Disc Golf Center
Ypsilanti, MI 
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #X (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #E White/Blue Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I wish more courses were like this

1    7/9/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: PuttPuttPutt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only way you lose a disc is if you forget - Better mowed than most courses - Chainstar baskets - layout allows for quality & expedient practice - The Throw Shop raises this to 4.5.
Cons: Could be seen as repetitive in distances - a few people may have trouble negotiating the course smoothly, should they miss the blue&white basket markings.
Other Thoughts: Free - located inside Lakeshore Apartments - be sure to check-in at the gate before entering the course - I believe there is a maintenance fund, worth contributing to, inside the Throw Shop.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course and Amazing Proshop

5+    9/9/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Aceswild
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What an amazing course to work on your long game. Practically a driving range on a few holes. Approaches are usually somewhat technical. This course was a former crappy ball golf course, but was recently converted into a wonderful disc golf experience. Basket markings leading to next tees as can be seen here should become a universal standard. The only real chance for losing a disc is on the water holes or getting it stuck in a tree. The on-site "Throwshop" is worth the trip alone. (Dogs are welcome on the course)
Cons: People complain about the fence like it's the worse thing ever. I say learn to love the fence. Have you taken a close look at what's on the other side of it? Let's just say the fence isn't trying to keep you in. Errant disc throws over that fence might anger a local vagrant, or just get quickly "beaten in" by an ice cream paint job driving by. Just go buy another in the Throwshop. Bugs and trash are occasionally an issue, as are naked disc divers in the amazing water hole. The positives far outweigh any negatives however. Don't pass up this unique experience!
Other Thoughts: Lakeshore and the crosstown Rolling Hills make up a disc golf duo that shouldn't be missed. The Ponds at Lakeshore might be the least stressful round of disc golf you'll ever play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ponds at Lakeshore

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I recently purchased several new drivers (distance and mid) and this course was the perfect venue in which to practice throwing them! The holes were open and when there were trees, it felt natural and challenging. Also, the Throw Shop is amazing! The guy working it today was nice and knowledgeable and my buddy and I talked to him about all sorts of stuff for almost an hour!
Cons: The area is kind of shady and there was a large amount of trash build-up at the majority of the tees. Other than that, I guess a few more benches here and there wouldn't hurt and a good mowing every now and then would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course and I'm looking forward to playing it again. I'll definitely come back after I build my disc wall rack and buy some discs to fill it! Being able to see and hold the ones I've been checking out online was a bonus, as well as getting the shop's associate's opinion on them!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great place

5+    6/14/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: sbgolfer06
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: It is a nice place, and its very open most of the time and moves fast
Cons: hole 13 :( alot of water, and on the shorts there maybe cut back some of the trees
Other Thoughts: i hate the water hole, i really dont have any other stuff

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Surprise course

1    5/18/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's on and old nine hole golf course, which makes for a clean setting for disc golf. The holes are mostly open and long, yet you can't just go out and rip drives anywhere or you will see your way into some trouble. Tee pads and signs are well done, and the sand trap OB areas are pretty cool.
Cons: The course is mostly flat and some holes would be better if they weren't so obstacle-free. Some more OB if possible would make the course a better challenge. The area surrounding the course isn't very nice to look at but it's not distracting.
Other Thoughts: Very good course.

BEST PART- 300 ft shot over a small pond with seemingly cool blue water. Definitely a signature hole.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.