Rock Hill, SC 
Winthrop University Lakefront Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    9/20/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: One of the best courses ive ever played. very nice and technical but not to long
Cons: It can be kind of hard to find your way around the course but that doesnt take away from the beautiful course
Other Thoughts: once again probably the best course ive ever played

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite the USDGC Layout, but FUN

1    8/10/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 395  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Partial USDGC Course. A few of the Holes are the exact same as the USDGC layout (USDGC Holes 1, 3, 6, 7, 16, 17)... while a few other Holes combinations make up other USDGC Holes (i.e. Holes 3 and 4 Lakefront = Hole 2 USDGC, Holes 9 and 10 Lakefront = Hole 5 USDGC). So even though this course isn't the USDGC course exactly, you can get a feel for what the players play (only without the ropes).
- Lots of Water in Play. With a name like Lakefront, you hope there is a lot of water in play... and there is. If my memory serves me correctly, approximately 1/3 of the course has water in play... and several other Holes have other forms of OB.
- Fun Holes. Even though you're not playing the USDGC course, a plethora of birdie opportunities make the Lakefront course fun to play. And, because they're able to retain some of the USDGC Holes there is an added fun factor.
Cons:
- Navigation. I had a guide, so I thought navigation was going to be a breeze. However, we still had a hard time remembering where to go next (around the Hole 6/7/8 area) and we never did find the actual tee-pad for Hole 18.
- Inaccurate Gravestones. The gravestone style tee-signs definitely don't help. The fact that many of them are mis-numbered (from an old course design) makes you question everything else about them (distance, Par, that you're even on the correct hole, etc...). You would expect much better tee-signs at a place like Winthrop.
Other Thoughts:
- Lots of Amenities Nearby. As you approach the university from the main road, you pass every kind of amenity you could want... Gas, Fast Food, Sit-Down Food, Supermarkets, Hotels, Pawn Shops, etc... I definitely recommend the margaritas at Tequilas (although I can't recommend their food as much) and the sub sandwiches at East Coast Subs!!!
- Overall. The course is really fun to play, however I could see it being a bummer if you were having a hard time with navigation or if you were trying to compare it to the USDGC layout. The splitting of the long USDGC Holes into two separate Holes for the Lakefront course makes playing them a letdown because you know deep down that you would rather be playing the longer Holes straight up. The Lakefront course plays much more like a regular city park disc golf course, except with water holes and USDGC mystique (which probably both add a disc to the rating).
- My Score: -5

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome course

5+    10/19/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: djcandler
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Excellent course which has been kept up very well. The holes are very challenging and interesting. Course traffic is low and the locals are very nice. The USDGC Championship is play here. ( the Gold course..slightly differs from the Lake)
Cons: The baskets are not numbered nor are the tees so take a local with you!
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course and I love to play it!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Winthrop University

1    6/12/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.5 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely gorgeous. It plays around a lake and a marsh area, and is impeccably manicured. Not a trash can, cigarette butt, or a blade of grass taller than an inch to be found.

It has a great atmosphere to it, and one quite different than most disc golf parks. The locals are very friendly, as are the waterfowl that inhabit the lake, particularly if you have food.

The flow of the course is very nice. It's definitely on the open side of the spectrum, but with enough obstacles to keep things interesting.

Knowing that the USDGC is held at this course adds a certain impact to playing the course. Even if it's not in the Gold setup, you can still recognize certain holes from videos of the tournament.
Cons: The signage seems outdated, or maybe it's accurate in the gold setup. Whatever the case, navigation is somewhat confusing, and the pars are incredibly generous as they're listed on the stone plaques next to the tees.

The course might be a little on the easy side, but I wouldn't weigh this heavily. A decent golfer will definitely shoot under par, even playing them all as threes. Still, this isn't much of a con, particularly after a round at Renny ;)
Other Thoughts: There's something about this course that is hard to review objectively, and the best word I can think of is personality. It just feels good to be there, like if disc golf was a job, this would be your vacation.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with many challenges!

-litter free and wonderful people
-unique obstacles
-risk/reward is very fun! I put a disc in the water but I did get it back
-nice variety of open and wooded holes
-baskets catch nicely

I would tell you may favorites holes but i honestly don't know what numbers they were...but three different ones were really cool.
Cons: There are a few issues but if you are careful it's really not a big deal.

-tee numbers are outdated and it can be confusing
-some holes play near a road, fenced in private yards, parking lot, and benches
-please becareful of the wildlife
-goose poo (ocassionally)
Other Thoughts: Bring the map! I just looked at the map in the Links/Files tab and thought it looked easy enough to navigate but the tee numbers have changed and the tee markers are flat with the ground and sometimes it's difficult to find the tee. The first tee is next to "The Shack" just across the road from the parking area. Have fun, I did.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

5+    3/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: jrearle85
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great open fairways, good for driving.

Beautiful scenery with the lake in the back drop.

Pet friendly!!!

Good mix of fun holes, as well as some high risk/high reward holes.
Cons: Have lost a few discs in the lake...

