Disc Golf Store
Ashland, KY 
Armco Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 278ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: trumpetman4God
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great source of exercise!
Cons: Watch out for #11.
Other Thoughts: Before I played, I noticed about 2 or three wild turkies around #16 fairway.

As I was walking from #10 to #12 I noticed a fox crossing the road that had a sign that said "Do not enter" I wish I would have taken pictures.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The White Course's Big Brother

1    6/27/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots, variety of length. A few open holes, but most are about as open as the White course on the other side of the parking lot. You'd better bring your accurate arm if you're hoping to score well here.

The Blue course presents a fun challenge to players of most skill levels (I'm sure 1000+ rated players would still eat it up, but I'm talking about the rest of us).
Cons: Some of the holes have a pretty good walk to the next tees. The course flows well, though, and there are good signs posted when it's not clear where the next hole is, so navigation is not a problem at all. It would be nice if the tee signs had hole diagrams on them, because some of the baskets are hard to see from the tees once the leaves are out.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly the big brother at Armco, and not a course I'd take a beginner out on. It's also not really a pure grip and rip course, because of all those darn trees that Johnny Sias likes to leave standing in the most inconvenient places. With two courses on-site, Armco Park is a solid disc golf destination -- especially when you consider Rotary Park/Indian Rock is only about a half hour away!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    5/1/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: Johnny Conservative
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual tee pads at each holes make it seem like two courses in one! Signs at each pad with distance/par. Good elevation changes that make it challenging. Good variety of open/wooded holes. Baskets in good shape. Nice flow around the park from hole to hole. Park is well kept and there are many restrooms throughout the park.
Cons: Can be a bit challenging for new players. There are access roads all over the course that make for numerous OB possibilities.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course at public park

1    8/10/2011   9/7/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course at public park. Easy to find off of the highway with ample amenities nearby.

- Multiple picnic shelters, bathroom facilities, and trash cans throughout the course.

- Lots of variety in terms of distance, shot type, elevation, and difficulty.

- Challenging, tournament caliber course that will definitely appeal to and be worth a trip for experienced players.

- Additional course on site.
Cons: - Course plays along the park access roads. Passing traffic is often in play, and throwing OB is always a concern.

- Signage from basket to the next tee is almost non-existant. Having the online course map is essential for navigation, but even then the course can be confusing.

- Distances and pin locations can be frustrating for novice and intermediate players. Probably not a good course to beginners.

- Multiple pin locations are not marked on the tee signage. Several baskets are not easily viewable from the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I played Armco for the first time last year and posted a review then, but we went back to play this week. After playing several courses in several states, and having played this course a couple times now, I felt like I needed to update my review.

Armco Park is located in Boyd County, Kentucky about five minutes off of I-64. It's very easy to find the park entrance just off the main highway behind the state police barracks. The park houses two courses, the longer and more difficult Blue Course on the left hand side of the park upon entering, and the more moderate but still challenging White Course on the right hand side. Both courses are tournament caliber, well maintained and well designed, and are worth a trip if you're coming from out of town.

I won't mince words. The Blue Course kicks my butt every time I've played it. It's a very long course with tons of challenging hole designs and distances. If I had to sum up the course in a single word, I'd say it's "long." I haven't played a huge number of courses, but having played a dozen courses in several states in the year I've been playing the game, I can honestly say this course is the longest I've played. I'm an experienced beginner to intermediate player, and the course is about as challenging as I care to play without being unfair.

Distance aside, the course is challenging in a lot of other ways. First of all, there are a lot of elevation changes, and you'll need to be able to throw strong uphill on about half of the holes in order to score well. The distance combined with the slope is brutal at times. Other holes throw off from an elevated tee to baskets at the bottom of small woodes ravines that allow for booming drives but will test accuracy. The pinball effect is a common occurrence on this course.

