Ashland, KY
Armco Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
5 / 648ft.   5 / 718ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good course

1    8/29/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some great long holes for big arms
- Concrete tee pads
- Dual pin locations
- Dual tee pads
- Great use of the terrain
- There's a second course at the same park, the White Course, its much shorter tho.
- Signs only have distance and hole #
- Water spigots around the park if you want to use
- There's a Crispy Freeze? opposite the park entrance, great stop after a round for a cold drink or treat or something to eat
- Also a Speedway right as you make the turn to get to the park if you need to stop for water, etc...

Cons: - Could use more "Next Tee" signs than what they have, some holes get confusing
- Some of the tee pads aren't level
- No trash cans except in the parking area
- The tee signs could use pictures, it would help alot. I had to scout each hole first since the signs were inadequate and there were no scorecards/maps that I saw.
- No benches in the tee box areas
- 1st hole pin is kind of close to the main road entrance
Other Thoughts: A great destination course, glad I made the trek to come check it out. A great park,clean and well maintained, HUGE too. There's also a War Memorial there, as well as a Police substation, and several playgrounds and shelters.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hills n thrills

1    8/3/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Water spigots around the park are AWESOME. When you finish a long hot summer round and you can wash off the sweat and dirt at a handy water spigot nearby, you leave happy.

-Good length on course, with 6 holes over 500 ft. Fun to let em rip.

-Made good use of topography, hole design didn't feel repetitive.

-High quality DISCatcher baskets.

-The park it's located in was attractive and looked to be well maintained.

-Concrete teepads were of good size, and while not completely level, were more level than the White course.

-Signs on each hole indicating distance/par.
Cons:
-The signs have no map on them, and a number of the pins are not readily visible from the tees. We had to go hiking several times to find where to aim.

- This is one of the hillier courses I've ever played, and it's long. Some benches at the tees would be super. The course plays in and around several picnic areas that have seating, but you have to hike 50-75+ feet out of your way to reach a place to sit down.

-Several holes have pin placements within 10-20' of roads. This is undesirable for multiple reasons.

-No garbage cans at tees.
Other Thoughts:
-Most of my biggest gripes about the White course are mitigated or absent from the Blue course. Luck isn't as big a factor, as all but a few holes have defined fairways, and likewise the pin placements are typically on more level ground, producing fewer roll-aways.

-The Blue is a better course than the White in just about every possible way. This is a course worth driving a couple of hours to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loved It

1    7/12/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 142  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 27 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find; convenient parking; easy to navigate; multiple tee pads; water spigots all around the park; beautiful park; free to play; baskets in good condition; very interesting layout on some holes; a very nice way to have long air it out holes that are not just open fields. Can bring less enthusiastic people and dump them on the White course.
Cons: In a couple of cases, it seemed like there was length for length's sake. Some holes are close to trouble (roads, other park facilities) that affected me more than pure obstacles (trees, OB, water,underbrush) would. Even with the map, there were a few navigational difficulties.
Other Thoughts: The heat index was 106 on the day I played and I really appreciated having the water spigots around so I only had to carry one water bottle. Loved having the white course here as a warmup to this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: trumpetman4God
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great source of exercise!
Cons: Watch out for #11.
Other Thoughts: Before I played, I noticed about 2 or three wild turkies around #16 fairway.

As I was walking from #10 to #12 I noticed a fox crossing the road that had a sign that said "Do not enter" I wish I would have taken pictures.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course at public park

1    8/10/2011   9/7/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course at public park. Easy to find off of the highway with ample amenities nearby.

- Multiple picnic shelters, bathroom facilities, and trash cans throughout the course.

- Lots of variety in terms of distance, shot type, elevation, and difficulty.

- Challenging, tournament caliber course that will definitely appeal to and be worth a trip for experienced players.

- Additional course on site.
Cons: - Course plays along the park access roads. Passing traffic is often in play, and throwing OB is always a concern.

- Signage from basket to the next tee is almost non-existant. Having the online course map is essential for navigation, but even then the course can be confusing.

- Distances and pin locations can be frustrating for novice and intermediate players. Probably not a good course to beginners.

- Multiple pin locations are not marked on the tee signage. Several baskets are not easily viewable from the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I played Armco for the first time last year and posted a review then, but we went back to play this week. After playing several courses in several states, and having played this course a couple times now, I felt like I needed to update my review.

