Hastings, MI 
Hammond Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #17 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 419ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Underappreciated, Solid and Challenging

5+    11/11/2010   12/11/2010
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --------
-Excellent variety. There is a lot of elevation, wide open fields, and dense forest to play through.
-Cement Tee-pads
-Alternating basket scheme! A unique perk. See the bulletin board for details.
-Sufficient trash receptacles
-Porta Jon on site, and lots of hidden bushes
-Dog friendly
-Good maintenance
-Lots of benches and clever use of dug out land to provide seats
-This course has a high Natural beauty and seclusion factor in its favor.
-High fun factor with the challenge it provides
Cons: ----------------
A little rough in some spots, this course will reward you for playing conservatively.
Some treacherous and steep terrain due to erosion can make play very dangerous. Hole one is going to need some type of stairs implemented, use Coldbrook Park http://www.dgcoursereview.com...se.php?id=438 in Kalamazoo Hole 4 as an example of what can be done.
Other Thoughts: -------
I believe that this course is a result of an Eagle scout project. They did a great job! One of my favorite courses for 2010. I have been debating between 4.5 and 4.0 as my rating. I would settle for a 4.25 right now. I think the overall score for this course is low, but I can see if someone rated it a few years ago this place would seem like a jungle (or modern day Fort Custer in Battle Creek http://www.dgcoursereview.com...php?id=2845). The course still has much potential for the future.
Very fun course for my game. There are a lot of holes that are long but require good accuracy off the tee.
I love the alternating basket scheme. The hole placements are generally well done and this adds a nice element to this course that I have not found anywhere else.
The land use is excellent, there are some really nice scenic spots overlooking the lake. It seems that they have more land to use and I would hope that they use it to expand this nice course. Make it 24 holes and it can be an easy 4.5 course.
I have played this course in the spring, summer and fall. If you have a chance play it on a sunny dry November day for pure Michigan disc golf!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/19/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Jazzbones
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great variety of elevation, open, tunnel shots etc. Good risk reward. We basically had the place to ourselves on a late summer Sunday.
Cons: Some of the short tees are kind of easy.
Other Thoughts: I left my yellow Stormtrooper dyed Sidewinder out there. Find it, get ahold of me at jazzbonesstrat@yahoo.com and I will gladly dye you something of your choice for free in exchange for return.
Otherwise treat her well.
It Likes: Elevated tee pads and ani's in the wind.
It Dislikes: Water and fall leaves.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Nasty Course

1    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a hilly and wooded course with a decent variety of hole designs. The front 9 is mostly narrow because of all the trees; the back 9 is mostly open with the rough consisting of tall weeds and has some large bushes and trees scattered throughout. There are some nice layouts, especially on the back 9. Most of the holes on this course are blind tee shots, and there are also a few doglegs. There are multiple hole locations and multiple tee boxes for all 18 holes. Overall this is a course that can really test your driving skills, especially in accuracy.
Cons: The first hole needs some kind of stairway going down that steep hill. That's not a good way to start this course. Most of the fairways on the front 9 are extremely narrow because of how close the trees are. I can tell this area used to be a hiking trail, but that's way too narrow to be used as a disc golf fairway and it has to be widened. Right now it's real difficult for players to throw their discs a long ways on those holes without them sailing deep into the woods which are filled with trees, poison ivy, and mosquitoes. Some of the fairways on the back 9 are real narrow simply because of the tall weeds surrounding them, and it can sometimes be difficult to find your disc when it lands in those weeds. There are some large and thorny honeysuckle bushes, especially on holes 14-17, that can scratch up your hands and arms if you have to reach in to grab your disc (these plants, by the way, are invasive to Michigan's environment, so they shouldn't even be on this course). A few of the tee boxes on the back 9 are kind of hard to find. And what's up with that tall skinny mound in the woods that the long 13th basket sits on top of? That's a terrible spot for a disc golf basket. I played all 18 holes of this course in the middle of the summer wearing a t-shirt and shorts, and before I was done my arms and legs had some scratches and they really itched because of the honeysuckle bushes, poison ivy, mosquito bites, and possibly some other things, while my socks and shoelaces were covered with little green stick tites. It's difficult to avoid those things when playing this course, especially during the summer, because there isn't much of a fairway on most holes. I ended up spending a long time at this course because I kept losing my disc in the trees, weeds, and bushes even though my drives were normally half way decent.
Other Thoughts: I'm feeling a negative vibe as I write this, so I need to clarify that there are some decent holes throughout this course that I kind of enjoyed playing. There is some potential for this to become a better disc golf course, but right now there's a whole lot of work that needs to be done because it seems like Mother Nature has overwhelmed the course. For most people, playing here can be a long, frustrating, and disappointing day. It might be better to play this course between fall and early spring when there's not nearly as much foliage throughout the area.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT ADVENTURE COURSE

