Ashland, KY 
Armco Park - White Course Share
Uploaded By: adam423 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 238ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Short Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Legco White

1    6/22/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 123  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 19 holes with dual concrete tees and single discatcher basket with two pin positions and some tee signage. Excellent use of the elevation and terrain to create a variety of short par 3s. Very well maintained mostly wooded/shaded and no underbrush, low risk of losing discs. Interesting military sculptures. Bathrooms and water by parking lot in season.
Cons: Plays along park roads. No loop back to parking lot. Short holes, just a couple had suspect fairways. No pin indication. Navigation a little tricky, map outdated on here. Some tees uneven or raised. Lots of uphill. Steep slopes can cause roll a ways.
Other Thoughts: I like the design of the White course over the Blue course as it has more variety and better defined fairways. I wish the White course design was the length of the Blue course. There's some fun little holes on this course and like the other course a whole lot of elevation. Great course for beginners to advanced that don't mind a serious hike.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blue's Little Brother

1    12/19/2014   3/10/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 102  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Armco Park - White Course is a shrunken down version of the giant Blue course that also sits in this town park. This is a rec friendly course that appeals to more casual players, but does a nice job of still providing a similar rugged/woodsy feel like the Blue Course. Both courses start on top of a large hill toward the center of the park, then venture off into different sections. The White course starts and ends among a heavily wooded area and has a few (more) open holes in the middle.

Armco Park has a very cool setting, being in a town park right off a main road, but feeling like it is well secluded at times. This course travels far from hole 1 and then circles back, so the middle of the course offers a truly peaceful setting. While this course is shorter and flatter, most holes still have a nice combination of obstacles with the trees and elevation. Holes 2, 16, and 18 do the best job of mimicking the great design of the Blue course but set on a smaller scale. Most holes provide multiple lanes from tee to basket which gives you options - something I really appreciate.

This course focuses on precision shots with mid-ranges. With only one hole over 300' you would think that it would be easy to park your drives. This is not always the case on the more heavily wooded holes like 4, 8, 13, and 19. There is little room for error on holes like these, with seemingly inevitable chances at tree kicks and touch shots utilizing the elevation changes. The course does well from this design standpoint.

Having two tee pads and two pin positions is nice and everything was in great shape. Tees are concrete and appropriate length for the course, while the baskets are white in order to stand out from the other course. Long tees provide a higher level of difficulty and the short tees really give a lot of leeway since about half of them are under 200' and cut out some of the obstacles.
Cons: While this is a well-designed course, there is nothing too special about it with no true signature holes. Part of this is due to having an incredible course right beside it that is better in every aspect IMO. I would suggest playing this course first as a warm-up. I agree with another reviewer that this course felt a little repetitive and bland after playing the Blue course. Still, it is great for what it is in being designed with the more casual player in mind.

Players with big arms who like to show off their distance will not feel satisfied playing here. Even from the long tees there are three holes under 200' and only one over 300'.

There was no basket for 12, not sure if that was due to my timing or if that has been the case for a while.

Bathrooms were closed when I played in December, so keep that in mind if traveling far to get here during the offseason.

Tees were good sized, but were poured above grade and sometimes sloped to the grade of the hill. This made run-ups uncomfortable.

Navigation isn't too bad, but isn't always intuitive either. I had some trouble finding holes 3, 18, and 19. I'd recommend bringing a map.

While I love wooded holes that require precision shots, some holes have way too many trees with no clear lines (13 for sure).

I agree that there is an overabundance of left to right shots.
Other Thoughts: I found this course a little hard to gage. It is less daunting than the Blue course without the massive length and elevation changes. However, the Blue course always had well-defined lines and this course didn't always have that.

I do appreciate how this course was designed to be less of a beatdown. There are just a few design flaws here in terms of ease of navigation and shots required. Combining this with the fact that no holes truly stand out, I can't give this course higher than 3 discs. However, I encourage anyone to come here to this unique park. This is an awesome destination having two courses - and one being one of the best I have ever played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Quick Round

1    8/6/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 65  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Armco park is located in a nice and very large park. Many trees are planted along some of the fairways, and some holes are just very open with no trees what so ever. The baskets are nice white topped innova discatcher baskets. This is the only course i've seen with white topped baskets. It is nice so that you can tell it apart from the blue course. The one very nice thing that they have here is the shelters. There are shelters everywhere. The pedestrians here are very nice. I was talking to some of them and they were very helpful. There is a decent amount of elevation changes. I wouldn't say there is as much as there is on the blue course, but there is still a decent amount. The best part about this course is thats a well taken care of nice course. The people take really good care of the park. There is like no trash laying anywhere. There are restrooms all over the course, which can be very helpful.
Cons: Due to the elevation changes it does get quiet windy here. The one really bad thing is that it does not get any use. When i was here there was not one other person there playing disc golf. The pedestrians can also get in the way sometimes when you are playing, so you will need to wtch out for that. It can get a little bit confusing at times if it is your first time. They dont really offer a variety of different holes. The holes are either down hill or up hill. Almost all of the holes are par threes. That takes alot of fun out of a course.
Other Thoughts: Really this course is plain and simply fun. You can come here and play a quick round in a little bit over an hour. If you go to the links/files you will see that there is a course map. When i was there i had one but really you dont need one at all. Always look out for the people walking, they will get in your way. If you haven't already learned to play with the wind you will learn here, it gets very windy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mid-Control

