Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park - Winter Share
Uploaded By: Texconsinite   (Taken 2/2009)
Course Map



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Solid alternate layout

1    2/11/2015   2/26/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 102  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When the ball golf course closes at Dretzka, the disc golf course transfers over, and quite well.

Rubber tee pads, which are pretty solid. They could stand to be a touch longer, but they grip well, and are almost always cleared off. Level, and pretty darn good for being temporary on a seasonal course.

Wood signs at each hole, with distance and path. Rudimentary, but another nice touch on a seasonal course.

Distances here aren't huge, but they're just right for winter golf. Lots of elevation in play, including a nice ski hill bomber (at least for my Int arm).

For being on a ball golf course, they do a great job of incorporating trees and obstacles. Lots of tunnels and lower canopies can force your shots. The holes tend to play along the sides, or shooting across, the ball golf fairways instead of just open shots straight down them.
Cons: Navigation can be a little wonky the first time you play it. Being seasonal, there's no permanent "next tee" type signs. Fortunately, this is a well played winter course, so there's usually some locals around to help with that aspect.

Some of the course can start to feel a bit wide open. It's not all open, but if there's no wind (there usually is), and your drives are on, you can score well here.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. In fact, I'd say it's right on par with the summer course. If I lived closer, I'd play this bad boy all winter long. Well designed, not a beat down....all good things when you're trudging through snow and bone chilling temps.

Plenty of parking, and never too full.

Definitely worth checking out!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Winter Course? Well it's fun!

1    2/24/2015   2/24/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was previously unaware that such a thing as a specific Winter Course existed but was glad to pull up to Dretzka and not only find a nicely playable course, but a completely different one than I had ever played.

It was a very enjoyable experience.

The pads were large rubber mats that had been kept clear of snow and ice by some surely sainted individual. Very easy to throw from. Don't break out you 360 here but it's for plenty of room for anything else.

Baskets are the normal DGA baskets from the course so very nice and catching very well.

The holes are mostly 350 or less with several under 200, but no mistake in the cold that is plenty long.

And the variety is great, tons of trees, small openings off the tee and some awesome risk/reward shots.

I also liked the fact that they had little wooden signs at each tee showing the placement/distance/direction of the next pad.

It's also very long and plays to the full 27 hole potential.

Awesome course, in some ways better than the normal one as far as layout goes.
Cons: The signs could be more clear on a few, and on the map I didn't see all of the holes.

I missed a few because I either or lost or found the wrong pad.

Partially user error here though.

I'd have liked to see one or two a bit longer but that's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was really fun to play and I'd play it a lot if I lived near.

Very weird thing; do your discs tend to fly less HSS in the cold? Seemed like I was flipping everything every snow round I've played this year.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome winter only course near Brew town

