Ypsilanti, MI 
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
5 / 990ft.   4 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 White Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The only course like it!

5+    8/2/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The #1 disc golf shop in Michigan, The Throw Shop.
Extremely simple but extremely diverse, multiple routes available from a lot of tees.
Ability to practice all kinds of throws without the anxious feeling of loosing a disc.
Pro and Am tees, to mix up the already 27 holes.
Windy - a plus and minus... you get to practice headwind and tailwind depending on what hole you're at.
Arrows under each basket pointing to next tee.
Cons: The grass tends to get long in the summer, used to be cut every 3 weeks.
Wish the baskets had numbers on them, multiple times I've seen people throwing at the wrong basket.
Windy - a plus and minus... you get to practice headwind and tailwind depending on what hole you're at.
No downhill or upshot holes.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I had played, at first many holes were daunting. Now that I have a feel for what I'm doing this is my goto course to practice different shots and lines.

You will NOT find a better course in the area to practice on.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Driving Course

5+    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: leindecjoeld
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes- Hole length ranges from 210-990 feet on the blue tees, and from 210-560 on the white tees. The blue tees have six holes of 500 feet or more, and eight holes under 300 feet. They really do have hole lengths to suit any skill level.

Well maintained course- All holes have cement tee pads, and 19 holes have separate blue and white tee pads. The course is very open, and there really aren't any "roughs" without throwing a horrible throw. There is one basket missing for hole "C" but most people just play to the basket of hole 13.

Hole 13- this hole alone makes the course worth while. It is a real thrill to know that you have to throw well or loose a disc. You throw from a tee pad on the edge of a pond, and the basket is on the far side of the pond. This 290 ft hole is a blast.

Well stocked throw shop- If you are looking for a disc, you will find it here. They are very knowledgeable as well, just ask the workers and they will find the right disc for you.
Cons: No wooded holes- this course is great for working on long drives, but don't expect to be challenged with tunnel shots. You don't need to dig very deep into your bag of tricks for this course.

Course can get busy- I've had to skip holes a few times to avoid waiting in a line.

WIND- if it is a windy day don't play this course. It is all open and the wind seems to come from every direction when you are out there.
Other Thoughts: When I get a new disc I take it here to try it out. You will not find a more open course, and this will help you dial in how a disc throws for you. Also, where else can you play a 1,000 foot hole? I love playing this hole, I just wish it were a bit further into the course. It is hole two, and this doesn't really give you time to warm up.

This course is worth the trip for two holes; hole two is the one where you can really test your arm strength with the 1,000 foot bomb, and hole 13. Try not to get superstitious throwing over the pond on number 13. It isn't a long throw, but the pond can seem daunting when you approach the tee. The writing on the fallen tree in front of the tee just make it all the more special. How will you leave your mark? Will you be one of the victors who stepped up and conquered the pond? or will you be another victim? Either way you know you stepped up and gave the hole a try, and that is all that matters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Change of Pace

1    4/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: Jsteele
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This Course was a lot of fun to go out and rip it. The Pro shop was Top notch. Navigation of the course was relatively easy. Nice layout and taken care of with some really fun holes to throw at
Cons: not a lot of places to rest on course. to the left of the first tee is an 8ft fence and a busy road so if you shank one your going for a pretty long walk.
Other Thoughts: Is a recommended play if you live in Michigan.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Potential Masterpiece

1    1/30/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: cpjackson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open, minimal bushes, thorns, poison ivy, etc. Challenging layout and environment (gets windy), tee pad and pin placement place demand on control to score well. Free, pro shop, not a lot of waiting on tee pads.
Cons: A couple of the holes play close to the fence, which is very close to the road. Cars will drag an errant throw even farther down the road. Play it safe next to the fence.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love #13 (the shot over the pond). There is a layup area from the longs along the right hand side. It's where the short tee is located. If you're uncertain about crossing the pond with your drive, just throw either an anhyzer or a sidearm shot over into that area.

The apartment community will have events during the summer so be aware that the course sometimes won't be available. It Pays to call ahead.

This course will get better with age. Plans are in the works for a second more technical course in the woods south of the existing course.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Maybe I spoke too soon.

1    6/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, friendly environment.

The lake hole would be fantastic if I was confident enough in my drive to go for it. I skipped this hole.
Cons: Every single hole is completely wide open with exception to the greens.