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I think this is just a great course.
Elavation changes
Changing pin placements
Cement tee pads
Great walk in the woods
CHAINSTARS!!!!!

Cons: The rough can be rough.
Not stroller friendly( is that really a con)
Other Thoughts: This course can be grueling especially in the heat it was 85 and humid the day I played. Try not to play alone, a spotter is recommended.
I look forward to returning!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Might As Well Hit Hastings

1    7/20/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a nice little walk through the hillside. This course offers a good amount of variety and views. It has concrete tee pads and is fairly easy to navigate with a natural flow to the layout. It seemed quite well maintained and appears to be beloved by the locals as there is no garbage or other signs of destructive behavior. It is worn in well and judging from past reviews it has come a long way. Hole one makes things interesting right off the bat. It is nearly straight down with a neck breaker of a walk down a steep and rocky hill. The next few holes move from an open meadow that requires a fair amount of accuracy into some hiking trail holes that are tight and wooded. A lake is visible through the trees to the left which is a nice touch as you look out from this elevation. There is a really cool ravine hole back here, the number escapes me as I forgot my notepad and the course pictures here are lacking, that sends you over and up through quite a picturesque section of the landscape. Signature all the way. After weaving through the woods, the back nine takes you out into a more open area with hills and elevation changes. The front nine ends at the parking lot which is nice because you have the option of stopping if you are short on time or getting another refreshment. Eighteen takes you right back to your car.
Cons: There really aren't many cons here. The first few holes seem a bit packed in, and the back nine is just a touch mundane. The signs were confusing to me as a first timer. They show basket A and basket B. I thought there were two baskets per hole. I guess the positioning changes throughout the season. This adds to variety and is actually a pro. There was no intangible here that made me feel that this course was greatness, but it is definitely a solid course with a decent design and layout. I think the designers did the best they could with this piece of land.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the surrounding area this course is one to check out. It offers a different feel than the city courses and will definitely allow you to demonstrate your skills.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hammond Hill-Hastings

2-4    4/9/2011   5/12/2010
Review By: E-man
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2011
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Shot variety. This course has lots of it. The front nine holes are generally very tight/technical holes with many trees and trouble off the narrow fairways. The back nine are much more open, but still have some trees/huge bushes to navigate around. Overall, it has a mixture of short, long (none extremely long), left, right, open, wooded, uphill, and downhill.

-Risky pin placements. While only a handful of them, they still keep it interesting. Some are on a hill, some are protected by trees, and one sits atop a 5-6ft cone-like mound of land.

-Beauty. The course is somewhat like a nature hike, more so in the front nine where there is a view of a lake and a picnic table to sit and enjoy it. Even the open holes have their beauty as they go across some rolling hills.

-Tee signs/pads: Excellent in a word. They are large and include distances to both short and long pin placements from both long and short tees. Teepads are concrete and new looking, but just a tad on the small side for my tastes.