Armco Park is located in Boyd County, Kentucky about five minutes off of I-64. It's very easy to find the park entrance just off the main highway behind the state police barracks. The park houses two courses, the longer and more difficult Blue Course on the left hand side of the park upon entering, and the more moderate but still challenging White Course on the right hand side. Both courses are tournament caliber, well maintained and well designed, and are worth a trip if you're coming from out of town.

I won't mince words. The Blue Course kicks my butt every time I've played it. It's a very long course with tons of challenging hole designs and distances. If I had to sum up the course in a single word, I'd say it's "long." I haven't played a huge number of courses, but having played a dozen courses in several states in the year I've been playing the game, I can honestly say this course is the longest I've played. I'm an experienced beginner to intermediate player, and the course is about as challenging as I care to play without being unfair.

Distance aside, the course is challenging in a lot of other ways. First of all, there are a lot of elevation changes, and you'll need to be able to throw strong uphill on about half of the holes in order to score well. The distance combined with the slope is brutal at times. Other holes throw off from an elevated tee to baskets at the bottom of small woodes ravines that allow for booming drives but will test accuracy. The pinball effect is a common occurrence on this course.

My main complaint about the course is not the difficulty factor at all, but rather the lack of clear signage navigating from hole to hole. Even if you have the map provided online, it's not always clear where the next tee is. There are multiple holes where you'll need to backtrack and it's not always intuitive to do so. Other tees can't be seen from the previous basket, and other times you'll see a tee pad for another hole that's closer than the one you're looking for. There are two or three holes where they've posted a small sign pointing to the next tee, but they aren't on every problem hole, and even those signs are small enough that they could be missed.

Though the tee signs are great in terms of par and distance for each tee and pin placement, there's no indication of whether the basket is in the long or short position. And on a lot of these holes you can't see the basket from the tee pad, so if you're unfamiliar with the course you're stuck throwing a generic drive hoping that you're in line with the basket. It's kind of shame, in my opinion, because the course is so pristine in all other aspects, but this navigation problem can really frustrate to the point of taking away some of the fun from the round. Even having played once before, it was still hard to remember where to go. If time permits, walking the course first might make things a lot easier.

The park itself is a really great facility, with lots of picnic shelters, playgrounds for the kids, public restrooms and water spigots. It'd be very easy to combine a round with a family trip or cookout.

All in all, I think Armco is a great course and a real asset to the community. Though it's very challenging, it's ultimately very fair and players of all skill level can get something out of a round here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with LOTS of elevation!

1    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: cadweezy
Played: 104  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Armco Park Blue has many positives. The course has white and blue teepads, with signs that give the distances to the different pin locations. Although the blue pads were more difficult, the white pads were by no means easy. In fact, on many holes the pads allowed for different types of technical drives, which added a neat element to the course. The pads were quite long, and you never felt crammed or skeptical about a big run-up. The baskets looked brand new (blue bands) and were stategically placed for the most part. My two favorite things about the course were the elevation and the trees. Every hole is full of elevation changes. Many times you could throw midrangers 400+ due to certain holes being so downhill. On the contrary, there were many holes that were extremely uphill, which really increased the length and tested your endurance. The trees at this park are beautiful. Many of the trees are wide based and tall, and they are spread out perfectly for disc golf, allowing for numerous throwing lanes. While playing it feels like you're in the woods due to the canopy effect, but the ground was mostly fresh mowed grass, which added to the courses visual appeal. There were also trashcans and restrooms spread thoughout the course.
Cons: There aren't many cons, but a couple of things did stand out. Many of the baskets were placed very close to a road, and on that particular day there were lots of cars which would come into play. Also, lets not forget to mention the road rash given to a few discs. There were even a few holes that you had to cross the road en route to the basket. This didn't stop us from having a good time, and it was probably the only way that a championship level course could be fit into the park area, but it should be noted. There was also a lot of glass on the course which was odd, seeing as the park appeared very well-kept.
Other Thoughts: It is really nice going to a park that has multiple courses. It makes the out of town journey well worth your while. The blue course is hands down the better course if you only have time to play one, but the white course was a nice warmup. This course is extremely hilly and will wear you out if you aren't in decent shape. It honestly feels like you are hiking a lot of the time. We did have a couple of times that we were unsure of where the next tee was, but all in all the course had a pretty nice flow. This is a really nice course and is definately a must play if you're in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: barkerja
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging due to elevation change and trees. Great amenities nearby: restrooms, food, and places to rest.
Cons: For course first timers, some of the holes can be difficult to navigate as they aren't clearly marked.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.