benches, bathrooms, garbages, parking etc. And by great I mean brand new and awesome. A lot of money went into this course.
-Great signage, never any wondering which basket to throw at even though the park is small and you can see all the baskets all the time.
-Good use of elevation, this is needed on this course.
-Nice quality baskets
-Cement tees, plenty big enough for the distance you have to throw here.
-Great flow, never any concern about where to go next.
-Course probably isn't overly busy ever.
-No chance to lose a disc
-Mandos provide some challenge to an otherwise pretty easy course.
-Ace runs galore on a non windy day
Cons: -Rocks can eat up your discs.
-Wyoming is very windy. It was 45+ the day I played and my beefy champ gator became reasonably understable. Putting was a nightmare.
-Course is fairly short and not a lot of variation in distance.
-Deer or antelope poo all over, not as bad as the park in Rawlins
-The curse of this course is the available land. It is small, rocky, and there literally isn't a tree on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course was hard to define on the number scale. It is open, fairly easy, rocky, yet pretty fun and obviously very well cared for at the same time. A lot of time, money, and care went into this course. It was fun and very unique. I had fun even though it was so windy that I had to throw my champ gator on every hole and keep it very low. I would recommend this course. It is the only course for an hour plus in any direction and it is unique. You will enjoy all the little touches they put in and the quality of the design. Great job to whoever put this course in and put the work into it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Suprise

1    12/10/2011   12/11/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative design on an very small piece of ground, yet i can't think of any spot where you would really be in the way of another group, Kudos to the planners and city for even having a course. Everything is thoughtful and first class (rock benches, signs, tee pads, etc). Ace runs abound, great view from #2 tee. Nothing over 300 feet here, and a couple of holes are under 200' (#1,2,and maybe one more), Mandos on 4 and 7 make the course more challenging by challenging you to throw through a couple of column "gates". Nice job using the moderate terrain changes so you get some up and downhill shots (#3down, #8 back up the hill), Perfect course to play 9 if you are heading through on I-80. I rated this a 3.0 because the definition is "good". This course is good for what it is, a 9-hole community course that is among the best that i've seen yet. It isn't Phantom Falls, but it isn't trying to be.
Cons: Short course, which is either a pro or con depending on your POV. If it weren't for the first class touches and thoughtful layout, this park would be a 1.5 or 2 at best. Open course probably subject to nasty Wyoming winds, but there aren't any true places where you can lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Wear hiking boots or trail runners. After the snow had melted, the dirt/clay clung moderately to my feet. Rocky, sharp terrain also.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/29/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A sloping course in a natural Wyoming setting. The out of bounds markers and pylons (made to "dogleg" around and between) provide a little challenge to this otherwise beginner level course. Good signs, new equipment.
Cons: Very short, small area. Not much distance. The tees are dirt, and can be a little slippery, but again, you really don't need much distance on most holes.
Other Thoughts: Not terribly threatening, and kind of unique. The pylons were a new challenge for me, and one I think more of these lightly wooded/open courses should try. Worth the stop if you're passing through the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rock Springs Rocks

1    6/5/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a ton of money put into this course, all of the dovetails are lovely and complete. For example, almost every hole has three large quality sitting rocks that blend into the scenery. The quality doesn't stop there, there are nice five foot tall wooden posts that house the fairway maps with distances labeled on them, on each hole. The terrain is a rugged Wyoming hillside with wind and the strong smell of sage with the occasional cactus in the sand. As a result, there are no trees on the course; this situation is overcome by a series of large mandatory posts strategically placed throughout the course for added challenge. Even though the tee box is dirt, there are still very well constructed with by placing a rectangle of railroad tie into the ground. They make really fun use of a hillside. Anyone who has ever taken a geology class will find this place very interesting.

It is in a natural setting, which I love, it is not a run of the mill park course. It still has all the amenities that a brand new multi-million dollar park would have, including parking, restrooms, and a place for the little one to play while you go and throw. There's even an amazingly well groomed trail that takes you through the quick little course. It is a very unique course, unlike any of the others I have played. The course is very easy to get to; it's less than a half a mile from the interstate exit.
Cons: It's short, and full of ace runs. Honestly the course would be a 1 and but the builders and designers of this course were able to put in a lot of money and it shows. All of the little touches are classy. The course is very rocky and will eat up gummy plastic very easily. There is no shade. A few locals lamented that the course resides on what used to be a "killer bmx course." Oh well, I like it better this way.
Other Thoughts: The funny thing about this course is that it is not on one of the pieces of land that we daydream about putting in a course on. Its neat to see what money can do for a course and a plain piece of land. If these quality course touches, like the sitting rocks, were at every course there would not be any bad courses. Play Wyoming's newest course while it still has that new car smell! It might just be the best nine hole course on I-80.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.