-Baskets. Excellent condition. There is also a practice basket just (and I mean just) off the parking lot. Not much room around it, but its there.
Cons: -Blind holes. I don't really mind these, but there are just so many of them! After playing this course four times, it is still a pain because I can't exactly remeber where the pin is. This may frustrate first-timers.

-Maintenance. It seems a little unkempt, especially in the summer months. Some fairways had grass that was shin-high or better. It is a relatively new course, so hopefully it will get better with time.

-Sitting areas/trash cans. While there are a few picnic tables in some pretty nice spots, a few more "rest areas" would be nice. There is a good number of trash cans, but they are only 5gal. buckets that were overflowing every time I played here.
Other Thoughts: I am updating this because after having more than one year of DG experience, I think I can write a better review. The course takes you back to the parking lot after hole 9, which I think is really cool. It comes in handy if you want to restock your drinks, add/remove a layer of clothing, or use the porta-john near the parking lot. I think the porta-john is only a summer thing, as it wasn't there last time I played in early April.
Bugs can be an issue and I won't play here w/o bug spray in the summer.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 wow

5+    11/6/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 109  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very creative course. The course make you want to hate it at first because you didn't hit the line, but play it two more times and I guarantee it will become a favorite course.Lots of distance and Discraft Chainstars + LOTS of challenges make this course a trainer
Cons: natural teepads
Other Thoughts: Imagination makes this course what it is and can be appreciated by the player who can master the mental aspect and hitting lines (AS ALWAYS) is even more crucial here. Make sure you know where the basket is. You came to this course to see what it is like, don't complain that you missed the putting area if you just prayed that you were playing at the putting area.

6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 New course,new game.

2-4    5/1/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very unique layout,great design,up and down hills,through the trees,across valleys and gully's,multiple pin placements.Not too hard to navigate and has seperate 9 hole's so you can refill beverages before continuing.
Cons: Some of the dirt tee pads are on uneven ground,thick rough,large dead fall,tall grass,dense foilage,and alot of blind upshots.Some of the local Hasting young players can be discourteous.
Other Thoughts: This course is in its infancy,after a couple of years I am sure it will be broken in.Very worth the time to play.Reminds me of some of the courses in northern MI.Use some spotters on some of the blind holes.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle scout project a success

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course overall. This course has great elevation changes, nice scenery, and a good test to your skill level. The front nine is mostly wooded, the back nine mostly open. Course is well marked with arrows for direction, and has great signs at every hole. Short and long pin positions on every hole keep the course changing throughout the season (check the board by hole 1 for schedule). The pin position on 13 long is one of a kind. Holes 1 and 10 both start by the parking lot for variable play.
Cons: This course provides a good challenge and can be very humbling. Many blind shots, high grass, and thick forest. Some areas of the course can be wet and bugs are always hungry here. Some shots might require a spotter.
Other Thoughts: This course is about an hour away from me (one way), but I think it is worth the drive. I have found it is most enjoyable in spring/late spring. Things can get very overgrown here, and the bugs can be very bad. Course is secluded and spreads out over a great landscape. If it's your first time, go with someone who has played here before. Don't forget to check the board by hole 1 for pin schedule.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  HAMMOND HILL DISC GOLF COURSE

5+    5/9/2010   10/4/2009
Review By: samwise
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2010
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Lots of variety with long and short teepads and long and short pin locations. Long tees are cement, shorts are not. Tee signs signify wich location the baskets are in with a zip strip.(crude but works). Also there is a schedule hanging in the parking lot by #1. Front nine more wooded but more dueceable. Back nine more open and challenging. Lots of elevation changes makes it fun. Cement!!!!!!!Woodchips!!!!!!
Cons: People not showing up for cement pouring day.
Fair weather golfers/workers
Other Thoughts: Lots of work to still do out here. Thanks to all who have helped with this project. All that has been done out here is either donated or sponsored by local business. The more this gets played the better it is going to get.

This course is starting to look and play really nice. Please replay if last year was the only time you played. You may not recognize it.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.