My main complaint about the course is not the difficulty factor at all, but rather the lack of clear signage navigating from hole to hole. Even if you have the map provided online, it's not always clear where the next tee is. There are multiple holes where you'll need to backtrack and it's not always intuitive to do so. Other tees can't be seen from the previous basket, and other times you'll see a tee pad for another hole that's closer than the one you're looking for. There are two or three holes where they've posted a small sign pointing to the next tee, but they aren't on every problem hole, and even those signs are small enough that they could be missed.

Though the tee signs are great in terms of par and distance for each tee and pin placement, there's no indication of whether the basket is in the long or short position. And on a lot of these holes you can't see the basket from the tee pad, so if you're unfamiliar with the course you're stuck throwing a generic drive hoping that you're in line with the basket. It's kind of shame, in my opinion, because the course is so pristine in all other aspects, but this navigation problem can really frustrate to the point of taking away some of the fun from the round. Even having played once before, it was still hard to remember where to go. If time permits, walking the course first might make things a lot easier.

The park itself is a really great facility, with lots of picnic shelters, playgrounds for the kids, public restrooms and water spigots. It'd be very easy to combine a round with a family trip or cookout.

All in all, I think Armco is a great course and a real asset to the community. Though it's very challenging, it's ultimately very fair and players of all skill level can get something out of a round here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course in a Nice Park

1    7/25/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: dgcembrist
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park, well maintained with lots of restrooms, shelters, and multiple water spigots.

Lots of elevation changes keep it interesting and provide a good workout.

Tight technical course that plays through mature trees throughout and will test more advanced players.

It's hard to lose a disc here. Very little underbrush and while there are lots of steep hills to gobble up errant discs you'll always see where they go.
Cons: While this course requires a variety of technical shots, it does not offer a great variety of scenery / hole types.

Quite a bit of broken glass.

I would like more detailed signs at the tees as well as more signs pointing you toward the next tee box.

No pets allowed.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really nice and fun course. As one previous reviewer said, since there's the added bonus of another 18 hole course in the same park it's well worth a trip to visit and play both.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Two courses in one park that is just a full day of disc golf. Alright well it looks like i am going to start with the blue course. The one thing about this course that it is impossible to over see is the great elevation changes. On a hole you are at the top of the hill throwing down and then on the next hole you are at the bottom of the hole throwing up. It is truely amazing. The one thing that i look for in every course is the elevation changes. This course definately had those. Out of all the courses that i have played this one has the best and the most elevation changes. Well now i have to mention the pins. I have never seen a course with blue top pins. This was so nice, there was no way you could get it confused with the white course. The concrete launch pads were really nice. They even had two tees per hole. They may not be that far apart, but it really does help at times. Normally when throwing you can see the pin. I have played many courses before where it is impossible to see the pin from the tee. Thankfully here that is not a problem.

This course is located in such a nice park. There are shelters everywhere. As there are playgrounds everywhere. I came on a day that looked nice and then turned into a thunderstorm very quick. So once it started to rain i went into a shelter. I waited the rain out for about half an hour and then went back out and finished the course. That is the benefit of having shelters located all over the course. On the day i went i was the only disc golfer in the whole park. There were many other people but no other disc golfers. So i didn't have to wait for anybody. So when you go you really will just fly through the course. There are signs laying all around the course navigating you to the next hole. It does get really confusing at some points so these signs really help. The blue and the white courses dont interfere with each other at all. You would think that with two courses in one park they might interfere with each other. That is for sure not the case at this course. It is really hard to lose a disc here. You dont go into the woods to often so it is challenging to lose a disc. Well that about wraps it up for the pros of this nice course, now lets enter the cons.
Cons: The cons here are very simple. Not many, but big ones. The one main one is that it is tiring. You are constantly walking up and down big hills. After about the tenth hole i was just dead. It takes alot out of you walking up and down hills. So i hope you are not planning on playing both courses in one day. I made that mistake and when i went home i could barely move a muscle in my body. Although they have next tee signs all over the course it is still very easy to get lost. Sometimes the next tee signs are covered up. So you have no clue where to go. I got lost a couple of times, but it is still pretty easy to find your way back. The sign at the tee is not helpful at all. All it shows is the distance of the pin from the tee. It doesn't show where its located or anything. I also had trouble with that at times. You really dont ever enter the woods. It isn't an open course but its not a wooded course. I really dont even know what to call it. They just have trees lying all over the course. Well there are not many cons, but there are a few big ones.
Other Thoughts: Wow this course is fun. Really the only word to describe it is fun. If you plan on coming up one day and playing both courses in one day i really dont recommend it. I did that and the next day i could hardly walk. It is very very tiring. But together both of the courses equal a whole day of disc golf fun. I personally like the white course better than the blue. Many others say that they like the blue better than the white. The blue is more challenging then the white. It also offers more than the white. I dont know why but i just like the white course better. If you are coming up and planning on just playing one course i would say read each review and decide yourself. If you are coming up and planning on playing both in one day i would say make sure you devote your whole entire day to disc golf. Well thats about it so when you come have fun and good luck.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with LOTS of elevation!

