Rock Hill, SC
Winthrop University Lakefront Share
Uploaded By: cefire Hole #18
3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 you aint so bad

5+    3/3/2010   3/3/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: for the most part a open course. not much in the way of woods.almost every hole is reachable if you can throw 350 consistantly. the water comes into play on 4-5 holes which adds a danger factor if you dont want to lose a disc. the scenery is nice, especially in the summer when the ladies are laying out, and jogging around.
Cons: if you dont know the layout, it could be confusing. ducks like to hang out in the fairway of hole#9 and #17. sometimes a wild looking duck will follow you around and try to attack. sometimes the lovely ladies laying out catching rays are in the fairway....
Other Thoughts: compared to the gold layout, this is pretty tame and average. if i had to chose between this and boyd hill, id probably go to boyd hill. i will catch flack for saying that, but i said it. if you want to play winthrop....grow some balls and play the gold layout

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Winthrop Lakefront

2-4    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course flows well, no crazy long walks between holes.

Benches at some holes.

Holes are all fun except #9? (the longest one on the course)
Not sure if it's #9 due to lack of signage or numbers on baskets.

Plenty of restaurants and convenience stores nearby.

Nice park setting, plenty of other people using the park, so not too worried about shady things going down.

Some really pretty spots.

Cool to play some of the same holes used in the USDGC.

Very open course, you can really let it rip on a few if you've got the arm.

Good course design, nice use of the available space.
It's got uphill and downhill holes, and takes you on a nice loop around the lake.
Cons: Navigation is horrible for first time players.
There are tee signs at some of the holes, but they only tell the distance and par. There is no picture of the hole. Many holes have no sign.

There are numbers on some of the baskets, but there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to what these numbers mean.

I only saw 1 arrow indicating the location of the next tee.

Very open course , lots of long throws which seemed repetitive. Also, bring lots of sunblock on a sunny day.

Lots of goose crap on those long open holes in the grass beside the lake.

The course doesn't play back by the parking lot but once, hole #4? It's not that big of a deal, but it would be nice if you needed to get something out of your car, or stash a jacket if you get hot, etc.

Course maintenance doesn't seem to be all that great for a course of this reputation.
I've played it twice, the first in July, and the grass seemed like it hadn't been cut in a few weeks then, and today, January 1, many of the tee-pads were dangerously slick with mud and goop. Granted it has been wet around here lately, but I doubt the pads had been swept since October.

I didn't see a trash can anywhere on the course.

Benches only at some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Most of my cons really aren't that big of a deal, with the exception of the navigation for a first timer. Actually making the throws from the tee pad to the basket is a good experience here. I prefer more wooded courses like most of the rest of the ones in the greater Charlotte area, but I'll be back to play here again.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous but confusing

1    8/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An absolutely gorgeous layout with spectacular views throughout. Long holes that require two full throws at least to reach pins plus some holes where putts for a 2 are possible. Very fun to play the some of the holes you see on YouTube for the USDGC. Would play here over and over again.
Cons: My buddies and I showed up hoping to play the Gold layout as seen for the USDGC. The course was wildly difficult to follow and we played some holes that apparently weren't actually a part of the initial 18. Most tee markers were flat on the ground (easy for mowing) but useless for rookies trying to find their way around the course. My buddy put it best when he said, "once you know the course, you don't need the markers. But until you know the course, you can't see the markers. What's the point of them being flat on the ground?" Course takes a long time to play and in the summer, has no reprieve from the sun. Bring lots of sun tan lotion and water!
Other Thoughts: If you're coming to the course with the intention of playing the famed USDGC course, you will be disappointed. The OB markers aren't in year round and the course is very difficult to follow. That being said, I can't wait to go back and play it again. I will go with different intentions and make sure my map is accurate, but I will definitely be back. The grounds are absolutely spectacular and playing around and over the lake was great!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Scenic Championship Caliber Course

