Hastings, MI 
Hammond Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #8 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 272ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Worth the drive

1    9/1/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: xrayskid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Was in town for a wedding and someone told me there was a course nearby. This hidden gem is well worth the drive if you are ever in Southwest Michigan. Nice mix of left and right handed holes. It's quite hilly and many off the holes are heavily wooded. Well designed course.
Cons: Course could be better cared for. It's a bit shaggy in some areas. Signage also needs improvement.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hammond is excellent

1    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is about 40 miles straight west of Lansing. Has excellent layout with ups and downs, Hyzer and anhyzer. There is a posting at the start of the course where the tees are playing from and to. July was Long to Long and played very tough. They change up the Tees or baskets once a month and post this on the sign by hole 1. Make sure you read this sign before playing.

The traffic was very light which made for comfortable golf. We never got bored of any of the shot selections.

Another pro is that the first 9 bring you right back to the parking lot so you can go get something to drink if you ran out on a hot day.

I guess this course was worse in the past according to the previous reviews, but it seems to have got alot better. The tee signs are not vandalized and give good representations of the hole. The rough didn't eat any of our discs and play was very smooth.
Cons: Hole 1 is very steep and could be dangerous to climb down for some people. Some might consider the pads to be too short but I think they were just fine.

There is no water on the course but some would consider this to be a pro.
Other Thoughts: I played doubles with a friend and we didnt get a single birdy! This course is tough but extremely fun..

I lost a Yellow Buzz Discraft Elite x Custom Stamp Jbird on hole 17 or 18. I didn't actually lose it I think I just left it in the fairway. If you find it and email dhultin1@yahoo.com or message me on here that would be awesome.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 not sure why I put this off so long...

1    4/19/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
--aesthetic--beautiful piece of property with lake views on the front 9 and rolling meadows on the back. a hiking trail winds through most of the front.

--baskets--Discraft with nice big orange bands for visibility. the vast majority of these are BLIND throws, so visibility makes all the difference.

--teepads--nice and big, brushed concrete. many of them had brooms for deadfall

--signage--great signage (though #1 is missing) shows distances to the multiple pin locations and designated landing areas.
Cons:
--Blind shots--as has been covered before, huck and hope is the name of the game out here if you don't want to play the course twice.

--navigation--tough in spots. Next tee signs would be helpful. The front 9 plays pretty straight but the back plays through meadows that make it tricky to follow somewhat.

--Hole 17--the tee points down fairway "x", but the basket is down fairway "y" very difficult to know where to throw. I got very lost and just found 18 and back tracked.

Other Thoughts: This course is a workout in a good way, the hills keep you huffing and puffing the whole round! Talked to a local after my round, apparently they want to expand the course to 24 holes AND add a second 24 hole course in the future. exciting stuff there. course is clear and the hastings huckers have been out clearing deadfall. you can tell by all the burn pits that have fresh ash and tinder.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice Place!

1    4/4/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Central Scrutinizer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 25.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging and interesting. A very nice Disc Golf-arable plot of land. Off the beaten path, so not very crowded. Good tees and baskets. Nicely kept.

A few miles from a nice brewpub (Waldorf).
Cons: The pin placement on top of the steep 12' tall mound of dirt was gimmicky, in my opinion, (a poor finish to an otherwise great hole) and it seemed a few of the other pin placements bordered on that too. I'm not keen on my Disc Golf courses having elements of miniature golf, to be honest. That's really the only beef I had with Hammond Hill.
Other Thoughts: The baskets were installed in the "long" position when I visited yesterday, and it made for a course being mostly what you might call a true par-4 course if you're not an immortal pro player. I dug it. I'm a mediocre Am-1 player and shot 70 for the 18 hole layout, enjoying almost all of it.

