Ypsilanti, MI 
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
5 / 990ft.   4 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 White Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Long Throw

2-4    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: rdblake01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course allows you to throw. It is long, especially from the blue tees. I am not a long thrower, but it allows me to work on technique without fear of hitting a tree with every errant attempt. There is plenty of signage, and every hole has a sign pointing to the next tee. Even the short holes challenge me, either for distance or the tree location.
Cons: There aren't many requirements for a forehand here. It is flat, with just a few trees to hit.There are not enough garbage cans around, and I have noticed a lot of mole holes and groundhog holes that you have to watch for or you can turn an ankle.
Other Thoughts: They used the few trees well to guard the approach on many of the holes. I love having a nice disc shop available before I play (the Throw Shop). It is in an apartment complex, and you have to show your ID to get in, but I have never had any issues here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Very Good Course, GREAT for GLOW

5+    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: OpposableThumbs
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since everyone has basically said all of the good things about this awesome course, I'll keep it brief + my 'unique' input:

***TOTALLY FREE

**** This course is money for Glow gisc! get there early, drop off some glowsticks in the baskets, and follow the arrows inside each basket to the next tee box.

** Open fairways and very little elevation make it SUPER EASY to find your glow disc, no matter where it ends up.

** Since its on an apartment complex, the "park gate" doesn't close at "dusk".. now, I've never been locked into a state/county park for being inside after 'closing time' but not having that to worry about it in the slightest is relaxing.

**Plays loonngg from the Blue tees, with several holes at 500+ and hole #2 at 990.

**White tees are significantly shorter, but virtually all tee shots feature some tree or other obstruction to challenge you. Truly amazing how they were able to utilize such little vegetation to such great effect.

**The Throw Shop is MECCA.
Cons: **You have to check in at the gate desk of the apartments.. Don't be a sketchball, just tell them your headed to the throw shop, or to play disc golf.. very minor inconvenience to play an awesome course for free!

**First timers beware, it can be a WEE LITTLE bit tricky getting from chains to teebox / teebox to chains, there are colored arrows inside of the baskets indicating next tee, and on a few holes you kinda have to make a common sense call as to which chains to throw to, all in all, one time thru and you'll get it.

** Holes 1,2, A & B can be a little bright (gas station across the street, street lights, traffic passing, stoplight) for Glow Disc, just get a good charge in and you'll be ok.
Other Thoughts: **LAST NIGHT, 11/24/12 a fellow discer was kind enough to give me 3 AAA batteries for my flashlight, he said he lost his Glo Z Buzzz (with a rad stamp on it, too!) and to keep an eye out for it.. I FOUND IT, DUDE! (if you happen to be out here) it is at the Throw Shop!

**Holes X1 and X2 looked really sweet, tight and wooded, the anti-thesis of what this course typically represented. Didn't play em for the first time in a glow round, though! [ hope they add some more in the woods... ;) ]

**Great place to play, day or night.

**Get some really good exercise! lots of good walking :)

**Again, I played a round last night w/ a buddy, around hole 9, a cat we named Chains started following us. Very friendly, would spot our discs for us and loved chasing our LED flashlights lol. Came to find out this cat was named Gary, and looked a lot like the cat they have in the Throw Shop..

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

5+    7/15/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Gas station right across Grove Rd
*28 holes
*wide open fairways
*EXCELLENT use of what little elevation was available on an old par 3 golf course
*Blue and white markers on each basket let you know where the next tee pad is
*Long, concrete tee pads
*Tee signs with distance
*Good use of the few trees in the open parts of the course
*Good water hole
*Holes 9 and 18 end in the parking lot
*Free
*Prow shop ON the course!
*Very close to Rolling Hills but if thats too busy for you then Waterworks DG Course is even closer
Cons: *Gas station recently got in trouble for selling alcohol to kids so now they can't sell beer anymore
*Holes 1-2 play with Grove Rd on the left with a giant fence (not giant enough for new players) that takes FOREVER to walk around and there are signs posted everywhere saying not to climb the fence, holes A and B play the same except with Bridge St instead of Grove
*No heavily wood holes yet
*Occasional vandalism to tee signs
Other Thoughts: Built on an old par 3 ball golf course, this course is the only one I've played so far with those open, ball golf style fairways. Being mostly wide open, the wind can and usually does become a huge factor at this course but I believe that a course like this is valuable to teaching you how to throw in the wind, which you need to know if plan on playing any of the more technical courses some people seem to prefer on a windy day. Also even though there is a downside to all the open holes, the upside is a feeling after leaving that you've improved or at least had many chances to improve your distance throws and understand how your different discs react to different wind.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 want to go back