1    8/9/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's true that this course has a real country club feel with lovely manicured lawns, shrubs and trees, a large lake with fountains, and a "clubhouse of sorts" called the Shack. The course plays through immaculately groomed grassy fairways and trees and half work their way around the lake. Most holes play with a medium to long range power in mind. You must shape shots, but it doesn't get too tight or technical. One of the coolest holes is a hole that has it's green enclosed by tall bamboo poles with a 15' opening on the front side. Kudos to having a couple of labelled par 4's.
Cons: Holes 9 & 10 play almost wide open except for the OB road right and lake left. There's almost no obstacles in the fairway ( that wouldn't be so bad but having 2 holes in a row like this lacked in creativity). The course is poorly marked - no tee signs, numbers on baskets are wrong. If I didn't have a map, it would have been really confusing as there are some long walks between some holes.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this layout over the Gold course which I think is overkill (see that review).

Bring lots of water and sunscreen in summer - much of this course is out in the open.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Quest for the Holy Grail

1    7/16/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My buddies and I have always been excited to play this course that is so heralded in disc golf lore. With rapt anticipation we came across a beautiful park/sports complex replete with sunshine and well maintained fields. Getting into the park was no problem. The lake is as beautiful as is it daunting. More than a few carefully designed "signature" holes to choose from, with 5 a long downhill bomb out into the open, 7 better guarded by a ring of cedars than the President at a speech, 10 a long hyzer around a big tree with the lake menacing to the left, and 12 with its bamboo fort around the hole. Adequate tees and well maintained fairways. Good variety of shots, good length to warm up the cannon if you have one.
Cons: "The Killer Rabbit (or Duck) of Caerbannog" I had to meet up with a local to get a gist of the course b/c there is NO signage, and every basket is #'d wrong as previously stated. Definitely bring a scorecard/map before you head out b/c the intertwining layouts of this and the Gold version is confusing. After rounding around the lake my guide exclaimed, "There he is!", alluding to a duck he referred to as Satan. A mean little bastard who fortunately was too busy cleaning itself to chase us. Definitely felt like Sir Robin and the shock of seeing this infamous duck almost made me soil my armor. Other than no signs and the confusing layout at first, the course has no cons except some of the lakefront holes are replete with geese shat. We did encounter one lady sunbathing less than 15 feet from a tee but women in bikinis are typically not cons in my book. I didn't notice any bathrooms either.
Other Thoughts: I was mildly disappointed mostly b/c of the lack signage but this course was a lot of fun and you don't have to be pro to enjoy this course unlike, say, Renny. But with so many big tourneys played here I expected to have at least some decent tee signs. This course is more open than wooded but 13 and 14 are two nice long wooded holes with old oaks lining the fairway. And for the love of Pete forehand your drive on 18 or you're begging to jump in the lake for your disc, mad roll away potential.

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 B-e-a-utiful

2-4    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: britishdisc
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Excellent course design
-Good mixture of long and short holes
-Nicely maintained fairways with no trash
-Benches at every hole for if you need to sit down
-Large open fairways with little to no trees add variety to the course unlike most courses which are wooded
Cons: -The tees and baskets are incorrectly numbered making it hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: -Avoid the psycho duck
-Bring a map till you get familiar with the holes

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost As Good As It Gets

5+    11/16/2007   5/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: tspeedb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: very very very fun. if you dont have the energy to throw over 500ft all day you can still get some winthrop dg
Cons: people sit and walk all over course. the longest hole they lay a blanket down and sit on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: dont lose your discs

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/7/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Big Chipper
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Easily the longest non-tournament course in the region (gets much longer playing the tournament Gold course). Nice mixture of open shots and some tighter areas.
Cons: The lake seems to like my discs. The numbering system on tees and baskets is about the dumbest thing ever. First timers need a map.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun. I wish they would spend a few $$$ working on the numbering system. Not a single one is correct.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/3/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
-Beautiful course
-Several holes have great risk reward
-Very complimentary of Gold course.
Much like a shorter version.
- Very clean and well maintained

Cons:
-Can be difficult to navigate the first time.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging and enjoyable course. Great shorter alternative to the larger Gold Course, but still very challenging. As forementioned, theres is a a Bike shop nearby that has a nice selection of discs. This course by itself is worth the trip, Id also reccommend taking the time to play it for anyone that is coming to play the prestigious Gold Course.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.