Stoughton, WI 
Kiwanis of Stoughton DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Brutal rough but pretty solid

1    8/9/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: The course is set up in a pretty nice little quiet park. A walking trail is the only thing that can potentially come into play. This isn't really an issue without an absolutely terrible shot though. The baskets are chainstars. These are all in great shape and catch nicely. The tee pads are rubber mats. These are better than nothing for the most part. The signs have a basic hole diagram, hole #, par and distance. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow, once you find the first hole. They have a bunch of wood chips laid down throughout the course to help keep things from getting too swampy. There are some tough lines to hit on a number of holes, and the rough is pretty nasty so you really want to stay on the fairway. They have a number of trash cans and benches throughout too.
Cons: The rough is pretty imposing here. If you end up off the fairway you'll likely be searching for awhile. Using a spotter is recommended if possible. Rubber mats can get pretty slick if they get dirt on them causing a slipping hazard. A few are kind of breaking apart in spots too. The bugs can get really nasty too. Nothing unusual, just bring bug spray. There's a long walk to hole 1 and an even longer walk back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Nothing too amazing here, but it is a fun little 9 if you're nearby. There are better courses in Madtown if you're around here like Hiestand or Elver. This is better then most city park nines though.

Great Spring Course

5+    2/23/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: murphy0105
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Techical holes and tunnel shots a few longer holes but for the most part a shorter course. It's open year round so that's nice too.
Cons: Heavily wooded and lots of water/mud. Lots of critters in the spring and early summer including Snakes and Ground bees. Also a walking path through several holes.
Other Thoughts: Because this is one of the only year-round courses around I play mostly out of shear desperation. It does hone the more technical skills prior to the good courses opening which is why i give it a good rating.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stough-ton of fun

1    11/9/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice tee signs and frequent benches
+ Chainstars are in good shape.
+ Rubber tee pads in generally good shape ... a few lumpy spots
+ For nine holes in a relatively small area, there is decent variety of hole lengths (175-335)
+ Nice mix of lefty and righty-friendly shots
+ Quite a few tunnel shots where accuracy is at a premium. Poor shots will be punished.
+ Every hole has either a tight tee shot or entrance to the green, or both. No holes are completely wide open.
+ Many tee shots are blind (good for those who like the challenge)
+ On the longer holes, those not going for it still have to make an accurate layup to have a clean second shot at the basket
+ Boardwalk to help avoid the soggy spots on #5
+ Some opportunities for interesting safari holes ... could make some par 4s or even 5s in and out of the woods.
Cons: - Pretty flat course
- Woods are pretty thick, and I imagine the rough would be punishing with full foliage
- Many tee shots are blind, and some holes are close together. Could be some safety issues, but I don't imagine this course is frequently crowded.
- Not sure what I think of hole #6. Even a well-executed shot to the right leaves almost no shot at a deuce. Best bet to go at the basket just seems to be throwing high and crashing it into the tree above and behind the basket, and hope it falls down.
- A couple of the tee signs were too close to the tee pads. #9 was bad, especially for this LHBH who needs to hug the left side of the tee to have a reasonable line. I was worried about whacking my hand on the follow through. Although, looking at the pictures, that tee pad may have been moved after the sign was installed.
- Only single tee pads and basket locations per hole, except for a shorter tee on #5.
Other Thoughts: I don't know why it took me so long to play this course, being so close to Madison. I had fun and will definitely be back. I'll be interested to see how it looks with full foliage. Unless you have to search for a disc, it is a quick nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner/Casual/Putter-Only Course

