Stoughton, WI 
Kiwanis of Stoughton DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Brutal rough but pretty solid

1    8/9/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: The course is set up in a pretty nice little quiet park. A walking trail is the only thing that can potentially come into play. This isn't really an issue without an absolutely terrible shot though. The baskets are chainstars. These are all in great shape and catch nicely. The tee pads are rubber mats. These are better than nothing for the most part. The signs have a basic hole diagram, hole #, par and distance. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow, once you find the first hole. They have a bunch of wood chips laid down throughout the course to help keep things from getting too swampy. There are some tough lines to hit on a number of holes, and the rough is pretty nasty so you really want to stay on the fairway. They have a number of trash cans and benches throughout too.
Cons: The rough is pretty imposing here. If you end up off the fairway you'll likely be searching for awhile. Using a spotter is recommended if possible. Rubber mats can get pretty slick if they get dirt on them causing a slipping hazard. A few are kind of breaking apart in spots too. The bugs can get really nasty too. Nothing unusual, just bring bug spray. There's a long walk to hole 1 and an even longer walk back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Nothing too amazing here, but it is a fun little 9 if you're nearby. There are better courses in Madtown if you're around here like Hiestand or Elver. This is better then most city park nines though.

 Challenging little 9 holer

1    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course is set back down a walkpath so it isn't out in the open somewhere. Privacy on this course is nice because it is far enough from buildings and streets.

2) Nice Mach baskets with # plates facing the tees. Baskets also have some flags on top helping to find the basket on a few of the holes.

3) Nice tee signs with Hole #, distance and out of play areas marked. #4 tee sign even makes you aware of the osprey nest out on the telephone pole in the wetland area.

4) Benches on most or every hole is a nice touch despite this course never being crowded or slow I bet. Sometimes it is just nice to sit down and tabulate scores or take a quick rest.

5) Rubber teepads in pretty good condition. A little lumpy in spots and a couple of them are breaking apart, but they are some of the better rubber tees I have played on.

6) I like the touch of having #4 basket (a slightly downhill shot) a little higher and a pile of small cobbles at the base of the pole. I like this because it brings the wetland and Red Twigged Dogwood backdrop into play. It is a true risk reward becuase if you gun for the ace run you may end up with a tamahawk or thumber over the shrubs. Personally I will always lay up short to try and secure the birdie rather than gun for an ace, but the option is there on this hole.

7) There is a rain shelter and what appears to be a spot for a portopotty at the first tee which is nice. It does indicate on #1 tee a practice basket, but I did not see one, nor did I see a sleeve for one either.

8) Nice use of the wooded areas where you either shoot into a tunnel in the woods or out of a tunnel into the open. It was well designed and forces you to excute specific lines on many of the holes.

9) Nice variety of shot shaping, some hyzers, a couple annys, and a few straight away. One big s curve shot also on #5. There is an alternate tee on #5 also which really make the shot execution tough.

Cons: 1) Course might remain wet long into the spring because of how a couple of the holes were carved into wetland areas. It was wet in 2 spots (#5 fairway was nearly unwalkable without getting wet), and Hole #8 also had a pretty wet area around the basket and also up the last 50-100' of fairway.

2) Course length is pretty short. I cannot fault the course for it but I do prefer a little more distance on the courses. They did however apparently max out the distance on this course as they probably ran out of property.

3) #4 tee is in danger of an errant drive from #2. Beware!

4) Walk path cuts across two or three of the holes, but fortunately it is right in front of the tees so you will always know if someone is heading your way on the path. Just be patient and let them pass and then line up your shot. Not a big deal, but I always like to have courses that don't create artificial destractions.

5) #9 tee is actually partially on the walk path going through the woods. I think they could have designed this one a little better to create less confusion, and cause less disturbance for the DGers and the walkers.

Other Thoughts: Take the walk path fromt he parking lot until you see tee sign #1. Follow the fenceline down the path and turn the corner and there it is.

I did enjoy this course because it used the woods very effectively to make the course a challenge. I played well to shoot a -2 and a -1, but 4's would be very easy to do on a handful of the holes if you do not hit your gaps and clip a tree or two and shoot into the tough thick rough. It didn't seem to have that much rough when I played, but in season I bet the rough can be brutal and force you to just throw back to the fairway too.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good this time of year I guess

2-4    3/13/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a fun 9 hole course with some tight fairways. If it's late winter/early spring this is the only course open in the greater Madison area. If you need some practice on accuracy the wooded holes should help, but luckily it goes in and out so it's not all narrow fairway. Last time I went hole 9 had an interesting branch in the way that made it a pretty fun hole to throw.
Cons: The narrow fairways can be bothersome especially the hole(can't remember which) where there's a tree dead center in the way. The fence on the right on hole 6 can eat up some griplock so be careful. There's no way around it so if you throw a disc behind it you'll have to climb it.

If they keep leaving it open year around, they are likely going to end up with some bad erosion problems. Though I think some of the flooding on certain holes will keep enough people away during the winter thaw.
Other Thoughts: As of the time that I wrote this review this course was the only one close enough that was actually open. I still would have rather had a worse shot on hole 1 if it meant I wouldn't have fallen almost face first into the snow. Not just any snow, it was more of a layer of ice crystals that really hurt(luckily my hands caught my fall). And the rock in my way did bruise my shin.

It's not a bad course, it is fun to play and worth going to, but not worth going out of your way to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A trip to Stoughton

5+    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 146  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads had rubber mats placed on top of them. This was definitely an upgrade from the dirt tee pads that were there.

Nice signs at each tee that showed hole distance, map of hole, and location of next tee.

Fairways were very well kept.

There was a bench at each tee location as well as multiple trash cans located throughout the course.

Even though hole length is shorter, most holes offer challenges. Trees have been strategically left in the middle of the fairway to create a challenge.
Cons: This course has only one pin location and tee pad on each hole, with the exception of a dual tee on hole 5.

When playing this course, my driver stayed in the bag on most holes. There were no holes that I needed to use a distance driver.
Other Thoughts: It was dry when I played, I do not know if the rubber mats would be slippery when they are wet.

There was a practice basket there a few years ago when I first played this course, but it seems to be missing now.

Walking trails located in park as well.

After parking, walk 1/4 mile down path to first tee. 9th hole location is on the other end of the park. Follow walking path to get back to first tee/parking lot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.