Ypsilanti, MI
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 410ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Change of Pace

1    4/13/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: Jsteele
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This Course was a lot of fun to go out and rip it. The Pro shop was Top notch. Navigation of the course was relatively easy. Nice layout and taken care of with some really fun holes to throw at
Cons: not a lot of places to rest on course. to the left of the first tee is an 8ft fence and a busy road so if you shank one your going for a pretty long walk.
Other Thoughts: Is a recommended play if you live in Michigan.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jayseiler
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean well maintained course. A great course if you have a big arm and like to let loose. The hole over the pond is a nice challenge.
Cons: Besides the distance the holes don't offer a lot of challenges such as trees or other obsticals. It can be hard to navigate from whole to whole if you haven't played before.
Other Thoughts: The Pro shop is nice and the owner is very friendly and imformantive.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Potential Masterpiece

1    1/30/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: cpjackson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open, minimal bushes, thorns, poison ivy, etc. Challenging layout and environment (gets windy), tee pad and pin placement place demand on control to score well. Free, pro shop, not a lot of waiting on tee pads.
Cons: A couple of the holes play close to the fence, which is very close to the road. Cars will drag an errant throw even farther down the road. Play it safe next to the fence.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love #13 (the shot over the pond). There is a layup area from the longs along the right hand side. It's where the short tee is located. If you're uncertain about crossing the pond with your drive, just throw either an anhyzer or a sidearm shot over into that area.

The apartment community will have events during the summer so be aware that the course sometimes won't be available. It Pays to call ahead.

This course will get better with age. Plans are in the works for a second more technical course in the woods south of the existing course.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeshore

5+    10/2/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: jaydee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Drains really fast, many opportunities to air it out, good use of land given dearth of trees, no shule, nice shop to purchase supplies, old golf bunkers used for OB.
Cons: It's too open in places, very big-armed oriented with little penalty for wild shots, not mowed quite well enough to regularly drop down rollers, backhand rollers difficult to get down on some tees due to overhangs.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a nice addition to the SE MI courses, there is no other course like this one and none better to work on your raw 'D' shots. There are 2 levels of distance that move you into scoring opportunities. 350' is the minimum needed to regularly get to or under par from the longs. If you can throw 400-420', another 6-7 strokes are there to be shaved off if you can put it near the pin. Short tees are available for folks who throw under 300' -- good players will definitely shoot well under par from the shorts.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open Plains = Fun Discing

5+    9/5/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 155  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice clean course, pleasant setting, with open design: encourages you to let loose and allows you to try various lines.

- Nice sized dual concrete tee pads and score cards with course map.

- Very forgiving of bad throws (it's nice not to pay for a bad shot in blood).

- More challenge than you might expect from course with so few obstacles and so little brush.

- No shule, very little chance of losing a disc (except for one hole over water).

- Pro-Shop on site with nice variety of discs at reasonable prices and people who KNOW disc golf. You can get some very good info in this place - see Other thoughts below.

- Great course for beginners.
Cons: - No elevation changes (but you can only work with what you have).

- Chance of throwing over fence and having to walk a long way around to retrieve your disc.

- Few holes force a specific line, and some holes feel repetitive

- Signage could be much better, but I think that's a budgetary constraint.
Other Thoughts: Notes on the course itself: Wind plays a significant factor. You may have to change drivers to handle head and tail winds, and many a putt will get pushed down or float up on you.

You'd have to search a long time to find a course that does more with less. Course designers can only work with the land they have, and the designer used nearly every tree on the course to make it more challenging.

Love the painted spokes on the basket pointing the way to the next tee: Blue for longs, White for short. Clever, low cost navigation aid that should be employed on a lot of other courses.

Big Arms and beginners should love this course. This course isn't epic, but it sure is FUN!!!

Notes on the The Throw Shop:
Don't play here before stopping in at The Throw Shop. Without doubt, the best selection of discs in the Metro Detroit Area. Literally 1000's of discs (some hard to find) at quite reasonable prices. Not sure about that disc you were considering? Check out the stack of loaner discs to see if the one you're checking out is in there - they let me take one out for a test drive! Try that online!!!!

The people who run this shop are among the most active members of southeastern Michigan's disc golf community. Good people who do right by the community they live in and promote disc golf in a positive way.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A good workout

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As many other reviewers have said, it's somewhat monotonous, but that didn't bother me. It's a great chance to work on your drives, and you really don't get punished for a bad throw, except if you put one over the dreaded fence.

The fact that the course is open and large means the wind gets cranking some days, which I like. I think it adds to the challenge, because you have to control your throws and keep them low.

I love the idea of painting one or two bars of the basket to show the direction to the next tee pad - that's very clever, and something I'd love to see adopted by other courses.
Cons: A bit one dimensional.
Other Thoughts: It's a bit of a workout for those of us over 40. The length of the course (I played the blues, which are significantly longer than the whites) is unusual in this area. I liked it because I really felt like I got some good exercise by the time I was done.

Very interesting bird life. I was often surrounded by swooping, silent birds, zipping along just a foot or two above the ground. I think they may have been swifts, but I'm not sure. Still, pretty cool, and definitely not something I've seen before.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: craftsman
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Level cement tees(looks like 4x10).Most allow decent run up.- new chainstar baskets w/ next tee pointers.- Very nice pro shop(mon.-fri. 2-8, sat. 11-7) offering multiple brands. Painless disc location- even on long holes.- New posts w/ P.O.V. signs.
Cons: -For 24 holes, not a ton of different shots needed (due to flat elevation and lack of trees).-Small trash cans fill quickly, (even if it's not our mess, you know who will take blame) so be prepared to pack what you bring.
Other Thoughts: -Course moves quickly, even when busy.- Tree placement & sand traps make nice holes when intended routes are followed.- Only 3 benches so bring chairs and carts if you have 'em!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 change of pace

1    5/31/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: jmagee77
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners.
Sand traps/OB is a nice touch if you play them into your score.
Chains have a blue mark on them to tell you where the next tee is.
The holes are marked to tell you par and distance and where the chains are at.
FREE TO PLAY!!!!!!!!!!!! all ways a big plus in my book.
only one hole has a high chance of losing your disc. (water hole)

Cons: Not a lot of obstacles to avoided on drives.
Not a really technical course.
Hole #13 (water) I skipped this hole because there was too much of a high risk of losing my disk.
I didn't see a bathroom any where.
Other Thoughts: I played on a Sunday in the middle of a nice day and there was a lot of people, but we never had to wait on any one.
The course moved along at a great pace.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I liked it.

1    5/20/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: atalised
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's another 18+ course in the area. It's still free to play. It's on a bus line! (My car breaks down a lot.) The baskets have colors to point you to the next one.
Cons: Already lost a disc in the drink and it didn't have my name on it. :(
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play it more.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Maybe I spoke too soon.

1    6/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, friendly environment.

The lake hole would be fantastic if I was confident enough in my drive to go for it. I skipped this hole.
Cons: Every single hole is completely wide open with exception to the greens.

The 10' fence along the first three holes is horrible. You're looking at a ten minute walk if you throw over it because if they see you climb the fence you get ejected from the course.

I'd say the average from the blue tees is 400' but hole two is a ridiculous 900'.
Other Thoughts: Update 06/27/2012

Since originally writing my review I have had three years of experience and working on my game. I played here today and found that I enjoyed this course very very much. The fence may still be a problem for some people but that is literally the only negative I can list.

Maybe it's my improved game that increased my level of enjoyment? It's quite possible.

Upping the review from 2 to 4 and removing the comment about paint on the targets not always pointing to the next tee.

Great course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.