1    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: cadweezy
Played: 117  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Armco Park Blue has many positives. The course has white and blue teepads, with signs that give the distances to the different pin locations. Although the blue pads were more difficult, the white pads were by no means easy. In fact, on many holes the pads allowed for different types of technical drives, which added a neat element to the course. The pads were quite long, and you never felt crammed or skeptical about a big run-up. The baskets looked brand new (blue bands) and were stategically placed for the most part. My two favorite things about the course were the elevation and the trees. Every hole is full of elevation changes. Many times you could throw midrangers 400+ due to certain holes being so downhill. On the contrary, there were many holes that were extremely uphill, which really increased the length and tested your endurance. The trees at this park are beautiful. Many of the trees are wide based and tall, and they are spread out perfectly for disc golf, allowing for numerous throwing lanes. While playing it feels like you're in the woods due to the canopy effect, but the ground was mostly fresh mowed grass, which added to the courses visual appeal. There were also trashcans and restrooms spread thoughout the course.
Cons: There aren't many cons, but a couple of things did stand out. Many of the baskets were placed very close to a road, and on that particular day there were lots of cars which would come into play. Also, lets not forget to mention the road rash given to a few discs. There were even a few holes that you had to cross the road en route to the basket. This didn't stop us from having a good time, and it was probably the only way that a championship level course could be fit into the park area, but it should be noted. There was also a lot of glass on the course which was odd, seeing as the park appeared very well-kept.
Other Thoughts: It is really nice going to a park that has multiple courses. It makes the out of town journey well worth your while. The blue course is hands down the better course if you only have time to play one, but the white course was a nice warmup. This course is extremely hilly and will wear you out if you aren't in decent shape. It honestly feels like you are hiking a lot of the time. We did have a couple of times that we were unsure of where the next tee was, but all in all the course had a pretty nice flow. This is a really nice course and is definately a must play if you're in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: barkerja
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging due to elevation change and trees. Great amenities nearby: restrooms, food, and places to rest.
Cons: For course first timers, some of the holes can be difficult to navigate as they aren't clearly marked.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Competition style layout

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice pads

Restrooms all over the place

Benches, trash cans and shelters always within reach

Great distance - nice long course

Long and short tee's
Cons: The tee signs would be more helpful with pin placements on them

Lacks a little in diversity


Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course. It is long and the lines are often tight. Novices will be easily frustrated here.

The park is beautiful. Huge mature trees and rolling fairways throughout.

The course is in a limbo-like open-wooded state. I wouldn't call it a tight course per say. You feel like you are pretty much out in the open most of the course. However, the lines you need to hit are sharp. The pin placements and daunting length make this feel tight even though you never really "enter the woods".

There were at least 2 police cars patrolling the park the entire time I was there. This place is very well maintained. It is manicured and in tournament condition.

This is worth a trip all by itself.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. The beauty of the natural setting, the vertical elevation changes, course condition and maintenance, the many large trees all make this course one of my top five favorites.
Cons: I have nothing bad to say about this course. I would play it all the time if it was in my hometown.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.