Ashland, KY 
Armco Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 288ft.   4 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Short Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Legco Blues

1    6/22/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained grass fairways through speckled mature hardwoods over elevation galore. 18 blue and white concrete tees, single discatcher baskets, and tee signs. Good variety of par 3, 4 and 5 holes. Course is completely shaded with no underbrush, what an awesome and rare combination! Very low risk of losing a disc. Very high fun factor for shorter arms. Bathrooms and water by parking lot in season.
Cons: Plays along park roads/neighbor. No loop back to parking lot. Navigation a little tricky in places. Some tees showing wear with cracks and uneven. Hiking the elevation and length of this course is a physical feat. Steep slopes causing roll a ways.

I understand no trees were cut in the design of the course which is great, but it shows from the blue tees if you have a big arm. The amount of elevation makes it hard to have great long holes because the ceiling gets reduced and the floor raises the longer you go. There is a deja-vu on many holes because off the tee they all look similar as the longer you throw the gaps become narrow and scatty. Despite the long length of the course I never got to grip and rip. Many of the holes become some random plinko half-way to 2/3 down the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Armco Blue is a great park course overall, I really enjoyed the elevation, and shade and challenges presented on each hole, but it felt a bit repetitive and didn't really have a signature hole in my mind because of that. I probably would have enjoyed this course much more when I didn't throw as far. The course should be called Legco, because my legs were done after hiking it. At any rate, I'd highly recommend this course to anyone physically able to leg it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Liked white course better

1    5/28/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Chickenwing
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you like to throw long this is your course. You have to avoid trees and ditches but for the most part there are open lines to advance to the basket. Tees baskets fairways and all were in very good shape. Good exercise going up and down and sideways on the hills.
Cons: Seemed like most of the holes were the same. Throw long and try to stay out of the ditches. The shorter tees did not offer enough distance help for shorter throwers like me.
Other Thoughts: White course is more technical and more variety. Distance was also more manageable for me who typically throws 175' or so off the tee.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The White Course's Big Brother

1    6/27/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots, variety of length. A few open holes, but most are about as open as the White course on the other side of the parking lot. You'd better bring your accurate arm if you're hoping to score well here.

The Blue course presents a fun challenge to players of most skill levels (I'm sure 1000+ rated players would still eat it up, but I'm talking about the rest of us).
Cons: Some of the holes have a pretty good walk to the next tees. The course flows well, though, and there are good signs posted when it's not clear where the next hole is, so navigation is not a problem at all. It would be nice if the tee signs had hole diagrams on them, because some of the baskets are hard to see from the tees once the leaves are out.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly the big brother at Armco, and not a course I'd take a beginner out on. It's also not really a pure grip and rip course, because of all those darn trees that Johnny Sias likes to leave standing in the most inconvenient places. With two courses on-site, Armco Park is a solid disc golf destination -- especially when you consider Rotary Park/Indian Rock is only about a half hour away!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course in a Nice Park

1    7/25/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: dgcembrist
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park, well maintained with lots of restrooms, shelters, and multiple water spigots.

Lots of elevation changes keep it interesting and provide a good workout.

Tight technical course that plays through mature trees throughout and will test more advanced players.

It's hard to lose a disc here. Very little underbrush and while there are lots of steep hills to gobble up errant discs you'll always see where they go.
Cons: While this course requires a variety of technical shots, it does not offer a great variety of scenery / hole types.

Quite a bit of broken glass.

I would like more detailed signs at the tees as well as more signs pointing you toward the next tee box.

No pets allowed.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really nice and fun course. As one previous reviewer said, since there's the added bonus of another 18 hole course in the same park it's well worth a trip to visit and play both.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Competition style layout

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 183  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice pads

Restrooms all over the place

Benches, trash cans and shelters always within reach

Great distance - nice long course

Long and short tee's
Cons: The tee signs would be more helpful with pin placements on them

Lacks a little in diversity


Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course. It is long and the lines are often tight. Novices will be easily frustrated here.

The park is beautiful. Huge mature trees and rolling fairways throughout.

The course is in a limbo-like open-wooded state. I wouldn't call it a tight course per say. You feel like you are pretty much out in the open most of the course. However, the lines you need to hit are sharp. The pin placements and daunting length make this feel tight even though you never really "enter the woods".

There were at least 2 police cars patrolling the park the entire time I was there. This place is very well maintained. It is manicured and in tournament condition.

This is worth a trip all by itself.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.