Milwaukee, WI
Dretzka Park - Winter Share
Uploaded By: Texconsinite Hole #22 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome winter only course near Brew town

1    3/9/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm rating this course as a winter course ONLY because that is exactly what it is. And with that said it's a very nice one. There are standard concrete tee pad sized rubber mats on every hole. Depending on the location of the tee some stay drier than others. These are regularly shoveled off and since it's a well played course the tees stay pretty clear of snow/ice build up. The fairways and route from the basket to the next hole are very easy to figure out. There are very basic hole signs at every hole with the distance and direction of pin hand drawn on. They also have the hole # and an arrow directing you to the next hole which was extremely helpful as a first time visitor here. There is a bit of elevation, both up and down hill here, with a decent amount trees mixed throughout. Not too many trees but a good enough amount for a winter round. The real challenge here would seem to be the wind and disc skippage. That and again obviously the winter conditions of cold hands, iced over basket areas, finding discs in the snow, etc. This to me is not a con at all. It makes you plan your shots more than you normally would in the other seasons and really makes for a challenging round. They have Mach 3 baskets here. These are the same ones I'm assuming they use on the standard course but just move for the winter layout. These are all in fine shape. They're broken in well with the year round play on them. They caught great when we went even with the cold chains which were all rust free. It's set up nicely too so that you can play either 9 holes (1-7 and 26 & 27) or the full 27 holes. It's free. The local club/s around here do a fantastic job keeping this playable and enjoyable. I will note that there is a (frozen) water hazard here in a creek that runs through the golf course section. This can still technically be a water hazard but for most of the time this set up is in it's frozen over. BUT they do list it on the signs which is good to know. There are multiple trash cans throughout the course too. There's a nice satellite map of the course layout by hole 1 which helps for newbies.
Cons: AGAIN this is a winter only course. So besides the obvious negatives that come with playing in cold weather I'm only going to list cons based on a winter course. With that said the walk from 7 to 8 is a little tricky for first time players. The baskets for the most part seem to be just straight ahead of the tees. There's more distance variation here than the other reviews led me to believe but most are in the 200 to 300 foot range. This is misleading though because in the winter and in this set up makes scoring well here still not super easy. The bugs can get really bad....oh wait, it's winter.
Other Thoughts: Me and my wife had a blast playing here. Again the locals keep this in excellent shape. I'll play here anytime I'm coming through the area, summer course too. Dretzka's my favorite course in the Milwaukee area, and I've played all the bigger ones and over 100 total, and the winter set up lives up to the summer version very favorably. Highly recommend if you're in the in the area and love discing in all seasons.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Changes?

5+    12/5/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: BRW33114
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've been a huge fan of Dretzka Winter much more then the summer course due to the elevation changes, variety of shots, distance the course offered, and the scenic factor. Many deuces available to build your confidence and potential aces.
Cons: Since changing holes this year the challenging holes have been eliminated by shortening and over grooming in some cases. For competitive play the course got a lot easier then past years. A few if the teepads in addition to being slick because of rubber were also on somewhat bumpy and uneven ground making it challenging to get good footing.
Other Thoughts: Dretzka Winter is still a very worthy course to play and very scenic. Usually very well maintained and my only concern would be the shortening that occurred.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best temporary course I know of

5+    4/15/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -24 holes!
-Only a temporary course, so it's nice to play when you've not seen it for a good six months.
-Lots of majestic pine trees.
-Wonderful change in elevation.
-Beauty of a ball golf course.
-Course is installed when the normal 27 holes are pulled for the Winter and Spring. Nice amenity!
-Good solid permanently anchored baskets.
Cons: -Temporary course means temporary tee pads. Pads are black rubber mats. Not my favorite.
-Course can be tricky to navigate the first time around. The map that was uploaded here is poor.
Other Thoughts: Dretzka offers a fresh 24 holes of Winter golf when the normal 27 are pulled. The first 7 play around the three sides of the parking lot, while the next 15 play on the ball golf course.

These 15 are "extra" temporary, but that just means they are pulled earlier than 1-7, 23 & 24, as the grounds crew ready's the ball golf course every April.

When you climb the hill between 7 and 8, and look down the old ski hill and spot the basket for #8... know that you are in for a treat. This course makes you feel you are alone out here, and it's in Milwaukee!

