Ypsilanti, MI 
The Ponds at Lakeshore Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 520ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #B Blue Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Maybe I spoke too soon.

1    6/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, friendly environment.

The lake hole would be fantastic if I was confident enough in my drive to go for it. I skipped this hole.
Cons: Every single hole is completely wide open with exception to the greens.

The 10' fence along the first three holes is horrible. You're looking at a ten minute walk if you throw over it because if they see you climb the fence you get ejected from the course.

I'd say the average from the blue tees is 400' but hole two is a ridiculous 900'.
Other Thoughts: Update 06/27/2012

Since originally writing my review I have had three years of experience and working on my game. I played here today and found that I enjoyed this course very very much. The fence may still be a problem for some people but that is literally the only negative I can list.

Maybe it's my improved game that increased my level of enjoyment? It's quite possible.

Upping the review from 2 to 4 and removing the comment about paint on the targets not always pointing to the next tee.

Great course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/30/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: maynes32
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great course for first-timers, with the exception of the famous water hole
- The few trees that are present are utilized extremely well to give good technical challenges in what is really a very open area
- Conversion of sand traps to OB areas makes for a nice added challenge that you can either use or not, as you see fit
- Paint on basket spokes pointing to next tee is a FANTASTIC idea that other courses (I'm looking at you, Hudson Mills) should adopt
Cons: - Though the openness is nice for new players, it's a little TOO open. I didn't ding rating for this much, though, because you can only work with what you have, and as stated above, the existing trees are used very well
- The fence. Sigh. If you lose one over the fence on hole 1, it's easy enough (sorta) to run around and get it, but losing one over the fence on other holes leads to great temptation to break The Rule.
Other Thoughts: The Rule referred to above is "Thou shalt not climb over or under the fence around the course, or we might stop having free disc golf or disc golf at all". None of us have broken it, but I've seen others doing so, as the worry your disc will be gone by the time you leave is high ...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/23/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: wasted energy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean, open and the baskets have paint on them, so you can tell where the next tee is. It's very hard to lose a disc (unless you throw it in the water).
Cons: A little too long for a newbie like me, and the first two holes are right by a fence, which would be a bitch to climb (and they don't want you to).
Other Thoughts: This is great course for more advanced players who can throw far (and not over the fence). I will love this course,once I can drive better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/26/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 holes make for a nice outing. Course makes for long drives and technical puts around shielded chainstars. Large course means even if it's crowded, there isn't much waiting. A few nice shots throughout; hole 13 is over a shallow pond. Very well marked. Course map available online as well.

**update**
all tee signs are now in! very nice wooden posts with the hole numbers screwed in. pro shop now open! man they have alotta discs!! gotta check it out!!!
Cons: Holes can become rather boring. Almost all holes are wide open drives with trees guarding the baskets. Hole two is a ridiculous 990 feet. Mostly flat terrain.
Other Thoughts: Very cool to turn a golf course into a DGC. A fun time for sure. Show I.D. at the gate - turn left. Course is by the tennis courts.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, I'll be back

5+    5/31/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee-boxes, good signs and fairly easy to follow. Its very well maintained and the flow is pretty decent. Mostly wide-open shots. Not any corridors of trees to worry about throwing through. Lots of distance, short tees help the novice golfers. Great targets plus a practice basket. Well guarded targets on most holes. You play out and then the turn brings you back to the clubhouse. Very little chance of losing a disc. One water hole.
Cons: Kinda the same long shot into a well guarded basket area gets a little repetitive at times. Not much shade. Bring sunscreen and bug-spray. A map of the course would be helpful, but not mandatory.
Other Thoughts: Nice overall set-up. Check in at gatehouse at the apartment entrance, then make a u-turn into the course. Plenty of party-stores and food-distribution centers in the area. Overall, a really nice place. Do not jump/climb over the fence...
The pro shop is now open and has an EXCELLENT supply of disc golf essentials at very good prices. Gotta check it out when you can.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprise course

1    5/18/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 9/25/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's on and old nine hole golf course, which makes for a clean setting for disc golf. The holes are mostly open and long, yet you can't just go out and rip drives anywhere or you will see your way into some trouble. Tee pads and signs are well done, and the sand trap OB areas are pretty cool.
Cons: The course is mostly flat and some holes would be better if they weren't so obstacle-free. Some more OB if possible would make the course a better challenge. The area surrounding the course isn't very nice to look at but it's not distracting.
Other Thoughts: Very good course.

BEST PART- 300 ft shot over a small pond with seemingly cool blue water. Definitely a signature hole.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/2/2009   5/6/2009
Review By: PNovak22
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long open holes with slight elevation on Alot of holes. This course is very well thought out. With a few signature holes. One hole ober 900 ft and one hole with a drive over the pond make for a fun and challenging round.. The course is well maintained and definitly has alot of potential. Cement tee pads and signs are very nice. Well mowed out course was very nice to keep anyone from having to look for any disc through tall grass. The use of the existing plants and trees was well thought out.
Cons: The course was a bit hard to navigate. Although we were able to download a map of the course online before we played, which was very helpful.
Other Thoughts: I like the idea that the sand traps are out of bounds although we thought that planting some sort of bush or shrub in those areas which will grow larger over time may add a bit more challenge to the game.

Dont jump over or under the fence for your disc.

Check in at the front gate of the apartment to show them your I.D. Before you go play your round.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful open to public (private) course

1    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course built on an old ball golf course. Mostly long holes.

There is very very little brush to eat your disc. I did have to search for my disc for about 10 mins because of some long grass. Course has cement tees with excellent pictures of hole and baskets, well maintained and clean. ALL open holes with a few tree obstacles. SAND TRAP penalties are a fantastic idea. Good course layout keeps flying discs away from other players.

Beautiful flowering trees in spring/summer.
Course was mostly dry, some mud area and a wet sand trap in back 6 hole.

about the NEXT TEE::: all you have to do is look at the basket, there are painted lines on the basket, showing you where the white and blue tees are! its very simple!!
Cons: need a sign in the apartment road telling people where the course is.

Course is flat with small hills, which makes for a somewhat boring game when compared to other big courses. Maybe the planned second course thru the woods will open up some elevation shots.
Other Thoughts: Sunny course, bring sunscreen, hats, umbrella. Had a steady wind when i played. Roller potential. Only saw birds, bees and a fly or two (no mosquitos!?). Very little weeds to cause allergies (some dandelions), no picker trees/bushes!!!

Some airplanes from willow run airport flying low overhead. Some traffic noise from grove st too. Those Lakeshore
Apartments are HUGE!!

Course Rule: PLEASE DONT CLIMB OVER FENCE FOR DISCS!! its simple, please follow it so the course can remain free-to-play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Highly Biased

5+    4/17/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Built onto a former 9 hole golf course
- Long and well thought out, not as open as one might expect, yet not tight and NEVER rough. There is no searching for plastic!
- Two scenic ponds with one tough shot 260' over water
- Near 1,00 ft hole
- Cheap apartments right on the course
- Well mowed, scenic
- Dual cement tees, signs, Chainstars
Cons: Really, only that it's across the road from a bad area. Wouldn't want to walk around there at night alone.
Other Thoughts: *Course to be complete by end of April*

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.