Ypsilanti, MI 
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #X1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #F Blue Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wind-Aided

2-4    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This is a great flat piece of land. And even though it is flat, almost every hole is well thought out to make up for it.
- a great mix of holes between extremely long to shorter ace runs.
- I was impressed with the length and quality of most of the tee pads. Most looked somewhat new.
- The baskets are all marked showing you were the next tee is to avoid confusion.
- And the biggest pro of the whole course: the Throw Shop with a great selection of discs new/used and you can even test out a few different molds.
Cons: - The wind. My first time out there it was almost unplayable, but even during a calm day it seems like the wind is exaggerated out there.
- The signs are just laminated paper and some, if not most, have blown away or are on the ground.
Other Thoughts: - I won't go over every hole, but a few highlight holes for me are:
* #4 short hole, but a very cool tree right behind the basket
* #13 haven't played the blue tees on this one due to fear, but the whites make an enjoyable water hole.

- This course is cool to play because you can see where the ball golf course used to be and it really makes you feel like you're playing a round of golf.
The people who run the Throw Shop have all been nice and the facility takes good care of the course.
This course is not the most beautiful course in the area, but it makes for a fun (bug-free) round.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Zombie hooker.... because it's creepy and seedy all at the same time..

1    4/19/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Navigation and signage--Easy to follow for the most part, got confusing with WXYZ because they aren't marked and the painted tines of the basket aren't there for these four. Signage is good, but a lot of the numbers are missing from distances.

Variety--I actually thought the course had some good variety from short, putter holes to 990 feet bomb shots, and even though the trees and elevation are pretty sparse, they are used to the best of it's ability

Teepads--Clean, level and good size

Challenge--Good challenge factor with the course being so open… it can get VERY windy.

The Throw Shop--How could this possibly be a negative? Having a proshop on site that sells both new and used is a huge pro… nothing like this in Grand Rapids.
Cons: Cleanliness--Big negative, there is trash e'erywhere and the "ponds" are nothing more than scum ponds. I threw a disc into the drink (thankfully close to shore) and the disc came out slippery and stinky. I also have to mention the green transformer boxes that are broken open, buzzing and, I'm positive, a danger to anyone who comes near them.

Urbanity--Not that this can be helped, but this course feels very urban and non-secluded. There are roads that wrap around the course. Some have commented on playing disc in peoples back yard, but I don't see that as a negative.

"Signature holes"--there are two holes (13 and 14 I believe) that I don't care for. 13 plays over the longest section of one of the ponds, there is an alternate tee which isn't so risky and then 14 plays between two ponds over a thin sliver of land between two ponds… I'm sorry, but these are NOT signature holes… these ponds are gross and retrieving your disc certainly carries it's own risks.
Other Thoughts: I love all the twisted, "burton-esque" trees all over this course, makes it a bit macabre..

talking with the guys at the throw shop, there is a 10 hole "woods" course that is already in the ground, and will be finished before too long... these guys are proud of their course and take decent care of it (as best they can).

all in all, not a bad day of disc, I will be back to tackle this one again!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/8/2010   3/8/2011
Review By: JN9000
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long holes are good for big arms.
No rough.
good signs.
Cons: Although this is a very nice course, I thought it was boring at times. There's almost no elevation change, which is something that I really like courses to have. You also can tell that you're in the middle of the city, it's not a very scenic course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course and I see why some people really like it, it is one of my friends favorite course, but like I said in the "Cons" it was just a little boring to me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/13/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: HYPNO-TOAD
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course has an open terrain uncharacteristic for SE michigan, long holes with the option to play shorts- easy to navigate if you follow the painted bars on the baskets- lots of holes so you can play all day and not get bored- pro shop with dg merchandise, snacks and beverages- good pin placements considering the limited obstacles and elevation the course has to offer- concrete tees, tee signs with distance, nice baskets, 9 loops back to the parking lot before ten- 13 signature water hole
Cons: the course lacks a "natural" setting, you have a nice view of traffic on Grove and Bridge street from nearly every hole, the course is directly under the flight pattern for the willow run airport, it is often littered with trash, OB zones aren't always clearly marked, there are only a few places to sit- course offers little shade and can become windy
Other Thoughts: i sometimes crave going to this course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course and Amazing Proshop

