Stoughton, WI 
Kiwanis of Stoughton DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Stoughton Kiwanis Disc Golf Course Review

5+    3/21/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: GageWhite23
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun Course to play a couple of rounds at. They are currently working on construction to put 18 holes into the course and will mostly likely be ready by the 2016 season. Course is a very tough course to play at with very narrow fairways and tee boxes going into and out of the dense woods. The course usually stays pretty well maintained with a walking path going through it. If you like dogleg bends then this is the course for you with this course having multiple holes with a dogleg bend in them.Very hard course but if you can play good at this course you can play good at about any course.
Cons: Course takes a very long time to dry out after a rainfall with the course almost being like a bowl. The woods can also be a challenge in the fact of how dense they are. The course could really be improved if some of the trees got cleared out but other than that the course is a fun course to play at.
Other Thoughts: If you are playing in the summer or when it is very humid out bring your bug spray to keep the bugs off of you with the course just being yards from the Yahara River. another huge tip that people usually dont think about but bring your Bright Colored disc! They will make it easier to see if the disc goes off of the course into the woods. Thanks for reading!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Spring Course

5+    2/23/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: murphy0105
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Techical holes and tunnel shots a few longer holes but for the most part a shorter course. It's open year round so that's nice too.
Cons: Heavily wooded and lots of water/mud. Lots of critters in the spring and early summer including Snakes and Ground bees. Also a walking path through several holes.
Other Thoughts: Because this is one of the only year-round courses around I play mostly out of shear desperation. It does hone the more technical skills prior to the good courses opening which is why i give it a good rating.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stough-ton of fun

1    11/9/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice tee signs and frequent benches
+ Chainstars are in good shape.
+ Rubber tee pads in generally good shape ... a few lumpy spots
+ For nine holes in a relatively small area, there is decent variety of hole lengths (175-335)
+ Nice mix of lefty and righty-friendly shots
+ Quite a few tunnel shots where accuracy is at a premium. Poor shots will be punished.
+ Every hole has either a tight tee shot or entrance to the green, or both. No holes are completely wide open.
+ Many tee shots are blind (good for those who like the challenge)
+ On the longer holes, those not going for it still have to make an accurate layup to have a clean second shot at the basket
+ Boardwalk to help avoid the soggy spots on #5
+ Some opportunities for interesting safari holes ... could make some par 4s or even 5s in and out of the woods.
Cons: - Pretty flat course
- Woods are pretty thick, and I imagine the rough would be punishing with full foliage
- Many tee shots are blind, and some holes are close together. Could be some safety issues, but I don't imagine this course is frequently crowded.
- Not sure what I think of hole #6. Even a well-executed shot to the right leaves almost no shot at a deuce. Best bet to go at the basket just seems to be throwing high and crashing it into the tree above and behind the basket, and hope it falls down.
- A couple of the tee signs were too close to the tee pads. #9 was bad, especially for this LHBH who needs to hug the left side of the tee to have a reasonable line. I was worried about whacking my hand on the follow through. Although, looking at the pictures, that tee pad may have been moved after the sign was installed.
- Only single tee pads and basket locations per hole, except for a shorter tee on #5.
Other Thoughts: I don't know why it took me so long to play this course, being so close to Madison. I had fun and will definitely be back. I'll be interested to see how it looks with full foliage. Unless you have to search for a disc, it is a quick nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 hole course

9/8/2007   9/29/2007
Review By: kvanorsdel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of available land. Fun 9 hole course with lots of different shot options.
Cons: Very buggy in the summer. The rough is very thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun 9 hole course that will be expanded to 18 hole in the future. It currently has grass teepads until a final 18 hole layout gets established.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.