1    3/9/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm rating this course as a winter course ONLY because that is exactly what it is. And with that said it's a very nice one. There are standard concrete tee pad sized rubber mats on every hole. Depending on the location of the tee some stay drier than others. These are regularly shoveled off and since it's a well played course the tees stay pretty clear of snow/ice build up. The fairways and route from the basket to the next hole are very easy to figure out. There are very basic hole signs at every hole with the distance and direction of pin hand drawn on. They also have the hole # and an arrow directing you to the next hole which was extremely helpful as a first time visitor here. There is a bit of elevation, both up and down hill here, with a decent amount trees mixed throughout. Not too many trees but a good enough amount for a winter round. The real challenge here would seem to be the wind and disc skippage. That and again obviously the winter conditions of cold hands, iced over basket areas, finding discs in the snow, etc. This to me is not a con at all. It makes you plan your shots more than you normally would in the other seasons and really makes for a challenging round. They have Mach 3 baskets here. These are the same ones I'm assuming they use on the standard course but just move for the winter layout. These are all in fine shape. They're broken in well with the year round play on them. They caught great when we went even with the cold chains which were all rust free. It's set up nicely too so that you can play either 9 holes (1-7 and 26 & 27) or the full 27 holes. It's free. The local club/s around here do a fantastic job keeping this playable and enjoyable. I will note that there is a (frozen) water hazard here in a creek that runs through the golf course section. This can still technically be a water hazard but for most of the time this set up is in it's frozen over. BUT they do list it on the signs which is good to know. There are multiple trash cans throughout the course too. There's a nice satellite map of the course layout by hole 1 which helps for newbies.
Cons: AGAIN this is a winter only course. So besides the obvious negatives that come with playing in cold weather I'm only going to list cons based on a winter course. With that said the walk from 7 to 8 is a little tricky for first time players. The baskets for the most part seem to be just straight ahead of the tees. There's more distance variation here than the other reviews led me to believe but most are in the 200 to 300 foot range. This is misleading though because in the winter and in this set up makes scoring well here still not super easy. The bugs can get really bad....oh wait, it's winter.
Other Thoughts: Me and my wife had a blast playing here. Again the locals keep this in excellent shape. I'll play here anytime I'm coming through the area, summer course too. Dretzka's my favorite course in the Milwaukee area, and I've played all the bigger ones and over 100 total, and the winter set up lives up to the summer version very favorably. Highly recommend if you're in the in the area and love discing in all seasons.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/25/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 104  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: I play this course on average about 3x/week because it's the best course in the Greater Milwaukee area during the winter season. They've mixed it up compared to the past few years' layouts with new holes, pin locations and tee pads. Great usage of the terrain and elevation changes throughout the course. Having a course on a closed down golf course is always nice to play on with the good grounds keeping.
Cons: The rubber pads tend to get a little slippery if the snow is melting or it's warm outside so make sure you where some boots with good tread.
Other Thoughts: It'd be interesting to see a tournament where you would play the 27 holes at the winter course and the regular 18 and alternate 9 holes at the regular course.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Changes?

5+    12/5/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: BRW33114
Played: 65  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've been a huge fan of Dretzka Winter much more then the summer course due to the elevation changes, variety of shots, distance the course offered, and the scenic factor. Many deuces available to build your confidence and potential aces.
Cons: Since changing holes this year the challenging holes have been eliminated by shortening and over grooming in some cases. For competitive play the course got a lot easier then past years. A few if the teepads in addition to being slick because of rubber were also on somewhat bumpy and uneven ground making it challenging to get good footing.
Other Thoughts: Dretzka Winter is still a very worthy course to play and very scenic. Usually very well maintained and my only concern would be the shortening that occurred.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie Time

5+    12/31/2011   9/29/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The rubber tees can get very slippery. The homemade wooden signs are awesome. Nothing much interesting happens until hole 8 on this course. Hole 8 is a signature hole, a 450 foot steep downhill throw. You must land in the fairway to have a birdie look as there is thick rough to the right and pine trees to the left. Hole 13 is a fun little flex line hole. 15 is a good, tight wooded hole if I remember correctly. 16 is a very tough birdie to get on its long, slightly downhill, tight fairway.
Cons: This course is very open and does not offer a lot of challenge. The first 7 holes are pretty boring: open and flat. Throw a hyzer the first three holes and then an open 400 footer. Hole 5 is a less then 200 feet little woods shot. Hole 6 is a straight forward midrange shot, slightly downhill. Hole 7 is a short chip hyzer.
Hole 9 is another wide open 400 footer. The rest of the holes I have not mentioned are mostly short birdie holes that don't offer many interesting features.
Other Thoughts: It's nice they keep a course in in the winter.