1    4/3/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 374  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two concrete tees per hole, each with high-quality tee signs. Bathroom scattered across park. Same site as longer and more difficult 18-hole Blue course.
Cons:
Some holes, primarily from the longs, seemed a bit like pinball. Some minor flow issues - several holes play near/alongside access roads and walking paths. Lots of broken glass at various parts along the way, almost as if it was part of the fill-dirt.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, down, and across the moderately-wooded land of multi-purpose park. Very consistent distances - from the shorts, as over 2/3rd of the holes are in the 165'-230' range, and from the longs, over 2/3rds of the holes are in the 225'-280'. Nearly every hole will have you dealing with trees at some point, nearly every hole requires a straight throw (or a right-turner - there was definitely a paucity of left-turns needed), and there is about a 50-50 mix between flat and holes with changes (moderate) in elevation. Combine all these components and you have a course well suited for helping (making?) you develop a controlled mid-range game.

To find tee #4, re-trace your steps past #3 and pavilion behind. From tee #6, the most visible basket straight ahead is actually #7 - basket #6 is sharply to the right after clearing the treeline. Steep, dead-leaves filled slope to right of #13, and leave-filled gully near basket #15 could make a disc very difficult to find. Short-but-steep eroding walk from basket #15 to tee #16.

Favourite hole #11: Longest at just under 300', gently up-slope with trees to wend your way through, slightly elevated basket position with drop-off on two sides.
Least favourite #8 from the long - throwing a disc between prison cell bars would have been easier!

Ice cream shop across from the entrance was really good! Plenty of food/petrol options nearby. Great course for developing touch-n-control w/o being a deep-woods course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and technical

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 183  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes

Long and short tee's

Nice pads

Restrooms, trash cans and shelters everywhere
Cons: No real bomber holes

Signage lacks pin placement
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little "side-kick" to the Blue course, here at Armco Park.

The elevation here is top notch. You will shoot to and from every angle - up, down, right, left and strait on.

There is a nice mix of open and tight shots. Nothing too tight, and nothing wide open.

The park is gorgeous and well manicured. The picturesque landscape is worth a trip.

The only thing really out of balance is the length. It is a short course. Even the long tee's here are short. Still, that is how it was designed. It is not a mistake. This course is for the novice to intermediate player. If you want more distance shots, step over to the Blue course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I love to see my hometown get its' own course

2-4    5/3/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: AdamNaumann
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off let me say Im very happy to have a course get set up five minutes from where I grew up. Not only will it be great for Ashland, but personally it will be a great reason to get my parents out and exercising more. Now onto the course itself:

Its a great technical course. Its hard enough that experienced players will still face a challenge when playing it, but simple enough that beginners (me) will find it a fun course to play. It should also help them (and me) learn some of the technical aspects of the game. Unlike other wooded courses ive played, there are no "tunnels" forcing players to go in one direction. Each hole have several avenues of attack to the basket. Also there is very little underbrush on the course, the only underbrush to be found is on the edges of the park itself. Discs can be found easily, even when they roll 200' because of the steep hills. This course has quickly become a favorite course of mine, and I believe many people will feel the same way once they play it.
Cons: Its a brand new course. It was only established a few months ago. On the neighboring blue course, not all the tee pads have even been poured yet. That being said, there is still a lot of work needing to be done. On some holes, getting around is kind of treacherous. A stairway needs to be built on the backside of #11 so people arent hurting themselves trying to get from #11 to #12. Also, while the war against poison ivy and sumac (i saw both on the course) is being waged, its far from being clear of these nuisances. Also, this park and its sister course (blue) are located in a strictly daytime park. The Kentucky State Police barracks next door enforces the "Closing at Dusk" rule, which currently prohibits anyone getting a good round in the evening after work, or for any kind of Glo tournaments
Other Thoughts: Like I said a brand new course with need of work and improvement. But once the finishing touches have been completed and all the rough patches worked out, I can see this course and its sister course becoming near excellent and beneficial courses. Thanks to everyone who made this dream a reality!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.