Little confusing for first timers. There are left over tee box plaques from long ago and the numbers on the basket do not always match the hole.
Other Thoughts: Good course to play. Lot of fun with several holes that allow you to air one out. Bring back-ups because you may lose a disc!!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 you aint so bad

5+    3/3/2010   3/3/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: for the most part a open course. not much in the way of woods.almost every hole is reachable if you can throw 350 consistantly. the water comes into play on 4-5 holes which adds a danger factor if you dont want to lose a disc. the scenery is nice, especially in the summer when the ladies are laying out, and jogging around.
Cons: if you dont know the layout, it could be confusing. ducks like to hang out in the fairway of hole#9 and #17. sometimes a wild looking duck will follow you around and try to attack. sometimes the lovely ladies laying out catching rays are in the fairway....
Other Thoughts: compared to the gold layout, this is pretty tame and average. if i had to chose between this and boyd hill, id probably go to boyd hill. i will catch flack for saying that, but i said it. if you want to play winthrop....grow some balls and play the gold layout

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Winthrop Lakefront

2-4    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 115  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.7 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course flows well, no crazy long walks between holes.

Benches at some holes.

Holes are all fun except #9? (the longest one on the course)
Not sure if it's #9 due to lack of signage or numbers on baskets.

Plenty of restaurants and convenience stores nearby.

Nice park setting, plenty of other people using the park, so not too worried about shady things going down.

Some really pretty spots.

Cool to play some of the same holes used in the USDGC.

Very open course, you can really let it rip on a few if you've got the arm.

Good course design, nice use of the available space.
It's got uphill and downhill holes, and takes you on a nice loop around the lake.
Cons: Navigation is horrible for first time players.
There are tee signs at some of the holes, but they only tell the distance and par. There is no picture of the hole. Many holes have no sign.

There are numbers on some of the baskets, but there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to what these numbers mean.

I only saw 1 arrow indicating the location of the next tee.

Very open course , lots of long throws which seemed repetitive. Also, bring lots of sunblock on a sunny day.

Lots of goose crap on those long open holes in the grass beside the lake.

The course doesn't play back by the parking lot but once, hole #4? It's not that big of a deal, but it would be nice if you needed to get something out of your car, or stash a jacket if you get hot, etc.

Course maintenance doesn't seem to be all that great for a course of this reputation.
I've played it twice, the first in July, and the grass seemed like it hadn't been cut in a few weeks then, and today, January 1, many of the tee-pads were dangerously slick with mud and goop. Granted it has been wet around here lately, but I doubt the pads had been swept since October.

I didn't see a trash can anywhere on the course.

Benches only at some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Most of my cons really aren't that big of a deal, with the exception of the navigation for a first timer. Actually making the throws from the tee pad to the basket is a good experience here. I prefer more wooded courses like most of the rest of the ones in the greater Charlotte area, but I'll be back to play here again.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous but confusing

1    8/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An absolutely gorgeous layout with spectacular views throughout. Long holes that require two full throws at least to reach pins plus some holes where putts for a 2 are possible. Very fun to play the some of the holes you see on YouTube for the USDGC. Would play here over and over again.
Cons: My buddies and I showed up hoping to play the Gold layout as seen for the USDGC. The course was wildly difficult to follow and we played some holes that apparently weren't actually a part of the initial 18. Most tee markers were flat on the ground (easy for mowing) but useless for rookies trying to find their way around the course. My buddy put it best when he said, "once you know the course, you don't need the markers. But until you know the course, you can't see the markers. What's the point of them being flat on the ground?" Course takes a long time to play and in the summer, has no reprieve from the sun. Bring lots of sun tan lotion and water!
Other Thoughts: If you're coming to the course with the intention of playing the famed USDGC course, you will be disappointed. The OB markers aren't in year round and the course is very difficult to follow. That being said, I can't wait to go back and play it again. I will go with different intentions and make sure my map is accurate, but I will definitely be back. The grounds are absolutely spectacular and playing around and over the lake was great!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Championship Caliber Course

1    8/9/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's true that this course has a real country club feel with lovely manicured lawns, shrubs and trees, a large lake with fountains, and a "clubhouse of sorts" called the Shack. The course plays through immaculately groomed grassy fairways and trees and half work their way around the lake. Most holes play with a medium to long range power in mind. You must shape shots, but it doesn't get too tight or technical. One of the coolest holes is a hole that has it's green enclosed by tall bamboo poles with a 15' opening on the front side. Kudos to having a couple of labelled par 4's.
Cons: Holes 9 & 10 play almost wide open except for the OB road right and lake left. There's almost no obstacles in the fairway ( that wouldn't be so bad but having 2 holes in a row like this lacked in creativity). The course is poorly marked - no tee signs, numbers on baskets are wrong. If I didn't have a map, it would have been really confusing as there are some long walks between some holes.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this layout over the Gold course which I think is overkill (see that review).

Bring lots of water and sunscreen in summer - much of this course is out in the open.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.