Ashland, KY
Armco Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #16 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 388ft.   3 / 428ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Short Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Beautiful Course

2-4    6/22/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Disc Golf Dave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 30.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is so much to love about this course. Built on the side of a mountain, it is gorgeous. The elevation changes are challenging without being too overwhelming. The park-like nature of the course keeps it from being too punitive while placing a good emphasis on and rewards good shot making. It's one of those courses where you just love to see the disc fly.
Other Thoughts: This is a special jewel. I love the enormous trees. It gives you a feel of getting away from it all. I met some very friendly players who made me feel welcome there. Ashland has a small town feel to it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/24/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: jaybob
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice well maintained public park. Numerous water spigots and bathroom facilities(seasonal).Garbage cans in numerous places. Various elevation changes and variety. Trees on every hole force you to throw long and accurately. Innova discatcher targets in new condition.
Cons: Multiuse park adds some conflict with other users but is very minimal.
Other Thoughts: Very beautiful and fun place to spend a couple hours. Of the courses I've played I have seen nothing that I would say is outright better. Some courses I would say are comperable but nothing outright better.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. The beauty of the natural setting, the vertical elevation changes, course condition and maintenance, the many large trees all make this course one of my top five favorites.
Cons: I have nothing bad to say about this course. I would play it all the time if it was in my hometown.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hitting all the lines!

1    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: JHill
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent challenging lines, long distance, and tons of trees...

This is definitely a challenging course, not on par with Idlewild, but tons of fun.

I took a two on holes; 2,3 and 17
Took a four on; 4 and 7
Threes on everything else...

- I shot an excellent round of 53! With witnesses.

My trick is to make certain you hit the line with good form, distance comes naturally.
Cons: No pets allowed.

Difficult navigating the course, signs would remedy the situation.

There is broken glass everywhere... (Good thing no pets...)

The park road weaves in and out all over the course, I was expecting some of the privacy most courses have but couldn't have a "break."

THIS COURSE WOULD DEFINATELY PISS OFF A BEGINNER.

The white course is short (all about 200')

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course that will only improve!

2-4    8/29/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 78  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Adequate Bathroom facilities / shelters / parking.
* Short & Long Teepads at every Tee.
* Multiple pin locations(2) for every hole.
* No underbrush - Beautiful fairways through mature trees and well maintained park
* Alternate throwing lanes on almost every hole that test your accuracy but give you the opportunity to choose your shot.
* Course is long and gives you a chance to launch some drives but ONLY if you hit your line. Miss your lines and all the distance in the world won't save you from the trees.
* Distance and accuracy are equally important and extremely well balanced. The best balance of distance and accuracy of any course I have ever played!
* You better know how to play elevation changes because it comes into play on almost every hole both off the tee and with some creative(some may say cruel) pin placements.
* Plenty of Paved roads/paths (OB) that when added to the trees make this place a complete test.
* Some lovely holes :
#4 is a ~ 720' shot around the hill, past the mando, through the trees to a 350' uphill (2nd drive) shot to a basket set back on a flat plateau protected by more trees.
#8 ~625' uphill with a paved road OB on the left the entire way.
#1 is a great starting hole, 400'+ downhill through numerous mature trees with the basket protect either short or long(depending on pin placement) by an OB road.
#3 around the hill about 400' with a nasty slope down to the right to take errant throws over 100' over the hill. Oh yeah, You better miss the trees.
#18 - You finish on a 400'+ uphill shot through the trees with the basket on a slight slope protected by trees.
* Once you finish the Blue Course from the Long & Short pads (good luck with that), leave your car in the same spot and tee off on the White Course in the same park. The #1 holes on the two course are about 75' apart. White also has twin tee pads and alternate placements for every hole.
Cons: A few tee pads were uneven or had a slight slope. Other than that it looks great!
Other Thoughts: Don't go here expecting to take 2's and 3's on every hole or you are in for a frustrating day. This course should be right up there with Idlewild for "must play" courses in Kentucky. It's already one of my favorites. Thanks Johnny Sias & the Ashland/Huntington guys for getting this in the ground!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.