5+    9/9/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Aceswild
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What an amazing course to work on your long game. Practically a driving range on a few holes. Approaches are usually somewhat technical. This course was a former crappy ball golf course, but was recently converted into a wonderful disc golf experience. Basket markings leading to next tees as can be seen here should become a universal standard. The only real chance for losing a disc is on the water holes or getting it stuck in a tree. The on-site "Throwshop" is worth the trip alone. (Dogs are welcome on the course)
Cons: People complain about the fence like it's the worse thing ever. I say learn to love the fence. Have you taken a close look at what's on the other side of it? Let's just say the fence isn't trying to keep you in. Errant disc throws over that fence might anger a local vagrant, or just get quickly "beaten in" by an ice cream paint job driving by. Just go buy another in the Throwshop. Bugs and trash are occasionally an issue, as are naked disc divers in the amazing water hole. The positives far outweigh any negatives however. Don't pass up this unique experience!
Other Thoughts: Lakeshore and the crosstown Rolling Hills make up a disc golf duo that shouldn't be missed. The Ponds at Lakeshore might be the least stressful round of disc golf you'll ever play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/12/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: - Wide open shots. It's hard to lose a disc here (not impossible!).
- One of the best disc golf stores I've been to is on the course. The Throw Shop has great prices and a huge variety.
Cons: - Not in the best area, but I wouldn't say the course is unsafe.
- Lacking trash cans on a lot of holes, so trash just piles up near the tee pads.
- Signage is sub-par, and following the course can be a little confusing for newcomers.
Other Thoughts: The course is a former ball golf course, which makes for a lot of long shots. Plenty of obstacles, yet wide open spaces for trying some power shots. Not a bad course, and it's close to home. Follow the painted bars on the basket to find the next hole.

 Great, open course

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: mdarket
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only played the course once, but I would definitely come back again. The holes are all marked with distance, hole number, pictures, and shot approach. There are typically two tee boxes on each hole. I downloaded the map off of the files sections, it helped quite a bit. It's a great course for beginners and intermediates. There were about 4 holes that are perfect ace runners. Hole #4 was really fun with the giant downed tree backing up the hole. Hole #13 is a beast, I recommend using the white tee and going around the pond. I have the distance make it over but the pond is pretty daunting from the pro box. Holes #16-18 are real fun.
Cons: I don't really have any cons. I rated it 3.5 because there isn't a whole lot of variety in the holes. Most are pretty straight with very few trees. I tend to enjoy the heavily wooded courses a little more because of the challenge involved. The Throw Shop was closed when I played here. We finished up at about 12:15pm. They open at 12. It's a little bit challenging to navigate only because the fairways are tight and close together. So we would see a few tee boxes around but have to look at the map. The posts are all marked so it's easy to figure out once you get to the box.
Other Thoughts: I spent about 15 minutes looking for a disc on hole #14 that soared into the trees by the pond.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ponds at Lakeshore

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I recently purchased several new drivers (distance and mid) and this course was the perfect venue in which to practice throwing them! The holes were open and when there were trees, it felt natural and challenging. Also, the Throw Shop is amazing! The guy working it today was nice and knowledgeable and my buddy and I talked to him about all sorts of stuff for almost an hour!
Cons: The area is kind of shady and there was a large amount of trash build-up at the majority of the tees. Other than that, I guess a few more benches here and there wouldn't hurt and a good mowing every now and then would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course and I'm looking forward to playing it again. I'll definitely come back after I build my disc wall rack and buy some discs to fill it! Being able to see and hold the ones I've been checking out online was a bonus, as well as getting the shop's associate's opinion on them!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Traditional Golf gets baskets

5+    7/6/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of open space to really break out the big drives, or to try and learn to throw the big drives. You can play any disc and try a lot of different throws, knowing that your disc will be easily retrievable on the clear grounds. Quite a bit of challenge and thoughtful design, despite the relatively treeless terrain. There are a lot of quite long holes from the pro tees, while still being reasonable for newer players from the short. There's also a pro shop right on the course, with beverages and quite the disc selection. They even run a disc Lost & Found there, despite that replacements are their bread and butter.
Cons: Formerly a traditional golf course, this course offers little in the way of corridor shots through trees. There's also little to break the wind on highly windy days, or to shade on extremely sunny days. Fences along the left side of 3 holes can make for a *long* walk to get your disc. I usually just pick the lost disc up after the round if I throw over.
Other Thoughts: This is my most regularly played course. It ends up being pretty low stress in relation to a lot of more treed courses. No digging for lost discs and discs that have time to fly their full distance can do wonders for your disc golf self esteem when you're in kind of a slump. If you don't want to have to work hard at playing well, this may be the course for you. If you're looking for a course requiring super precise shots, go to Rolling Hills instead.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Its ok

5+    6/24/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Scrubgolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open spaces to throw! I am not a super accurate driver so this course is great for me.

Has a super Pro shop.

Very fun to play.
Cons: Bring bug spray if you try and play some of the new holes. The mosquitos are VERY bad back in the woods.

Play to the right on the holes near the fence. Its a long long walk around if you go over.
Other Thoughts: The week before the 4th of July they shut the course down for a carnival. The course gets a bit trashed and takes a while to recover.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.