Stoughton, WI 
Kiwanis of Stoughton DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tall__Paul Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Good this time of year I guess

2-4    3/13/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a fun 9 hole course with some tight fairways. If it's late winter/early spring this is the only course open in the greater Madison area. If you need some practice on accuracy the wooded holes should help, but luckily it goes in and out so it's not all narrow fairway. Last time I went hole 9 had an interesting branch in the way that made it a pretty fun hole to throw.
Cons: The narrow fairways can be bothersome especially the hole(can't remember which) where there's a tree dead center in the way. The fence on the right on hole 6 can eat up some griplock so be careful. There's no way around it so if you throw a disc behind it you'll have to climb it.

If they keep leaving it open year around, they are likely going to end up with some bad erosion problems. Though I think some of the flooding on certain holes will keep enough people away during the winter thaw.
Other Thoughts: As of the time that I wrote this review this course was the only one close enough that was actually open. I still would have rather had a worse shot on hole 1 if it meant I wouldn't have fallen almost face first into the snow. Not just any snow, it was more of a layer of ice crystals that really hurt(luckily my hands caught my fall). And the rock in my way did bruise my shin.

It's not a bad course, it is fun to play and worth going to, but not worth going out of your way to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Local review

5+    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: Kinnison
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a short course, best for locals. Not many long holes. Has some very nice signage, benches, and regularly placed trash receptacles. Fairways are well maintained. Very quiet area near the Yahara river, very easy to listen for bird calls. Only worries are usually hikers, bikers, and maybe dog walkers along the east path on the course. Very friendly locals
Cons: Being near a river, and in some marshland, some of the holes can be quite muddy after a rain, or when the water table is high. Almost guaranteed to get your feet wet on hole 6. Very narrow course when in the woods, with sharp narrow doglegs before getting into putting range. Long walk from hole 9 to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel out of the way to play here, best part is that it is often ready very early in the season when you have an itch to play after a long winter, or live in the area and want to get int a quick 9

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A trip to Stoughton

5+    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 147  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads had rubber mats placed on top of them. This was definitely an upgrade from the dirt tee pads that were there.

Nice signs at each tee that showed hole distance, map of hole, and location of next tee.

Fairways were very well kept.

There was a bench at each tee location as well as multiple trash cans located throughout the course.

Even though hole length is shorter, most holes offer challenges. Trees have been strategically left in the middle of the fairway to create a challenge.
Cons: This course has only one pin location and tee pad on each hole, with the exception of a dual tee on hole 5.

When playing this course, my driver stayed in the bag on most holes. There were no holes that I needed to use a distance driver.
Other Thoughts: It was dry when I played, I do not know if the rubber mats would be slippery when they are wet.

There was a practice basket there a few years ago when I first played this course, but it seems to be missing now.

Walking trails located in park as well.

After parking, walk 1/4 mile down path to first tee. 9th hole location is on the other end of the park. Follow walking path to get back to first tee/parking lot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad,but

1    7/19/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: leathercash
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course does make pretty good on room considering there's not much to work with. Fast course,it's good if you happen to be in the area and just wanna run through one real quick when you got the itch. Short holes can be fun. I don't think I busted out a real driver the whole round,just tossing the roc.
Cons: Tight,tight,tight fairways. The place is so damn thick with huge brush plants and extremely muddy paths. As I recall signs weren't really an issue because we could pretty much see every bucket.
Other Thoughts: As you can see,I have only played the joint once so...this is all coming from memory.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Swamp City

1    10/18/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun. Great for a quick jaunt in the woods. Very neat tee surfaces!
Cons: Wisconsin got a lot of rain this year which did nothing for this course. There was standing water on alot of holes. The course itself is short and EXTREMELY wooded. Driving can prove challenging, and there is a GIANT fence that closes off a large part of the land in which discs can get lost behind.
Other Thoughts: This course was fun, but only challenging because of the woods and mud. It took us 25 minutes to get through the 9 holes. For a quick walk in the woods, it was pretty nice.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 hole course

9/8/2007   9/29/2007
Review By: kvanorsdel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of available land. Fun 9 hole course with lots of different shot options.
Cons: Very buggy in the summer. The rough is very thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun 9 hole course that will be expanded to 18 hole in the future. It currently has grass teepads until a final 18 hole layout gets established.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.