Corona, CA 
River Walk DGC Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Excellent starter course

5+    1/30/2013   2/20/2013
Review By: getthepuckout
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are clearly marked on tee-pad with distances.
Park is well maintained and peaceful.
Short and simple giving you an opportunity to work on your putt/approach game, or a great beginner course for those just starting.
18 can be played here with a little imagination.
Free to play
Cons: Houses line the course and can be a factor off a few drives.
Woodchips everywhere. Expect to get them in your shoes, sandals not an option.
If you are playing 18 and there's another group playing on the course you will be shooting into each others direction quite often.
During the summer it can get very hot and there is very little shade provided. Bring sunscreen.


Other Thoughts: The course is a great course for beginners. We often use this course as an introductory course when we have friends interested in playing. The short distances and straight shots do not demoralize new players.

Police often patrol the parking lots during and just after school hours. Kids will hang out in their car to smoke. I've never been bothered by any kids. An officer may ask you a few questions if you're by your car when they come by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 walk the river

5+    2/26/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 272  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I challenge anyone to find better tee pads than here. The pads are very long,long enough for the longest run up for a drive ever. There is classy rock work bordering the tees. If you want to shoot for aces and birdies all day this is your place. I think it is the perfect place to introduce a child, wife or girlfriend or really anyone new to the sport. It is a clean park. If I lived in easy walking distance I'd probably be getting in a quick round there constantly before work after dinner etc. You will likely shoot your lowest score ever here. I had a 15.
Cons: It is way to short only 7 holes and they are mostly very short as well with the longest right at 300 feet. It is surely not a destination course, because your adventure is over in 15 minutes, but you could go around a dozen times. You might get dizzy going through so many times.
Other Thoughts: Every community in the USA needs a little course like this in the neighborhood

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/1/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very clearly marked
safe area
very very nice park
dogs allowed
nice concrete tees.
Cons: part of the course is on the side of a hill, covered in bark....slippery when it rains and a bit hard to walk on even when its not wet.
tiny course
Other Thoughts: This was a nice park, very well done and its in a safe area. probably great for beginners as its so small.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Practice Course, I'm in Love with the Tees!

1    5/15/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very Nice, lengthy tees that are surrounded by 1 ft tall rock ledges which are perfect for sitting on. These are probably the nicest tees I have ever seen and also the longest. Most are double what a standard tee would be. I would love to have these at other courses in my area.
New DGA baskets that are well kept and graffiti free
Good use of elevation change including a few hillside baskets which make for a tricky approach
In a nice, new, clean neighborhood
Locals are extremely gracious, although I didn't see any serious disc golfers out there. It seems families like to play this one for exercise a lot which I think is great.
Free!
Cons:
Not much length on all holes except for one which is 300 feet. The first hole listed as 85 feet but really felt like a 60 foot putt. My daughter actually par'd number one and she just turned 5 years old. Good pump up for her.
Bugs! The entire park was carpeted with millions of these tiny ant sized creatures that actually looked like tiny roaches. I hope they weren't crabs because I think I brought a few home with me.
No Pro shop and no food or gas close by. If you don't know the area and don't have a GPS, make sure to gas up and get snacks before you get there.
Only 7 holes, there is room for 9 and maybe even more.
A few holes play very close to backyards and I almost put my favorite Star Beast in one of them when I turned over my shot on 6. There was a vicious looking chihuahua in there as well.
Other Thoughts:
Riverwalk DGC is a recent addition to the Inland Empire's collection of disc golf courses, and it is obvious that the designers put a lot of love into this one. Even though it is a short 7 hole course, there are some fun lines and lots of opportunities for Safari with the space available in the park. I had a lot of fun here with my family, and I think that is what the designers had in mind - a short, family friendly course that really anyone could play. My 5 year old daughter had a blast playing it and as I mentioned, she got her first par on Hole # 1. She chose the Nuke (even though I told her it was wicked stable) and she actually turned it over on her 45 foot drive.

I don't know if I hit this one at a certain time because no one else had mentioned this, but the entire ground of the park was carpeted in billions of these tiny bugs which I could not identify. On # 4 which is the downhill shot, my putter (which I threw on every hole except for 2) landed in the bush beyond the hole. I reached into the bush to retrieve it and when I withdrew my arm, it was covered in about 100 of these little bugs. I felt like I was reliving the scene from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom when Indy has to reach into the "Bug hole" to unlatch the trap door. I turned to one of my kids and yelled "Get me my whip Shorty!". Then I proceeded to brush all of them off and nailed the 15 foot putt for birdie. It added a bit of adventure and intrigue to the round.

After the fact, I talked to Jurupa Parks and Rec and they indicated that they weren't exactly sure what they were, but did verify the existence of the little guys 2 days after I was there and are currently investigating. More to come on this...

If I lived close to this course, I would definitely play it regularly - it is well kept up and fun for a short practice round or three. I saw 2 families playing and they were pretty surprised I was able to get up to that 300 foot hole on my first shot. I think they had been playing that one as a Par 5. The problem with the geographic location is that it is very much out of the way. My GPS showed it as being 16 miles out and it took 40 minutes to get there. In a straight line, it is not very far from where I live but the freeways do not go directly there. There is also a serious lack of any sort of facilities nearby including gas, food, and of course no pro shop.

Overall, the local residents here in the Corona/Norco/Mira Loma area should be very happy that they have a nice, clean new course to practice at. Prado is not very far away and provides much more challenge and length, as well as a full 18 holes. However, this is a great practice course to tune up your mid to short range game. Big arms will only need a putter and maybe a mid range or fairway driver for the one lengthy hole. I would also advise that this area gets a lot of direct sun and will probably get very hot in the summertime. Bring plenty of liquids and also some sunblock I think I'm going to have my raccoon eyes for some time to come and I was only out there 90 minutes at the most.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 different course

1    6/27/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: small course, easy to navigate, some baskets on sloped hills, tees, exclusive area for discgolf(keep it in the woodchips), great for starters holes are 80-300 ft long, the park is nice. great for dogs and horses, near river (hole 4 was good)
Cons: woodchips(annoying when the get in shoes), not so good for pros, holes to short, not many obstacles,
Other Thoughts: hole 4 had some obstacles look at pics

for the space and area this is an alright course. i think you can gorilla this course to make the holes longer and more challenging for example.

tee from 1 but throw at second basket.
tee at 5 throw over the hill doglegright to basket three
tee at 7 throw at 1 basket.
(just mix it up)


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.