One last note: When the 15 holes on the ball golf are closed in late Spring, you can still do 8-9 holes of this course until the regular "Summer 27" are back in the ground. 8-9 holes include 1, 2, 3, possibly 4, 5, 6, 7, 23, and 24. Hole 4 may close, as it goes across a Rugby field which is utilized by late April.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/27/2013   1/13/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: **Original Layout**
The teepads are actually kept cleaned off by the locals. Challenging course for winter play. Lots of elevation change. Good mix of long and short holes. Large mature trees with little to no random low hanging branches.
Cons: **Original Layout**
Although there are alot of trees, they do not come into play on the majority of holes. Though, the holes they are on make it incredibly challenging (a good thing).
Not available for play during summer :.(
Other Thoughts: **Original Layout**
Come play The Big Freeze tournament at the end of January each year. It helps to have someone with you who has played the course before since it can be hard to follow.
**New Layout 2012-13**
The bottom side of the Original Layout remains essentially the same, very minor if any tweaking.
The top side has completely changed. A few holes have remained tho, Hole 2(Was 5), Hole 7(was 6), Hole 26 (was 23), and Hole 27 (was 24). The holes by the rugby field are gone :'(. And it has become a deuce-fest. The new 5 & 6 are really fun holes though, and a great addition. The 3 completely new holes are alot of fun. They are deuce holes, but require well placed shots to do so. I would have like to see these 3 holes added without changing the topside.
Overall, I am really not happy with the new layout. 8 through 19 are still essentially the same and I could play those over and over. The top side well thats a different story, 20-27 are still fun but not very challenging overall. 1 through 7 are a let down and just unappealling.
I am not changing my rating cause overall it is still better than a 3. I seriously considered originally giving it a 4 but now it is at definite best a 3.5.
I still suggest playing the course cause it has alot of FUN holes and ace runs are a plenty.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive for a Seasonal Course

2-4    2/5/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just the idea of setting up a whole new, more open course for the winter is pretty sweet, since looking through snow for your discs is already hard enough without having shule to deal with as well. I've never heard of another course doing this, and I'd say that's one big pro that makes Dretzka unique.

The rubber tee pads were all in great shape, and are solidly set in place. A really great feature, doesnt get icy like concrete can in winter, much better grip for snow boots.

The course map and Winter Tee signs are really nice as well: A chunk of board screwed to a tree next to each pad has the hole map & length drawn in sharpie, as well as the direction to the next tee. Function over form, I love it! Very easy to read. I think it is a testament to the local club that their temporary winter course has better pads and especially better signage than many top-notch year round courses do in places where it doesnt snow. They even have signs to tell you where the next tee is in places where its not obvious.

The course itself is a very nice mix of fairly technical and fairly open holes, none of which feel like pointless filled holes. With a few notable exceptions, the flow is very easy and obvious, making this a pretty FTF course.

The course starts out by the parking lot and football field, with some shorter holes weaving through the trees. Definitely forces you to shape some shots around trees. Even on the more open holes like 4, which tees off under a football goalpost, the basket is protected in some trees for a nice combo of open drive and careful approach/putt. Minor terrain in play.

After #7, the course switches styles and scenery, when it moves away from the road and through a line of evergreens onto the ball golf course and old ski hill. #8 starts you off with a 450' drive down a wide tree-lined ski run, that plays about 100' shorter due to the elevation. Its the kind of hole that makes you want to empty your bag (twice). #9 also plays along what seems like old ski runs at the bottom of the hill with some terrain.

Once you cross the frozen river into the woods on #10, the course moves to the somewhat flatter area of the ball golf course. Many of the holes weave through mazes of scattered trees on the sides of the BG holes. Some cut back and forth across the frozen creek that bisects the course, and let you air it out a bit on the long open avenues. Usually even then, the basket is in some kind of tree cover trees. Requires a lot of different shots, curves left and right, with several lines to choose from on many holes. Several baskets on downhill greens by the riverside make for risk of rollaways on putts. The trees in particular make for many interesting holes that are each a bit different in the scope of their challenges. Overall, still not too tightly wooded

On holes 18-22, the course hits the slopes again for a variety of fairly challenging elevation shots, before returning you to the parking lot area on the last two holes. 18 shoots up through an area of tiny pine trees (marked with orange flags DO NOT step on them) that will make this hole even better in the next few years as they grow up.

22 plays along the top of the hill, and is one of my favorite holes on the course. The drive is mostly open for the first 200', but the basket is guarded by two giant pine trees that force you to shoot between them. On top of this, about at the twin pines the fairway starts to slope slightly downhill to the trees past the basket. This makes it a challenging shot to gauge, since if you thread the twin pines, its hard to get the disc to stop with overshooting the basket.

It doesn't seem very technical at first glance, but its harder than it looks in several subtle ways, which pretty much defines this entire course. In addition to the many good-sized trees that you have to bend around, wind can also be a factor on just about every hole on this course. The holes face all different directions, so its tough to know which way its going to come from. Not really strong winds, like those at Hiestand, but just enough to mess with your lines a bit and make the trees loom larger.

The course also has a very nice mix of distances on it. It has both short ace runs (like #5), and a few shots close to 400' up a ski slope that will really push you, (like #22). It manages to not favor big arms too much, despite being mostly on a ski hill and ball golf course. Its not very tight and technical either, though it gives opportunity for a good variety of shots.
Cons: SIGNAGE: Initially, it was hard to find the first hole, since this course evidently starts in a different spot than the regular course (Updated directions since then).

Also, the transition from 7 to 8 was a bit confusing. From basket 7, walk past the building through the opening in the trees. you'll see a sign that says to go 315' for hole 8. Keep going straight to the ski hill. you should be able to see tee 8 a ways further off.

