Ham Lake, MN 
Family of Christ DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bubbajoe Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/13/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: - Close to home for me
- Usually pretty empty on the course
- Open holes
- Quick 9 for a warm-up round or quick multiple round games
- Easy to navigate, follow a loop around the church property
- Well maintained for being a free course, I am assuming and hoping the players take care of it since it's a church course
Cons: - No real teepads
- 2 baskets missing, hole 7 and 9, I think someone stole them
- Can get wet and stay wet after heavy rainfall
- After school days when school was in session lots of high school punks would show up and ruin the disc golfer image, smoking cigs and weed, loitering the parking lot
- A few water hazards that are easily avoidable, but some miss-throws and you end up in some nasty ponds
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot for being a 9 hole course, this was the first course I ever played so it will hold a special spot in my heart. It's a fun and beginner course, would love to see some nice teepads or something besides dirt for teepads. If they could clear up the brush lying around and make the woods easier to get through that would be awesome, but you can't really improve a whole lot on this basic 9 hole course. Overall I wouldn't recommend this course due to the fact it's a 9 hole course and needs work to be enjoyable for most!

Warm up course

5+    7/7/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are pretty short. Quite a few are ace-able. The baskets are stratigically put into place. There are a few holes that require a good hyzer like 7 or a strong anny like 9. Most are short and straight forward holes. Not many people play it so you barely ever have to wait or ask to play through.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Mosqueetos (spelling) can get god awful at times. Make sure you put on a gallon of bug spray if its that time of year. The water hazards are swamps but only thee of them. Your disc should only end up on the edges so it is easy to retreive it though.
Other Thoughts: Great warm up course for blue ribbon, or back when ham lake had 18 holes. Good play to breeze through a quick under 30 minute round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 9 Cool Holes

1    9/16/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 211  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a quick 9 holes located on church land. I was expecting another half-hearted course, but what i got was much better.

1) There are good elevation changes on every hole, providing unusual wind currents and extra challenge.

2) Well groomed, except for #6. There's still some rough grass, but you won't spend a lot of time looking for lost discs.

3) While there are water hazards on #s 6 & 7, they aren't that bad at all, on 7 you can pretty much walk across the water on tree roots.

4) On a couple of the holes they have these random little barricades by the pin to keep discs from rolling away.

5) Trees! and lots of them make even the shorter holes fairly thought-inspiring.

6) Even without signs, it's pretty easy to figure out where to go next.
Cons: 1) Hole 6 goes right through an un-groomed swamp, if the grass was just a little shorter it would be vastly improved

2) Signs on some holes, not others, not that big a deal.

3) Natural teeboxes are becoming rutted with use, it's about time to pour that concrete.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Get Your Malaria Shot First And Then Pray!

1    7/19/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This would be a decent little recreational course, if wasn't for it's small feature of being built through a misquito infested, disc gobbling, swamp. Holes 1 & 2 start out innocently enough. Then 3-4-5 are just short ACE runs through the woods. # 6 is about a 200' carry over swamp water. The misquitos were biting. I was hoping not to find out if the fish were biting.
The baskets are fine for this course. Natural teepads are starting to get a little rough as they get play. I had a guide but course seemed to be pretty easy to follow.
# 9 is kinda tricky as the basket is tucked in nice and tight to the woods making for a big blind anhyser shot around the trees.
Cons: Misquitos were the worst I've seen. Come prepared to battle them.
It's a Recreational course and a short one at that but the technical nature adds challenge.
Natural teepads.

Other Thoughts: Print out the on-line map and navigation would be a breeze. If you can throw 200' and have even tiny brass balls, you'll be able to conquer # 6. You might even rack up an ACE on the 3-4-5 run in the woods.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Surprised

2-4    10/18/2009   9/18/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Interesting pin placements
- Variety of shots
- Shot shaping required for good score
- Open and wooded holes
- Large trees and small
- The rough is not harsh... easy to find discs
- Relaxing and not a popular course
- Lots of fallen trees that are fun to play on... :)
- Wind can change the course significantly
Cons: - Dirt Tees
- Poor signage
- Some holes are too short
- Thorns
Other Thoughts: This is one of the fun courses to hit up as a warm up round to BRP or a make yourself feel better after BRP. I was surprised at the quality of the hole designs. Although mostly all straight they had good pin placements that forced you to take certain shots.
I enjoy playing this course. It always leaves me with a smile on my face. Thats a big bonus in my book. If your driving buy and have the time play it and Ham Lake (?) as well. Both play quickly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Saturday Service

1    10/31/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 324  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of property with potential for some nice holes. Excellent baskets although the chains were kind of high out of the basket. Slight elevation changes on some holes. Some water in the form of small ponds and bogs. Open and technical wooded holes with interesting lines to the baskets. Easy flow from one hole to the next.
Cons: Dirt tee pads which are now forming ruts which could be hazardous with footing. Missing some tee signs. Overflowing trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course on a gorgeous fall day with some winds at around 20 mph adding to the challenge. Lots of potential for different tee and pin placements. Good variety of wooded and open holes. Nice to see a community based church realize that disc golf can be an attribute for all.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A very nice family/beginners course

5+    6/5/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 160  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very low played, nicely laid out course just north of the Family of Christ (Lutheran) Church. The holes are laid out nicely, w/ 4 open holes, and 5 within the woods, creating challenging shots.

A seasoned player will enjoy the many opportunities for aces.

This course is about 2 miles from the Ham Lake City course.

Hole 1: 300 ft
This is the longest tole, the tee is north of the church parking lot, in the middle of the field. The basket is to the west, tucked back into the woods. Very reachable, but the tree branches force you to snap your disc in left to right (RHBH).

Hole 2: 245 ft
Continue to west, the next basket is a easy shot, the hole is in the middle of the fairway, w/ a tree about 50 feet in front of it. There is a stream behind the hole (50 feet), but it is very shallow, if you have a wayward drive.

Hole 3: 175
Walk across the stream, traveling north now. short shot into the woods.

Hole 4: 150
Straight ahead past hole 3's basket. Very easy shot down the hill. They have a nice backdrop of branches to stop your disc, as long as your throw is low.

Hole 5: 140
East of Hole 4, 2 paths to throw, left down the path, snapping left to right, or right, over some downed trees. Wild Turkeys spotted on this hole.

Hole 6: 215
Coming out of the woods, the basket is on a hill to your left. The swamp in front of you has water for the first 150 feet, then it dries out, but still thick. Beware of discs landing by the hole, and rolling down the hill.

Hole 7: 250
Open shot over left side of pond, over some trees. This allows for a l to r or r to l shot.

Hole 8: 150
Nice and easy shot, let a RHBH shot to hyzer way left. There are many trees in your way, skip or angle your disc to pass.

Hole 9: 235
This is the toughest hole on the course. You can see this basket when you pull into the parking lot. It is a basket on the east hill overlooking the ponds. When driving, either throw straight, then cut back towards the hole, or snap disc left to right. Beware ponds behind hole, it is possible to land in them.
Cons: Possible mosquitos, not witnessed yet, but we've been so dry (2009). Wood Ticks removed almost each round.
Other Thoughts: This is a very short course, but a good one to take family and kids to. Playing this one on the way to BRP or in addition to the Ham Lake City course make for an easy 18.

The church is Lutheran, we have never had anybody come out and ask us to leave (like I have heard about a course in Arden Hills/Shoreview). Please pick up litter, and mind your manners, I could see them becoming upset with major foot traffic.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.