1    5/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large course with lots of varaition on set ups.
The pro shop.
very little graffiti.
Wide open areas for those of us still working on control ;)
Cons: not very shady on those sun baking days ;)
trash cans were over flowing when we were there, as well as the occasional tossed aside bottle/can through out the course.
Other Thoughts: A nice course with a "different feel" too it. Its a chage from the courses where you find your self traipsing into the woods to search for your disc on every other hole (well at least we do lol) I look forward to going back and playing here again when the weather cools off a bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wind-Aided

2-4    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This is a great flat piece of land. And even though it is flat, almost every hole is well thought out to make up for it.
- a great mix of holes between extremely long to shorter ace runs.
- I was impressed with the length and quality of most of the tee pads. Most looked somewhat new.
- The baskets are all marked showing you were the next tee is to avoid confusion.
- And the biggest pro of the whole course: the Throw Shop with a great selection of discs new/used and you can even test out a few different molds.
Cons: - The wind. My first time out there it was almost unplayable, but even during a calm day it seems like the wind is exaggerated out there.
- The signs are just laminated paper and some, if not most, have blown away or are on the ground.
Other Thoughts: - I won't go over every hole, but a few highlight holes for me are:
* #4 short hole, but a very cool tree right behind the basket
* #13 haven't played the blue tees on this one due to fear, but the whites make an enjoyable water hole.

- This course is cool to play because you can see where the ball golf course used to be and it really makes you feel like you're playing a round of golf.
The people who run the Throw Shop have all been nice and the facility takes good care of the course.
This course is not the most beautiful course in the area, but it makes for a fun (bug-free) round.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Zombie hooker.... because it's creepy and seedy all at the same time..

1    4/19/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Navigation and signage--Easy to follow for the most part, got confusing with WXYZ because they aren't marked and the painted tines of the basket aren't there for these four. Signage is good, but a lot of the numbers are missing from distances.

Variety--I actually thought the course had some good variety from short, putter holes to 990 feet bomb shots, and even though the trees and elevation are pretty sparse, they are used to the best of it's ability

Teepads--Clean, level and good size

Challenge--Good challenge factor with the course being so open… it can get VERY windy.

The Throw Shop--How could this possibly be a negative? Having a proshop on site that sells both new and used is a huge pro… nothing like this in Grand Rapids.
Cons: Cleanliness--Big negative, there is trash e'erywhere and the "ponds" are nothing more than scum ponds. I threw a disc into the drink (thankfully close to shore) and the disc came out slippery and stinky. I also have to mention the green transformer boxes that are broken open, buzzing and, I'm positive, a danger to anyone who comes near them.

Urbanity--Not that this can be helped, but this course feels very urban and non-secluded. There are roads that wrap around the course. Some have commented on playing disc in peoples back yard, but I don't see that as a negative.

