Ypsilanti, MI 
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #E (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
I wish more courses were like this

1    7/9/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: PuttPuttPutt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only way you lose a disc is if you forget - Better mowed than most courses - Chainstar baskets - layout allows for quality & expedient practice - The Throw Shop raises this to 4.5.
Cons: Could be seen as repetitive in distances - a few people may have trouble negotiating the course smoothly, should they miss the blue&white basket markings.
Other Thoughts: Free - located inside Lakeshore Apartments - be sure to check-in at the gate before entering the course - I believe there is a maintenance fund, worth contributing to, inside the Throw Shop.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The only course like it!

5+    8/2/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The #1 disc golf shop in Michigan, The Throw Shop.
Extremely simple but extremely diverse, multiple routes available from a lot of tees.
Ability to practice all kinds of throws without the anxious feeling of loosing a disc.
Pro and Am tees, to mix up the already 27 holes.
Windy - a plus and minus... you get to practice headwind and tailwind depending on what hole you're at.
Arrows under each basket pointing to next tee.
Cons: The grass tends to get long in the summer, used to be cut every 3 weeks.
Wish the baskets had numbers on them, multiple times I've seen people throwing at the wrong basket.
Windy - a plus and minus... you get to practice headwind and tailwind depending on what hole you're at.
No downhill or upshot holes.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I had played, at first many holes were daunting. Now that I have a feel for what I'm doing this is my goto course to practice different shots and lines.

You will NOT find a better course in the area to practice on.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Ponds is good, but not because it's a good course.

2-4    6/15/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + The Throw Shop (+++)
+ Lots of holes!
+ Good baskets and tees
+ Obvious effort to clarify the course layout (decent color coding)
+ Dry even when other courses are horrible
+ Great in the winter
+ Tee signs with distances
+ Not just a city park
+ Preserved "feel" of ball golf (open), but shortened
+ Free but with a gatekeeper (keep out the riff raff!)
Cons: - Pretty wide open, so challenge is minimal
- Without a good map (there isn't one), you'll probably get lost
- There are too many baskets (yes, it's possible!)
- More signage to identify every tee and basket, please
Other Thoughts: The Ponds is very good, but not because it's a great course. The Throw Shop is the main attraction!

The course itself is flat with only a few trees to worry about and there are no defined lines to hit, so you do get to concentrate on accuracy and distance. That aspect of disc golf on its own doesn't do much for me, though. The first time I played the course I felt like there was very little cohesiveness to the layout and I found navigation to be the most challenging and most annoying aspect of this course.

If you don't have a map, you're screwed, so heed this warning and take the map from DGCR. You'll have to pay attention a little more to the direction each tee is pointing to and use the distances on the tee signs. It shouldn't be this difficult, but on my first visit (in the winter when The Throw Shop was closed) we didn't have a map and at some point became bamboozled and just started throwing to whatever basket made sense at the time and walking around for a while. This was due to vandalism. I am very impressed that The Throw Shop owners continue to perfect and add to the course out of their own pockets. The local club that installed the course hasn't done anything to maintain or improve it.

Each basket has rad color-coded wooden arrows zip-tied to the bottom of baskets pointing you in the direction you might want to go in to find a certain tee (this inspired me to do something similar in a tourney I put on last month), but it's still a little difficult to know which tee and basket was which at a distance. The hardware and tee pads are perfect, but I suggest putting color identifiers and numbers directly on the tee pads with maybe an arrow pointing at the basket just to be safe.

Overall, I realize not every course is meant to be championship or tournament style. I don't think anyone ever said this course is supposed to be of that caliber, either. I identify The Ponds as both a practice course and a great beginner's course, with the best experience likely had if you have something new to throw or you're new to throwing. That's my take away point for you if you're reading this wondering about The Ponds. If you're going to the Throw Shop or really want to work on your throw (or both), then you really should play here and it's absolutely worth it.