If you're not from the area and are making a destination trip, you could bundle this course with the outstanding Fallasburg Park (Lowell) for an epiphany-filled day of Disc Golf. Play Fallasburg first, this second, then finish off the day of merriment at Waldorf Brewpub in downtown Hastings. It was a nice day to be alive!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hammond Hilly

1    3/19/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Concrete tee pads. Decent signage indicating alternate pads and both basket locations. fairly easy to navigate from hole to hole. Nice and quiet meaning that the only people generally out there are only disc golfers. You aren't sharing the area with other uses. nice mix of shots needed to navigate the holes. each 9 seems to loop back to the parking lot.
Cons: I didn't have a problem with it but the rough could be bad at times. Hole 1 really needs some type of work to help you get down the steep hill with out fear of falling or tripping down the hill. don't mind blind shots too much but there seemed to be a lot of them. i would walk ahead a bit just so i could get an idea as to where the pin placement was in order to determine where i wanted my disc to land. looks like it could get very buggy out there so would recommend bringing bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Port a John on site is nice. saw some brooms near the pads on some of the holes. It was a nice scenic walk through the woods while playing. Like the view of the lake as we walked down the sixth fairway. I would advise that you bring plenty of water with you. you may need to refill after the first nine. Especially if you are out of shape like me. the up and down hills really gave me a work out. Played it in spring so could get interesting on some of the holes after the leaves start appearing on the trees and bushes. I like the kiosk by hole 1 telling when which holes would be in the long or short positions. want to go back and play it again this time i will be more prepared for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A surprisingly fun round.

1    8/12/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Griplock
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good tees, signage, easy to navigate.
-Nice variety of shots for both lefties and righties, sidearm or backhand. Nice elevation on a few holes.
-Most holes have several lines to play, play it safe or be the hero.
-Little to no foot traffic, no vandalism and very clean.
Cons: -I can see where the rough is thick, though with even my moderate skill I stayed well clear of it. Mark your shots and you'll be fine.
-On your first visit, check the map at hole one for which pins are in play. Pins move monthly between two alternates. It gives the course replay value, but I list it as a con because it reduces that comfort of playing familiar holes.
-BUGS. All caps for a reason. Spray kept them from biting but at times it was hard to concentrate through the fog of mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: We played on a Friday afternoon and didn't see a soul except the grounds keeper out mowing. Maybe 10 minutes total spent looking for discs even with multiple throws. The longest pin (right now) was about 430', which was perfect some ace runs and birdies with my arm, but some might find it too easy. I wouldn't drive hours to play the course, but if you're nearby don't miss out on this one.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/23/2013   8/12/2011
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course with a lot of diversity, including wide-open holes, tightly wooded holes, and many in between. Excellent, large size cement tee pads. Traverses at least three ravines, which are at once scenic, entertaining, and hazardous. Has several elevation changes (Holes 1, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 17) in addition to a lot of short (<50 feet) yet steep hills which often have the tees perched on top. Large signs with distances posted (not sure of the accuracy). Different tee positions significantly alter the character of the course, with back nine long tee positions greatly increasing the degree of difficulty. Has no real standout holes but several holes vying for signature hole status, including ravine holes (1 and 7), semi-wide open bombers with tree obstacles (2, 11, 12, 14, 15) and tunnel holes with just enough room to throw hard (3, 4, 10, and my favorite, Hole 13-a compound hole with an enclosed tee). An underrated, free course that is worth the drive for anyone from GR or Lansing.
Cons: Many holes have very thick, disc-swallowing rough (have lost a couple of discs here). No really long holes like those at Leviathan, Flip or even Oshtemo. Bugs can be horrible, rivaling Silver Mountain with massive swarms of mosquitos awaiting you in mid-summer, even with bug spray on. Some wooded holes seem like filler holes, but these form a distinct minority.
Other Thoughts: Imagine a dirt bike trail made in the 1970s that winds through a remote park and deep woods along a completely undeveloped lake (Carter Lake) and you'll get the idea of what this course is like. Holes are right-sized (150-450 feet), and most are better than average, with significantly more fun than you might expect. An isolated location at least 20 miles of two-lane highway from the nearest population center (equidistant from Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, and Lansing), which keeps the crowding situation in check (a few Oshtemo refugees like me head here frequently). Generally underrated by reviewers on this site.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 blind from the start!!

