Corona, CA 
River Walk DGC Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice   (Taken 6/2009)
Park Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Short quick play

2-4    2/3/2015   2/14/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely well kept. Tees are close to perfect. Elevation changes. Easy to find holes. No one plays it making it fast. Good baskets. Variety of distances. (There is a 95 ft hole all the way to a 300+ ft hole).
Cons: Only 7 holes. Ground is made of wood chips which means skips are almost impossible. (But this adds to the well kept-ness). It's almost to easy.
Other Thoughts: Great course for begginers. There are no hole signs but the hole distance is on the tees. (Which I think is actually a really cool idea). It's easy but still fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginners lair

1    1/18/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: Wilson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fancy pads in a new park, pads have distance and hole # stamped in the concrete with attractive rock masonry around them.
Great course to take any beginner to.
Cons: New park where someone decided to cram a disc golf course in as an afterthought.
Only 7 holes, extremely short course, leave the drivers in your bag.
Very windy, baby trees and mulch everywhere off tee pads.
Each hole is affected by traffic from another hole.


Other Thoughts: Whoever put this course together had the right idea in mind and clearly wasn't allotted enough land to make a good course. Sad, as the land around the park has potential for awesome, lengthy and imaginitive holes.
Take your kids to this one to learn, but only if you live nearby. NOT worth a drive of any distance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent starter course

5+    1/30/2013   2/20/2013
Review By: getthepuckout
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are clearly marked on tee-pad with distances.
Park is well maintained and peaceful.
Short and simple giving you an opportunity to work on your putt/approach game, or a great beginner course for those just starting.
18 can be played here with a little imagination.
Free to play
Cons: Houses line the course and can be a factor off a few drives.
Woodchips everywhere. Expect to get them in your shoes, sandals not an option.
If you are playing 18 and there's another group playing on the course you will be shooting into each others direction quite often.
During the summer it can get very hot and there is very little shade provided. Bring sunscreen.


Other Thoughts: The course is a great course for beginners. We often use this course as an introductory course when we have friends interested in playing. The short distances and straight shots do not demoralize new players.

Police often patrol the parking lots during and just after school hours. Kids will hang out in their car to smoke. I've never been bothered by any kids. An officer may ask you a few questions if you're by your car when they come by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little practice course

1    6/9/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays in an open area of the park with some small rolling hills. There are a few holes that have nice slope to them, giving beginners the chance to start trying uphill and downhill shots. Some small trees come into play on a couple holes adding at least a little bit of an obstacle to get to the pin. The baskets are in great shape, and the concrete tees are huge and nice concrete with the hole number and distance engraved in the pad. The holes have nice distance variety within reason for a beginner course, from 85 to 300 feet.
Cons: The course is wide open, and overall pretty short. The first hole is a long putt, and many of the others are simple approach shots with no obstacles and no punishment for errant drives. The fairways are wood chips, not a major con just a bit odd in a nice grassy park. The tee sizes are nice, but having the rock walls on the sides made them a little awkward. There's no shade on the course at all, so a hot summer day might not be the best time to play.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent beginner course, it's plenty short and nicely maintained with no navigation issues, but there aren't any holes that push new players to try any different kinds of shots. More experienced players won't find any challenges here, only one hole calls for more than a putter shot for most players. There are some fun safari options, you could make some decent holes, but they'd still be pretty wide open.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Practice only

5+    5/28/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: treesbeware
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good practice course
-awesome tee pads
-new baskets
Cons: -Short Course
-Wood chips
-too close to homes.
Other Thoughts: This isnt a course that i would go outta my way to play at. Its small and gets crowded very easily. Its more of a course to learn the game or practice new discs on.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Practice Course

5+    3/27/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: stunts
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great practice course. I always try unfamiliar discs there and work on shots that I wouldn't try on a full-sized course. There's plenty of time to practice shots because I've never seen another disc golfer on the course when I've been there. I've gone at all times of the day and have never seen anyone else playing. The residents I've spoken to though always claim that people are playing there all the time, sometimes at midnight apparently. As several other reviewers state, the tee pads are the best I've seen! Friendly residents along the course.
Cons: Houses along the entire course. The course is covered by wood chips - not my preference. A very short course though can be made to be a bit longer with some creative modifications as to which basket your throwing to.
Other Thoughts: The residents I've spoken to have all been very friendly and interested in finding out more about disc golf. Unfortunately though, many of them have also claimed that the people who use the course have hopped over fences into backyards to retrieve discs without asking and that players often play at odd hours and seem to be there to drink and make noise. No problem to have fun doing the sport we all love, but the way to grow the sport is to respect those that don't yet play and make them want to be part of something great. If you're there for a game at very early or late hours, try to have some respect for the people who live right on the course. This course was built for the use of the residents in the housing community there, they could easily make it off limits to outsiders.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 walk the river

5+    2/26/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 286  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I challenge anyone to find better tee pads than here. The pads are very long,long enough for the longest run up for a drive ever. There is classy rock work bordering the tees. If you want to shoot for aces and birdies all day this is your place. I think it is the perfect place to introduce a child, wife or girlfriend or really anyone new to the sport. It is a clean park. If I lived in easy walking distance I'd probably be getting in a quick round there constantly before work after dinner etc. You will likely shoot your lowest score ever here. I had a 15.
Cons: It is way to short only 7 holes and they are mostly very short as well with the longest right at 300 feet. It is surely not a destination course, because your adventure is over in 15 minutes, but you could go around a dozen times. You might get dizzy going through so many times.
Other Thoughts: Every community in the USA needs a little course like this in the neighborhood

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/1/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very clearly marked
safe area
very very nice park
dogs allowed
nice concrete tees.
Cons: part of the course is on the side of a hill, covered in bark....slippery when it rains and a bit hard to walk on even when its not wet.
tiny course
Other Thoughts: This was a nice park, very well done and its in a safe area. probably great for beginners as its so small.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small Course in a Pretty Park

1    8/24/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty park
Huge well built tee pads
The bark chips are nice twist
Friendly folks in a nice neighborhood
Free
Cons: Only 7 very short holes
Not a lot of obsticals yet (give it 10 years when the trees grow in though)
Not much challenge
Other Thoughts: Played the whole course with a putter - not much challenge. But the pads were increadibly well engineered. Had fun going early in the day before the August heat and had a nice walk and chatted with some of the locals. The view of the mountains and the dry desert air was a nice change of pace (visiting from Portland OR).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 RiverWalk alt 18 hole

5+    8/15/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: Nozzledog
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Never crowded, Good use of area, Nice elevation changes. 7 hole great for beginners, 18 hole good for advanced.
Cons: Not much shade. Closest snacks 2 miles away.
Other Thoughts: This has a good 18 hole course using the same 7 baskets with alt. tees, giving a few 300'+ holes. I will try to post this map to Links.
Distances stamped in concrete are NOT correct. Take about 15' off.
I play this course often and never have had a bug problem. I always see City Parks personnel out there and they take care of any problems immediately.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.