Thank you for reading!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long Throw

2-4    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: rdblake01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course allows you to throw. It is long, especially from the blue tees. I am not a long thrower, but it allows me to work on technique without fear of hitting a tree with every errant attempt. There is plenty of signage, and every hole has a sign pointing to the next tee. Even the short holes challenge me, either for distance or the tree location.
Cons: There aren't many requirements for a forehand here. It is flat, with just a few trees to hit.There are not enough garbage cans around, and I have noticed a lot of mole holes and groundhog holes that you have to watch for or you can turn an ankle.
Other Thoughts: They used the few trees well to guard the approach on many of the holes. I love having a nice disc shop available before I play (the Throw Shop). It is in an apartment complex, and you have to show your ID to get in, but I have never had any issues here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Very Good Course, GREAT for GLOW

5+    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: OpposableThumbs
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since everyone has basically said all of the good things about this awesome course, I'll keep it brief + my 'unique' input:

***TOTALLY FREE

**** This course is money for Glow gisc! get there early, drop off some glowsticks in the baskets, and follow the arrows inside each basket to the next tee box.

** Open fairways and very little elevation make it SUPER EASY to find your glow disc, no matter where it ends up.

** Since its on an apartment complex, the "park gate" doesn't close at "dusk".. now, I've never been locked into a state/county park for being inside after 'closing time' but not having that to worry about it in the slightest is relaxing.

**Plays loonngg from the Blue tees, with several holes at 500+ and hole #2 at 990.

**White tees are significantly shorter, but virtually all tee shots feature some tree or other obstruction to challenge you. Truly amazing how they were able to utilize such little vegetation to such great effect.

**The Throw Shop is MECCA.
Cons: **You have to check in at the gate desk of the apartments.. Don't be a sketchball, just tell them your headed to the throw shop, or to play disc golf.. very minor inconvenience to play an awesome course for free!

**First timers beware, it can be a WEE LITTLE bit tricky getting from chains to teebox / teebox to chains, there are colored arrows inside of the baskets indicating next tee, and on a few holes you kinda have to make a common sense call as to which chains to throw to, all in all, one time thru and you'll get it.

** Holes 1,2, A & B can be a little bright (gas station across the street, street lights, traffic passing, stoplight) for Glow Disc, just get a good charge in and you'll be ok.
Other Thoughts: **LAST NIGHT, 11/24/12 a fellow discer was kind enough to give me 3 AAA batteries for my flashlight, he said he lost his Glo Z Buzzz (with a rad stamp on it, too!) and to keep an eye out for it.. I FOUND IT, DUDE! (if you happen to be out here) it is at the Throw Shop!

**Holes X1 and X2 looked really sweet, tight and wooded, the anti-thesis of what this course typically represented. Didn't play em for the first time in a glow round, though! [ hope they add some more in the woods... ;) ]

**Great place to play, day or night.

**Get some really good exercise! lots of good walking :)

**Again, I played a round last night w/ a buddy, around hole 9, a cat we named Chains started following us. Very friendly, would spot our discs for us and loved chasing our LED flashlights lol. Came to find out this cat was named Gary, and looked a lot like the cat they have in the Throw Shop..

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Long and simple

1    9/12/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Redmones12
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long holes a little technical has a lot of potential. It is an old ball golf course you can tell but really its nice you get to play a ball course style of discgolf, not a typical experience a lot of fun and good use of the property, took me a couple of plays to really love this course for what is it, its good not great but an exprience hard to find and they have a pro shop on site so win win.
Cons: Flat it is an old ball golf course. Also kinda hard to get to, feels getto, in a apartment complex a fence around the property not sure if they fence is to prevent the disc getting out or to prevent the people in the neighborhood getting in, i am 90% sure i saw a drug deal there.
Other Thoughts: Rough neighborhood but fun course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Driving Course

5+    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: leindecjoeld
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes- Hole length ranges from 210-990 feet on the blue tees, and from 210-560 on the white tees. The blue tees have six holes of 500 feet or more, and eight holes under 300 feet. They really do have hole lengths to suit any skill level.

Well maintained course- All holes have cement tee pads, and 19 holes have separate blue and white tee pads. The course is very open, and there really aren't any "roughs" without throwing a horrible throw. There is one basket missing for hole "C" but most people just play to the basket of hole 13.

Hole 13- this hole alone makes the course worth while. It is a real thrill to know that you have to throw well or loose a disc. You throw from a tee pad on the edge of a pond, and the basket is on the far side of the pond. This 290 ft hole is a blast.

Well stocked throw shop- If you are looking for a disc, you will find it here. They are very knowledgeable as well, just ask the workers and they will find the right disc for you.
Cons: No wooded holes- this course is great for working on long drives, but don't expect to be challenged with tunnel shots. You don't need to dig very deep into your bag of tricks for this course.

Course can get busy- I've had to skip holes a few times to avoid waiting in a line.