The 10' fence along the first three holes is horrible. You're looking at a ten minute walk if you throw over it because if they see you climb the fence you get ejected from the course.

I'd say the average from the blue tees is 400' but hole two is a ridiculous 900'.
Other Thoughts: Update 06/27/2012

Since originally writing my review I have had three years of experience and working on my game. I played here today and found that I enjoyed this course very very much. The fence may still be a problem for some people but that is literally the only negative I can list.

Maybe it's my improved game that increased my level of enjoyment? It's quite possible.

Upping the review from 2 to 4 and removing the comment about paint on the targets not always pointing to the next tee.

Great course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/30/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: maynes32
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great course for first-timers, with the exception of the famous water hole
- The few trees that are present are utilized extremely well to give good technical challenges in what is really a very open area
- Conversion of sand traps to OB areas makes for a nice added challenge that you can either use or not, as you see fit
- Paint on basket spokes pointing to next tee is a FANTASTIC idea that other courses (I'm looking at you, Hudson Mills) should adopt
Cons: - Though the openness is nice for new players, it's a little TOO open. I didn't ding rating for this much, though, because you can only work with what you have, and as stated above, the existing trees are used very well
- The fence. Sigh. If you lose one over the fence on hole 1, it's easy enough (sorta) to run around and get it, but losing one over the fence on other holes leads to great temptation to break The Rule.
Other Thoughts: The Rule referred to above is "Thou shalt not climb over or under the fence around the course, or we might stop having free disc golf or disc golf at all". None of us have broken it, but I've seen others doing so, as the worry your disc will be gone by the time you leave is high ...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/2/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: PNovak22
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long open holes with slight elevation on Alot of holes. This course is very well thought out. With a few signature holes. One hole ober 900 ft and one hole with a drive over the pond make for a fun and challenging round.. The course is well maintained and definitly has alot of potential. Cement tee pads and signs are very nice. Well mowed out course was very nice to keep anyone from having to look for any disc through tall grass. The use of the existing plants and trees was well thought out.
Cons: The course was a bit hard to navigate. Although we were able to download a map of the course online before we played, which was very helpful.
Other Thoughts: I like the idea that the sand traps are out of bounds although we thought that planting some sort of bush or shrub in those areas which will grow larger over time may add a bit more challenge to the game.

Dont jump over or under the fence for your disc.

Check in at the front gate of the apartment to show them your I.D. Before you go play your round.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful open to public (private) course

1    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course built on an old ball golf course. Mostly long holes.

There is very very little brush to eat your disc. I did have to search for my disc for about 10 mins because of some long grass. Course has cement tees with excellent pictures of hole and baskets, well maintained and clean. ALL open holes with a few tree obstacles. SAND TRAP penalties are a fantastic idea. Good course layout keeps flying discs away from other players.

Beautiful flowering trees in spring/summer.
Course was mostly dry, some mud area and a wet sand trap in back 6 hole.

about the NEXT TEE::: all you have to do is look at the basket, there are painted lines on the basket, showing you where the white and blue tees are! its very simple!!
Cons: need a sign in the apartment road telling people where the course is.

Course is flat with small hills, which makes for a somewhat boring game when compared to other big courses. Maybe the planned second course thru the woods will open up some elevation shots.
Other Thoughts: Sunny course, bring sunscreen, hats, umbrella. Had a steady wind when i played. Roller potential. Only saw birds, bees and a fly or two (no mosquitos!?). Very little weeds to cause allergies (some dandelions), no picker trees/bushes!!!

Some airplanes from willow run airport flying low overhead. Some traffic noise from grove st too. Those Lakeshore
Apartments are HUGE!!

Course Rule: PLEASE DONT CLIMB OVER FENCE FOR DISCS!! its simple, please follow it so the course can remain free-to-play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Highly Biased

5+    4/17/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Built onto a former 9 hole golf course
- Long and well thought out, not as open as one might expect, yet not tight and NEVER rough. There is no searching for plastic!
- Two scenic ponds with one tough shot 260' over water
- Near 1,00 ft hole
- Cheap apartments right on the course
- Well mowed, scenic
- Dual cement tees, signs, Chainstars
Cons: Really, only that it's across the road from a bad area. Wouldn't want to walk around there at night alone.
Other Thoughts: *Course to be complete by end of April*

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.