1    7/4/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: Khuv
Played: 104  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I would say that there are 3 good things about Hammond Hill DGC
1. They have pretty good tee signs and I love how they use 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc to describe holes. Unique little twist for those who are into detail.
2. They have good tee pads with trash cans and a place to sit on most holes.
3. Its not a course that you have to worry about the general public getting in the way. So your free to enjoy
Cons: Well I would say the biggest con is the fact that there are only 3 holes that you can see from the tee pad. So this mean that you essentially walk the course twice just to get a look at the pin. Im sure if your a local you would have a better idea of pin positions but it looked like most positions are blind from the tee. The other big con would be that the course still needs a lot of work. If you get off the tight fairway you will spend some time looking and will leave with cut up legs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    6/2/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variation- lots of different shots. Even different placements of tees.

-Tee Pads, nice and big cement tee pads.

-Signs they have signs showing both pads and both baskets

-Trash cans, there seemed to be trash cans at most holes.

-The back nine is unlike any other back. All of them are fairways to tight wood endings. Amazing.

- Pin Placement, is awesome here.

-Chainstar baskets.

Cons: -The rough is really bad. If someone came in here with a weed whip for for a good amount of time, I think this would make this course up to a 4.5

-Lots of blind shots, this is the kind of place you should bring a friend.

-Can be very buggy, normally this is average for disc golf, but this place can be bad. I also saw a few snakes out there. Didn't bother me but could others.

-The first hole could be kind of dangerous as its a super steep hill.
Other Thoughts: The front nine is the definition of Risk and Reward. Tight fair ways with tall rough on the side. The back night is amazing fair ways and it seems almost all end in the woods.

**Updated 5/15/2012**
This place has defiantly had a lot of clean since the last time I've been there, but still needs a little bit more. A few locals made it seem like a lot of people are doing work on this and it show.s

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could use a little redesign

2-4    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Switters213
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice mix of open and wooded holes
- Many holes are a little longer than typical for Michigan. A few good spots to throw long bombs.
- Plenty of parking space
- Sweetest smelling Porta-Jon in all of disc golf...seriously...that orange can they got out there right now is like taking a leak inside a bag of skittles!
Cons: - walking down Hole 1 is a danger to myself and anyone below me. Needs some steps or a rope or something.
- the rough is seriously rough. having a spotter is recommended for almost every hole on the course.
- something like 16 out of 18 holes are blind off the tee. As an out-of-towner, I spent more time walking upfield trying to find the basket than I did throwing.
- maps are terrible. with no picture of the major trees on the hole, and some terrain information, the distance lines are virtually useless.
- underbrush is seriously dense. could really use a little slash and burn to knock back the thorns.
- long holes are great, but not when the fairway is 10 feet wide for the entire length. Nobody wants to throw a 500 foot Par 6.
- layout involves some backtracking between holes. clearly visible "next tee" signs would be a big help.
Other Thoughts: - with just a little redesign, this course could be fantastic. they've got the space, and the elevation.
- 16 blind drives from the tee pad sucks. chop out a few dozen trees and move the basket placements slightly and this course would play like a dream.
- the whole "basket on top of a ten foot tall pointed pile of dirt" thing has got to go. Once on a course is a neat, creative feature, but I think this course has something like 3 of them. Any more than one and it becomes a hokey gimmick. Elevated baskets are fine, but put some kind of landing area up top there. The way its done now doesn't make the course more challenging, its just kind of silly.
- I would also chop out some of the trees around the baskets. Once in a while its nice to have to thread past a ring of trees to a "well guarded" pin, but this course has them on like every.....single....hole... As with many of the other features on this course, a few is nice, but don't beat us to death with it.
- this time of year (late spring) the front 9 has mosquitos from hell. bring bug repellant.
- also this time of year watch out for snakes out here. been chased by water moccasins twice already here. I've had it with these muthaf@#& snakes on this muthaf@#& disc golf course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.