Hole 23 shoots out of the trees into the same area as # 7. Its tee sign says 8 instead of 23. This is wrong, and two seconds of sharpie work would fix it, and seems like a pretty obvious mistake on a course otherwise so well marked. Also, coming the other direction from 22, you cant see 23's tee tucked back in the woods, so remember where it is after you play 7.

Sometimes the directions to the next tee on the signs were a bit misleading.

1) On some holes it shows an arrow pointing to the direction to the next tee.
2)On others it has a square with an arrow coming out from it.
In the latter case, the square is the next tee location, and the arrow is the direction that next hole actually plays. Sometimes it seems like these two are mixed up, and the arrows are very general. They are good guidelines, just not very specific. Fortunately the flow is pretty good with mostly short walks between holes, so just follow the footprints and you shouldn't get lost.

Other than these few small issues, the signage overall was fantastic and really improved the experience.

COURSE: The middle section of the course seemed mostly flat, but the many trees help compensate for this. The ski hill holes are mostly open but again, the elevation helps compensate for it. Thus, this course gives a nice variety of elevation and fairly wooded holes, but rarely much of both at the same time. This is really the only mark I can find against the course itself. Overall its a well-balanced mix of distances, on fun holes that all have something to offer, though few are truly memorable or challenging holes with that "wow" factor that makes a course a 4 or above. What it really comes down to is that it has elevation and some trees, but it could use more of both, mixed together on the same holes. However, it manages to avoid being repetitive or boring over the course of 24 holes, which is not an easy thing. It is a very enjoyable, well-done winter course that's harder than it looks.
Other Thoughts: I played at 7am when it was as many degrees outside before the wind chill, and had to throw with gloves on. This course really kicked my butt, especially in putting. I must say, though, I've seldom had as much fun playing so poorly. Since wind is a factor, come ready to feel 10 degrees colder than the weatherman says, and you'll be fine. Some spots are a bit icy.

Again, I've gotta commend the area Disc Golf Club for putting together a separate 24 hole winter course, and doing such a good job at it to boot. Great idea, great pads and signage, can't wait to play the summer course.


15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Winter Course

5+    12/31/2011   3/25/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) It has a winter course. Thats why I am writing this review, and that is also what this review is about. The summer course is setup totally differently!!! Please consider this fact when evaluating my review.

2) First 4 holes are wide open.
This allows for a little warmup (in the ever chilly weather this winter seasonal course is open) before heading to some more tight technical wooded holes. #4 starts under a football goalpost and heads right back into and across the teeth of the standard S.W. winds and is 415' long. The basket is tucked in amongst some mature trees that are about 350' off the tee. You better make it near the trees in 1, or you better simply layup to the beginning of the trees so that none of the limbs are in your way for your putt (s).

3) Hole #5
This is my favorite hole on the top 9. . .slight anhyzer hole about 200' through a fairly narrow stretch of trees. #6 and #7 are also set in the mature trees, all presenting their own challenge.

4) #8 is 450' straight downhill (it is actually an old ski or sledding hill. This is a really fun hole to play. The massive 50' evergreens on the left can easily catch an errant hyzer that got some wind under it and the scrub to the right can be equally punishing if you end up in there.

5) Holes #9 through #16 are all somewhat wooded either at the tee, at the green, and even a few of them have trees lining the fairway the entire way. It really places emphasis on shot location rather than distance.

6) Holes #17 through #21 weave back and forth up and down the same slope that #8 is on, but the slopes are not as severe, and the holes aren't as long, really giving you a chance for a good score. BE CAREFUL of the winds as they can whipup pretty strong. You might not even feel them on the Tees of #18 and #19. #18 is guarded with mature evergeens so the wind shouldn't be a factor. #20 goes down the slope at a slight angle which is kind of a nice change from going straight downhill.

6) ALL TEES HAVE RUBBER MATS that have been clear everytime I played. Be careful if there is any moisture as they can be slick.

7) The course gets a fair amount of play so after a fresh snow one can expect somewhat of a walking path. Granted you also have to throw it straight to end up on or near the path.

8) #23 teepad was recently levelled and fixed . . . it had been on a slope for 2 years and was an easy place to slip and fall. (2 other landscapers and myself spent about 90 minutes levelling and putting in the timbers to divert the water around the tee area so we will see how it does this winter.)
Cons: 1) The first few holes and plain and simple, but as I said above, it is nice to have a couple to get warmed up before having anything too technical.

2) The walk between #7 and #8 is long, but only because the course is setup to have a 9 hole loop back to the parking lot, but the other 15 holes are removed from those 9. Not a big deal, but worth mentioning.

3) The rubber teepads are better than nothing on a winter course but they can be slick many times. For some reason when they get setup they often times end up on little slopes, so I am always trying to find the most level area to place them.
Other Thoughts: After two full winters of playing this course and 3 years of playing this game I am beginning to appreciate this course . . . especially when there is no snow on the ground. It still is not a good course for me because there is a premium on a 300-325' drive which leaves me looking at 50-60 upshots or maybe 30' putts if I pull off a great throw . . . if I could add another 25-30' on my drives I would enjoy this course much more.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.