2-4    9/29/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a small densely-wooded suburban park, KSDGC starts in a grassy open area and then wends in and out of the thick woods. Most holes require throwing either from the woods out into the open, or from the open into the woods. Several fairly tight gaps require some precision while remaining largely accessible to beginners due to the relatively short hole lengths.
- A decent balance between straight-, right, and left, although only two holes actually require anhyzer shots.
- A couple of nice wooded greens add a nice touch.
- Accessible. Great for beginners, one disc rounds, or a quick play. Offers a taste of some wooded technicality and punishment while remaining fairly easy for all levels of play.
- Great signage, and good rubber mats at each tee. Solid baskets and an intuitive flow make this course feel well executed.
Cons: - Most of the holes are the same sort of thing. Flat, in and out of the woods. Nothing wrong with that, and the designers certainly did a good job of executing it all, but still pretty repetitive.
- Little variety in hole length adds to the repetition.
Other Thoughts: - Certainly worth a quick play if in the area, and a valuable option for entry level or casual players. Also a prime candidate for stroller golf, for any with little ones.
- Native prairie areas add some interesting natural elements while doubling as OB areas.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    9/16/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: CapnInsanoMJF
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging. Fun place to try some trick shots.
Foliage isn't too thick, easy to find your discs.
9 holes that use the landscape as best as possible.
Cons: Pedestrian traffic, can be annoying, but it's really not bad at all.
Bugs. Bring bug spray.
Hidden, kind of hard to find, but definatly worth it!
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. The holes were short, but challenging, and they command a lot of control from your drives. Tees and signs are very nice, and the course was well manicured. I was on a road trip to play courses in Madison, and I used this course as a warm up before going to Elver Park. I will definatly do it again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    6/25/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set right by a nature trail, with some open prairie area and some dense forest. There is a walking path on the prairie side, which looked to be pretty busy. Pedestrian conflict a definite possibility.
- Biggest pro at the course is the forested shots. Almost every single shot involves shooting into, out of, or through some thick, rough woods with tricky lines. There are multiple blind shots into the woods with sharp hyzers once inside, a few tunnel shots that end up finishing right, and some extremely tight windows to hit throughout. Shot placement is very, very important, as well as shaping lines. Good variety overall. These woods also provide for some tough basket placements, guarded by trees or other foliage. Tall grass outside of the forest for even more challenge. Blind shots all over at this course.
- Some slight elevation changes here - in general, shots into the woods are slightly downhill, and those coming out are slightly uphill. Definitely noticeable on a few holes, for some fun and difficulty.
- Rock base on basket #4 is a cool feature. Seems like somebody cared about this course, both from the design and little things like that.
- Good variety in hole length, with three over 300'. There wasn't that much room to work with here, it seems, but they managed to get a few longer ones.
- Great signage, good teepads and baskets. Navigation pretty easy, one spot in the woods is a little tricky.
Cons: - There is definitely a lack of space at this course. A lot of the fairways are very close to each other; with some blind baskets, discs could be flying all over here. This also results in some pretty short holes; overall it is not a long course by any means.
- Layout is a little odd here, it's a bit of a walk to tee #1, then you zig-zag away from the parking lot, so the walk from #9 back to the parking lot is even longer. Just another side effect of the tight spaces.
Other Thoughts: - Well, as much as this course lacks length, it makes up for it in difficulty. Some of those shots into the forest are extremely tight, with curved finishes, and the shots in the forest are tunnels. Even the shots out of the forest require some aim off the tee and placement to avoid the tall grass outside. You will want to try for the deuce on every hole, but a bad shot can easily make saving par a real challenge.
- Great course for beginners to learn the fundamentals of staying in the fairway, and even for more experienced players to work on line shaping and accuracy. But, if you aren't a fan of tough approach shots, this probably won't be super exciting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Some nice shots

1    5/7/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a narrow strip of land that's partially wooded and partially open. Most of the holes either play from the open into a wooded tunnel, or tee off inside the woods to a mostly open pin placement. This makes for a nice variety of shots, and the rough is thick enough that you'll pay for missing your line.

There is some distance variety with a couple holes most players will at least pull out a fairway driver on. You'll need some different shots to score well here, with left and right turning holes of various shapes keeping things interesting. There are good tee signs with hole number and distance with a map of the hole, and the course flow is pretty easy to follow.
Cons: There's a pretty long walk to the first tee, and the course plays away from the parking area for an even longer walk back (and a walk even to get back to the first tee if you want to play another round). The walking path is in play on a few holes, a potential safety issue if it gets much use. The rubber tees are lumpy and falling apart.
Other Thoughts: The course has some fun shots, but it isn't all that challenging. It's short, so players with a reasonable skill set will have deuce opportunities if they can accurately shape lines. Newer players might find the rough a little thick on the more wooded holes, but overall it's not a bad place to learn with shorter but interesting shots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole

5+    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Tradisc
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging
Great flow
Nice tunnel shots
Rubber tee pads (better than nothing)
Not very busy
Cons: Long walk from parking lot to #1 and #9 back to parking lot.
Only 9 holes.
Can be wet at times dues to being right next to a lake/marsh.
Bugs.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun and challenging 9 hole that is worth the time if you are in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging little 9 holer

1    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course is set back down a walkpath so it isn't out in the open somewhere. Privacy on this course is nice because it is far enough from buildings and streets.