WIND- if it is a windy day don't play this course. It is all open and the wind seems to come from every direction when you are out there.
Other Thoughts: When I get a new disc I take it here to try it out. You will not find a more open course, and this will help you dial in how a disc throws for you. Also, where else can you play a 1,000 foot hole? I love playing this hole, I just wish it were a bit further into the course. It is hole two, and this doesn't really give you time to warm up.

This course is worth the trip for two holes; hole two is the one where you can really test your arm strength with the 1,000 foot bomb, and hole 13. Try not to get superstitious throwing over the pond on number 13. It isn't a long throw, but the pond can seem daunting when you approach the tee. The writing on the fallen tree in front of the tee just make it all the more special. How will you leave your mark? Will you be one of the victors who stepped up and conquered the pond? or will you be another victim? Either way you know you stepped up and gave the hole a try, and that is all that matters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

5+    7/15/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Gas station right across Grove Rd
*28 holes
*wide open fairways
*EXCELLENT use of what little elevation was available on an old par 3 golf course
*Blue and white markers on each basket let you know where the next tee pad is
*Long, concrete tee pads
*Tee signs with distance
*Good use of the few trees in the open parts of the course
*Good water hole
*Holes 9 and 18 end in the parking lot
*Free
*Prow shop ON the course!
*Very close to Rolling Hills but if thats too busy for you then Waterworks DG Course is even closer
Cons: *Gas station recently got in trouble for selling alcohol to kids so now they can't sell beer anymore
*Holes 1-2 play with Grove Rd on the left with a giant fence (not giant enough for new players) that takes FOREVER to walk around and there are signs posted everywhere saying not to climb the fence, holes A and B play the same except with Bridge St instead of Grove
*No heavily wood holes yet
*Occasional vandalism to tee signs
Other Thoughts: Built on an old par 3 ball golf course, this course is the only one I've played so far with those open, ball golf style fairways. Being mostly wide open, the wind can and usually does become a huge factor at this course but I believe that a course like this is valuable to teaching you how to throw in the wind, which you need to know if plan on playing any of the more technical courses some people seem to prefer on a windy day. Also even though there is a downside to all the open holes, the upside is a feeling after leaving that you've improved or at least had many chances to improve your distance throws and understand how your different discs react to different wind.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's OK

1    7/6/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The Throw shop had a great array of discs and very reasonably priced beverages and snacks.

- There is very little variety in the landscape but the designer did throw in some creative elements, like placing baskets under and around/between trees. Given the landscape I would say they designed a few holes very well and the rest almost as well as they could.

- Baskets are color coded to point you to the next tee which makes it quite easy to follow. You can also get a course map when you enter the apartment complex.

- With the exception of hole 13, this would be a great course to bring beginners because there are very few trees and most of the holes are very reasonable distances.

- It's a disc golf course which always means fun!
Cons: - Not a whole lot of variety or turns. Most holes are relatively straight and are absolutely wide open. There are only a few holes that force you to throw under and between trees to get to the basket. The entire course is pretty darn flat and relatively boring.

- The only exception to the norm is hole 13, which forces you to drive over/near water (you must go over it if shooting from the pro tees). I'm not a fan of water holes because I have lost discs in the past. A little creek or something is fine but with large ponds retrieving your disc is impossible (unless you bring a floating disc and a dog).

- There isn't a whole lot of shade to cool you off. Luckily there are frozen candy bars for $1 at the Throw Shop!
Other Thoughts: I had to drive sidearm due to a shoulder injury a few days prior. It was my first time ever playing a round sidearm so my drives were shorter than usual (around 200 ft), but shooting from the amateur tees I was still able to pretty easily par/bogey most holes.

I didn't play any of the A-F or W-Z holes so I cannot say anything about those. Holes 4 and 5 were some of the most creative/fun ones out there. 18 was also interesting because there is a giant tree with low branches almost immediately in front of the tee box.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 want to go back

1    5/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large course with lots of varaition on set ups.
The pro shop.
very little graffiti.
Wide open areas for those of us still working on control ;)
Cons: not very shady on those sun baking days ;)
trash cans were over flowing when we were there, as well as the occasional tossed aside bottle/can through out the course.
Other Thoughts: A nice course with a "different feel" too it. Its a chage from the courses where you find your self traipsing into the woods to search for your disc on every other hole (well at least we do lol) I look forward to going back and playing here again when the weather cools off a bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.