Course Extinct
Mount Shasta, CA 
Mt. Shasta Disc Golf Complex Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #N-1 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
North (green) #1



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bushwacker Unlimited

1    7/20/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: - 36 Holes (4 seperate 9 hole courses)
- Baskets were either DGA or Discatchers or maybe even another mixed in brand, but all were in very good condition.
- Not crowded, and not in a shared area, so you don't have to compete with dog walkers, or sun bathers etc..
- Good signs on each hole
- Good markers on large wooden block which direct you to the next whole. These are all color coordinated with the course that you are playing on.
- All four course start and end in the same localized place... a pretty impresive feat in it's own.
Cons: - Overgrown like crazy.
- High potential to loose disc here in the undergrowth.
- Not many if any trash cans.
- No bathrooms (maybe near by but none on site that I saw).
- The start and finish point were not near any parking areas... I may have missed a better parking area to start, but I drove around quite a bit looking for ANY clue that there was a DGC here and never saw one. (Without the map, I probably would have been searching even more).
- Dirt tee pads. (although they were mostly level, it wasn't that great).
Other Thoughts: If this place was just used more and groomed just a enough I think the overgrowth problem would be fixed.
There is some extreamly good thought put into this course and some good work arleady... it just seems like it has been forgotten.
I can't say not to check this place out as it was OK, but if you only have time in the area for one round; head to Weed to University OB, it's a better course for you time.
Don't forget your map, it's not really need on the course as markers were pretty good, but to find the course it was helpful. I used the football field as reference point and hiked in from there.
Never saw another Disc Golfer here. Sad... it could be so nice.

 Boooo!

1    6/27/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Potential is unlimited.
Beautiful scenery in a nice park.
Cons: Signage.
Signage.
Did I mention signage? Not playable for an out of towner without a local which u will probably spot a bear first!
Other Thoughts: Had high hopes just based on scenery alone and was severely let down!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 watch where you land

5+    2/6/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: all baskets for targets. Very challanging course due to tight fairways with lots of trees.Some tees have benchs. 4-9 hole courses.
Cons: Too many trees and brush. Too much debris. sometimes the wood signs are gone or buried in leaves. Dirt tees with ruts.
Other Thoughts: Watch where you land because there is so much brush and leaf's!

 Mt. Shasta

1    9/2/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: Scorchysrevenge
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Neat central location for all 4 courses.
-Mt. Shasta is a great little town.
-Soccer field on site to practice drives on before or after game.
Cons: -Dusty with lots of shrubs. I still have deep scratches on my legs that are healing.
-Monotonous.
-Hard to find. No signage from parking area.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Shasta is such a gorgeous area, it would seem like there would be lots of other opportunities for great courses. Hope to see more in the future.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Mixed situation, maybe seasonal

1    9/1/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: pdxhuckster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location. Played the Blue/Red courses. Blue was very rough, seemed like it was just recently set up. Red was more established, with better markings. I liked the idea of a central start, with four 9 holes to take off.
Cons: Never found hole number 7 on the blue/south course. Either the marker was missing, or it just wasn't evident to someone who was a walk-on. In late summer, the blue course was full of weeds. Should have played through the trees. I played at a very dry/dusty time of the season. Perhaps a little cooler/wetter would have made a difference in the setting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good start

1    9/11/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great signage and use of railroad ties for arrows. Nice mix of left, right and straight shots required. I love the basket on the mound.
Cons: I didn't see anything that indicated which location the basket was currently sitting in ie, long or short. Very dusty and "rough" overall, meaning it could use some further clearing and removal of brush and branches. The holes were all kind of similar: relatively short and technical without much opportunity for "high" or over-the-top shots.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to whomever put the work in to get this course installed, it had to take a lot. I hope tee pads and signs from the parking lot are on the agenda.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Awesome

5+    7/30/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 36 Holes!, Each 9-hole course starts and begins in the same area, makes it unique, and possible to do a lot of holes in one day. Some fun elevation changes on the East and South courses. Really tests all the shots in your bag. There are now some alternate pin locations that definitely allow for hole-in-one opportunities. There is enough variation to make each course unique and fun.
Cons: Still a little rough. Not sure if this is a pro or con but i have found 8 discs in as many weeks. I have only lost one in the process. Dirt tee pads, and a lot of ground shrubs do make the walking a little treacherous.
Other Thoughts: Great, technical course for all ability levels. If driving through it is very much worth a stop. i have dropped my rating on the course. It is still worth the stop, but as things are getting overgrown, and I have yet to see any additional work done on the course,I have to say it is losing points for me. So still worth playing but is in sore need of maintenance. And if you are going to stop take time to play all 4 courses, each has it's own feel and terrain changes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/13/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: rascalfareye
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging holes--thin avenues between a lot of trees, and lots of long holes.
Cons: Very dusty, and no tee pads as of 4/09. A lot of little manzanita stumps to avoid tripping over.
Other Thoughts: A very cool course, over all. Rough, but interesting. I played three out of four 9-hole courses. The East (yellow) course was my fave. A few more short holes would be nice. Making a hole in one is not likely on more than 1 or 2 of the 27 holes I played.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.