2) Nice Mach baskets with # plates facing the tees. Baskets also have some flags on top helping to find the basket on a few of the holes.

3) Nice tee signs with Hole #, distance and out of play areas marked. #4 tee sign even makes you aware of the osprey nest out on the telephone pole in the wetland area.

4) Benches on most or every hole is a nice touch despite this course never being crowded or slow I bet. Sometimes it is just nice to sit down and tabulate scores or take a quick rest.

5) Rubber teepads in pretty good condition. A little lumpy in spots and a couple of them are breaking apart, but they are some of the better rubber tees I have played on.

6) I like the touch of having #4 basket (a slightly downhill shot) a little higher and a pile of small cobbles at the base of the pole. I like this because it brings the wetland and Red Twigged Dogwood backdrop into play. It is a true risk reward becuase if you gun for the ace run you may end up with a tamahawk or thumber over the shrubs. Personally I will always lay up short to try and secure the birdie rather than gun for an ace, but the option is there on this hole.

7) There is a rain shelter and what appears to be a spot for a portopotty at the first tee which is nice. It does indicate on #1 tee a practice basket, but I did not see one, nor did I see a sleeve for one either.

8) Nice use of the wooded areas where you either shoot into a tunnel in the woods or out of a tunnel into the open. It was well designed and forces you to excute specific lines on many of the holes.

9) Nice variety of shot shaping, some hyzers, a couple annys, and a few straight away. One big s curve shot also on #5. There is an alternate tee on #5 also which really make the shot execution tough.

Cons: 1) Course might remain wet long into the spring because of how a couple of the holes were carved into wetland areas. It was wet in 2 spots (#5 fairway was nearly unwalkable without getting wet), and Hole #8 also had a pretty wet area around the basket and also up the last 50-100' of fairway.

2) Course length is pretty short. I cannot fault the course for it but I do prefer a little more distance on the courses. They did however apparently max out the distance on this course as they probably ran out of property.

3) #4 tee is in danger of an errant drive from #2. Beware!

4) Walk path cuts across two or three of the holes, but fortunately it is right in front of the tees so you will always know if someone is heading your way on the path. Just be patient and let them pass and then line up your shot. Not a big deal, but I always like to have courses that don't create artificial destractions.

5) #9 tee is actually partially on the walk path going through the woods. I think they could have designed this one a little better to create less confusion, and cause less disturbance for the DGers and the walkers.

Other Thoughts: Take the walk path fromt he parking lot until you see tee sign #1. Follow the fenceline down the path and turn the corner and there it is.

I did enjoy this course because it used the woods very effectively to make the course a challenge. I played well to shoot a -2 and a -1, but 4's would be very easy to do on a handful of the holes if you do not hit your gaps and clip a tree or two and shoot into the tough thick rough. It didn't seem to have that much rough when I played, but in season I bet the rough can be brutal and force you to just throw back to the fairway too.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good this time of year I guess

2-4    3/13/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a fun 9 hole course with some tight fairways. If it's late winter/early spring this is the only course open in the greater Madison area. If you need some practice on accuracy the wooded holes should help, but luckily it goes in and out so it's not all narrow fairway. Last time I went hole 9 had an interesting branch in the way that made it a pretty fun hole to throw.
Cons: The narrow fairways can be bothersome especially the hole(can't remember which) where there's a tree dead center in the way. The fence on the right on hole 6 can eat up some griplock so be careful. There's no way around it so if you throw a disc behind it you'll have to climb it.

If they keep leaving it open year around, they are likely going to end up with some bad erosion problems. Though I think some of the flooding on certain holes will keep enough people away during the winter thaw.
Other Thoughts: As of the time that I wrote this review this course was the only one close enough that was actually open. I still would have rather had a worse shot on hole 1 if it meant I wouldn't have fallen almost face first into the snow. Not just any snow, it was more of a layer of ice crystals that really hurt(luckily my hands caught my fall). And the rock in my way did bruise my shin.

It's not a bad course, it is fun to play and worth going to, but not worth going out of your way to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.