This is deuce or die golf.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 wish it was open during summer

5+    1/26/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: discgolfinskwrl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There's something for every one, good elevation change, with various distances to add a different element every hole... The back 15 has much less wind..... Tee pads are usually shoveled..... Can be broken up if yr on a time crunch....
Cons: The 10 holes by the parking lot are heavily affected by the elements because they are so wide open.... Can be hard to navigate... Be careful not to miss hole 16 and 17.... It's easy to accidentally skip them.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, wish it was open year round.... Definitely a must play though because it isn't permanent...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the only winter courses in the area
Played on a real golf course
Not crowded
If you really wanted to you could play the winter course and then just hit the white poles on the regular course and play 51 holes.
Cons: Easy to loose discs
Hands get cold
Only up for the winter
Other Thoughts: Real fun, but they take down half the course when the regular golf course opens. So take advantage when its up

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great winter option

1    3/13/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 818  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you have to lose a good course like Dretzka for the winter, having an option like this is pretty awesome. There are nice rubber pads, and good permanent baskets for the winter layout. The signs are basic and hand-drawn, but show the layout, distance, and direction to the next hole. The course uses the terrain available quite well to make things interesting.

Despite being pretty open, there are some different lines to hit. There's as much variety in hole shape as could be expected. There are some nice elevation shots, including two memorable downhill shots from the tops of sledding hills. Some other holes play up or across hills to add some challenges. A creek comes into play as well, adding some risk.
Cons: The biggest issue is how wide open the course is overall. There are several holes with no trees in play, and several more with only a few scattered trees that still allow just about any line you want to the hole. It can get a little repetitive without defined lines to hit. There are some long walks between holes, not a big deal as they're easy to follow (especially when there are already footprints in the snow). The tees are rubber, and aren't laid permanently so many were lumpy and uneven when I played.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time playing here, and will definitely be back next winter. It's a shame that the bottom 15 holes get taken out early, leaving a pretty mediocre 9 hole course until the summer course is back in. Beginners might find a little much length, but there isn't too much punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will find it pretty open and a little repetitive, though for a winter course it's a lot of fun and worth playing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Winter seasonal, what can you really say

1    3/2/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 173  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a seasonal, winter only course, it is a very good offering. While being mostly open, you do get a good variety. There are wide open long ripper holes, fairly tight tree lined holes (no pine tree tunnels necessarily), long and short wooded holes, uphill, downhill, across water, along water, and great left/right/straight balance.
While I don't remember the actual hole numbers because I played a while ago and we didn't start on #1 either, I'll try to describe some of the more unique holes. One hole you throw from up on a ridge under a canopy of pines and out through a tunnel of pines to a pin straight ahead below. I liked throwing this hole twice. Great straight ace run with a buzzz or putter. There is a somewhat long downhill bomber hole on one of the sledding hills. It could be quite a bit longer and really be spectacular, but it was good anyway. The next hole after that is across the creek so you do get some puckering going on, especially in the winter with bad footing and thin ice.
The balance and variety is really what pumps up the appeal of this course. You get to play up and down the sledding hills, along and across the creek, through and into/out of some gatherings of trees, and across the mainly flat parking lot areas with decently designed holes with a handful of trees that do some shot shaping. For a winter course, you're still forced to throw some 400'+ holes, and one of those is through a fair number of trees (I think it was over 400').
There are more than 18 holes.
Cons: The course is mostly open.
Only one set of tees.
Not really any risky pin placements, or greens to think of.
Being a winter seasonal course, wind is a con. Because this course is wide open, winter wind is awful, and leads to looking for wind blasted shanked drives as well as cold bodies. I prefer closed up, tightly wooded winter time play, where the blanket of snow and tree blocked breezes provide an eerily silent and peaceful round.
I think the sleeves are permanent, and since most of this course plays across the ball golf course, the design does suffer a bit. What I mean is that I'm sure the parks department doesn't want a pin sleeve or ruts from a rubber mat tee area in the middle of a ball golf fairway, green, or tee box come summer. So the disc golf tees and pins are all located off the defined ball golf hole components. This holds back the design potential because some ball golf greens and tees would also make excellent disc golf tees and greens!
Other Thoughts: The course has many components that really give a course the extra points in my course ratings - elevation, water hazards, balance, unique terrain, and more than 18 holes. But I don't think I can rate it any higher. It's only seasonal! It is also mostly open. I did enjoy playing, and given all the other course closures in the area I would play again next winter.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.