"Signature holes"--there are two holes (13 and 14 I believe) that I don't care for. 13 plays over the longest section of one of the ponds, there is an alternate tee which isn't so risky and then 14 plays between two ponds over a thin sliver of land between two ponds… I'm sorry, but these are NOT signature holes… these ponds are gross and retrieving your disc certainly carries it's own risks.
Other Thoughts: I love all the twisted, "burton-esque" trees all over this course, makes it a bit macabre..

talking with the guys at the throw shop, there is a 10 hole "woods" course that is already in the ground, and will be finished before too long... these guys are proud of their course and take decent care of it (as best they can).

all in all, not a bad day of disc, I will be back to tackle this one again!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/13/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: HYPNO-TOAD
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course has an open terrain uncharacteristic for SE michigan, long holes with the option to play shorts- easy to navigate if you follow the painted bars on the baskets- lots of holes so you can play all day and not get bored- pro shop with dg merchandise, snacks and beverages- good pin placements considering the limited obstacles and elevation the course has to offer- concrete tees, tee signs with distance, nice baskets, 9 loops back to the parking lot before ten- 13 signature water hole
Cons: the course lacks a "natural" setting, you have a nice view of traffic on Grove and Bridge street from nearly every hole, the course is directly under the flight pattern for the willow run airport, it is often littered with trash, OB zones aren't always clearly marked, there are only a few places to sit- course offers little shade and can become windy
Other Thoughts: i sometimes crave going to this course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great, open course

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: mdarket
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only played the course once, but I would definitely come back again. The holes are all marked with distance, hole number, pictures, and shot approach. There are typically two tee boxes on each hole. I downloaded the map off of the files sections, it helped quite a bit. It's a great course for beginners and intermediates. There were about 4 holes that are perfect ace runners. Hole #4 was really fun with the giant downed tree backing up the hole. Hole #13 is a beast, I recommend using the white tee and going around the pond. I have the distance make it over but the pond is pretty daunting from the pro box. Holes #16-18 are real fun.
Cons: I don't really have any cons. I rated it 3.5 because there isn't a whole lot of variety in the holes. Most are pretty straight with very few trees. I tend to enjoy the heavily wooded courses a little more because of the challenge involved. The Throw Shop was closed when I played here. We finished up at about 12:15pm. They open at 12. It's a little bit challenging to navigate only because the fairways are tight and close together. So we would see a few tee boxes around but have to look at the map. The posts are all marked so it's easy to figure out once you get to the box.
Other Thoughts: I spent about 15 minutes looking for a disc on hole #14 that soared into the trees by the pond.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Traditional Golf gets baskets

5+    7/6/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of open space to really break out the big drives, or to try and learn to throw the big drives. You can play any disc and try a lot of different throws, knowing that your disc will be easily retrievable on the clear grounds. Quite a bit of challenge and thoughtful design, despite the relatively treeless terrain. There are a lot of quite long holes from the pro tees, while still being reasonable for newer players from the short. There's also a pro shop right on the course, with beverages and quite the disc selection. They even run a disc Lost & Found there, despite that replacements are their bread and butter.
Cons: Formerly a traditional golf course, this course offers little in the way of corridor shots through trees. There's also little to break the wind on highly windy days, or to shade on extremely sunny days. Fences along the left side of 3 holes can make for a *long* walk to get your disc. I usually just pick the lost disc up after the round if I throw over.
Other Thoughts: This is my most regularly played course. It ends up being pretty low stress in relation to a lot of more treed courses. No digging for lost discs and discs that have time to fly their full distance can do wonders for your disc golf self esteem when you're in kind of a slump. If you don't want to have to work hard at playing well, this may be the course for you. If you're looking for a course requiring super precise shots, go to Rolling Hills instead.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeshore

5+    10/2/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: jaydee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Drains really fast, many opportunities to air it out, good use of land given dearth of trees, no shule, nice shop to purchase supplies, old golf bunkers used for OB.
Cons: It's too open in places, very big-armed oriented with little penalty for wild shots, not mowed quite well enough to regularly drop down rollers, backhand rollers difficult to get down on some tees due to overhangs.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a nice addition to the SE MI courses, there is no other course like this one and none better to work on your raw 'D' shots. There are 2 levels of distance that move you into scoring opportunities. 350' is the minimum needed to regularly get to or under par from the longs. If you can throw 400-420', another 6-7 strokes are there to be shaved off if you can put it near the pin. Short tees are available for folks who throw under 300' -- good players will definitely shoot well under par from the shorts.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.